Quit smoking?

Cheryl Tan
post Jul 20 2009, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jun 13 2009, 10:58 PM)
exactly
reason why some ppl failed to smoke was because every time they lepak with their fren who smoke..
they cannot tahan and resist..
so...best solution...stay away from them
Good idea!!!Just try it, tell yourself to stop it right now!
UnknownH
post Jul 20 2009, 10:45 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(ronzai89 @ Jul 20 2009, 03:14 PM)
Fasting can take food meh?
then u start eating now la
MiniEqualMe
post Jul 22 2009, 08:31 PM

I was a once a smoker,i smoke 20 to 22 ciggy a day usually,i started smoking while i was in college bcoz listening to some bullshit friend.Now i m smoke free for 1 year and 7 month still counting,i honestly say i m free from nicotine but i m afraid due to stress or some bullshit friends again influences.how i do it?

1)My sister from Australia recommend this product to me call Nicotinell(Novartis Consumer Health Australasia Pty Ltd)It contain 7 patches with 14mg for 24 hour,Totally different from Nicorette(Before using please consult a Doctor).Local Pharmacy here dont have it coz i try everywhere,It work for me i hope it will work for you all as well.GoodLuck rclxm9.gif
andrew9292
post Jul 22 2009, 09:50 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

I've been trying to quit too, last time (1 year ago) one day one box 20's...

Now one day maximum 6 sticks... For me, it's quite an achievement, but i cant seem to lower it to 0...

Any ex-heavy smokers to advice here?
gothic_sushi8
post Jul 23 2009, 12:22 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(eirn_drock @ Jun 11 2009, 08:38 PM)
managed to make my bf quit by reducing amount of ciggies very gradually. 2 weeks reduce 1 ciggie, next 2 weeks another one, next month another, till 0 ciggie. took abt half a year, or more. i asked him abt his smoking evyday, if smth went wrong, we talked abt it and if its too soon, add back another ciggie. ur gf shud be ur best motivation i think. gez u wudnt want to harm her with ur smoke, if u love her. hihi.
also, bring ur gf when u hang out wit ur frens. at least during the early stage :-p maybe a supportive partner cud ease the process..
thumbup.gif congrats to u.
this is definitely not an easy task as it takes more than just patience to bring someone out of d ciggie world.
last time i manage to get my bf to not smoke in front of me. I know he'll definitely smoke when he's with his friends.
then soon he manage to reduce the number of ciggies from day to day.
but d habit came back eventually =_="

Added on July 23, 2009, 12:32 amHas anyone tried nicotine gums/patches before?
How effective is it?
& for d gum, does it taste like normal mint gum? or?

I'm just curious biggrin.gif
but if it helps, I'll consider recommending to my bf.
I really want him to stop smoking desperately.
No matter what others say how smoking can help release stress etc., that's all rubbish to me.
I only know it's bad for health & bad to others as well.

let's hear them comments/experience on the gum & patches.

This post has been edited by gothic_sushi8: Jul 23 2009, 12:32 AM
Bigblock
post Jul 23 2009, 05:24 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:50 PM)

Now one day maximum 6 sticks... For me, it's quite an achievement, but i cant seem to lower it to 0...

hey bro well i am an ex smoker still young tho but i quit because i wanted too. I feel much better now.
My experience is to first to stop all the chiggy's that i like. For an example right after food, right after i wake up. After i have accomplished that i moved on to generally quitting. Quitting to me is a sudden gesture. I just let go. For a few months. Yes its hard but you need will power. Being active in sports helped me. then one day i bought a stick from a mamak shop to test my addiction. To my surprise i did not feel like smoking it more than half the but. smile.gif
aamry
post Jul 23 2009, 07:42 PM

Senior
541 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 22 2009, 09:50 PM)

good achievement..
my fren smoke 7 box 20 per day
can u imagine that?

dont by cigarette..when got cigarette ill just smoke n smoke..

durfzstonez
post Jul 23 2009, 07:45 PM

340 posts

Hi there ts, me also in progress. I tried to stop directly but cant. i just reduced the amount of smoking. Now i just smoke 3 ciggs per day and only smoke when at home. I dont bring ciggs while outing. hope this might help you.
neato4u
post Jul 23 2009, 08:35 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

if you are a malay, then fast.

i did it during fasting month. First i reduced my stick per day. Then i limited 1 stick per day. Then i gradually increase the limit (eg 1 stick per week.. etc) until i forgot.

Of course, i changed my friends to non smokers. That helps very much. I moved out and hang out with my ol good friends who doesn't smoke and left my smokers friend all out.

If you are a non muslim, you can fast too. You know the reaction of people when they come to you and say hey neato let's smoke, and then you smiled and say sorry i am fasting.

Even though you're not fasting, you can always tell them you are, because you're fasting from smoking! laugh.gif
neato4u
post Jul 23 2009, 08:36 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(aamry @ Jul 23 2009, 07:42 PM)
good achievement..
can u imagine that?

Ini betul kah? Mau mati kah? blink.gif
chingwooi
post Jul 24 2009, 01:12 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 23 2009, 08:36 PM)
Ini betul kah? Mau mati kah?  blink.gif
Yup, heavy smokers do smoke 20-30 cigas per day, if budget allows, I think they will even go beyond this sweat.gif
askm3
post Jul 24 2009, 10:55 AM

382 posts

one of my friend tried to quit smoking for 5x in 1year time... but still failed..

max only can last for 1week++

komok
post Jul 24 2009, 10:58 AM

419 posts

Try eat hack sweet... laugh.gif
andrew9292
post Jul 24 2009, 10:18 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Jul 23 2009, 05:24 PM)
hey bro well i am an ex smoker still young tho but i quit because i wanted too. I feel much better now.
My experience is to first to stop all the chiggy's that i like. For an example right after food, right after i wake up. After i have accomplished that i moved on to generally quitting. Quitting to me is a sudden gesture. I just let go. For a few months. Yes its hard but you need will power. Being active in sports helped me. then one day i bought a stick from a mamak shop to test my addiction. To my surprise i did not feel like smoking it more than half the but.  smile.gif
I see, thanks for sharing rclxms.gif

QUOTE(aamry @ Jul 23 2009, 07:42 PM)
good achievement..
can u imagine that?

Dont buy ah...but very urge lah when at mamak...see the whole row of ciggy so seducing doh.gif

QUOTE(durfzstonez @ Jul 23 2009, 07:45 PM)
Hi there ts, me also in progress. I tried to stop directly but cant. i just reduced the amount of smoking. Now i just smoke 3 ciggs per day and only smoke when at home. I dont bring ciggs while outing. hope this might help you.
Dont bring ciggs outing...Good idea...

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 23 2009, 08:35 PM)
if you are a malay, then fast.

i did it during fasting month. First i reduced my stick per day. Then i limited 1 stick per day. Then i gradually increase the limit (eg 1 stick per week.. etc) until i forgot.

Of course, i changed my friends to non smokers. That helps very much. I moved out and hang out with my ol good friends who doesn't smoke and left my smokers friend all out.

If you are a non muslim, you can fast too. You know the reaction of people when they come to you and say hey neato let's smoke, and then you smiled and say sorry i am fasting.

Even though you're not fasting, you can always tell them you are, because you're fasting from smoking! laugh.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jul 24 2009, 01:12 AM)
Yup, heavy smokers do smoke 20-30 cigas per day, if budget allows, I think they will even go beyond this  sweat.gif
Me too, if i go clubbing, can easily finish 2 box 20's in 5 hours wub.gif
That's y i havent been to club in months... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(komok @ Jul 24 2009, 10:58 AM)
Try eat hack sweet... laugh.gif
later got diabetics... rclxub.gif

-------------------------------------------

What about those nicotine gum or patches? Are they available at pharmacy openly or must go get doctor prescription?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jul 24 2009, 10:20 PM
farkinid
post Jul 27 2009, 04:51 PM

997 posts

Hi guys, I'm in the midst of quitting smoking now too. Its been 32 hours since my last cig. I hope this works out, I use to be a 20-22 stick a day person.

Any ideas on how to help take the edge off? I don't want to use nicotine gum, inhaler or patch.
Iambored
post Jul 27 2009, 05:52 PM

72 posts

with strong will, it will work
farkinid
post Jul 27 2009, 06:03 PM

997 posts

Thanks. This is my only real attempt at quitting after smoking for last 13 years.

Scary
melthq
post Jul 27 2009, 06:29 PM

613 posts

strong will + nicotine gum will help, checkout the pharmacy for the

gum smile.gif
Iambored
post Jul 27 2009, 06:58 PM

72 posts

i feel proud of you
neato4u
post Jul 28 2009, 01:27 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Jul 27 2009, 06:03 PM)
Thanks. This is my only real attempt at quitting after smoking for last 13 years.

Scary
Way to go farkinid smile.gif

Now that you got your mind SET, it's a matter of your phychology strength to keep it up.

Can I ask you a question : Do you still have friends who you think WILL invite you to smoke again? (eg. hey farkin, wanna go for a smoke?).

Oh, and do you still hang out with smokers?

Now would be the best time to sit down and ponder... What's so good about smoking? Think of the thick disgusting smoke that's not only smelly but causes tar buildups inside you.. not good rite? So what's the point of smoking? Better quit.

stay close to people who want you to stop smoking! That is your best friend for now!

I have stopped smoking for 9 days. Let's keep it up! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0271sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:17 AM