LYN FATSO Challenge v2, 25th May - 30th June

Gr3yL3gion
post May 26 2009, 05:51 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ May 26 2009, 05:49 PM)
GreyLegion - let me suggest.....send every challenger a RM20 Subway voucher........painful on your pocket...

if you dont have money, work part-time to fund the voucher purchase....
how about that?
23-1 challenger, that's about 440 RM.

So I have to meet this challenge in June?

Let's do it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gr3yL3gion: May 26 2009, 05:51 PM
Analeigh_Ho
post May 26 2009, 06:02 PM

Female, 162cm, 65.5kg

Carrot: I want to gain my high self-esteem again. I want to make surprise those who smirks. I want to wear gorgeous dresses and dump all my T-shirts and pants. I want to climb Mt. KK
Stick: If I don't lose weight, I will be forever overshadowed by my past and there's a reason for my 'B" to criticize me.

By the way, I've lost about 18kg. But recently, my motivations is waning and I really need to pull myself back up. I don't want to fall of the wagon!
tengster
post May 26 2009, 06:13 PM

5,612 posts

Game on....great sports...I hope you achieve your target.....
myremi
post May 26 2009, 06:22 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ May 26 2009, 06:13 PM)
Game on....great sports...I hope you achieve your target.....
Oi! What's your carrot and stick lah!
tengster
post May 26 2009, 07:00 PM

5,612 posts

i luv beers more than anything on earth......wahyu/kobe beef and ice cold german beers...I will take the later without hesitation. And that blardees beers get me FAT.........and unhealthy...nowadays drink much lesser....

Rewind for myremi --->>>
carrot (short term): to stay healthy and get 4-6packs......
stick1: no beers for 3 months

carrot (long term): to run half marathon by Q210 and full month by Q410
stick2: no beers for 1year.......

jaycz8
post May 26 2009, 07:21 PM

395 posts

hye syd-G

can i still register...
btw here's my stats --> (M,25,170,72kg)
zeist
post May 26 2009, 07:31 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Do you think we should organize a fatsos gathering? I think we should. laugh.gif

Pick a gym that charge by per entry. Make sure the gym is up to standard with well equipped tools and machines.

Let you guys decide.
yennshin
post May 26 2009, 07:50 PM

112 posts

Carrot - I can wash my car topless biggrin.gif
Stick - I have to wash it in front of chun chicks and being fat
kianweic
post May 26 2009, 08:41 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Shenay @ May 26 2009, 05:08 PM)
Hmm I dont mind the scale going up if it mean increasing muscle mass. I dont starve myself, I just avoid fried food and all. Most of the time, I follow meals suggestions given in the other thread. I cut down on white rice but increase intake on meat/fish and vegetables. Currently I take ON whey protein on days that I work out. At the moment Im still very weak on the threadmill, can only do the cross trainer. But I do push ups and squats and lunges. Hopefully Im on the right track.
Don't worry, when I started out using the treadmill I only could jog @ 6.0 kmph for like 5 minutes.

Slowly improved to 8kmph for 10 mins and then up to 10kmph for 30 mins.

If you read the Star columns, the girl named Xandria used to be quite chubby. She worked real hard in the gym during University. Now, she look great.

I remember being in the gym (2nd year in University) for 1 hour 30 mins and she was on the treadmill for that long jogging @ 11kmph.

Sky.Live
post May 26 2009, 09:45 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

10km/h @ 30mins..
That's almost faster than when I am riding my bike

I do 800m x 13 = 10.4km in 35 mins time

Anywhere I can learn basic and proper weight lifting? I kinda hate weight training actually, it's always people look at my strangely and make me feel everything I did was wrong.

I just measured my weight just now, it's 108 or 109, difficult to be read on standing position. Hope that I can keep on the rate I am loosing last month. My normal eating portion = cheating meals of most of you I guess, find 1 day i show you what I eat in a day, dont feel shock
TSSyd G
post May 26 2009, 09:55 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Sky.Live,
Pay a really good trainer for 1 hour of his/her time. Learn as much as possible wink.gif
neuroticmind
post May 26 2009, 09:59 PM

puking rainbows
579 posts

Short term: 30th June
Carrot: Can see muscles definition without flexing much. (possible ah 21% bf?)
Stick: Flex also can'tseeshit.jpg AND have to wear long sleeve for 1 month in this hot weather.. T_T

Long term: Net Year CNY
Carrot:
1) Toned and fit body like fitness models.
2) <20% bf
3) look mighty fine first time wearing a cheongsam and can eat during house visiting without worrying the seam will burst.

stick:
1) look tubby in a cheongsam. even a black one.
2) can only eat like a bird when go house visiting.
3) my brothers calling me fat pig and it's because i rightly deserves it.
tengster
post May 26 2009, 10:01 PM

5,612 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ May 26 2009, 09:45 PM)
10km/h @ 30mins..
That's almost faster than when I am riding my bike
it's time to service your bike then....

10kmh is a good pace for runner. Semi pro is running more than that. Those pro in internation marathons are like 20kmh +-...... Not easy to maintain 10kmh for 30minute for non seasoned runners. I am trying to hit that pace myself.....still trying very hard.....

bike normally 60-80kmh lerhhhhhhh doh.gif

pizzaboy
post May 26 2009, 10:14 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ May 26 2009, 10:01 PM)
it's time to service your bike then....

10kmh is a good pace for runner. Semi pro is running more than that. Those pro in internation marathons are like 20kmh +-...... Not easy to maintain 10kmh for 30minute for non seasoned runners. I am trying to hit that pace myself.....still trying very hard.....

bike normally 60-80kmh lerhhhhhhh doh.gif
What bike is THAT??

I cycle carbon fiber racing bike @ 40KM/H also, wind blowing in my face macam gila babi. Not to mention to REACH that speed also not easy.
TSSyd G
post May 26 2009, 10:24 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

So, have you written down your carrots and sticks yet? If you havent, pls refer to the previous challenge (link @ first post)

Challenge #2

Alright now. To further set us up for success, we have to have certain goals to measure our performances. People are generally terrible at making goals so here are the formula that you guys can follow. A good goal is a S.M.A.R.T goal.

Taken from : http://www.topachievement.com/smart.html

S - Specific

A specific goal has a much greater chance of being accomplished than a general goal. To set a specific goal you must answer the six "W" questions:

*Who: Who is involved?
*What: What do I want to accomplish?
*Where: Identify a location.
*When: Establish a time frame.
*Which: Identify requirements and constraints.
*Why: Specific reasons, purpose or benefits of accomplishing the goal.

EXAMPLE: A general goal would be, "Get in shape." But a specific goal would say, "Join a health club and workout 3 days a week."

Steps to determine how much weight you can lose :

1) Calculate your BMR
http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculat...-calculator.php

Whatever number that you get (mine is 1387.8) is actually the number of kcal your body needs to perform basic functions such as cell reproduction, for your hair to grow etc.

Now, determine your daily activity level, hypothetically 1 being a programmer (desk job, 8 hours sitting), 2 being a salesman (u go office, go out to see client, you walk here and there), 3 being a personal trainer (you're up all the time, moving around) and 4 being a construction worker (heavy duty omg activities).

E.g Since I'm just sitting around programming, my activity level is 1.

So times your BMR to your 1.activity level (in my case, 1.1)

So, 1387.8 x 1.1 = 1526.58kcals. I should eat this amount of calories everyday to maintain my weight.
So where do we go from there?

2) Calculate how much you can / want to lose

Here are some fun facts :

1) A pound of fat is 3500kcals
2) 1kg = 2.2pounds

1 x 2.2 x 3500kcals = 7700kcals of energy deficit.

So, in order to lose 1kg of fat a week, you gotta create 7700kcals deficit in 7 days span. That's 1100kcals a day (this is not incorporating rest days and cheat meals and what not).

This is not the most fun part of the equation. Since I want to create a deficit of 1100kcals a day, should I only be eating 400kcals a day?

NO. This is a good lesson to all you skinny fats. When you drop your calories too low, your body will releases a number of hormones to kick your body into survival mode. This will make you retain fat especially around your midsection and burn muscles instead. I wouldnt suggest eating less than 1200kcals for girls and 1600kcals for boys a day.

This so since I can only discount 300kcals from my diet to keep my metabolism moving, where should I get that extra calorie deficit? Why, exercise of course. To make things even more miserable, I know that I burn approx 600kcals whenever I run 10k. That's 10 freakin kilometres to burn that mere calories. I even have to topup another 200 in form of weight training or other form of cross training to make my calorie deficit from diet and exercise -> diet 300kcals, run 600kcals, extras 200kcals = 1100kcals a day. Every . single . day .

Add a 600kcal Maggi goreng telur mata into the equation and you can kiss your weight loss bye bye. This is exactly why I'm aiming for 2kg for 4 weeks. I know that it's do-able. Do your maths and judge your ability yourself smile.gif

M - Measurable
Establish concrete criteria for measuring progress toward the attainment of each goal you set. When you measure your progress, you stay on track, reach your target dates, and experience the exhilaration of achievement that spurs you on to continued effort required to reach your goal.

To determine if your goal is measurable, ask questions such as......How much? How many? How will I know when it is accomplished?

Our challenge has made everything a lil bit less complicated. When? = 30 days. How to determine my success = numbers on scale/your waist circumference/etc.

If you can lick the S & M, the rest would be easy

A - Attainable
When you identify goals that are most important to you, you begin to figure out ways you can make them come true. You develop the attitudes, abilities, skills, and financial capacity to reach them. You begin seeing previously overlooked opportunities to bring yourself closer to the achievement of your goals.

In another words, just give it your all. Just give yourselves 30 days of your own lives to make the next 30 years better smile.gif

R - Realistic

To be realistic, a goal must represent an objective toward which you are both willing and able to work. A goal can be both high and realistic; you are the only one who can decide just how high your goal should be. But be sure that every goal represents substantial progress. A high goal is frequently easier to reach than a low one because a low goal exerts low motivational force. Some of the hardest jobs you ever accomplished actually seem easy simply because they were a labor of love.

Based on the calculator above and your current fitness regime, how realistic are your goals? Losing 5kg in 1 month is a nice goal but it's not realistic if you're just going to spend 30 minutes of workout a week.

T - Timely

30 days. Nuff said biggrin.gif

=======================

Rewards
Have you ever rewarded yourself with a cheat meal after achieving your goal? Why sabotage yourself after all that blood, sweat and tears?

Try to think of a non-food reward. Better still, get something tangible like a new pair of pants. Go for a massage. Buy a book that you've been eyeing. Go for a movie or a theatre show. Girls, reward yourself with that sexy little dress that you've been eyeing for months. Boys, go for a holiday at the beach and show off your hard-earned six packs.

They're gonna be much more meaningful than a reward binge @ McDonald's.

Anyhoo, I'm a big fan of moderation. This doesnt mean that you cant have your favourite meal. Just work it into your calories. Have a cheat dish - not a cheat meal. A Maggi goreng telur mata with ais kosong is ok. A Maggi goreng telur mata with teh ais and roti kosong is not.

Btw, roti kosong = 300kcals = approx 40mins @ 8.0km/h on the treadmill.

URGH!

Summary : Identify your goals and reward yourself for achieving them.

This post has been edited by Syd G: May 26 2009, 10:34 PM
TSSyd G
post May 26 2009, 10:34 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(Analeigh_Ho @ May 26 2009, 06:02 PM)
Female, 162cm, 65.5kg

Carrot: I want to gain my high self-esteem again. I want to make surprise those who smirks. I want to wear gorgeous dresses and dump all my T-shirts and pants. I want to climb Mt. KK
Stick: If I don't lose weight, I will be forever overshadowed by my past and there's a reason for my 'B" to criticize me.

By the way, I've lost about 18kg. But recently, my motivations is waning and I really need to pull myself back up. I don't want to fall of the wagon!
Welcome to the board! Congratulations on losing 18kg!! That's freaking amazing!

Dont quit now cause you know how it's like to go back to that place again. You know, I've never thrown away my fat clothes and I was slowly but surely creeping back to where I started. That sucks. So dont look back - just keep on doing what you're doing smile.gif
myremi
post May 26 2009, 11:13 PM

1,846 posts

tengster : sorry sad.gif Somehow during lunchtime, I missed out reading a page.

redninja : I thought of having a bikini goal too. Then I realised that I need to work on an overall tan because my covered body is so white! LOL!
Gr3yL3gion
post May 26 2009, 11:14 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(neuroticmind @ May 26 2009, 09:59 PM)
Short term: 30th June
Carrot: Can see muscles definition without flexing much. (possible ah 21% bf?)
Stick: Flex also can'tseeshit.jpg AND have to wear long sleeve for 1 month in this hot weather.. T_T

Long term: Net Year CNY
Carrot:
1) Toned and fit body like fitness models.
2) <20% bf
3) look mighty fine first time wearing a cheongsam and can eat during house visiting without worrying the seam will burst.

stick:
1) look tubby in a cheongsam. even a black one.
2) can only eat like a bird when go house visiting.
3) my brothers calling me fat pig and it's because i rightly deserves it.
Awww, you're not fat. wub.gif
Sky.Live
post May 26 2009, 11:16 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I am not sure if the calculator is working properlly,

You have a BMR of 3182.9. (input 1.78m, 109kg, 23y.old and male)

tht's like almost triple of what's urs. I dont have much physique appearance goal, more like strength ability, like swimming my free style 50m in better time, cycling 10km in faster time, better stamina etc..
Shenay
post May 26 2009, 11:20 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 26 2009, 05:25 PM)
This is why I love it when girls train. They research first. Brains before brawn.
You're doing almost everything right at the moment. I put almost cuz I don't know how the heck you train.

Don't forget to add burpees too. 20 of that a day = accelerated fat loss.
Hmm I train by watching youtube videos. I hope its right ! Thanks for the burpees suggestion !

QUOTE(kianweic @ May 26 2009, 08:41 PM)
Don't worry, when I started out using the treadmill I only could jog @ 6.0 kmph for like 5 minutes.

Slowly improved to 8kmph for 10 mins and then up to 10kmph for 30 mins.

If you read the Star columns, the girl named Xandria used to be quite chubby. She worked real hard in the gym during University. Now, she look great.

I remember being in the gym (2nd year in University) for 1 hour 30 mins and she was on the treadmill for that long jogging @ 11kmph.
Omg that is totally me! I only survived like 5 minutes at 6.0kmph -.- I hope I can get better after doing it for a period of time!

42 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:02 AM