13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Money vs Marriage, Money ruin everything...

barista
post May 12 2009, 09:19 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 09:10 PM)
Shailaja Fennell and Madeleine Arnot are female authors.

Looks like you are talking through your rear end again.

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:16 pm
dont' forget the men's emotional needs as well.  It's not one sided.
If a woman is willing to marry someone who is not as capable as she is, do you think she is insensitive to her partner's need?
What do you think the woman need that man for? She must love him very much.
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 09:23 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 09:19 PM)
If a woman is willing to marry someone who is not as capable as she is, do you think she is insensitive to her partner's need?
What do you think the woman need that man for? She must love him very much.
Why must you cling onto the notion that women MUST marry only men who financially more well off than them?

barista
post May 12 2009, 09:32 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 09:23 PM)
Why must you cling onto the notion that women MUST marry only men who financially more well off than them?
Because man normally do not want a woman who is more capable than he is. whistling.gif

You open poll and ask the men lah.

Maybe we will see some male leeches.

This post has been edited by barista: May 12 2009, 09:34 PM
SUSmonashguy
post May 12 2009, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 09:32 PM)
Because man normally do not want a woman who is more capable than he is.  whistling.gif

You open poll and as the men lah.
This is true for me also, but however if I really like the girl I don't mind and I am willing to throw away my ego, pride and dignity for a girl that I truly love.
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 09:38 PM

1,127 posts

Because man normally do not want a woman who is more capable than he is.  whistling.gif

And if a man does not mind you being richer than him, would you consider him to be your soulmate?

I am not interested in a poll, I merely seek only your reply.

yumyum77
post May 12 2009, 09:43 PM

274 posts

Your man earns much more than you before, what will happen if he earns less than you now?
barista
post May 12 2009, 09:44 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 09:38 PM)
And if a man does not mind you being richer than him, would you consider him to be your soulmate?

I am not interested in a poll, I merely seek only your reply.
Yes I will. He is confident, loving, caring, hardworking, sensitive, supportive, serious about his work, tries his best etc... he may not do better than me but he is better than a lot of men out there. smile.gif
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 09:46 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 09:44 PM)
Yes I will. He is confident, loving, caring, hardworking, sensitive, supportive, serious about his work, tries his best etc... he may not do better than me but he is better than a lot of men out there.  smile.gif
I acquiesce, thanks.

barista
post May 12 2009, 09:47 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(yumyum77 @ May 12 2009, 09:43 PM)
Your man earns much more than you before, what will happen if he earns less than you now?
I don't mind as long as he does something about it. Since he had done his part earlier on, I don't mind taking over. He need not fear or worry so much coz I'm his safety net also. It works both ways.

This post has been edited by barista: May 12 2009, 09:51 PM
n00b13
post May 12 2009, 09:54 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 08:55 PM)
what about this?

I consider myself an independent woman. My parents brought me up well and I am making my own living.

Should I settle for less by marrying a man who is less capable than me? I can stay single and have my own good life you know?

Yet, many woman like me still want to get married. I don't need a very rich husband but I want someone who is generous. Someone who is sensitive, who is able to show his care and love generously. He may not have a lot of money but he must at least put in effort and try his best.

Sometimes love is shown in gifts with a lot of thoughts put in. It is not how expensive but a man has got to put his heart and thoughts. Sad to say not a lot of man is able to do that. Not because they cannot afford anything but they do not bothered.

Is this considered materialistic? We all want to feel loved... men and women. I'm sure the guy is just as delighted and happy to receive something from the lady.

That little something can be a small gesture, considerate thought and sensitivity towards your partner's needs.

There are men who talks about women must be independent, must not leech but they still act like a China Men. OK... give pocket money, do house work, help with the kids... they think they've done everything, woman must be happy. They forgot the wife's emotional needs. So end up saying the wife is not content when she grumbles.

kakaka...
Finally, something approaching sense in this thread.

The saying "It's the thought that counts" doesn't mean you don't need to buy your loved one anything as long as you just think it. It means it's the thought that counts. If your man is thoughtful enough to get you a gift, even when it's neither your birthday nor anniversary nor Valentine's Day, but just because - should you get upset that it's a cheap gift? If he gives you love, affection, comfort and support - how can you complain that he doesn't give you enough money?

Now, I agree completely if a man never spends on his woman, there's something wrong with him. If a guy is stingy with money towards his loved ones, he is most likely stingy with affection as well. But it's his uncaring nature that's relevant here, not the fact that he's a cheapskate. If the only thing you can think about is his reluctance to buy you gifts, or his cheap dates, or his penny-pinching ways - or, for that matter, his asking his fiancee to chip in for wedding expenses...

...well, that makes you shallow. And materialistic. And money-minded. And a gold-digging b****.

(And as for men who think the same way... I really dunno what to call them. doh.gif )

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:54 pm
I do. Does that make me a leech?

This post has been edited by n00b13: May 12 2009, 09:54 PM
moorish
post May 12 2009, 09:58 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 09:10 PM)
Shailaja Fennell and Madeleine Arnot are female authors.

Looks like you are talking through your rear end again.

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:16 pm
dont' forget the men's emotional needs as well.  It's not one sided.

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:18 pm
That's the way I brought up my daughters and my missus and I would have it no other way.

Seeing my daughter in a happy and fulfilling marriage has been a joy in our lives.
looks like you're reading with your rear end, a man who duno know how to read yet best you can do is talk crap.
Pls do yourself a favor and google if you lazy to buy book. Dun read one book and conclude it is the ultimate truth.

For people who read this...google why female are attracted to pink color, because it is in their gene since prehistoric times to gather fruits.
Since caveman era, man and woman bring food to the table equally and not like what sps says woman those days sit in cave and wait for their food.

Man hunt for animals
Female gather fruits, veg, etc
barista
post May 12 2009, 09:59 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 12 2009, 09:54 PM)

Added on May 12, 2009, 9:54 pm

I do. Does that make me a leech?
Like I said, you must have some qualities that your girl loves you so much. I'm sure you have your special gifts.
You are a leech if you don't know what to give her but just sucking on her.

Gary1981
post May 12 2009, 10:02 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(ravager877 @ May 11 2009, 07:52 PM)
Sigh.

Some of you know my story and about how I'm going to get married sometime mid next year. I had planned to keep things simple but it seems that suddenly things are going out of control...

As usual, all the problems of getting married have to do with MONEY. It seems interesting that there are already topics like this opened before I even posted this up. Here's the issue.

My fiancee is feeling very sad because she feels that as the bride, she should not have to pay for anything and that asking her to chip in on her own wedding is sad and degrading. Me on the other hand, cannot afford to pay for the entire ceremony for the following reasons.

1. Her mum requests a dowry of 3k+ which is cheap by most standards so I'm not complaining there.
2. Also requests 3 different Ang Pow. Its for tradition but the amount she didn't state yet.
3. Fiancee request Photo shoot worth about 2k++ (Damn expensive for photos you wont look at 6 months after your wedding)
4. The big whooper (Wedding dinner costing about 5k)
Haven't cover the the alcohol, gown rental and much much more...

All this I have to cover because my fiancee feels it is my responsibility...
So within the span of a year, I need to put away slightly over 10k (12 to be safe) only to watch it disappear...
And my fiancee wanna go honeymoon later as well....
Sigh...

I argued with her about this already and no solution in sight...

Damn sad...
Sorry that i did not read the entire 12 pages to have a reply here. I would like to know how old are you? If you mature enough, you should able to stand on your fiancee side to think. Bro, this is all about marriage. The main ruin factors of divorcy is due to financial problem among the couples.
You are so lucky to tell you that your elaborated cost breakdown for your marriage is all below the market value.
If time is not right, why need to rush for marriage?

SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 10:08 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ May 12 2009, 09:58 PM)
looks like you're reading with your rear end, a man who duno know how to read yet best you can do is talk crap.
Pls do yourself a favor and google if you lazy to buy book. Dun read one book and conclude it is the ultimate truth.

For people who read this...google why female are attracted to pink color, because it is in their gene since prehistoric times to gather fruits.
Since caveman era, man and woman bring food to the table equally and not like what sps says woman those days sit in cave and wait for their food.

Man hunt for animals
Female gather fruits, veg, etc
How many books on gender and society have YOU read? I stated men was by far the dominant gender during prehistoric times and were even willing to kill to obtain women. In current times, that power gap has been greatly narrowed as education has empowered many women and rightly so. http://www.dur.ac.uk/news/newsitem/?itemno=6585

Read some of these and know about the challenges women have faced throughout history and how many of the them were overcome:

1) Sex differences in social behavior: A social-role interpretation by by Alice H. Eagly

2) Women and Men in Organizations: Sex and Gender Issues at Work by Jeanette N. Cleveland, Margaret Stockdale, Kevin R. Murphy

The point of contention here is not about your fascination with pink colors, it is about WHY do you believe women should leech off men?

Answer the question unless you are too pipsqueak to avoid replying.
SUSmonashguy
post May 12 2009, 10:10 PM

Shows, movies and articles on caveman.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caveman

A flashgame on caveman.

http://www.miniclip.com/games/caveman/en/ rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by monashguy: May 12 2009, 10:12 PM
n00b13
post May 12 2009, 10:12 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 10:08 PM)
How many books on gender and society have YOU read?  I stated men was by far the dominant gender during prehistoric times and were even willing to kill to obtain women.  In current times, that power gap has been greatly narrowed as education has empowered many women and rightly so.  http://www.dur.ac.uk/news/newsitem/?itemno=6585

Read some of these and know about the challenges women have faced throughout history and how many of the them were overcome:

1) Sex differences in social behavior: A social-role interpretation by by Alice H. Eagly

2) Women and Men in Organizations: Sex and Gender Issues at Work by Jeanette N. Cleveland, Margaret Stockdale, Kevin R. Murphy

The point of contention here is not about your fascination with pink colors, it is about WHY do you believe women should leech off men?

Pearls before swine, my friend. laugh.gif

SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 10:15 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 12 2009, 10:12 PM)
Pearls before swine, my friend.  laugh.gif
I find it amusing that she distinctly avoid answering my question as to why she believes that women should sponge off men and not stand on their own two feet.

moorish
post May 12 2009, 10:16 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 05:54 PM)
It seems that despite the widespread availability of education, there are still a number of folks in Malaysia who believe in some caveman postulation that only the man provides and the woman is the receiver.
QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 06:12 PM)
Spare us your cheap and inaccurate history lessons about gender conditions.

For quality information regarding gender roles and how education has empowered BOTH men and women, I recommend the following book:

Gender Education & Equality in a Global Context
Conceptual Frameworks and Policy Perspectives
By Shailaja Fennell, Madeleine Arnot

In the 21st century, MORE women are working productively than ever before at any point in history.  BOTH parents take care of their children.
Due primarily to education and a more effective dissemination of quality information.

Read about real social conditions before you debate with me about this subject.
QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 07:09 PM)
In prehistoric times, men did the bulk of the hunter-gatherer role CONTRARY to your statement.  The women tended the home and looked after the children.  Read social history if you even know what that is.

So why regress to the notion that women nowadays can sponge off men?

Good thing is my daughters are well-educated people and need not rely on anyone but believe in sharing  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 10:08 PM)
How many books on gender and society have YOU read?  I stated men was by far the dominant gender during prehistoric times and were even willing to kill to obtain women.  In current times, that power gap has been greatly narrowed as education has empowered many women and rightly so.  http://www.dur.ac.uk/news/newsitem/?itemno=6585

Mr Liar Liar ...are you trying to lie your way out from your own trap?
You said woman sit and wait for food!!!

now read this plucked from wiki
A vast amount of ethnographic and archaeological evidence demonstrates that the sexual division of labor in which men hunt and women gather wild fruits and vegetables is an extremely common phenomenon among hunter-gatherers worldwide, but there are a number of documented exceptions to this general pattern. A study done on the Aeta people of the Philippines states: "About 85% of Philippine Aeta women hunt, and they hunt the same quarry as men. Aeta women hunt in groups and with dogs, and have a 31% success rate as opposed to 17% for men. Their rates are even better when they combine forces with men: mixed hunting groups have a full 41% success rate among the Aeta."[6] It was also found among the Ju'/hoansi people of Namibia that women helped the men during hunting by helping them track down quarry.[9] Moreover, recent archaeological research done by the anthropologist and archaeologist Steven Kuhn from the University of Arizona suggests that the sexual division of labor did not exist prior to the Upper Paleolithic and developed relatively recently in human history. The sexual division of labor may have arisen to allow humans to acquire food and other resources more efficiently.[10] It would, therefore, be an over-generalization to say that men always hunt and women always gather.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter-gatherer

Pls eat your word and not lie your way out, if you're wrong admit your mistake and we can continue the debate about marriage, be a man once in your life would you?

SUSmonashguy
post May 12 2009, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(moorish @ May 12 2009, 10:16 PM)
Mr Liar Liar ...are you trying to lie your way out from your own trap?
You said woman sit and wait for food!!!

now read this plucked from wiki
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter-gatherer

Pls eat your word and not lie your way out, if you're wrong admit your mistake and we can continue the debate about marriage, be a man once in your life would you?
A very good article I found, very good, must read.

http://www.absoluteastronomy.com/topics/Hunter-gatherer

A quote from the article

"A vast amount of ethnographic and archaeological evidence demonstrates that the sexual division of labor in which men hunt and women gather wild fruits and vegetables is an extremely common phenomenon among hunter-gatherers worldwide"
TSravager877
post May 12 2009, 10:19 PM

66 posts

Wow. 1 day and there's 12 pages worth of comments already. >.<
Let me clarify some points since there are some questions directed at me.
1. I love this woman and really want to make her my wife. I just didn't expect it to cost so much.
2. I am simply complaining cause its gonna burn an entire years worth of savings on an event of only 1 day. I can see much better use for the cash.
3. Bear in mind that its only a rough estimate of what it costs so it can come up to much much more.
4. For those who think you can make more out of the "ang pow" from the wedding, its only true if your relatives are rich. Sadly my relatives are from medium to low income bracket and they have many many children (meaning more seats needed, less angpow)

You'll excuse me if I honestly do not envy the man who married the women who got them to pay exorbitant prices for a 1 maybe 2 day event. I feel it is wasteful and there is plenty you can do with the money that will see you through better times. Sadly we chinese haven't learn to throw away our damn "face" so we cannot just have simple weddings like in the western countries. Me and my fiancee want a simple wedding. However, my dad has voiced strong objection to it and he will go so far as to say he will not give his blessing if we don't give the wedding its dues.

I know some of you will say "forget bout your dad, its your life" well sorry to say I'm not a heartless ******* who will forget about the man who raised me, fed me and paid my way through life.

It sickens me that there are still people out there who can forget about their parents so easily.

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0260sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:05 AM