126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

General_Nic
post May 30 2009, 08:36 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ May 30 2009, 08:12 PM)
Used to have a YXTM battery grip for D40 (same as D60) looks flimsy but when you mount it on... it is ok. I think the main problem is that bodies like D60/D40X/D40/D5000 are not designed to use a battery grip.
means D40/D40X/D60/D5000 dun have Nikon battery grip designed for them?

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 30 2009, 09:04 PM
calvin_gsc
post May 30 2009, 09:40 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2009, 08:36 PM)
means D40/D40X/D60/D5000 dun have Nikon battery grip designed for them?
Yes, it's true, Nikon never made any battery grips for this line of cameras.
TSkimurastanley
post May 30 2009, 10:46 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

I also think D60/D40 is not suitable for battery grip. It's built for light weight, as what I like bout D60
calvin_gsc
post May 30 2009, 10:52 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 30 2009, 10:46 PM)
I also think D60/D40 is not suitable for battery grip. It's built for light weight, as what I like bout D60
That is true. But some like the vertical shutter button and also extra battery life.
General_Nic
post May 30 2009, 11:10 PM

3,508 posts

do adding vertical grip increase stability n photo quality significantly?
maybe Nikon dont come out grips for entry level dslr cos most likely beginners dun nid it?
TSkimurastanley
post May 30 2009, 11:25 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2009, 11:10 PM)
maybe Nikon dont come out grips for entry level dslr cos most likely beginners dun nid it?
Stability yes but battery grip will not affect the photo quality
zellleonhart
post May 30 2009, 11:26 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2009, 11:10 PM)
But some people invest more in lenses and accessories rather than the camera body! They should release battery grips for D40/x And D60!!
Cuz..
Im using D40 also T_T
Phottix brand got battery grip for D40?
TSkimurastanley
post May 30 2009, 11:28 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 30 2009, 11:26 PM)
But some people invest more in lenses and accessories rather than the camera body! They should release battery grips for D40/x And D60!!
Cuz..
Im using D40 also T_T
Phottix brand got battery grip for D40?
Phottix got battery grip for D40. It's the same with D60
General_Nic
post May 30 2009, 11:36 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 30 2009, 11:25 PM)
Stability yes but battery grip will not affect the photo quality
i mean stability affects the outcome photo rite?
TSkimurastanley
post May 30 2009, 11:39 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2009, 11:36 PM)
i mean stability affects the outcome photo rite?
battery grip will give u more stability, and less blur if ur hand not stable.
VR lens should be enough to reduce blur.
If u feel comfortable with battery grip and can reduce hand shake, then no harm to get one
mixologist84
post May 31 2009, 02:30 AM

560 posts

really poisoned by 35mm f1.8!
anyone thatis using the lense?
care sharing some pics?
now deciding which one to get
35mm f1.8 or 50mm f1.4 need t test both b4 getting
but i got to know fr a source tht longer the focal length better the bokehness!
can someone clarify please?
shutterdll
post May 31 2009, 09:35 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(mixologist84 @ May 31 2009, 02:30 AM)
care sharing some pics?
but i think 50mm need more space for u to move back sad.gif
TSkimurastanley
post May 31 2009, 10:57 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

care sharing some pics?
50mm f1.4 cost almost double compared with 35mm f1.8
project-o
post May 31 2009, 11:01 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

There are a few samples a few pages back.... anyway focal length is only one of the factors. The diaphragm blades and the f-stop are other factors that affect the bokeh. My suggestion is that if you have the budget to go for the 50mm f1.4... you test out the Sigma one first then only test the Nikons then only decide which one you are comfortable with.
care sharing some pics?
TSkimurastanley
post May 31 2009, 11:30 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ May 31 2009, 11:01 AM)
There are a few samples a few pages back.... anyway focal length is only one of the factors. The diaphragm blades and the f-stop are other factors that affect the bokeh. My suggestion is that if you have the budget to go for the 50mm f1.4... you test out the Sigma one first then only test the Nikons then only decide which one you are comfortable with.
There's Sigma 30mm f/1.4 which can be tried out
kevyeoh
post May 31 2009, 12:15 PM

4,720 posts

ok guys... i'm like a few days old into this whole DSLR thingie and i just read the user guide for D40 from kenrockwell's website...basically i've tried applying all the basic settings that he recommends...

so here's some pics taken and i wanna ask, how come my pics all appear dark? i have SB600 and i tried pointing it to the ceiling to bounce...but then doesn't seem to have any impact at all on the subject...

in fact...i have to use image editing software to edit the brightness and contrast....

attached are some pics showing the original pic taken using my d40 and the ones edited via software....

p/s...i notice that if i want bright pics....i have to use manual mode...and then try to adjust my shutter speed around 10-15... and then the aperture i just try to use the lowest that i can...but when i try to zoom...the smallest aperture size available gets bigger than normal...

so how do i capture great pics of my baby daughter?

appreciate inputs from all d40 users out there.... btw...the reason i bought my SB-600 is becoz i hope to be able to bounce the flash and not directly take my pics through direct flash...if i have wanted direct flash...i would have use the normal point and shoot....

thanks again....

Added on May 31, 2009, 12:17 pmhard to find ready stock...i've been to shops and they told me no stock now... tongue.gif

care sharing some pics?
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: May 31 2009, 12:17 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSkimurastanley
post May 31 2009, 12:32 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 31 2009, 12:15 PM)
ok guys... i'm like a few days old into this whole DSLR thingie and i just read the user guide for D40 from kenrockwell's website...basically i've tried applying all the basic settings that he recommends...

so here's some pics taken and i wanna ask, how come my pics all appear dark? i have SB600 and i tried pointing it to the ceiling to bounce...but then doesn't seem to have any impact at all on the subject...

in fact...i have to use image editing software to edit the brightness and contrast....

attached are some pics showing the original pic taken using my d40 and the ones edited via software....

p/s...i notice that if i want bright pics....i have to use manual mode...and then try to adjust my shutter speed around 10-15... and then the aperture i just try to use the lowest that i can...but when i try to zoom...the smallest aperture size available gets bigger than normal...

so how do i capture great pics of my baby daughter?

appreciate inputs from all d40 users out there....  btw...the reason i bought my SB-600 is becoz i hope to be able to bounce the flash and not directly take my pics through direct flash...if i have wanted direct flash...i would have use the normal point and shoot....

thanks again....

Added on May 31, 2009, 12:17 pmhard to find ready stock...i've been to shops and they told me no stock now... tongue.gif
Can post the camera settings of ur pics?

General_Nic
post May 31 2009, 12:50 PM

3,508 posts

i got the same problem too...
but outdoors and no external flash la
maybe mine is bcos that time it was cloudy?

TSkimurastanley
post May 31 2009, 12:53 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

The aperture and ISO settings will affect the flash exposure, so better share the settings of the camera
kevyeoh
post May 31 2009, 01:42 PM

4,720 posts

ok...from the file properties....

top left pic
f-stop: f/5.6
Exposure bias: -0.7step
Exposure time: 1/20sec
ISO Speed: ISO-1100
Focal length: 85mm
Max aperture: 5