Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

zellleonhart
post May 14 2009, 01:43 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Add me to the D40 list~
D40's kit lens not VR! Handheld with slow shutter speed still a problem for me.

BTW im using nissin di622 flash, so far so good, but when I hang my D40+di622 on my neck the camera becomes unbalanced... the whole camera points downwards... Too heavy...

I wanna ask something. If shooting macro in somewhere indoor and insufficient lighting, the Di622 cannot illuminate the subject completely! The flash is too far away frm the lens, so only the upper part of the object is illuminated. I use bounce card lagi teruk. If i use wireless, I need someone to hold the flash for me T_T

Anyone can teach me some tips?
zellleonhart
post May 14 2009, 12:32 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Xandman you don't understand what alpha_company and me were driving at. I am just a hobby photographer, amateur too, as a student I can't afford to get more than 1 flash gun. And the flash gun I am using is nissin di622. 622 needs to detect the primary flash frm the camera body only can work wirelessly, not like SB-600 got commander.

When need to shoot wirelessly, I need to trigger the built-in flash on my camera so that the 622 detects the light and then fire. But the problem is the built-in flash is firing directly at the object (cannot bounce or swivel and the diffuser is another burden for me) which makes the object overexposed. Even with 5 flash guns, the built-in flash still produces unwanted flash u get it? The point is, I have ONLY ONE flash gun!
zellleonhart
post May 14 2009, 10:31 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Im here again... Sorry for causing so much problem until all of you quarreled T_T

Sorry har I just used my D40 1 month, still learning ha...
Okay I got it. Since my pocket is tight i can't me buying that macro flash == I will just adjust the flash power to 1/32 and my aperture/shutter speed.

Thanks everyone! Chill!
zellleonhart
post May 27 2009, 12:53 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I might want to get a prime lens. I am not very funded so I am considering 35mm F1.8G and 50 mm F1.8D, both below 1k. Which one will you recommend?
zellleonhart
post May 27 2009, 02:14 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Good. 35mm is wider... If not shoot chicks in pc fair (example) need to move backwards >.<
I see how first, since Im going into university soon... Might not be buying so soon... Collect money first XD
zellleonhart
post May 29 2009, 12:12 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ May 29 2009, 11:45 AM)
If I'm not mistaken the head of the Di-622 is larger than the SB-600 so it would look bulky.
Indeed very bulky. i am a D40+ Di622 user. When you sling the D40 mounted wih di622 on your neck the di622 which is heavy will make the whole camera points downwards, which is kinda weird and bulky. The lens is pointing downwards instead of forward =.=
But performance wise Di622 serves me well, I haven't tried Sb600, because I can't afford it and I don't have friends who own it...
zellleonhart
post May 29 2009, 01:05 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I think Di622 bulkier. It doesn't match the look of D40! Hmm maybe later i post a picture here, but not now, cuz I already packed my camera bag and i am going out later.. Lazy take out..
zellleonhart
post May 29 2009, 01:49 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Here you go, D40+ Di622 mounted.
Sorry for bad image quality, i not familiar with my sis's PNS.
Bulky huh!
And nissin looks cheap... Sb600 looks pro T_T

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 29 2009, 01:50 PM
zellleonhart
post May 30 2009, 11:26 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 30 2009, 11:10 PM)
do adding vertical grip increase stability n photo quality significantly?
maybe Nikon dont come out grips for entry level dslr cos most likely beginners dun nid it?
But some people invest more in lenses and accessories rather than the camera body! They should release battery grips for D40/x And D60!!
Cuz..
Im using D40 also T_T
Phottix brand got battery grip for D40?
zellleonhart
post May 31 2009, 10:47 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 31 2009, 08:37 PM)
will definitely have fun wif it!  thumbup.gif

btw, if kevyeoh's low exposure problems is the exposure bias,
how about mine?
my photos were taken in auto mode
it was yesterday morning 8-10am, outdoors n weather cloudy

top is original pic, bottom is after photoshoping
y so dark? cos cloudy?
cant b gua, cos wif eyes the surrounding r not that dark
Did you use flash to fill flash? Even with exposure 0 EV, the shadow on the girls' face should be eliminated by fill flash...
zellleonhart
post May 31 2009, 11:06 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ May 31 2009, 10:59 PM)
Fill flash mean fire flash but with lower flash compensation?
No, fill flash (in his case) means fire flash towards the face of the girls so that the shadow on the face can be eliminated. In his pic the shadows are covering the details in the face, so fill flash will be a good idea.

Someone correct me if i'm wrong in my explanation, I am not good in explaining sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 31 2009, 11:08 PM
zellleonhart
post Jun 2 2009, 06:09 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(windwong @ Jun 2 2009, 05:05 PM)
got!!! nikon AFS 35mm 1.8G, rm 780............. who in kuching can tell me where to get this lens!!!!! think currently this lens is too hot that is out of stock.
Wow rm780.. Great deal! I want T_T
zellleonhart
post Jun 9 2009, 11:16 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Shutterdll, i like your HDR pics very much. I am a HDR fan too =P
Can share how did you do the HDR? Using photomatix pro?
zellleonhart
post Jun 10 2009, 10:14 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Jun 10 2009, 01:02 AM)
yup using photomatix pro.
Single RAW file and I use Automate - Single File Conversion  biggrin.gif

Added on June 10, 2009, 1:06 amHDR grandma  biggrin.gif

Thumbs up rclxms.gif
if use RAW single image, need to convert it to JPEGs with different exposures only process in photomatix, or just use the original raw file? I dun have suitable RAW pics to test now...
zellleonhart
post Jun 11 2009, 01:14 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Jun 11 2009, 12:05 AM)
Nah, that's juz for display currently(other usage). I only throw in few pack of small silica gel into my camera bag. smile.gif
Is there any shop selling in small amount? I dont need one whole box... that's too many for me. I need like 10 packets....

or should i just buy the electronic moisture absorber from Shashinki.com?
link: http://shashinki.com/shop/wonderful-electr...20g-p-2853.html

I cant afford a dry box man...
zellleonhart
post Jun 11 2009, 01:27 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 11 2009, 08:08 AM)
@shutterdll - the paddy field hdr pic is done using photomatix right? i have photomatix...how do u do the hdr pics and what settings? step by step plz biggrin.gif

Added on June 11, 2009, 8:16 am

i thought of buying this one too... usable many times right?
Shutterdll if you can share your settings I also wan~

@alpha_company, I think it's reusable for many times, since the description there states that it can be "recharged" by plugging in to the AC adapter, so Rm46 is actually worth it as an alternative to a dry box. I haven't tried it, I might order one...
zellleonhart
post Jun 16 2009, 01:59 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I have one waterfall photo too XD
Just captured few days ago @ Cameron highlands.
erm this is HDR version...
CnC welcome!
zellleonhart
post Jun 16 2009, 02:12 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 16 2009, 02:09 PM)
the colours, is like so... fake??  blink.gif
the greens so bright almost blinded my eyes  tongue.gif
It's HDR photo, meant to be fake...
perhaps you are yet to know what is HDR?
zellleonhart
post Jun 16 2009, 03:05 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

ya that pic is overdone... But my eyes can accept the green lol... Different ppl have different taste tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post Jun 16 2009, 09:05 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Ahhh forget that failed HDR pic...

About third party flash, I'm using Nissin Di622 Nikon mount with my D40, it serves me very well, I never tried Sb600 before so I can't compare. Just one issue in Di622: The AF assist light is not corresponding to the angle that the lens is pointing. Maybe you can visit Nissin di622 thread for more info about that...

Again, sorry guys for showing such failure pic T.T I didn't calibrate my display when making that, now i calibrated already, my eyes are like @.@

Sorry yea

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0610sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:05 PM