25 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

SAD-Mission Team Dog Rescue, RIP Sabrina Yeap, FFF

espada90
post May 12 2009, 11:48 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(skysherly @ May 12 2009, 05:04 PM)
Finally I'm back and can't wait to share.

We arrived the place at around 9 in the morning. We were separated into few boats to work together in getting the dogs, but seriously look at the place by myself, I couldn't hold my tears at all, not only me but quite a number from my members too. Why? Because it is really like a hell island, it looks so scary! It looks so pitiful for those dogs.

See, there's no place for anyone to stand on at all, whole island full with branches and trees, there are also a lot of poison snakes, eagles, and bones!!! Dead dogs around every where, from the boats we could hear the dogs barking, I guess they are barking for help, they are also in an urge to get out from that hell island.

Long story cut short, we tried many ways to get hold of the dogs but seriously couldn't. There are some dogs get stuck in the branches, we can't reach them. Most important, they ran very fast when they saw us. Pity them. We used food to make them come out but many times also they manage to run off. Luckily we manage to catch a puppy but with the price of a cut on one of the member's hand and I dropped my sun glasses. Well, overall, worth it!

We make a mistake for didn't carry enough of water with us, we ran out of water by noon, well we thought per person with 3 litres of water will do but who knows the weather is killing us! So we had no choice but to call it off earlier for today. We are going to set up traps to get hold of the dogs, as well we will be bringing some weapons with us such as parang, because of those blardy branches block our way. We do carry some big pieces of wood too so we use it to place on the boats and the branches, we could walk on it but it is very dangerous too. Actually this is not advisable but no problem la, do it quietly lo.

Anyway, the female puppy we manage to get by today was given a name -Gigi. It's because when we got her, she was shivering, like the sound of gi gi gi gi gi gi like that,so just name her Gigi. One of the member saw her so cute and decided to take her home, now she is with the vet I think. 

I'm so tired , even this sound like nothing much for many people, even I have never thought it would be this tiring and exhausted but seriously, it's like killing. Not only physically but also mentally. Imagine those carcasses, dead dogs, skeletons around the mangrove shore, that island really deserved the name of "hell". Seriously it's a very scary nightmare.

Guess, that's all in my mind right now, really can't think of anything.
do u have pictures? wan to see how bad the conditions is
TSadrianck
post May 12 2009, 11:51 PM

172 posts

btw, all team members... i will call upon an online discussion again tommorow 13/5/09 night at 9pm....

those whom r interested pls add me in yr msn @ adran_ck@hotmail.com....

we will sort out a few issues such as:

1) vets and medical attention for strays from our mission
2) contributions and logistics
3) weekend visit to FFF
4) other matters n issues

thank u
Yukaeshi
post May 12 2009, 11:55 PM

417 posts

Yes, there's only one shelter in Kundang. You can say that it's somewhere midway between Sg. Buloh and Rawang. Not very easy to find as it's rather isolated, but once you enter into Kundang town you can ask the villagers and they can tell you where it is.

Alternately, you can contact me or Sabrina for directions smile.gif
khleng
post May 13 2009, 12:41 AM

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ May 12 2009, 11:55 PM)
Yes, there's only one shelter in Kundang. You can say that it's somewhere midway between Sg. Buloh and Rawang. Not very easy to find as it's rather isolated, but once you enter into Kundang town you can ask the villagers and they can tell you where it is.

Alternately, you can contact me or Sabrina for directions smile.gif
Hey Yukaeshi ... Glad you went on Sunday. I think we saw you there. Anyways, great to know you are planning to go there every weekend to help out. rclxms.gif They sure need a lot of help there.

We can only go fortnightly as we live in Penang. Hope to see you there again. smile.gif
A-D-Photographer
post May 13 2009, 05:08 AM

Secretary cum Media & Communications reporting in! Hi guys! biggrin.gif

First of all, apologies if any of you tried to contact me but can't reach. I've been running up and down Pulau Ketam for the last couple days, and will continue to do so until I'm satisfied with the information I'm gathering (eg: how where when the strays lurk).

So far, in the latest updates, I found 2 possible hot spots where the strays hangout. I'm going back to the island later, to confirm the sightings. I don't have a translator with me yet (I dunno hokkien la!!) but I'll try my best to chat more with the villagers, hoping to find out more, like maybe there's a favorite house the strays love.

It doesn't hurt to find out the least horrendous spot to go under the houses too, when the need arises.

So, I'll be afk/busy/dnd a lot until Friday, most probably, which I'll settle down with all the information, analyze a bit then put them in a nice simple chart that tells us what where when how is the best way to go about the missions.

Good luck on getting more volunteers and equipments. biggrin.gif
chibi_tenko
post May 13 2009, 07:02 AM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

QUOTE(mun2 @ May 12 2009, 10:50 PM)
hi chibi tenko.. you are right.. i will discuss this with my fren again. she's too eager to go to pulau ketam to help.. whereas i say that the cost is high for just a few people to go there - in the end do nothing and just help pulau ketam tourism (food, lodgings, boat)..

anyhow once i confirm will lias with you..

p/s: one of the things we can provide is a van.. transport human or dogs ... biggrin.gif
Sure no problem. As mentioned by Adrian, if you're interested in participating in our group, join us tonight for a msn discussion.

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 12 2009, 10:55 PM)
I wonder.. is there any goverment vet nearby that u guys can send the rescued dogs for treatment? Such as Klinik Kembiri etc. Err.. Are they good vet?
Well... my own personal experience was not a good one. Once I bring in a stray with a broken leg to the gov vet at Cheras there (near the roundabout). The smart fella diagnose the dog's condition by just using a piece of flat wood thingy that looks like an oversized ice cream stick while standing quite a distance away from the dog. Maybe not all gov vets are like that but....

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 12 2009, 11:35 PM)
Try Dr Loh from Scarrfff Project 012-2023794, area Kota Kemuning. My geography is sucks. Does it near and easy for u guys to send the dogs there? Maybe shud try to give her a call first and ask. My fren said Dr Loh has been care a lot of stray dogs in her clinic. I hope there's a vet who willing to treat the dog and charge for the meds and treatment only.
My other brother lives in Kota Kemuning. You guys have the address to Dr Loh's clinic? Maybe my dad can drop by and ask Dr. Loh whether she's willing to help out that way or not. To be honest, I think it's better to meet her face to face than to call her through phone to ask if she's willing to help or not as a sign of respect lor.

QUOTE(A-D-Photographer @ May 13 2009, 05:08 AM)
Secretary cum Media & Communications reporting in! Hi guys! biggrin.gif

First of all, apologies if any of you tried to contact me but can't reach. I've been running up and down Pulau Ketam for the last couple days, and will continue to do so until I'm satisfied with the information I'm gathering (eg: how where when the strays lurk).

So far, in the latest updates, I found 2 possible hot spots where the strays hangout. I'm going back to the island later, to confirm the sightings. I don't have a translator with me yet (I dunno hokkien la!!) but I'll try my best to chat more with the villagers, hoping to find out more, like maybe there's a favorite house the strays love.

It doesn't hurt to find out the least horrendous spot to go under the houses too, when the need arises.

So, I'll be afk/busy/dnd a lot until Friday, most probably, which I'll settle down with all the information, analyze a bit then put them in a nice simple chart that tells us what where when how is the best way to go about the missions.

Good luck on getting more volunteers and equipments. biggrin.gif
Thanks for the hard work Joyce! Do remember to take lotsa fluids and rest.

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: May 13 2009, 07:07 AM
pinknotebook
post May 13 2009, 11:24 AM

291 posts

Update from Sherly who is at death island:

Update! Update! Yay! V manage2get 2 mre! Ho0ray!

hehe thumbup.gif

Added on May 13, 2009, 11:35 amPS: I can speak Hokkien! And I love talking to random people doh.gif Do you need me? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pinknotebook: May 13 2009, 11:35 AM
skysherly
post May 13 2009, 02:42 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 12 2009, 10:37 PM)
Such a tiring job, but all worth if when u managed to save even a dog.. But i hope more will be rescued soon...

I myself cried when saw all the photos in all forum and websites i visited  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif OMG cant believe how many weeping souls on that island.

Please take precaution and take a good care of u guys safety during the rescue mission. My pray will always be with u guys  nod.gif *hugs**

Guys, dont forget to put on cap and boots and gloves. And dun forget to drink a lot of water (which means bring along a big drinking water). Dont fall sick after the mission due to dehydration. Now weather is very very bad.
Just rush back to KL, because I'm having something to do later, thus got to rush back. We departed very early today, at 5.30am. We arrived and tried our best to do whatever we can to save the dogs, luckily today we manage to get 3 dogs!!! They are Franky, Bobo and Bibi. 2 female and 1 male but Franky's leg is injured, and Bobo and Bibi both are having some scars on their body, thus now they are with the vet to do some treatment before the members take them home.

QUOTE(espada90 @ May 12 2009, 11:48 PM)
do u have pictures? wan to see how bad the conditions is
I've never be the photographer for any event I organized, will get the photos from my member and show you guys, so far now I don't disturb them as they need to rest too. Pity all of them got to wake up so early and out for such a tiring job with me.

QUOTE(pinknotebook @ May 13 2009, 11:24 AM)
Update from Sherly who is at death island:
hehe thumbup.gif

Added on May 13, 2009, 11:35 amPS: I can speak Hokkien! And I love talking to random people doh.gif Do you need me? tongue.gif
I kat death island? sweat.gif
true oso geh doh.gif
A-D-Photographer
post May 13 2009, 02:58 PM

Recon Trip 3 - “Skinny”
http://joyce-tedoen.com/recon-trip-3-skinny/

I managed to stalk 1 stray for almost 2 hours today. Seeing it there sort of confirmed one of my hot spot. I call it “Skinny” because it is skinny.

This post has been edited by A-D-Photographer: May 13 2009, 02:58 PM
dadarouch
post May 13 2009, 03:51 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

Stop spamming other than it is for the good of this thread.
sailou
post May 13 2009, 04:00 PM

617 posts

A little suggestion.

Why don't you guys put up a team name like Team Bravo, Team LYN .etc? It's not for the glamour but easier to identify which is which team since they might be so many team mounting rescue party in Pulau Ketam and Pulau Tengah.

If everyone is emailing TV Smith and Sabrina to ask for assistance or to provide volunteers in group, they will get very confused in the end.
chibi_tenko
post May 13 2009, 04:54 PM

1,250 posts

The thread name is like the team name already. That is why we are asking those who are interested in helping out, please post in here and Adrian/Anne will take note of the volunteers. If anyone decides to go to Pulau Ketam themselves or organize future trips (but not with us), you will have to state it clearly because it will confuse newcomers of this thread. Don't get me wrong as personally I am very appreciative of support and help provided by volunteers/rescuers. smile.gif

IMO, it will be better to have everyone work together so we can achieve better results instead of going in diffferent batches/group.

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: May 13 2009, 05:46 PM
pinknotebook
post May 14 2009, 11:35 AM

291 posts

more live update from Sherly:

"Finally, v got 2! :-)"
sailou
post May 14 2009, 12:38 PM

617 posts

Ten girls were present with the group that came in to take a look at the situation but I would like to ask what your qualifications are in this mission & what are you doing on a boat sponsored by the funds of the public thats meant for rescue operations??? We are dealing with public funds here & if you do not have the necessary skills (if you cant swim or are not trained to save lives), do not go & be a risk to others who are there executing the rescue. In short, Im asking those who are not directly involved in the rescue to stop endangering themselves (and sometimes others) by being there. The operation cannot have people/onlookers who want a piece of the action that needs looking after and Im talking about liability issues here. That boat could have well been used to transport the dogs back for medical attention.

Taken from here.
chibi_tenko
post May 14 2009, 02:18 PM

1,250 posts

Shame on those ppl who use public funds to go on a sight-seeing trip. If want to look-see look-see, use their own money la! The rescuers need those money for mission.
TSadrianck
post May 14 2009, 03:04 PM

172 posts

Dear all...

our team will go to Furry Friends Farm this sunday (17/05) for volunteering as well as see what we could help out there as well as meet Sabrina if possible...

those who are interested can pm me for details.

sailou
post May 14 2009, 03:32 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 14 2009, 02:18 PM)
Shame on those ppl who use public funds to go on a sight-seeing trip. If want to look-see look-see, use their own money la! The rescuers need those money for mission.
I was actually wondering if she was mentioning sherly's team. If she is then she made a mistake cos to be fair sherly funded their own operation and they did saved some dogs. And for those who really hopped on to a boat for only a sightseeing to Pulau Tengah, they deserved to be bitten by a snake.
verx
post May 14 2009, 03:52 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ May 14 2009, 03:32 PM)
I was actually wondering if she was mentioning sherly's team. If she is then she made a mistake cos to be fair sherly funded their own operation and they did saved some dogs. And for those who really hopped on to a boat for only a sightseeing to Pulau Tengah, they deserved to be bitten by a snake.
Sherly's team (she has about 35 ppl including vets and doctors) fund their own operations. Sherly is also in regular contact with Sabrina to update her on how many she has saved. Pummkin was mentioning some other reckless individuals.
TSadrianck
post May 14 2009, 03:54 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ May 14 2009, 03:32 PM)
whatever is it, too many make conclusion without checking the right facts... which in here this case, i leave to all to judge, as i do not like to comment what others are doing.

too many want to go pulau tengah, everyone wanna piece of actions and i really don't encourage this, if u have so much to spend, without ever really helping the strays stranded there, i suggest better if put the money to good use, give it to TV Smith n Sabrina then... they needed them alot than getting fame for yourself.
espada90
post May 14 2009, 03:57 PM

566 posts

i agree with adrian, this isnt about fame, its about saving as much dogs as possible.

25 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:27 PM