Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
n8210
Jun 30 2010, 11:16 AM
System:- -Core i5 -4GB DDR3 -1TB
I went to iStat Pro and saw this reading but do not understand them. Memory:- Wired: 1.75GB Active: 1.43GB Inactive: 788Mb Free: 72MB
Is this my DDR3 usage? I have 4GB installed and I checked at "About This Mac" and it says 4GB DDR3 as well. How come the iStat readings are different? I'm asking because I plan to add another 4GB DDR3.
kwekeugene
Jun 30 2010, 01:21 PM
Seems fine because it does add up to 4GB. There's more info on this here... http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1342?viewlocale=en_us
n8210
Jun 30 2010, 03:38 PM
Hi kwekeugene, thanks.
Just want to add I am another mac user now. I tried it like a few months ago, had tones of problem installing, using it. Now I love it. i have wiped out my Win7 and used it in VM for some software that does not support mac. Now I need to save money to get a real mac. Good things just don't come cheap ya.
skool87
Jun 30 2010, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jun 30 2010, 03:38 PM) Hi kwekeugene, thanks. Just want to add I am another mac user now. I tried it like a few months ago, had tones of problem installing, using it. Now I love it. i have wiped out my Win7 and used it in VM for some software that does not support mac. Now I need to save money to get a real mac. Good things just don't come cheap ya. welcome to macintosh
n8210
Jun 30 2010, 05:04 PM
Well, I've always wanted to try it but it was not cheap to get one, even a second hand mac, and installing via hackintosh method wasn't easy as 1,2,3.
*-*-*-*I hope the rest of the world, especially those who already have the interest to try out MAC, please don't let anything stop you.*-*-*-*
I have been a Windows user since 1995 (with Windows 95 of course). Now I am 100% mac user. It is because Quickbooks mac does not have the equivalent function as Quickbooks windows, that's why I still need to have Windows in my VM. Otherwise, bye bye windows.
skool87
Jun 30 2010, 10:48 PM

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jun 30 2010, 05:04 PM) Well, I've always wanted to try it but it was not cheap to get one, even a second hand mac, and installing via hackintosh method wasn't easy as 1,2,3. *-*-*-*I hope the rest of the world, especially those who already have the interest to try out MAC, please don't let anything stop you.*-*-*-* I have been a Windows user since 1995 (with Windows 95 of course). Now I am 100% mac user. It is because Quickbooks mac does not have the equivalent function as Quickbooks windows, that's why I still need to have Windows in my VM. Otherwise, bye bye windows. i juz buy parallel...juz for game in window...
n8210
Jul 1 2010, 11:25 PM
I have added another 4GB DDR3 today. Geekbench and SL both can detect that I have 8GB ram, but Activity Monitor > System Memory shows only 4GB. How come?
When I first boot with the new sets of 4GB ram, SL says something like hardware were in the right slot. Obviously nothing was done wrong, but how come the contradiction?
nimrod323
Jul 2 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(n8210 @ Jul 1 2010, 11:25 PM) I have added another 4GB DDR3 today. Geekbench and SL both can detect that I have 8GB ram, but Activity Monitor > System Memory shows only 4GB. How come? When I first boot with the new sets of 4GB ram, SL says something like hardware were in the right slot. Obviously nothing was done wrong, but how come the contradiction? try holding down the number "6" and "4" when booting up, SL on 32bit only recognizes 4GB max under activity monitor i guess.
cannavaro
Jul 2 2010, 02:58 AM
I am looking for an eSata extender for MacPro (early 2008). Anyone knows where I can get it besides ordering online? Couldn't find any at lowyat. Checked at Machines and they don't have it either.
Currently I'm using a generic eSata extender meant for typical desktops, which means I can only utilize 1 of the 2 extra sata ports since the other one will obstruct the inner fan assembly of the MacPro. Plus it looks ugly since I can't fit the plate to the pci bracket.
n8210
Jul 2 2010, 07:49 AM
Hi nimrod323, yes i have tried holding down 4 & 6. I have also downloaded a small prog K64 enabler to help me boot into 64 bit but when I check under System Profiler, it keeps showing me "64 bit kernel and extensions: NO".
Added on July 3, 2010, 12:12 pmI've finally got it to boot under 64 bit, every thing that i've open tells me I hv 8GB, all except Activity Monitor. It is still 4GB. Why?
This post has been edited by n8210: Jul 3 2010, 12:12 PM
dvlzplayground
Jul 3 2010, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(skool87 @ Jun 30 2010, 10:28 AM) hmm..it is truth the original buy from apple is samsung HD?if hitachi good enuf i buy hitachi lor..... currently who still sell mushkin...i try to find mushkin ddr2 667mhz,but lot seller stop selling mushkin already i thought original is hitachi? my stock hdd is a hitachi
pezal
Jul 4 2010, 03:09 PM

new in mac os... want to upgrade from version 10.4.9 to 10.5.xxxx
anyone please guide me... run on powerbook G4 256MB RAM how to upgrade the RAM?? just upgrade like notebook acer??
dvlzplayground
Jul 4 2010, 05:23 PM
pezal
Jul 4 2010, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 4 2010, 05:23 PM) thx bro...how about upgrade OS from mac os 10.4.9 to 10.5.xxx
dvlzplayground
Jul 5 2010, 01:56 AM
step 1: buy 10.5 dvd  upgrading is pretty simple. lots of guides around the net, look for one that you're comfortable with This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jul 5 2010, 01:57 AM
Ojimaru
Jul 5 2010, 06:38 AM
QUOTE(pezal @ Jul 4 2010, 06:37 PM) thx bro...how about upgrade OS from mac os 10.4.9 to 10.5.xxx First of all, I'd suggest 10.6, aka Snow Leopard as your upgrade. Believe it or not, Snow Leopard actually requires less resource than 10.5. Otherwise, you can look for a the installation DVD on eBay, Apple Online or resellers. One more thing, I'd suggest backing up all your files into an external drive and do a fresh install of the operating system, as opposed to upgrading over it. This makes sure the install is clean and you don't get any redundant files eating up precious storage space.
dvlzplayground
Jul 5 2010, 07:38 AM
SL can't be installed on a powerbook bro
xaw5126
Jul 5 2010, 11:57 AM
@ojimaru 10.6 Snow Leopard cannot be installed in non-Intel (AKA PowerPC G4 & G5...
@pezal you will have to go shopping for a 10.5 original DVD. Good luck with that, it was phased out on Oct 2009 so you will have to find someone who actually bought a retail disc. Also, original Restore DVDs will not work, those are made specific for each model & there was no 10.5 release for PowerBook G4.
Ojimaru
Jul 5 2010, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 5 2010, 07:38 AM) SL can't be installed on a powerbook bro  Eep, missed that bit. My bad.
wKkaY
Jul 5 2010, 02:08 PM
misutā supākoru
Hey guys, I'm trying to apply the "Security Update 2010-004" update. It's been showing me the rainbow spinner for the past 2+ hours. Is this normal? Or what should I do about it...