Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

n8210
post Jun 30 2010, 11:16 AM

2,678 posts

System:-
-Core i5
-4GB DDR3
-1TB

I went to iStat Pro and saw this reading but do not understand them.
Memory:-
Wired: 1.75GB
Active: 1.43GB
Inactive: 788Mb
Free: 72MB

Is this my DDR3 usage? I have 4GB installed and I checked at "About This Mac" and it says 4GB DDR3 as well. How come the iStat readings are different? I'm asking because I plan to add another 4GB DDR3.
n8210
post Jun 30 2010, 03:38 PM

2,678 posts

Hi kwekeugene, thanks.

Just want to add I am another mac user now. I tried it like a few months ago, had tones of problem installing, using it. Now I love it. i have wiped out my Win7 and used it in VM for some software that does not support mac. Now I need to save money to get a real mac. Good things just don't come cheap ya.
n8210
post Jun 30 2010, 05:04 PM

2,678 posts

Well, I've always wanted to try it but it was not cheap to get one, even a second hand mac, and installing via hackintosh method wasn't easy as 1,2,3.

*-*-*-*I hope the rest of the world, especially those who already have the interest to try out MAC, please don't let anything stop you.*-*-*-*

I have been a Windows user since 1995 (with Windows 95 of course). Now I am 100% mac user. It is because Quickbooks mac does not have the equivalent function as Quickbooks windows, that's why I still need to have Windows in my VM. Otherwise, bye bye windows.
n8210
post Jul 1 2010, 11:25 PM

2,678 posts

I have added another 4GB DDR3 today. Geekbench and SL both can detect that I have 8GB ram, but Activity Monitor > System Memory shows only 4GB. How come?

When I first boot with the new sets of 4GB ram, SL says something like hardware were in the right slot. Obviously nothing was done wrong, but how come the contradiction?
n8210
post Jul 2 2010, 07:49 AM

2,678 posts

Hi nimrod323, yes i have tried holding down 4 & 6. I have also downloaded a small prog K64 enabler to help me boot into 64 bit but when I check under System Profiler, it keeps showing me "64 bit kernel and extensions: NO".

Added on July 3, 2010, 12:12 pmI've finally got it to boot under 64 bit, every thing that i've open tells me I hv 8GB, all except Activity Monitor. It is still 4GB. Why?

This post has been edited by n8210: Jul 3 2010, 12:12 PM
n8210
post Jul 5 2010, 11:34 PM

2,678 posts

Continuing on my problem: 8GB ram but only 4GB shown on Activity Monitor.

I have downloaded TinkerTool and in Diagnostics sections, it says "RAM usable by operating system: 4.0GB". But I thought SL can do more than 4GB isn't it? Up to 32GB, right?
n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 08:15 AM

2,678 posts

I went into bios and discovered under system memory, usable size is 4088MB. And went to Memory Remap Feature: PCI MMIO Allocation: 4GB to 3328MB. Apa ni?
n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 10:57 AM

2,678 posts

Self settle more challenging and learn more mar. Next time can be a bit more sifu level. Usually customer service will ask customer to bring in to them. Learn nothing. It's all about learning when I switch from Windows to mac.
n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 03:11 PM

2,678 posts

I've solved my ram problem. Turns out the 4 sticks of ram cannot work with each other, although all 4 are Kingston, DDR3, 1333MHz. In fact, 3 sticks are similar while the 4th which is also Kingston, but has a different hologram sticker. And if you say that's the odd one causing problem, well no. This is what I did:-

First two sticks coupled with another brand new set Corsair 2x2GB = it works, total 8GB shows up in bios and in activity monitor.

Second two sticks with the different hologram coupled with Corsair = it works too, 8GB in total.

But if you put all 4 sticks of Kingston together = it does not work, only 4GB ram.

Any one knows why? I sure don't.
n8210
post Jul 13 2010, 10:36 PM

2,678 posts

Although I think I should not answer that question, but why insanelymac? Illegal yet LYN has it's own hackintosh forum, by prasys. Anyway, I have solved my problem. Just to learn about the error that's all. And I know the answer.
n8210
post Jul 15 2010, 09:31 AM

2,678 posts

Actually, be it legal or illegal... Apple is something very different from Windows (This was how I feel before trying it out). And users will not simply switch from Windows to Apple if there is no way to try it out, or if trying it out means spending double the money for a Windows machine. I couldn't afford it, and therefore there is no initiative to save money in order to get a real Apple machine. Now that I have tried it via OTHER MEANS, I would infact consider making effort to get myself an Apple. So it is not totally a negative thing for Apple (to consider about).
n8210
post Jul 15 2010, 02:26 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 15 2010, 11:02 AM)
well... part of Apple's ease of use & support is that they only use certain hardware specifications. this means that your experience with a Hackintosh is not 100% what Steve & Jony & Bertrand expect you to get...

@n8210
if you wanted to buy a cellphone, how? cos there's no way to install iOS on a Nexus1 or Samsung Galaxy ...? smile.gif
**Exactly, that is why I would want to get the real Apple. If it is already 100% exactly the same with a Hackintosh, why bother to get Apple machines from authorised outlet when I already have one that is doing the same thing?!! Plus, there are tons of software that works well with Windows, there are only a few which we have to try it out in order to know if it works well with Apples. Quickbooks is a good example. They have both Windows and Mac version, but what sellers won't disclose there are minor differences between the two. And just so happens the differences are an important part for my accounting. I can't use the mac version. It does not have what I need. If customers were to jump straight into Apple, in the end... MAC OS gets the blame. It makes ppl think twice next time in accepting/trying something new.

**Agree. There is no way. But why waste time there in something not possible. Hackintosh is every where. It is possible. In the end, I encourage ppl to get the real thing. I have used windows for 15 years, and after 15 years I have decided to switch to Apple. But without the possibility of hackintosh, perhaps another 15 more years also I would still be using Windows, simply because I didn't have the chance to try it out, to compare.

This post has been edited by n8210: Jul 15 2010, 02:28 PM
n8210
post Jul 15 2010, 04:53 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 15 2010, 04:15 PM)
before i had a choice between almost 4k asus notebook vs 8k MBP... double the price for almost the same spec. i went the hackintosh route n i was impressed by OSX, so i decided on the MBP smile.gif for me, trying macs at stores is not enough (i have zero friends using macs at the time). sure hackintosh is quite hard, n u dont get the full experience, but i think it's a good justification. i was soooo happy when i got my MBP biggrin.gif
if someone wants to try out iOS... buy ipod touch 1st lar hehehe. most of my iphone user friends have an ipod touch before. if there's a relatively easy way to install iOS on nexus one, sure people will want to try it. but then spoil la, since what i hate most on android phones is the terrible touchscreen
On the first part written by dvlzplayground, this is exactly what I mean. I'm not the only one who needs to try it out and then decide. And since the net has tons of hackintosh materials it goes to show many ppl are interested but not yet ready to convert, mainly because the main question isn't answered - What is mac? How does it work? I'm sure the eMachine guys won't let me install Quickbooks and other software that I need to try it out. So how to try at the store? How to play with it? Without the opportunity to try it out, Apple is is throwing away lot of opportunity / potential clients. Hey, I'm saving money to get an Apple. But I'm sure lots more are just sitting and forever using Windows. The only difference is - I've tried it and they haven't.

Well, hackintosh really wasn't easy. I've tried it since leopard and it took me a year later to fully master it. Simply installing and removing kext was already enough to put most ppl off. But I sticked to it, persisted. I must try this OSX... and here I am.

If one day Apple decides to make it more affordable, I'm sure many users would jump right in. Go, go, Apple!! I'm done. It ends here.

0.0437sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:27 PM