120 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

feins
post Jul 5 2010, 02:11 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 5 2010, 02:08 PM)
Hey guys, I'm trying to apply the "Security Update 2010-004" update. It's been showing me the rainbow spinner for the past 2+ hours. Is this normal? Or what should I do about it...
That's indication wheel of dead. Mean ur installation freezes. Just do a reboot n try again.
wKkaY
post Jul 5 2010, 02:33 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

ok. will it screw up if i reboot now while the wheel is spinning?
feins
post Jul 5 2010, 02:35 PM

133 posts

Most cases nope just try to do an update again that's all.
pezal
post Jul 5 2010, 03:35 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 5 2010, 11:57 AM)
@ojimaru
10.6 Snow Leopard cannot be installed in non-Intel (AKA PowerPC G4 & G5...

@pezal
you will have to go shopping for a 10.5 original DVD. Good luck with that, it was phased out on Oct 2009 so you will have to find someone who actually bought a retail disc.
Also, original Restore DVDs will not work, those are made specific for each model & there was no 10.5 release for PowerBook G4.
10.5 Original DVD basically how much it wil cost me?? n where can i get it. is it only can get it through ebay??
or can i just copy if someone have the retail DVD?? thx
xaw5126
post Jul 5 2010, 03:57 PM

3,488 posts

@pezal. I have no idea, no idea and no freaking idea. its an OS that was phased out 11 months ago... I don't think anyone is keeping stock.

if you copy someone's retail DVD, that's piracy... and that's not allowed on this forum.
feins
post Jul 5 2010, 04:01 PM

133 posts

Don't scare our fren lar. U may try ur luck here see if they still have any old stock or u may try go to machines or Mac city if they have any.
http://www.youbeli.com/software-mac-c-4_115.html

Added on July 5, 2010, 4:11 pmIf u need the box set amazon sell but not sure will ship international.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d.html/ref=red...11?a=B001AMLPYM

Last option u can buy direct from apple also. Just just head to apple Malaysia store.

This post has been edited by feins: Jul 5 2010, 04:11 PM
n8210
post Jul 5 2010, 11:34 PM

2,678 posts

Continuing on my problem: 8GB ram but only 4GB shown on Activity Monitor.

I have downloaded TinkerTool and in Diagnostics sections, it says "RAM usable by operating system: 4.0GB". But I thought SL can do more than 4GB isn't it? Up to 32GB, right?
feins
post Jul 6 2010, 12:03 AM

133 posts

The best u may contact apple direct as ur new notebook come with 90days free support.
n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 08:15 AM

2,678 posts

I went into bios and discovered under system memory, usable size is 4088MB. And went to Memory Remap Feature: PCI MMIO Allocation: 4GB to 3328MB. Apa ni?
xaw5126
post Jul 6 2010, 10:24 AM

3,488 posts

@n8210
I'd recommend you contact AppleCare directly : 1800 803 638.
n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 10:57 AM

2,678 posts

Self settle more challenging and learn more mar. Next time can be a bit more sifu level. Usually customer service will ask customer to bring in to them. Learn nothing. It's all about learning when I switch from Windows to mac.
pezal
post Jul 6 2010, 10:58 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(feins @ Jul 5 2010, 04:01 PM)
Don't scare our fren lar. U may try ur luck here see if they still have any old stock or u may try go to machines or Mac city if they have any.
http://www.youbeli.com/software-mac-c-4_115.html

Added on July 5, 2010, 4:11 pmIf u need the box set amazon sell but not sure will ship international.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d.html/ref=red...11?a=B001AMLPYM

Last option u can buy direct from apple also. Just just head to apple Malaysia store.
thx a lot bro...
skool87
post Jul 6 2010, 11:16 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 3 2010, 12:59 PM)
i thought original is hitachi? my stock hdd is a hitachi
yup..i oso think hitachi..same with my original HD....

n8210
post Jul 6 2010, 03:11 PM

2,678 posts

I've solved my ram problem. Turns out the 4 sticks of ram cannot work with each other, although all 4 are Kingston, DDR3, 1333MHz. In fact, 3 sticks are similar while the 4th which is also Kingston, but has a different hologram sticker. And if you say that's the odd one causing problem, well no. This is what I did:-

First two sticks coupled with another brand new set Corsair 2x2GB = it works, total 8GB shows up in bios and in activity monitor.

Second two sticks with the different hologram coupled with Corsair = it works too, 8GB in total.

But if you put all 4 sticks of Kingston together = it does not work, only 4GB ram.

Any one knows why? I sure don't.
static
post Jul 8 2010, 03:35 PM

782 posts

I need opinions. My friend has an extra iMac G3 (only faulty GPU) and thought of throwing it away. I'm not a hardware person, so I'm just wondering how much would it cost to salvage this piece of antique? smile.gif
xaw5126
post Jul 8 2010, 04:21 PM

3,488 posts

yeah, its an antique. no external display. better to turn it into an iPad holder or something smile.gif
static
post Jul 8 2010, 04:58 PM

782 posts

What if I want to fix it? How much would it cost? Everything is alright except GPU.
xaw5126
post Jul 8 2010, 05:24 PM

3,488 posts

um... that model is nearly 7 years old. Apple doesn't make parts anymore.
so you might be looking at a RM1000 + repair cost because the GPU is part of the main logicboard, and those are not cheap smile.gif
SUSLYW
post Jul 8 2010, 07:27 PM

197 posts

KHX1333C7S3K2 / 4G, 4gb 1333Mhz Ddr3 Non Ecc CL7 Sodimm Kit of 2 - RM 625

Can i upgrade my i7 mbp with this model ram>???
Eithanius
post Jul 8 2010, 07:49 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 8 2010, 07:27 PM)
KHX1333C7S3K2 / 4G, 4gb 1333Mhz Ddr3 Non Ecc CL7 Sodimm Kit of 2 - RM 625

Can i upgrade my i7 mbp with this model ram>???
Why would you wanna waste money upgrading from a 2x2GB DDR3-1066 to a 2x2GB DDR3-1333 that may or may not work on an MBP...?

If you think a memory speed increase will speed up your real world application justifiable by RM 600+ bucks... good luck... sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif

120 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:03 AM