120 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

mainbola
post Jul 26 2009, 10:40 AM

23 posts

Need some advise. My powerbook g4 12" lap top batt died and am looking for an alternative to the xxxpensive apple battery. Any other source available? Tks.
^prion^
post Jul 26 2009, 11:21 AM

33 posts

http://worcell.com/index.php?cPath=41&sort=9a&page=1

not sure if its expensive
mufasa
post Jul 31 2009, 02:05 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 19 2009, 10:32 AM)
you can do voodoo and try to revive the fan from the dead, on a serious note bring the mac to a the nearest apple service center for a replacement of the fan, theres no other way.
hehe..funny.. biggrin.gif

my left fan rpm : 0rpm

the noisy sound is from right side..should i replace both?

This post has been edited by mufasa: Jul 31 2009, 02:09 AM
nimrod323
post Jul 31 2009, 11:17 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 31 2009, 02:05 AM)
hehe..funny.. biggrin.gif

my left fan rpm : 0rpm

the noisy sound is from right side..should i replace both?

normally the service part come in a pair,they'd let you know otherwise.
mufasa
post Jul 31 2009, 02:26 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 31 2009, 11:17 AM)
normally the service part come in a pair,they'd let you know otherwise.
owh..the price must be RM500 + RM100 service charge onwards per pair. rclxub.gif

planning to get macpro soon.. brows.gif
nimrod323
post Aug 1 2009, 09:49 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(mufasa @ Jul 31 2009, 02:26 PM)
owh..the price must be RM500 + RM100 service charge onwards per pair. rclxub.gif

planning to get macpro soon.. brows.gif
lol then why not get the spare part from ebay and ask wei to fix for you?
verced
post Aug 1 2009, 11:23 AM

168 posts

My Time Capsule have just suffered a silent death yesterday. It's not powering up at all. Anyone offering services to fix it?
wei
post Aug 1 2009, 12:56 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Just did some upgrade to my Mac Pro.
Now running 2x 500GB RAID Edition Drive as boot drive. Boot volume is RAID-0. Data is on own volume.

Added another 2x OWC 2GB FB-DIMM and removed the 512MB modules. Running only first 2 bay for both memory riser for better performance.

Lastly a GPU upgrade to XFX 4870 1GB DDR5.

finch!
post Aug 7 2009, 12:44 AM

268 posts

hi all.
i'm a new macbook user, in fact i'm new to mac os x. i've check it's RAM, it said only about 200mb free? whoah that's too low, is it? (compared to windows system i've used before, always like at least 800mb free). Should i consider upgrade to 4 gig? if so, how much should that cost me? can i just buy ram from pc shops and upgrade it myself cuz i think that would be much cheaper.

Sorry if someone already bring this topic earlier, but i couldnt find it. blush.gif
masahito
post Aug 7 2009, 12:49 AM

488 posts

its ok. inactive is in ready state. different OS got different architecture.
leelifestyle
post Aug 9 2009, 06:10 PM

95 posts

guys, wanna ask.
if the spindle speed of my hdd on my macbook is 5400-rpm.
cn i upgrade my hdd but different spindle speed? i mean if more higher, still can?
preducer
post Aug 9 2009, 06:14 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Aug 7 2009, 12:44 AM)

hi all.
i'm a new macbook user, in fact i'm new to mac os x. i've check it's RAM, it said only about 200mb free? whoah that's too low, is it? (compared to windows system i've used before, always like at least 800mb free). Should i consider upgrade to 4 gig? if so, how much should that cost me? can i just buy ram from pc shops and upgrade it myself cuz i think that would be much cheaper.

Sorry if someone already bring this topic earlier, but i couldnt find it.  blush.gif
refer here for more info > http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/912014

QUOTE(leelifestyle @ Aug 9 2009, 06:10 PM)
guys, wanna ask.
if the spindle speed of my hdd on my macbook is 5400-rpm.
cn i upgrade my hdd but different spindle speed? i mean if more higher, still can?
yes you can, but some ppl said the vibration from 7200 rpm is unbearable.

This post has been edited by preducer: Aug 9 2009, 06:14 PM
dvlzplayground
post Aug 9 2009, 07:55 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

guys, cant i get some opinions? im looking forward to upgrade my HDD to a 320GB one (maybe 500gb if the price not much difference)

should i go for the hitachi travelstar 5k320, 7k320, wd scorpio blue or scorpio black (bekt)? so far i read the hitachi and scorpioblue got positive results, so which of the two is better in ur opinion? for the 7k320 and the scorpioblack seems like mixed results particularly about the vibration issue. how bad is it for a 15" macbookpro unibody? i dont need the (supposedly) performance increase but it's always nice to have more speed ;p.

im also thinking about getting a 320gb (again, maybe 500gb..depends) wd passport essential and swapping its drive with my notebook's, is it advisable? which model hdd is in there and how big is the cache?

preducer
post Aug 9 2009, 10:37 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 9 2009, 07:55 PM)
guys, cant i get some opinions? im looking forward to upgrade my HDD to a 320GB one (maybe 500gb if the price not much difference)

should i go for the hitachi travelstar 5k320, 7k320, wd scorpio blue or scorpio black (bekt)? so far i read the hitachi and scorpioblue got positive results, so which of the two is better in ur opinion? for the 7k320 and the scorpioblack seems like mixed results particularly about the vibration issue. how bad is it for a 15" macbookpro unibody? i dont need the (supposedly) performance increase but it's always nice to have more speed ;p.

im also thinking about getting a 320gb (again, maybe 500gb..depends) wd passport essential and swapping its drive with my notebook's, is it advisable? which model hdd is in there and how big is the cache?

have a read here > http://macperformanceguide.com/Storage-Dri...ptopDrives.html

btw im using wd scorpio blue 500gb and i can feel the difference compare to the stock hdd.
dvlzplayground
post Aug 9 2009, 11:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

thx preducer, thats a nice site smile.gif seems like the 500gb scorpio blue is one of the best 500gb drives out there. can it be said for the 320gb one as well?

i also have a WD 500gb mybook essential which i intend to use for time machine backup. so if i put in a 500gb drive in my notebook, will it work for time machine (since both are same capacity)? or do i need to make partitions?

Added on August 9, 2009, 11:59 pmoh wait i just read other pages from that website. now i know why some ppl say a 5400rpm 500gb can outperform a 7200rpm 320gb. inner/outer disk. wow i never thought abt that. impressive

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 9 2009, 11:59 PM
Masamune
post Aug 15 2009, 08:10 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey im going to get a 2.5" hitachi 500GB tmr at lowyat plaza..
SATA one is it?
Compatible with macbook alu (late 2008)
preducer
post Aug 15 2009, 08:41 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Aug 15 2009, 08:10 PM)
Hey im going to get a 2.5" hitachi 500GB tmr at lowyat plaza..
SATA one is it?
Compatible with macbook alu (late 2008)
yup sata and it's compatible.
Masamune
post Aug 15 2009, 08:51 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Alright thx..
Just to make sure i got the right info before commiting haha..
leelifestyle
post Aug 15 2009, 09:39 PM

95 posts

hey guys.
hw bout if i wanna upgrade ram?
the speed can be higher than before?
aizad02
post Aug 17 2009, 05:55 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

sure speed better than before lah,exspecially when u loads high memory programs..

120 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:56 PM