120 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

preducer
post Jul 19 2009, 09:37 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(kalvinhui @ Jul 19 2009, 09:28 PM)
this 1
EFI 1.7
doesnt affect mine so that why i dont know hehe
kalvinhui
post Jul 19 2009, 09:40 PM

112 posts

i tot that was only designed for mid 2009 model 13"uMBP and 15"uMBP?
preducer
post Jul 19 2009, 09:48 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(kalvinhui @ Jul 19 2009, 09:40 PM)
i tot that was only designed for mid 2009 model 13"uMBP and 15"uMBP?
mine is late 2008 model.. firmware not needed.
cRazYee
post Jul 20 2009, 12:41 AM

2,642 posts

guys, anyone here using 4-bay RAID enclosure which compatible with Mac?
I wan to setup one
scph50004
post Jul 20 2009, 02:12 AM

Für die lulz
692 posts

QUOTE(kalvinhui @ Jul 19 2009, 09:11 PM)
i would say just go ahead, i just did that a week ago and nothing is happened to me(touch wood) and they are working great.
but i havent update the firmware to 1.7 as lots of users make complaint on crashes and their machine slow after they have upgraded the firmware.
of course there are lucky guys anywhere.........just dont dare to take the risk.
what do you mean? i'm a complete newbie in the Mac world... if I replace the HDD inside the Mac Mini to say 500GB, I have to reinstall the OS right? Just like Windows? And RAM shouldn't be a problem yeah?
kalvinhui
post Jul 20 2009, 08:07 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jul 20 2009, 02:12 AM)
what do you mean? i'm a complete newbie in the Mac world... if I replace the HDD inside the Mac Mini to say 500GB, I have to reinstall the OS right? Just like Windows? And RAM shouldn't be a problem yeah?
yeap, you have to install the os again. if you have set up the time machine on an external HDD, you can just transfer all your previous files to your new HDD by just a single click. to install os on a new HDD, simply insert ur os x CD and follow the on screen instruction. very simply.
im a newbie too.....hope it helps

Wowzera
post Jul 20 2009, 08:25 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(kalvinhui @ Jul 20 2009, 08:07 AM)
yeap, you have to install the os again. if you have set up the time machine on an external HDD, you can just transfer all your previous files to your new HDD by just a single click. to install os on a new HDD, simply insert ur os x CD and follow the on screen instruction. very simply.
He can either clone the old drive and then copy it to the new drive when it's installed on the Mac smile.gif
scph50004
post Jul 20 2009, 08:11 PM

Für die lulz
692 posts

QUOTE(kalvinhui @ Jul 20 2009, 08:07 AM)
i see... once my Mac Mini comes, I'll insert my new HDD into it straight away. So I'll just pop in the DVD and install the OS on the new HDD ya?

QUOTE(Wowzera @ Jul 20 2009, 08:25 AM)
He can either clone the old drive and then copy it to the new drive when it's installed on the Mac smile.gif
Hmm... interesting... but I'm gonna ditch the 120GB that comes with my Mac and insert the new HDD I got so I should be doing what I mentioned up there right?
nimrod323
post Jul 20 2009, 09:29 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jul 20 2009, 08:11 PM)
i see... once my Mac Mini comes, I'll insert my new HDD into it straight away. So I'll just pop in the DVD and install the OS on the new HDD ya?
Hmm... interesting... but I'm gonna ditch the 120GB that comes with my Mac and insert the new HDD I got so I should be doing what I mentioned up there right?
just keep it around just in case? cause if anything goes wrong you can swap the old HDD bak in place since i persume you still have applecare?
cRazYee
post Jul 21 2009, 12:06 AM

2,642 posts

dont get too excited, mac mini is not that easy to dissemable

Added on July 21, 2009, 12:08 am

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Jul 21 2009, 12:08 AM
aizad02
post Jul 21 2009, 01:05 AM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

QUOTE(Wowzera @ Jul 20 2009, 08:25 AM)
is it ok if using a time machine only?after format,then just restore using time machine. should be fine rite?
scph50004
post Jul 21 2009, 01:11 AM

Für die lulz
692 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Jul 21 2009, 12:06 AM)
yup, did some research on it already, I'm prepared to sacrifice my time and energy doing it... smile.gif

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 20 2009, 09:29 PM)
just keep it around just in case? cause if anything goes wrong you can swap the old HDD bak in place since i persume you still have applecare?
yup... it's a brand new Mac Mini... smile.gif

This post has been edited by scph50004: Jul 21 2009, 01:12 AM
sengal_lor
post Jul 21 2009, 02:08 AM

83 posts

sorry for the super noob question..
what brand webcam really suitable with mac?
creative?logitech?
nimrod323
post Jul 21 2009, 12:43 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(sengal_lor @ Jul 21 2009, 02:08 AM)
sorry for the super noob question..
what brand webcam really suitable with mac?
creative?logitech?
anything would do, and go to this website to get the driver http://webcam-osx.sourceforge.net/downloads.html
scph50004
post Jul 22 2009, 11:58 PM

Für die lulz
692 posts

Instead of replacing the internal HDD of the mac mini, I've now decided to use the HDD i recently bought as an external extra HDD for the mini. I'm looking for a 2.5'' HDD enclosure with a firewire 800 port. Any ideas?
cRazYee
post Jul 23 2009, 01:28 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jul 22 2009, 11:58 PM)
Instead of replacing the internal HDD of the mac mini, I've now decided to use the HDD i recently bought as an external extra HDD for the mini. I'm looking for a 2.5'' HDD enclosure with a firewire 800 port. Any ideas?
enclosure for fw800 is hard to find

but complete build external hdd, like My Passport Studio does provided fw800

if it's 3.5" then easy

buzzee
post Jul 24 2009, 05:27 PM

41 posts

my macbook(black) battery is dead after using for 2 years. doh.gif

anywhere i can get the macbook battery?

and is there any imitation battery for macbook?

if yes, issit safe to use?

need help.....

chingwooi
post Jul 24 2009, 06:05 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Apple authorized shops do sell them but not cheap though, ebay may be? Or try look at Garage sale there, some ppl do sell 3rd party battery, not sure whether they do hv one for Macbook or not. GD Luck.
buzzee
post Jul 25 2009, 12:47 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jul 24 2009, 07:05 PM)
Apple authorized shops do sell them but not cheap though, ebay may be? Or try look at Garage sale there, some ppl do sell 3rd party battery, not sure whether they do hv one for Macbook or not. GD Luck.
thanks for the info.

anymore useful information, anyone?

nimrod323
post Jul 26 2009, 09:12 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(buzzee @ Jul 25 2009, 12:47 AM)
thanks for the info.

anymore useful information, anyone?
try ebay!

120 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top