MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only
ay@m
May 19 2013, 10:33 AM

Hi, Can you explain a bit in details pls? Do you make your external hdd bootable and you install windows from external hdd instead of usb drive? Thank youm I have intention to install windows as well on a mac pc... QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ May 18 2013, 10:35 AM) Solved. Used an external HDD and everything went fine.
Newbieeeeee
May 19 2013, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(ay@m @ May 19 2013, 10:33 AM) Hi, Can you explain a bit in details pls? Do you make your external hdd bootable and you install windows from external hdd instead of usb drive? Thank youm I have intention to install windows as well on a mac pc... Hi no need. Just make sure its an external HDD. No need to make it bootable or anyhting. Just dont use those conventional 4/8/16GB small sized pendrives. A message will appear something no bootable device something press any key. Use the external HDD. Dont hesitate to ask any questions here.
even_steven
May 19 2013, 11:50 AM
Quite complicated. Luckily I decided not to use bootcamp and just use virtualbox instead. But a good informational thread. I'll be sure to refer to this if I want to use bootcamp  .
BRY7
May 19 2013, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ May 19 2013, 11:44 AM) Hi no need. Just make sure its an external HDD. No need to make it bootable or anyhting. Just dont use those conventional 4/8/16GB small sized pendrives. A message will appear something no bootable device something press any key. Use the external HDD. Dont hesitate to ask any questions here.  why it it that i managed to install Windows via Bootcamp using conventional pendrives?
Newbieeeeee
May 19 2013, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(even_steven @ May 19 2013, 11:50 AM) Quite complicated. Luckily I decided not to use bootcamp and just use virtualbox instead. But a good informational thread. I'll be sure to refer to this if I want to use bootcamp  . Quite easy IF you have a person to help you / give you step-by-step guidance. Like me before this I went through hours and hours of frustration trying to google for answers and cant find them. But now that I've successfully done it I find it so easy.
Newbieeeeee
May 19 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 19 2013, 12:14 PM) why it it that i managed to install Windows via Bootcamp using conventional pendrives?  Urr. I dont know wor. Mine can't. I read online they said only use external HDD. So I used and done.
even_steven
May 19 2013, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ May 19 2013, 12:23 PM) Quite easy IF you have a person to help you / give you step-by-step guidance. Like me before this I went through hours and hours of frustration trying to google for answers and cant find them. But now that I've successfully done it I find it so easy. I agree. Not that hard but need guidance. Without it you'll be lost.
Newbieeeeee
May 19 2013, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(even_steven @ May 19 2013, 12:39 PM) I agree. Not that hard but need guidance. Without it you'll be lost. Yup. Trust me, trying it out yourself without even knowing how OS works is hella difficult. By the way can we like partition more space for windows now? Like after I've installed? I set 40GB but the windows itself took up 20.  Wanna change it to 50/60. Can I do it without reinstalling?
sI Taufu
May 19 2013, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ May 19 2013, 11:37 PM) Yup. Trust me, trying it out yourself without even knowing how OS works is hella difficult. By the way can we like partition more space for windows now? Like after I've installed? I set 40GB but the windows itself took up 20.  Wanna change it to 50/60. Can I do it without reinstalling? yup, if you no need those stuff in D drive anymore (assume your HDD got C and D partition). You need to wipe out D drive from disk management, than only you may expand C drive.
Newbieeeeee
May 20 2013, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(sI Taufu @ May 19 2013, 11:45 PM) yup, if you no need those stuff in D drive anymore (assume your HDD got C and D partition). You need to wipe out D drive from disk management, than only you may expand C drive. Nope. Only 1 partition. Nevermind then. If I have to reformat then.. I think I'll just leave it.
Atoz 1 point 1 auto
May 22 2013, 10:18 PM
Can somebody help me please?
My VMWare Fusion 5 cannot get the maximum 2560 x 1440 resolution when running Windows 7
How to get the maximum 2560 x 1440 resolution on the display/monitor?
Thanks + appreciate if some of you help me solve this problem...
firdausbhari
May 23 2013, 02:18 PM
bro, i suggest u use parallels. before that, it is recommended for you to upgrade to SSD tho. after that, the word lag or slow will never exist for your mac to perform
Newbieeeeee
May 23 2013, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ May 23 2013, 02:18 PM) bro, i suggest u use parallels. before that, it is recommended for you to upgrade to SSD tho. after that, the word lag or slow will never exist for your mac to perform Yes Im using a 256GB SSD.
firdausbhari
May 24 2013, 03:46 AM
great. u can try use parallels and see how it goes
mayleou
Jun 6 2013, 08:10 PM

Hi guys, hope someone can help me
I plan to switch to Mac, currently using a Dell with Windows 7 Home Premium (OEM installed). I wanted to use Parallels Desktop 8 Switch to Mac Edition to transfer everything from my Dell to the new Mac, but my concern is do I need to reactivate my Windows 7 again after the transfer? Anyone have done that before?
Thanks in advance.
blueblood619
Jun 11 2013, 11:07 PM

Bump..
enaleni
Jun 12 2013, 01:14 PM
juz want to know on this thread did anyone done parallel desktop and install on it windows 7 on your macbook air???
how the performance on macbook air after we on the parallel system? did mac os will got some lag???
because i've done doing parallel system on my imac and i found the system doing fine without any lag.
so now im interested to bought macbook air and want to know how the performance on macbook air compare to imac....
tq.....
FishnChipx
Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(mayleou @ Jun 6 2013, 08:10 PM) Hi guys, hope someone can help me I plan to switch to Mac, currently using a Dell with Windows 7 Home Premium (OEM installed). I wanted to use Parallels Desktop 8 Switch to Mac Edition to transfer everything from my Dell to the new Mac, but my concern is do I need to reactivate my Windows 7 again after the transfer? Anyone have done that before? Thanks in advance. yup u need to re-activate. then it will say the key is not usable, then it will guide u to call microsoft to retrieve another code. anyway, dun tell microsoft u are installing in bootcamp or vmware
mayleou
Jun 21 2013, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM) yup u need to re-activate. then it will say the key is not usable, then it will guide u to call microsoft to retrieve another code. anyway, dun tell microsoft u are installing in bootcamp or vmware  Thank you so much. A confirmation from someone who have done it before really helps a lot. I guess i just go buy an retail OEM Windows 7 to save all the trouble.
FishnChipx
Jun 21 2013, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(mayleou @ Jun 21 2013, 09:30 AM) Thank you so much. A confirmation from someone who have done it before really helps a lot. I guess i just go buy an retail OEM Windows 7 to save all the trouble. hmm, it doesn matter u get new or old oem cos the window policy said it must not install in a vmware or bootcamp lol XD anyway, if it really come into need call microsoft, just simply tell them u reformat the pc only, but cannot activate ~ then they will provide u new code~