MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only
mayleou
Jun 6 2013, 08:10 PM

Hi guys, hope someone can help me
I plan to switch to Mac, currently using a Dell with Windows 7 Home Premium (OEM installed). I wanted to use Parallels Desktop 8 Switch to Mac Edition to transfer everything from my Dell to the new Mac, but my concern is do I need to reactivate my Windows 7 again after the transfer? Anyone have done that before?
Thanks in advance.
mayleou
Jun 21 2013, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 21 2013, 08:52 AM) yup u need to re-activate. then it will say the key is not usable, then it will guide u to call microsoft to retrieve another code. anyway, dun tell microsoft u are installing in bootcamp or vmware  Thank you so much. A confirmation from someone who have done it before really helps a lot. I guess i just go buy an retail OEM Windows 7 to save all the trouble.
mayleou
Jun 21 2013, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 21 2013, 01:06 PM) hmm, it doesn matter u get new or old oem cos the window policy said it must not install in a vmware or bootcamp lol XD anyway, if it really come into need call microsoft, just simply tell them u reformat the pc only, but cannot activate ~ then they will provide u new code~ oh ic ic thanks again for the help.
mayleou
Jun 29 2013, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(icycokes @ Jun 26 2013, 12:14 PM) Am using MBA (Mid 2011 model with 4GB ram) with Parallel 7 with Windows 7 Professional. Slightly noticeable lag. I only use Windows 7 for its Internet Explorer since Java runs better in Windows. Just want to know, your MBA disk capacity, 64GB or 128GB? How many GB will Windows & occupied MBS disk space? I am undecided to upgrade to 256GB or 8GB RAM This post has been edited by mayleou: Jun 29 2013, 11:06 AM