58 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only

ginolo
post Mar 22 2010, 05:22 PM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

QUOTE(kenling86 @ Mar 22 2010, 05:18 PM)
Hi Guys

I'm encountering a problem.

I'm using the VmFusion 3 and it took my win7 boot camp and boot up as virtual.  In the website, it states that even as I select virtual to boot up my boot camp, I can still restart into my Win7 Bootcamp anytime I want.

However, when I want to boot up again from my boot camp, it's no longer there.

Any idea how I can get it back?

I have no problem with that, tried bootcamp with VMware and then boot it back w7. Did u changed the file directory?

Added on March 22, 2010, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Mar 21 2010, 08:36 PM)
guys, how well you parallel desktop runs your bootcamp windows?
my one seem lagging
yea, im using VMware and its quite laggy to run my bootcamp.

This post has been edited by ginolo: Mar 22 2010, 05:23 PM
kenling86
post Mar 22 2010, 05:29 PM

163 posts

No oh, when I startup VM for the first time, they detected my Bootcamp and ask whether I want to use it. I say yes. That's all. :S

QUOTE(ginolo @ Mar 22 2010, 05:22 PM)
I have no problem with that, tried bootcamp with VMware and then boot it back w7. Did u changed the file directory?

shdwkillr
post Mar 22 2010, 09:44 PM

324 posts

Guys, I'm using Parallel Desktop 5 right now with Windows XP installed.. My Mac OS X is currently connecting to the internet through airport wireless network.. However, I can't get my Windows XP connect to the internet at all.. I tried to check under Control Panel in XP and inside Network Connection there's only a single Local Area Connection 2. Can anybody please guide me on how to connect to the internet for my XP Parallel via wireless network? Thank you.
dvlzplayground
post Mar 22 2010, 10:13 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(shdwkillr @ Mar 22 2010, 09:44 PM)
Guys, I'm using Parallel Desktop 5 right now with Windows XP installed.. My Mac OS X is currently connecting to the internet through airport wireless network.. However, I can't get my Windows XP connect to the internet at all.. I tried to check under Control Panel in XP and inside Network Connection there's only a single Local Area Connection 2. Can anybody please guide me on how to connect to the internet for my XP Parallel via wireless network? Thank you.
try to find the virtual machine settings in parallel. i think u need to turn off the VM to access it. find something to enable shared connection or something. sorry i cant specify for u, not using parallels here tongue.gif
cRazYee
post Mar 22 2010, 11:51 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Mar 22 2010, 05:22 PM)

i just fresh install win xp SP3 via parallel
it works quite well surpisingly
dvlzplayground
post Mar 23 2010, 01:26 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i always prefer fresh copy of windows in VM hehe. cuz can Suspend tongue.gif
ginolo
post Mar 27 2010, 10:23 AM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Mar 22 2010, 11:51 PM)
i just fresh install win xp SP3 via parallel
it works quite well surpisingly
Yeap, if u install windows at VMware/parallel, that will be running smoothly, but then if u load ur bootcamp from VMware, that will be quite laggy. i experienced that.haha

Added on March 27, 2010, 10:24 am
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Mar 23 2010, 01:26 AM)
i always prefer fresh copy of windows in VM hehe. cuz can Suspend tongue.gif
Yeap, suspend it anytime when we dont need it cool2.gif

This post has been edited by ginolo: Mar 27 2010, 10:24 AM
frozzbyte
post Mar 27 2010, 01:31 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Been wanting to share THIS article from TUAW but kept on forgetting.

It's a graphic benchmarking done by MachTech between VMWare and Parallels. Seems like Parallels did the job very well compared to VMWare. Maybe this can help people to decide in using VMWare or Parallels (which is my favorite at this moment whistling.gif ).
dvlzplayground
post Mar 27 2010, 05:47 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i cant even get 3dmarks to launch in winxp on vmware fusion haha
SUSimacapc
post Apr 21 2010, 06:36 PM

229 posts

Hello there. I've recently been trying to run Maplestory on my mac through VMware, but it doesn't really seem to be working. Everytime i turn on it gives me this Hackshield Initialization Failed: error code 0x00000207.
Anyone knows how to fix this?
SPEC: the oldest white macbook with GMA graphics (950)
zidane88
post Apr 25 2010, 11:29 AM

516 posts

hey, Im all new to this software, and ive recently installed windows 7 manually, ie via boot camp. After im done with all the installation, i boot back to mac and try to run parallel desktop. When prompt, i selected - use your virtual machine( instead of new windows installation and import virtual machine), and follow the instructions. During the process, approximately 1/4 of it, it says i have to configure it manually. The message is : You need to manually continue the process of configuring the " boot camp" virtual machine. To continue with the configuration, log in to your windows virtual machine. If you have your cd autorun enabled, the configuration should resume automatically.Otherwise, open my computer and run the setup.exe file located on your CD...and so on.

what setup does this refers to? should i quite the software and then restart, because i cant restart my mac with the process is still on going. What should I do in order for it to work?

P.S. im using parallel desktop 5

This post has been edited by zidane88: Apr 25 2010, 11:43 AM
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 09:59 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Maybe bootcamp and parallel is two different thing? So you have to configure two time? Im not sure but I have a question... Between parallel and VMWare, which is free? As I saw parallel can be downloaded online... Need to clarify this...
wiraone
post Apr 26 2010, 10:34 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:59 AM)
Maybe bootcamp and parallel is two different thing? So you have to configure two time? Im not sure but I have a question... Between parallel and VMWare, which is free? As I saw parallel can be downloaded online... Need to clarify this...
Both are not free. You need to pay for them .. I managed to get a download-only when macupdate did a bundle recently, 10 apps for US$49.90 including parallels 5.0 .. did a migration from VMWare back to Parallels .. I had Parallels when it was first released but migrated to VMWare and now back to Parallels. As for me, nothing much different between the two in term of performance since I don't do graphics etc.

VirtualBox is however a free one from Sun/Oracle.
tarvalslain87
post Apr 26 2010, 10:45 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Hmm... then I guess Ill be using boot camp for my windows.. =(
Is virtualbox any good? Anyone tried it before? Just scared there are many issue/errors popping up when I use it..
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 12:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(zidane88 @ Apr 25 2010, 11:29 AM)
hey, Im all new to this software, and ive recently installed windows 7 manually, ie via boot camp. After im done with all the installation, i boot back to mac and try to run parallel desktop. When prompt, i selected - use your virtual machine( instead of new windows installation and import virtual machine), and follow the instructions. During the process, approximately 1/4 of it, it says i have to configure it manually. The message is : You need to manually continue the process of configuring the " boot camp" virtual machine. To continue with the configuration, log in to your windows virtual machine. If you have your cd autorun enabled, the configuration should resume automatically.Otherwise, open my computer and run the setup.exe file located on your CD...and so on.

what setup does this refers to? should i quite the software and then restart, because i cant restart my mac with the process is still on going. What should I do in order for it to work?

P.S. im using parallel desktop 5
quite weird. u mean u want to configure parallels to create a VM out of ur bootcamp installation right? so u can access that system thru parallels?

i did this in parallels 3 n 4 no problem..no experience in 5 though.

those "virtual machine" i bolded (is that even a word? tongue.gif) do u actually mean boot camp?
zidane88
post Apr 26 2010, 07:15 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 26 2010, 12:26 PM)
quite weird. u mean u want to configure parallels to create a VM out of ur bootcamp installation right? so u can access that system thru parallels?

i did this in parallels 3 n 4 no problem..no experience in 5 though.

those "virtual machine" i bolded (is that even a word? tongue.gif) do u actually mean boot camp?
yeah, thats what I wanna do.
i dont know, thats what written in the message..have u tried windows 7 on parallel 4?
viper-xs
post Apr 26 2010, 07:47 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:59 AM)
Both not free but both offer you the e-delivery method where you can just download once you bought the license for it. VMWare have educational discount, not sure about Parallel so if you're student you can take on this offer.
Otherway you can try to search for some discount coupons for those products. Got mine with 50% off late last year on vmware
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 08:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(zidane88 @ Apr 26 2010, 07:15 PM)
yeah, thats what I wanna do.
i dont know, thats what written in the message..have u tried windows 7 on parallel 4?
if that's the message, i dun think you're doing it right. i cant remember exactly, but it's something like going to custom VM, n set from Boot Camp Partition, or something similar. no CD autorun is involved.

i got try windows7 VM but on parallel 5 trial, but i didn't made a VM from bootcamp though. last time i got make for winxp bootcamp
zidane88
post Apr 26 2010, 09:59 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 26 2010, 08:41 PM)
if that's the message, i dun think you're doing it right. i cant remember exactly, but it's something like going to custom VM, n set from Boot Camp Partition, or something similar. no CD autorun is involved.

i got try windows7 VM but on parallel 5 trial, but i didn't made a VM from bootcamp though. last time i got make for winxp bootcamp
oh well, i have my windows seven installed, and the instructions are pretty straight forward, the windows just wont start, and it stops at " windows is unable to start"," windows is repairing" etc etc. Really have no idea why it doesnt work.. sad.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2010, 10:14 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh i see. is the windows 7 is 32-bit?

58 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:24 PM