MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only
Jul 1 2009, 09:33 AM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yes, what a good idea to waste your money
Jul 1 2009, 11:08 PM
i find it amusing how people always say something is 'hard' just because it's different.
yes when i first switched to a mac, it does feel 'unusual' but i wont say its hard. u just have to get used to it. and getting used to a mac is indeed very easy dont be so damn afraid about changes. when u first sign up in facebook, everything was 'hard' because it was different than friendster or myspace. look what happened now. |
Jul 11 2009, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jul 4 2009, 02:26 PM) hm.... so just wanna ask, is it okay to run games on parallel, games like warcraft 3, maple liddat? cause the specs i have is a 1.66 GHz intel c2d, and a X4500 iirc.... maple got mac version, no need parallels warcraft3 (well, DOTA la actually...same engine) worked fine on my prev mbp in parallels... 2.0ghz core duo (not c2d yah).. so i think a 1.66ghz c2d can handle it. not sure abt the graphics part though |
Aug 12 2009, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 31 2009, 05:45 PM) can i know how to install windows xp into macbook?javascript:emoticon(':help:') y r u askng how to install xp on macbook...since u already install it? ;p. when booting hold down Option, u'll get a screen that asks whether u wanna boot into OSX or winxphow am i going to change from winXP to Mac OS? |
Aug 22 2009, 10:04 PM
Aug 27 2009, 11:29 PM
did u format the windows partition to NTFS?
right click the windows partition 'disk' icon and then Get Info. the Format should be FAT32. if it's NTFS, u need to download MacFUSE. http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/ OSX can only read ntfs partitions, but not write. no probs with fat32 though Added on August 27, 2009, 11:29 pmoh yes, the upcoming snow leopard will supposedly fix this issue This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Aug 27 2009, 11:29 PM |
Aug 28 2009, 05:21 AM
Sep 6 2009, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 6 2009, 01:48 PM) hey im wondering where can we get VMware fusion ? it seems that apple online store only sell parallel desktop 4.0. for torrents i recommend uTorrent. another good one is Transmission. a lot of people seem to like Acquisition but i just dont get it Any cheaper one in the market ? Are there any software can be used eto download torrent in Mac ? or i have to use parallel to download torrent using xunlei |
Sep 11 2009, 10:44 AM
oh i remembered y i hate acquisition. it keeps on nagging you to upgrade to the Pro version ;p
Oct 24 2009, 07:57 PM
when I'm in windows (in parallels desktop 4), after a while, somehow the 'ctrl' key activates on its own. for example, when i press the 'M' key, the window will minimize...as if i pressed CTRL+M. does anyone face this problem?
i have a temporary fix though. in windows xp, i have to send the ctrl+alt+del key, close back the task manager window and it returns to normal. however, after a few mins, the ctrl issue started again. in windows 7, i have to switch to another space (in Spaces) and switch back and the ctrl problem goes away. but then, just like in winxp, it started to come up again after a few mins. im wondering if anyone has a permanent fix for this. |
Oct 28 2009, 03:06 AM
really? can use 2 sets of keyboard+mouse? that's new to me
for prion's questions.. 1. any keyboard n mouse will do. 2. if prasys said mac pro can do it, i dun see why the imac cant. but still, i always thought a computer can only take 1 set of mouse+keyboard. well u can connect more, but i dont see how a computer could distinguish them This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 28 2009, 03:07 AM |
Oct 30 2009, 09:15 PM
i just tried out win7 on VMware fusion 3. not bad....but once i launched firefox in OSX, win7 would lag haha. specs as below. in OSX 10.5.8
This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Oct 30 2009, 09:15 PM |
Oct 30 2009, 10:20 PM
juz letting you know its a common problem. i think everybody has it. something to do with how windows and OSX have different ways of telling the time.
Nov 3 2009, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(dannygoh @ Nov 3 2009, 08:19 AM) hi, i just download vmware fusion 3 and install windows 7. how do i enable aero support. intel gma950 isnt recommended to run aero. probably windows detected ur hardware n turned it off. not sure where to enable though ;p mine was in aero the first time i bootedmacbook 2.4, 4gb ram and intel graphic. |
Nov 4 2009, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(dannygoh @ Nov 3 2009, 07:19 PM) oops sorry, i always forgot there's the X3100 ;pQUOTE(Masamune @ Nov 4 2009, 03:50 AM) Hey i ran across a problem when i try to partition my HDD in bootcamp.. you need to format the whole drive, not just the volume. sometimes defragging works though. another way i read (but havent tried) is to resize the mac partition (better have a backup, seems dangerous)."The disk cannot be partitioned because some files cannot be moved" I tried searching online and still no luck.. Most ways is the reformat but i just reformat this morning and did a clean install of SL and then copied everything using CCC... But now when i try to partition..i can't..Help!! lets say you want ur windows partition to be 30gb. boot from the OSX DVD and open Disk Utility, select ur internal drive, and in the Partition tab, reduce ur mac partition by 30gb (or whatever size you want for ur windows). when DU shrinks the partition, it should move those 'files that cannot be moved' to the end of the mac partition. after that, resize the partition again to the maximum size so u'll again have a single partition, but those annoying files are not stuck at the end anymore, giving way to boot camp. again, i've never tried this method, juz read about it. but i think its disappointing that we have to deal with this problem. as far as i can remember, i never encountered this in boot camp 1.0. it came up in 2.0, and unfortunately its still there in 3.0. QUOTE(psyeo @ Nov 4 2009, 08:15 AM) carbon copy cloner. something like superduper |
Nov 5 2009, 01:08 AM
Nov 5 2009, 10:39 PM
Nov 12 2009, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Bernard Yeo @ Nov 11 2009, 11:24 AM) Hi everyone, hibernation is something like sleep rite? if reboot then it wont return to the hibernation state.I'm wondering if it's safe to hibernate Windows XP while in BootCamp. Anyone done that before? And if rebooting by holding the options button, does Windows XP return to the state before hibernation eg. programs that were open are still open. Finally, can MacOS still boot up normally? I'm using Snow Leopard. Thank you. anyway wanna ask...in Fusion 3, i only have a win7 virtual machine. is there a way for me to launch fusion3 without having win7 automatically boot? can't find it in preferences :S |
Nov 12 2009, 09:00 PM
have u installed the drivers yet?
Nov 13 2009, 10:47 PM
I just realized something on Fusion 3 yesterday. I wanted to compare the 3d acceleration of fusion3 against parallels desktop 5 using a 3dmark06 test. 3dmark06 cant even launch on fusion3
anyone else can verify this? i was using windows7 |
| Change to: | 0.0218sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:27 PM |