52 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Travel MAS (Malaysia Airline System), Discussion, Q&A, and others

cshong
post Mar 29 2009, 11:19 AM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Mar 29 2009, 10:18 AM)
book 2 one ways
It will be very expensive.
Salina
post Mar 31 2009, 02:47 PM

Dear cshong,

In this competitive environment, MAS’ pricing of fares are worked out a per-flight basis, in some cases down to the per-seat basis. And as such, when you make enquiries like this, the purchase of return tickets is encouraged by making it cheaper as a total sum. Our internet booking is configured to respond this way with the respective one-way and return enquiries of fares.

Dear bonzaimy,

We will take your complaint as an official one. Could you email customer@malaysiaairlines.com with your flight details and mention the food quality and crew service please. Seriously, your feedback does go towards our statistics when we do quality checks of all our service provision (ticket purchase to disembark value chain), for the respective departments to take heed and improve upon. We have our service standards to maintain, as a global full service airline.

Thank you

John Low

Customer Response
Malaysia Airlines

cshong
post Mar 31 2009, 07:38 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(Salina @ Mar 31 2009, 02:47 PM)
Dear cshong,

In this competitive environment, MAS’ pricing of fares are worked out a per-flight basis, in some cases down to the per-seat basis. And as such, when you make enquiries like this, the purchase of return tickets is encouraged by making it cheaper as a total sum. Our internet booking is configured to respond this way with the respective one-way and return enquiries of fares.

Dear bonzaimy,

We will take your complaint as an official one. Could you email customer@malaysiaairlines.com with your flight details and mention the food quality and crew service please. Seriously, your feedback does go towards our statistics when we do quality checks of all our service provision (ticket purchase to disembark value chain), for the respective departments to take heed and improve upon. We have our service standards to maintain, as a global full service airline.

Thank you

John Low

Customer Response
Malaysia Airlines
Thank you for your reply.

Are you the staff of MAS? If yes, I hope you can always read on this thread. As this thread is created for discussion of Malaysia Airlines.

MAS website should let me book multi-cities or stopover flights so that I can book the flights where the return flight will through other cities. For example, If I want to travel the whole Europe, MAS website should let me book for KL -> London and Rome -> KL together.

This post has been edited by cshong: Mar 31 2009, 07:40 PM
Shah_15
post Apr 1 2009, 12:54 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

KUL to Buenos Aires cost a whopping RM 18k...is it really logic price or insane?
SUSbuntutman
post Apr 1 2009, 01:03 AM

324 posts

prices are insane. even matta fair prices for MAS flights are still expensive. why is this so ?
why can china airlines, lauda or even SIA offer lower ? i dont mind the transit stages since its just going to be for a moment or so in which i could spend my time at the stores, but being m'sian, to fly m'sian carriers ........very expensive.

dont tell me about the cabin crew awards, almost all the major carriers have gotten that award. food provision wise, i dont quite like airline food so it doesnt concern me at all. i wont touch on this subject as it is of no importance to me.

but i do want to know, why other carriers can be price competitive, and why not ours ? just what exactly are the value added details that make our carriers so much more pricier ? are we still paying for the KLIA airport construction or what ?
Shah_15
post Apr 1 2009, 01:09 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

to help buying new planes to replace their old 733 fleet.
juichuan
post Apr 1 2009, 04:57 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

it is almost all practice of full service airlines (not budget ones) that 1 way ticket is more expensive. encourage people to travel but return to their origin country and not stay at the destination with intention to work illegally..
cshong
post Apr 1 2009, 08:37 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Apr 1 2009, 01:03 AM)
prices are insane. even matta fair prices for MAS flights are still expensive. why is this so ?
why can china airlines, lauda or even SIA offer lower ? i dont mind the transit stages since its just going to be for a moment or so in which i could spend my time at the stores, but being m'sian, to fly m'sian carriers ........very expensive.

dont tell me about the cabin crew awards, almost all the major carriers have gotten that award. food provision wise, i dont quite like airline food so it doesnt concern me at all. i wont touch on this subject as it is of no importance to me.

but i do want to know, why other carriers can be price competitive, and why not ours ? just what exactly are the value added details that make our carriers so much more pricier ? are we still paying for the KLIA airport construction or what ?
Actually, for round-trip flights, MAS already cheaper than some others like Emirates, SIA, and others. As what I stated above, MAS will charge RM38xx if I book round-trip flight to London in December, Singapore Airlines charges RM50xx, and Emirates charges RM4xxx for the same dates.

For one-way flight to London in December, SIA cheaper, RM35xx, Emirates RM38xx.

Of course, AirAsia is cheaper, but I don't like to use LCC for long-haul flight.

Added on April 1, 2009, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Apr 1 2009, 01:09 AM)
to help buying new planes to replace their old 733 fleet.
is 734. But, it will be replaced by new 738 soon.

MAS 747 are also old. If the 6 A380 ordered by them are not used to replace their 747, then they should order other Airbus or Boeing planes to replace their 747.

This post has been edited by cshong: Apr 1 2009, 08:48 PM
SUSbuntutman
post Apr 1 2009, 11:41 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Apr 1 2009, 08:37 PM)
Actually, for round-trip flights, MAS already cheaper than some others like Emirates, SIA, and others. As what I stated above, MAS will charge RM38xx if I book round-trip flight to London in December, Singapore Airlines charges RM50xx, and Emirates charges RM4xxx for the same dates.

Of course, AirAsia is cheaper, but I don't like to use LCC for long-haul flight.

MAS 747 are also old. If the 6 A380 ordered by them are not used to replace their 747, then they should order other Airbus or Boeing planes to replace their 747.
sorry but i have to disagree. perhaps on occasions MAS flights could be cheaper. unfortunately, i have never had a lucky encounter.
i had to fly to christchurch via SIA due to price difference of RM 300. i had to fly emirates to london because of cheaper fares. i even resorted to using lauda air to melbourne some time back , which is @ RM 1700 as opposed to MAS's RM 2300. i cant remember which year but i know it was definitely within these 4 years.

and i have not begun about the frequent flyer programmes yet. Enrich is no doubt a pretty good card, but as i started travelling for business and was automatically signed up for Skywards, i was amazed at the attention and value added things i obtained.
it kinda puts enrich into shame.

now i'm not really a 1 way flight person unless i intend to attest to different destinations at 1 go, however the 1 year holding/validity period ticket for a return via MAS is quite costly as compared to the rest.

you can read more about skywards below
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/emirates-ai...e-skywards.html
https://www.skywards.com/index.aspx

now its not that i'm looking down on my own nation's carrier. however to be a smart consumer, everything has to be justified. i have to ask myself each time, whyy. whyyy cant i fly MAS ?

enrich points are ...... lame (sad to say i have enrich card myself)
food , i wont touch on this as i'm not an airline food person.
service on board aircraft , i hardly get any attention unless i'm in business class or first.

most importantly, price. i dont mind paying an extra *RM 300 or more to fly MAS. but what are my justifications going to be ? There is just absolutely no value add for me in paying that extra *RM 300. everyone would agree with me on this.
when u fly, your main purpose is to get to the destination. i'm sure thats the main priority of every other airline so no value added here.
then there's service, i dont feel any difference paying that extra money for the same service i'm getting elsewhere. its not like MAS would serve me abalones if i sit in economy just because i'm a m'sian flying a national carrier.
dont get me started about the enrich vs skywards. upon looking at my own national carrier, i cannot put my finger on the value added that makes MAS so special.

feel free to enlighten me on this. me and a bunch of m'sians...... roughly 100000 of us malaysians would like to know, why we shud pay more, for less.
awards ? most big players have awards.

and note, i did not compare this to a no frills airline. totally of different class. my only comparison was made on my past and present experience with other airlines similar stature to our very own national carrier.

if u ask me, whether i am dissapointed, i would say no i am not. i still have hopes that our national carrier will improvise, but its a long road for progress and until that day comes, i will stick to being a smart consumer.

*forgot to add - most of my statements are meant for the customer service rep for MAS. not for cshong.

This post has been edited by buntutman: Apr 1 2009, 11:45 PM
Shah_15
post Apr 2 2009, 01:42 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ Apr 1 2009, 08:37 PM)

i dont see any reason for me to agree with bolded part above. i will absolutely not sacrifice 1k ( airasia round trip UK only 2.5k ) for klia terminal which i stay most probably longest 3 hours.

This post has been edited by Shah_15: Apr 2 2009, 01:42 AM
db07mufan
post Apr 2 2009, 10:34 AM

3,705 posts

mas is no longer what it used to be. Gone of the days of the Going Beyond Expectations era.

Now its 5 star low cost value carrier.
cshong
post Apr 2 2009, 10:39 AM

3,927 posts

So far, I don;t see AirAsia give me better service than MAS, except low fares.

I agree that "you pay peanuts you get peanuts". I like flying. So, I also wish to enjoy during flying. That's why I never use LCC for long-haul flights. I will not expect AirAsia or other Low-cost airline will do better than MAS, in term of service.

If an airline let me suffer from their service, offer me RM0 fares also useless.

When I have the right to make decision, I will mostly prefer not to use AirAsia even for domestic flight, except if I'm not the person who pay for my own ticket.

Normally, when I look for travel packages offered by travel agencies, I will look for those package which use either SIA or MAS.

But, I would like to say thank you to AirAsia. Without AirAsia, MAS would not lower their fares. Good job to both AirAsia and MAS.

MAS also have its own low-cost carrier as subsidinary, Firefly. Anyone know that when will firefly serve Sarawak?

This post has been edited by cshong: Apr 2 2009, 10:43 AM
stimix
post Apr 2 2009, 11:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Very fair statement there cschong. Well hv to agree. Although LCCT has been upgraded & expanded and no more facing sardine pack as last month or b4, However the 1st impression my foreigners on LCCT..is pretty bad...more like a cargo warehouse terminal rather than proper airport.

Anyway, for poor folks, no choice hv to pay peanut to use the 3rd world terminal, otherwise we cannot travel oversea so often! Haha
SUSbuntutman
post Apr 2 2009, 02:49 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2009, 11:02 AM)
Very fair statement there cschong. Well hv to agree. Although LCCT has been upgraded & expanded and no more facing sardine pack as last month or b4, However the 1st impression my foreigners on LCCT..is pretty bad...more like a cargo warehouse terminal rather than proper airport.

Anyway, for poor folks, no choice hv to pay peanut to use the 3rd world terminal, otherwise we cannot travel oversea so often! Haha
u are not poor. u are stingy oni. nature of our work made us like that.

anyway u cant compare MAS with Airasia ler, one full frills and one no frills carrier. mana boleh.jpg !

btw where is the MAS representative ah ? if can please answer my queries yah.
bonzaimy
post Apr 2 2009, 03:03 PM

1,009 posts

I used the Airasia recently and i think their service is good except for the lcct. Its really terrible and hardly can see any sign. And yeah, about the food. I still want to complaint about the food. Changed the food. The portion is too small and sometimes its overcooked. This is really bad...
Putraskyline
post Apr 2 2009, 07:35 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

If I use web check in, how many hour do I need to show at departure hall?
stimix
post Apr 2 2009, 08:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Gee U so mean wan ah cry.gif C U nxt week...Mr Dupe boy biggrin.gif

QUOTE(buntutman @ Apr 2 2009, 02:49 PM)
u are not poor. u are stingy oni. nature of our work made us like that.

bonzaimy
post Apr 2 2009, 10:56 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 2 2009, 07:35 PM)
the departure get open 30 minutes before the aircraft depart. But you have to know that web check in is mainly for a people who don't have a luggage to put in a cargo. Hope this is clear
cshong
post Apr 2 2009, 11:31 PM

3,927 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 2 2009, 07:35 PM)
http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/bkin...e-check-in.aspx

If you have bagge to check-in, after web check-in proceed to MAS check-in counter or baggage drop counter at least 60 minutes before departure time. For boarding, I recommend that you arrive at the gate allocated for your flight at least 30 minutes before departure.
SUSbuntutman
post Apr 3 2009, 04:17 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2009, 08:06 PM)
Gee U so mean wan ah  cry.gif C U nxt week...Mr Dupe boy  biggrin.gif
couldnt have done it without your help !

52 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:32 PM