Lol.. If you have the means (cash) why not.. haha... But sure is cool to have both... Husbands will always agree to what their wife suggests/wants right? =D
Hardware [Guide] Mac Purchase Guide , Mac Products Ownership
Apr 26 2010, 03:26 PM
5,054 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Lol.. If you have the means (cash) why not.. haha... But sure is cool to have both... Husbands will always agree to what their wife suggests/wants right? =D
Apr 27 2010, 04:19 PM
139 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
just asking :
is imac 21'' with the lowest specs be able to run duo OS using parallel ? and normally when is the revision date for imacs ? |
Apr 27 2010, 05:09 PM
Every mac with intel based chips can run dual OS using parallel.. Its just that depending on your RAM and processor and of course how you use the dual OS... Im sure under normal conditions all Macs can run dual OS no problem...
It depends on Apple... Mostly will happen during this June if im not mistaken but no news about it yet |
Apr 27 2010, 05:42 PM
will cause any lagging anot ? cause not very sure on the iMac's processor and ram's performance
Apr 27 2010, 06:06 PM
You can refer to the link below for more information on the lag or performance.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/979861 If Im not mistaken there are some forumers did complaint lag but it should some special factor.. Read them out =) |
Apr 27 2010, 07:02 PM
396 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(magicalass @ Apr 27 2010, 04:19 PM) Refering to http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/, last refresh was 10/2009. Refresh usually happen around 8 months, longest was 11 months.So updates are to be expected in June/July, latest Sep/Oct (before christmas shopping season). If you cant parallel or VMware, you can always bootcamp. This post has been edited by frega: Apr 27 2010, 07:02 PM |
Apr 27 2010, 09:34 PM
macrumors state - buy only if you need it , end of cycle ...
means gonna come out new line of product ? or the next upgrade will be very different ? |
Apr 27 2010, 10:13 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(magicalass @ Apr 27 2010, 05:42 PM) the basic 21.5" spec is pretty good already. shud handle most common tasks with 2 OS.QUOTE(magicalass @ Apr 27 2010, 09:34 PM) macrumors state - buy only if you need it , end of cycle ... no one knows... if they announce the new one, no one will buy the current onesmeans gonna come out new line of product ? or the next upgrade will be very different ? |
Apr 28 2010, 12:55 AM
If you need it then you can straight buy now and dont wait...At least stil got like 2-3 months before June/July.. If you dont need it urgently I suggest you to be a little bit more patient and wait for the summer apple announcement =) If that time they didnt make any refresh and no rumours about it then go ahead and buy =)
Apr 28 2010, 09:34 AM
any other websites / forums to see the comparison between mac and pc ar?
any difference if i run dual OS on pc ? compared to running dual OS on windows using bootcamp ? dont really need an imac, but feels like its more special and wana try new diff OS and maybe more worthwhile then getting a macbook / mbp |
Apr 28 2010, 10:00 AM
If you want to compare below is the link to compare between a Mac and a Windows PC
http://www.macvswindows.com/index.php?titl...ows_Comparisons Why not getting a macbook? It provides portability and already upgraded last 2 weeks... Unless of course you only use your com at home then iMac is your choice. There is no difference running dual OS on PC/Mac using bootcamp as what I have understand. |
Apr 28 2010, 10:09 AM
definitely love a macbook , but the price and specs difference makes me not to think about it
now still thinking whether shud i splash the cash on iMac instead of PCs .. |
Apr 28 2010, 10:28 AM
Depends on your usage... If you are an hardcore gamer, definitely PC will be your suitable choice. But lets say you need more graphic power to run those softwares, then Mac would make it perfect. If you are worried about specs get a macbook that has been upgrade like i mentioned in my previous post that is if you are willing to give up the 27" LCD =)
Added on April 28, 2010, 10:29 amI have a windows rig just for my gaming needs and now since Im not really into gaming anymore that is why m switch to MacBooks =) This post has been edited by tarvalslain87: Apr 28 2010, 10:29 AM |
Apr 28 2010, 11:52 AM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(magicalass @ Apr 28 2010, 09:34 AM) any other websites / forums to see the comparison between mac and pc ar? 1) comparing in terms of what?any difference if i run dual OS on pc ? compared to running dual OS on windows using bootcamp ? dont really need an imac, but feels like its more special and wana try new diff OS and maybe more worthwhile then getting a macbook / mbp 2) if u intend to run OSX on pc, can ask at the hackintosh thread. normally got problems with drivers :S fixable, but sometimes not easy lah 3) experiment with hackintosh 1st if u want. try out OSX n maybe you'll like it QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:28 AM) Depends on your usage... If you are an hardcore gamer, definitely PC will be your suitable choice. But lets say you need more graphic power to run those softwares, then Mac would make it perfect. If you are worried about specs get a macbook that has been upgrade like i mentioned in my previous post that is if you are willing to give up the 27" LCD =) PC can have more graphic power at the same priceAdded on April 28, 2010, 10:29 amI have a windows rig just for my gaming needs and now since Im not really into gaming anymore that is why m switch to MacBooks =) |
Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM
Yea but I guess stability/smoothness wise Mac still has the upper hand? Correct me if Im wrong =)
Apr 28 2010, 01:58 PM
561 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM) Hard to say these days. Windows 7 has really gained a lot of ground. OSX software is highly optimised, even the third party ones, but nothing brute power on a custom PC can't match. OSX really shines on a laptop when you've mastered the keyboard shortcuts and touchpad, making it great for productivity. |
Apr 28 2010, 02:22 PM
gurus , any particular things that you like/hate when u switch from windows to mac ?
Apr 28 2010, 02:53 PM
Lol one thing i still havent really learn is the keyboard shortcuts for word processing... Not really use to it yet and also the home and end button that I couldnt find on my macbook... =)
Apr 28 2010, 03:42 PM
561 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 28 2010, 02:53 PM) Lol one thing i still havent really learn is the keyboard shortcuts for word processing... Not really use to it yet and also the home and end button that I couldnt find on my macbook... =) Aren't they on CMD + Left and CMD + Right? Haven't had a good look at the new keyboards (new, considering my current Mac is still an iBook G4).QUOTE gurus , any particular things that you like/hate when u switch from windows to mac ? Liked: Expose, Spaces, Spotlight, iWork, not having to deal with Windows Registry. Hated: ... I'm an Apple fanboy, but I know they've been too distracted with iPhones and iPads lately to innovate the Mac OSX further. Windows 7 has caught up considerably (by copying, but that's not the point) and Apple seems very lax regarding security (Safari is usually the first browser to fall during a hacking competition). |
Apr 28 2010, 03:53 PM
and does it means that if im not into graphics designing / movie making those , imac doesnt do much for me ? lol
| Change to: | 0.0316sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:16 AM |