First review of the Proton Exora

joanalooidog
post Apr 24 2009, 11:01 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(boyy2k @ Apr 24 2009, 09:18 AM)
hello bro, r u sure it comfortably climb the hill (near bukit anggerik lensen)..sure or not, have you try another mpv, like avanza 1.5, or you just a slow cruising driver, if that the case, good for you.. go ahead and book it, and next time when i bring my friend avanza 1.5 auto, we can try top that hill side by side, then i hope you dun fell ashamed k....  wink.gif  , im not manual or tiptronik fan, i just engine fan....

PS: for me underpower meaning how fast you can go from 0-50kmh and pulling 5 grown up people climbing.. exora eventually can reach to 50kmh but........ it gonna take you long time and after a wira 1.5 and avanza 1.5 overtake you ..... got what i mean by underpower
agree.........
I tested 2 cars on the same day, Exora, Avanza 1.5 since both show room is just side by side. Huge difference on the pick up. AS i said b4, Exora pick up terrible, climb hill terrible, overtake terrible. Avanza alot better. But in terms of comfort, Exora better. In terms of high speed >60km/h, Exora better.
If most of the time using it for city driving, I'll b very geram if I'm driving Exora.
xin
post Apr 24 2009, 11:07 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

Yup, the torque or pickup is the main point where much potential buyers backed out. Either they retune the engine or give it a higher displacement to compensate it. It is really a good car and i hope proton dun just let it to waste because of the pickup ..
loong2020
post Apr 24 2009, 12:02 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

sat avanza 1.5 to genting with 5 adults (2 fat fella)..right after awana..my friend that drove, abit lack of pickup to go..so down shift 2nd gear...till the temple slope, have to downshift to L in order to move... laugh.gif engine revving hard but cant really go...whereby my another friends overtook us with his optra 1.8 and city smoothly...so come to think of proton's mpv and since most of u guys mentioned its underpowered...well..genting should be abit hard task to climb up..can climb but slow like tortoise.... sweat.gif ....
xshiro
post Apr 24 2009, 12:18 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Apr 24 2009, 12:02 PM)
sat avanza 1.5 to genting with 5 adults (2 fat fella)..right after awana..my friend that drove, abit lack of pickup to go..so down shift 2nd gear...till the temple slope, have to downshift to L in order to move... laugh.gif  engine revving hard but cant really go...whereby my another friends overtook us with his optra 1.8 and city smoothly...so come to think of proton's mpv and since most of u guys mentioned its underpowered...well..genting should be abit hard task to climb up..can climb but slow like tortoise.... sweat.gif ....
like lorry? sweat.gif
xin
post Apr 24 2009, 12:22 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

better than lorry ..cuz more comfortable haha ... alrite guys, i have emailed Proton i-care about this underpowered pickup issue. Hope they would respond to me ..
sphiroth
post Apr 24 2009, 12:27 PM

2,804 posts

I remember something I heard from a car salesmen when I still a child (20 years ago) about common question when people buy a car.

Malay: how's the FC?
Chinese: can go up Genting or not?
Indian: how many people can fit inside?

Guess it still the same today.

p/s: sorry if someone feel offended if this is deemed racist.
travis_ckf
post Apr 24 2009, 12:44 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 24 2009, 12:27 PM)
I remember something I heard from a car salesmen when I still a child (20 years ago) about common question when people buy a car.

I think this question will fit everyone's mind regardless of race

Power window ok tidak? tongue.gif
xin
post Apr 24 2009, 12:53 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

i to the power window not solved in newer proton ma ? haha ...
tunertoobe
post Apr 24 2009, 01:38 PM

9,309 posts

My parents are thinking of getting this car to replace the Myvi. Oh god I love manual but they wanted to change it to auto. doh.gif

The good news is though, me and my friends like to travel and the Myvi can be quite frustrating with a load of luggage and 5 people inside. This might be my new party vehicle. laugh.gif i just got rid of my P so I think I'm gonna look for a test drive.
loong2020
post Apr 24 2009, 01:40 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Apr 24 2009, 12:22 PM)
better than lorry ..cuz more comfortable haha ... alrite guys, i have emailed Proton i-care about this underpowered pickup issue. Hope they would respond to me ..
yeah..got dvd player mah...can watch movie...
boyy2k
post Apr 24 2009, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Apr 24 2009, 12:02 PM)
sat avanza 1.5 to genting with 5 adults (2 fat fella)..right after awana..my friend that drove, abit lack of pickup to go..so down shift 2nd gear...till the temple slope, have to downshift to L in order to move... laugh.gif  engine revving hard but cant really go...whereby my another friends overtook us with his optra 1.8 and city smoothly...so come to think of proton's mpv and since most of u guys mentioned its underpowered...well..genting should be abit hard task to climb up..can climb but slow like tortoise.... sweat.gif ....
so... from this experience, even avanza is a bit lembab naik genting, so you can imagine how the effect to exora..
MR_alien
post Apr 24 2009, 05:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

that day i go SC....my place cannot test drive yet
but that day..it's the SA itself testing the car...i think they want to understand before sell
5 SA in the car...when the get inside the car...the door closing sound is nice..mean have soundproof....
when they start the car......quiet as well...at least more quiet than my saga...also indicate have soundproof
when they start driving...yeah, the pickup abit suck but much better than my saga already...not so slow
as i go knock it before they drive...quite solid...quite stable.
but the car is smaller than i thought it is...smaller than i looked at the pictures
didn't have a chance on getting in the car...so cannot comment on the interior, comfort and the handling
but the SA just drive the car like crazy....press hard2 and fast thn suddenly stopped the car
boyy2k
post Apr 24 2009, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Apr 24 2009, 01:38 PM)
My parents are thinking of getting this car to replace the Myvi. Oh god I love manual but they wanted to change it to auto.  doh.gif

The good news is though, me and my friends like to travel and the Myvi can be quite frustrating with a load of luggage and 5 people inside. This might be my new party vehicle.  laugh.gif  i just got rid of my P so I think I'm gonna look for a test drive.
bro, just my opinion, pls dun buy it fisrt, wait until review from the owner and when proton make 1.8 above cc..

sphiroth
post Apr 24 2009, 06:02 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 24 2009, 05:54 PM)
but that day..it's the SA itself testing the car...i think they want to understand before sell
5 SA in the car...when the get inside the car...the door closing sound is nice..mean have soundproof....
when they start the car......quiet as well...at least more quiet than my saga...also indicate have soundproof
when they start driving...yeah, the pickup abit suck but much better than my saga already...not so slow
but the car is smaller than i thought it is...smaller than i looked at the pictures
didn't have a chance on getting in the car...so cannot comment on the interior, comfort and the handling
but the SA just drive the car like crazy....press hard2 and fast thn suddenly stopped the car
That is the 'proper' way to do a test drive. brows.gif

QUOTE(boyy2k @ Apr 24 2009, 05:55 PM)
bro, just my opinion, pls dun buy it fisrt, wait until review from the owner and when proton make 1.8 above cc..
For me, I bought car that suits my needs, not one that suit other people needs. Just my 2 cent. icon_rolleyes.gif

MR_alien
post Apr 24 2009, 06:05 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 24 2009, 06:02 PM)
That is the 'proper' way to do a test drive.  brows.gif
For me, I bought car that suits my needs, not one that suit other people needs. Just my 2 cent. icon_rolleyes.gif
ya....press so hard ..can hear the vrooom so hard
when travel fast also suddenly they brake...lol
the rear drum brake sure is huge from my opinion
but it's quite wide inside....can sit comfortably
ericmaxman
post Apr 24 2009, 11:08 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Apr 24 2009, 12:44 PM)
I think this question will fit everyone's mind regardless of race

Power window ok tidak? tongue.gif
erm. proton's CEO mentioned in the launch that they have "fixed" that issue.
travis_ckf
post Apr 25 2009, 12:01 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 24 2009, 11:08 PM)
erm. proton's CEO mentioned in the launch that they have "fixed" that issue.
I heard that. Let's hope its now history rather than a reality again. smile.gif

Savvy88
post Apr 25 2009, 08:49 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 24 2009, 05:54 PM)
hehe.. yeah..that's the proper way to test drive a car. it remember me when I went to Perodua showroom at Pontian (my hometown), I booked a testdrive with Myvi with my friends. So we did the testdrive one by one (3 of us) my friend is the first to drive but maybe he never had a testdrive b4,he drive the car slowly (mybe bcoz of it is a new car and perodua property). but then suddenly, the SA who follow us up told my friend to raise the speed. he said " tekanla kuat sikit, barulah testdrive namanya..". huhu I feel a bit embarassing but never mind because the SA is very friendly. Then when my turn, I hardly pressed the pedal to the metal, and suddenly i hit the brake to test the ABS, bcoz b4 it I ask to the SA is it the car has ABS or not and the SA told us it has. Haha..then after testdrive,perodua gave us a FREE GIFT! so lucky even I juz got a towel and both my friend got discount coupon if they wanna buy a Myvi. thumbup.gif
V12Kompressor
post Apr 25 2009, 10:16 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

even motoring journourlist takes the car to the next level for review... hence they can tell you the top speed etc and combined driving economy.

Test driving is the only chance to bring the whole car to it's maximum limit. Then when bought new one edi, have to sayang it. haha
W.ROOK
post Apr 25 2009, 11:08 AM

982 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 24 2009, 12:27 PM)

Just to add:

Bayi: Berapa lama boleh tahan?

33 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 >Top

0.0154sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:31 PM