53 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

ATI Radeon HD 4890 RV790 Launches April 6, ETA: first-second week of APRIL.

X.E.D
post Apr 5 2009, 06:40 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

No, fan speed ramps up earlier. It now goes into drive at 70 degrees instead of 80 (because of users whining).

The 4890 at 70 C will be noisier than the 4870. The 4870 will get to 80 C much easier than the 4890.

blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 06:48 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 5 2009, 06:40 PM)
No, fan speed ramps up earlier. It now goes into drive at 70 degrees instead of 80 (because of users whining).
The 4890 at 70 C will be noisier than the 4870. The 4870 will get to 80 C much easier than the 4890.
Hmm good report then. What about 100% load(at max temps)? Same fan speed? xbitlabs reports same noise level.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 5 2009, 06:51 PM
X.E.D
post Apr 5 2009, 06:55 PM

1,955 posts

The fan itself is the same, so at 100% (full power) it's gonna sound the same.

Aka WHRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
tech3910
post Apr 5 2009, 07:01 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

http://en.expreview.com/2009/04/02/radeon-...reviewed.html/4

The engineering sample features 12V 1.00A cooling fan, while the final version uses 12V 1.50A cooler.

i think dis is wat causing the confusion here.
certain review uses ES where some review uses retail.

Therefore, the cooler has been improved by adding one heatpipe. The centre heatpipe has diameter 8mm, and the other two has 6mm diameter. The rated current of HD 4890’s fans is 1.5A, compared with 1.0A found on HD 4870.

wen loaded, the 4890 fan speed shud pick up pace faster den 4870, which explain slightly higher noise level.

Added on April 5, 2009, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 5 2009, 06:55 PM)
The fan itself is the same, so at 100% (full power) it's gonna sound the same.

Aka WHRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
sounds like mini hair dryer............ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tech3910: Apr 5 2009, 07:02 PM
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 07:24 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 5 2009, 07:01 PM)
http://en.expreview.com/2009/04/02/radeon-...reviewed.html/4
i think dis is wat causing the confusion here.
certain review uses ES where some review uses retail.
wen loaded, the 4890 fan speed shud pick up pace faster den 4870, which explain slightly higher noise level.

Added on April 5, 2009, 7:02 pm
sounds like mini hair dryer............ biggrin.gif
Yeah, I tried before XD (2900XT) .

Hmmm is it safe to run these cards at 80C~90C? I might change the fan speed profile later(yeah, buying it soon).

EDIT: Checked the site, looks safe.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 5 2009, 07:27 PM
X.E.D
post Apr 5 2009, 07:38 PM

1,955 posts

I can't justify spending on the 4890 TBH. Don't game much, and the X3 710 showed that my 2900 is still very, very potent for the games I play.

It's either that I win this contest:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=89891

Or I don't get one. There's better stuff to spend on for me, like a huge Wacom Tablet and a 2560 monitor (theft-proof) when I stay in SG.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Apr 5 2009, 07:39 PM
gto87
post Apr 5 2009, 07:39 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 5 2009, 06:48 PM)
Hmm good report then. What about 100% load(at max temps)? Same fan speed? xbitlabs reports same noise level.
I have both cards and it didn't produce the same level of noise. At 100% load 4890 produce higher noise level.
tech3910
post Apr 5 2009, 07:39 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 5 2009, 07:24 PM)
Yeah, I tried before XD (2900XT) .

Hmmm is it safe to run these cards at 80C~90C? I might change the fan speed profile later(yeah, buying it soon).
EDIT: Checked the site, looks safe.
i suggest reference cooler, swap wit 3rd party cooler, den flash wit TOP or XXX bios............... thumbup.gif
can OC kao kao......... biggrin.gif

coz from stat, reference card has lower fail rate & OC bit better (if u dismiss the heat/noise issue).
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 08:11 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Well, noise was never my problem as long as it is not annoying. Flashing with ASUS bios should allow the use of their software?
X.E.D
post Apr 5 2009, 08:14 PM

1,955 posts

Did anyone post the Rivatuner patch yet? There's one that allows you to use it with the 4890 now.
tech3910
post Apr 5 2009, 08:52 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 5 2009, 08:11 PM)
Well, noise was never my problem as long as it is not annoying. Flashing with ASUS bios should allow the use of their software?
i think can, coz ASUS TOP also is reference card, same like others, only tweak bios.

well, u could always use other s/w to tweak the voltage, like ATT.
piumiu
post Apr 5 2009, 10:09 PM

I see you.
3,174 posts

4890 is really hot. after gaming for a while i can feel the heat coming out of my casing. never with my gtx 260 and 4870 card.
Pro-MX
post Apr 5 2009, 10:46 PM

Izay
1,259 posts

since u own both gtx 260 and 4890....do u think the performance increase on the 4890 worth the money? and izzit much faster than the gtx 260?
pikacu
post Apr 5 2009, 11:22 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

Holy rock, Gecube HD4890 @RM849 shocking.gif : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=987038&hl=gecube

tech_frix
post Apr 5 2009, 11:36 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Apr 5 2009, 10:46 PM)
since u own both gtx 260 and 4890....do u think the performance increase on the 4890 worth the money? and izzit much faster than the gtx 260?
me oso want to see d differences...
might go to 260 if the margin is less than 20%...
piumiu
post Apr 6 2009, 12:42 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

well in real life. i do favor the 4890 in every way.
looks stable. my leftf4dead doesn't jam after playing for longtime.
feel faster. for me i would pick this rather than a 260 anytime.
never feel regret from choosing this over galaxy 285.
maybe some of you dont believe me but its what i feel.

rsangel
post Apr 6 2009, 12:45 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

how's the temp piumiu? compare to ur 4870
piumiu
post Apr 6 2009, 12:47 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

my 4870 is 45c idle compared to 4890 at 64c.
i had to push my fan to 60% in order to cool down my card at 50c range.
those with not so good ventilation with their casing i suggest wait for the 3rd party cooler version of the 4890.

Added on April 6, 2009, 12:51 amthose who contradict either to buy 4890 or gtx 260. get 4890.
you can get some cheap brand 4890 for only 849 from garage sales
compared to 760 for gtx 260. unless your a nvidia fanboy.

im planning to crossfire this card after my i7 upgrade.

This post has been edited by piumiu: Apr 6 2009, 12:51 AM
Neo8663
post Apr 6 2009, 01:05 AM

1,244 posts

how about full load for 4890??
garage sales always make me crazy at the price
Pro-MX
post Apr 6 2009, 01:15 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

temperature is the issue here though...my current case is pretty cramp and my objective was to make my system as quiet as possible....piumiu what other games are u having problem with gtx 260 other than L4D?... i had problems with source engine games too in the past mainly stuttering problems...seems to be running fine on my 8800gt though

53 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:24 PM