ATI Radeon HD 4890 RV790 Launches April 6, ETA: first-second week of APRIL.

blindbox
post Mar 9 2009, 06:27 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Mar 9 2009, 01:53 PM)
USD149 x 3.58 = RM533.42
USD129 x 3.58 = RM461.82....
Still its quite affordable.
Just use google.

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=149+usd+...lient=firefox-a

http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&clie...nG=Search&meta=

149 usd to ringgit = RM 553.9
129 usd to ringgit = RM 479

gto87: You never thought it might be your system RAM instead of your graphics RAM?
blindbox
post Mar 9 2009, 06:46 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_falco @ Mar 9 2009, 03:48 PM)
i doubt this can happen,but hey who know?but then if increment up to 20% of 4870 i dont think so it gonna even level with 285...
Latest rumours stated that they use a tweaked architecture of Radeon HD 4850/70. Well, when we have believers, we have skeptics as well, so I don't blame you for being a skeptic.

Here's a game loved by both cards. http://anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3517&p=10

So, let's see how much better gtx 280 is

25.4*x=(30.8-25.4)
x=(5.4)/25.4

21%.

Sounds like the same level as gtx285 to me.

You can take a look at other games, but it seems like 4870 is closer to gtx285 on lower resolutions, so I picked the highest here.
blindbox
post Mar 14 2009, 12:49 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Mar 11 2009, 11:26 PM)
How come so expensive?
I thought the HD4890(512MB) is priced 200$USD so at least RM 700-900 + is acceptable..I guess you mean 1GB version,since 1GB version is yes,RM 1100+
It's 250~300 usd dude. Only estimates around. I figure it's going to be 1GB version only though. Seeing as how rates went back to the roof these days, 1k~1.2k is completely possible.

blindbox
post Mar 15 2009, 04:17 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Mar 15 2009, 02:17 PM)
nVidia is benefiting from CUDA & Physx. sad.gif
From what I see, CUDA & PhysX isn't doing much damage to ATi. When OpenCL is out, HD 4xxx series also can use openCL(so does g92 and gtx260/280 I think), and CUDA & PhysX will be nullified already(maybe not physX, but cuda, yes. The whole industry is waiting for open standard).

Dx11 exploits unified shader, that's why it will work with Radeon HD 4870 as well(and the geforces starting with g80).
blindbox
post Mar 18 2009, 06:24 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Things are looking up for those looking forward to a 1 GHz GPU brows.gif .

Users at xtremesystems reported that 4870 and 4890 is indeed different.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...466#post3723466

blindbox
post Mar 29 2009, 02:29 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Don't worry, the reference/stock cooler is awesome actually. The heat ramps up just because AMD has a strict sound level restriction, so the fans are running pretty low and the temps really high. Well, their chips can run up to 90C no problem so that's why they never bothered.

Sapphire's cooler is better though, tongue.gif .
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 01:10 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

NDA lifted as of 12 am GMT -8.

Late 1 hour, I got classes just now lol. Bad day, got bad results cry.gif . Not exams yet though. Haiz uni life is a bit tough.. took me 3 months to adjust(and with it I got bad results also, haha). Enough of me,

here are the reviews!

http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-4890-review-test/
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-4890,2262.html
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...W50aHVzaWFzdA==
HardOCP also includes GTX275.
Too bad anandtech hasn't have their reviews out yet.

And for comparisons with GTX275....

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforc...x-275,2266.html
http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-275-review-test/1

Anyone has any idea WHY guru3d changed their colour schemes? It's so ugly. Damn it give me a rainbow please.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 2 2009, 01:43 PM
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 01:43 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Oh btw, hardocp's review also contains GTX275 comparison. I haven't read it when I posted the sites.
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 08:15 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Why on earth are you(both of you) comparing two cards with different price ranges? doh.gif

[H] is a good site if you're looking for highest possible settings on a gc. Of course, some ppl prefer more fps though.

Oh, anandtech got their reviews up http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3539 .
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 08:19 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 2 2009, 09:10 AM)
dude
toms uses only this games
assasin creed
cod 4
crysis
ut3

so game dependent

anyways got two cards and testing now..
driver still immature and the cards are hotter and slower than my gtx285
waiting for new driver but so far on my gaming requirement which is very high it is currently slow
from what i see no diff than a gtx260 oc which i tested previously.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-4890,2262.html

Oh and, quite a lot of games actually.

Just to fix your statement icon_rolleyes.gif .

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 2 2009, 08:22 PM
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 08:53 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Apr 2 2009, 08:46 PM)
kesian cstkl1,
if these statements in XS, i think more people will appreciate it.
uhh....
It depends on the review...

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/dis...eon-hd4890.html

shows mixed results. These statements to XS doesn't change anything.

Plus metsatsu, what are you implying? 4870x2? Oh, gtx 275. I don't think load wattage can be fixed by driver fix btw.
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 09:10 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 2 2009, 08:56 PM)
Off topic a lil bit. Ehh, why I cant access XS lately?
They said they were going to go offline to convert to SSDs. They did say it was supposed to be only till saturday last week though (they're not really good at keeping promises, mind you. Last time a 1 hour downtime notice meant 1 day).
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 09:35 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

GTX275 isn't out until April 14th I think. The reviews are out, yes. The cards aren't.

I think after a week, this thread should be closed(judged by its fame(the thread la), this is going to last ages) whistling.gif .
blindbox
post Apr 3 2009, 12:56 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Apr 2 2009, 09:39 PM)
1ghz is the magical number i guess, but not even cstkl1 got to that clock speed. just wait for the driver to mature, who knows by then u will see 1ghz merata-rata tempat lol
I doubt the person who does the OCing matters. This isn't CPU overclocking. Anyway, 1 GHz requires a voltage mod(see what HardOCP did, they used the ASUS tool to increase voltage) or you got a gem chip. Now for someone to give us that asus bios and the program as well.
blindbox
post Apr 3 2009, 04:56 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Softmod zhen^wei. I think RivaTuner can increase its voltage. Volterra is the only one that makes digital PWMs anyway. Last time they showed that it needs 0.06 volts. Which results an increase from 970 MHz to 1 GHz.
blindbox
post Apr 4 2009, 01:24 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

I'd say 600W minimum. Each card is an extra 20 watts after all.
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 12:51 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 4 2009, 06:29 PM)
dis is b coz there bit different for the reference cooler.

4870 heatsink uses 2 8mm heat pipe, where 4890 uses 1 8mm & 2x6mm, total 3.
in terms of fan speed, for the 4890 bios, ATI adjust it sightly higher den 4870, dats y it is cooler & noisier.
Any proof for that? Guru3d shows that(by comparing two reviews, though the other review uses a different setup) 4870 and 4890 noise level is pretty much the same. Plus, a slight increase in fan speed and an extra heat pipe can't explain for a 20~25C drop in chip temperature. It's the chip itself. Check the slides about the chip doh.gif .

Here's a noise table. This one uses the same setup for all cards.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/dis...90_6.html#sect0

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 5 2009, 12:54 AM
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 05:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

The point is, the noise level is the same. 4890 is as noisy(or as quiet) as 4870. I wasn't talking about your heatsink statement, I was talking about the noise. My fault for not cutting off the other parts except for the bolded part I guess.
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 06:28 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 5 2009, 05:39 PM)
yes, i know.

modified heatsink = better heat dissipation

heatsink + fan speed + tweak chip = temperature improvement
may b all the factors contributes together & ended up as a cooler card.

i did not rule out dat new chip improves temperature condition, & u also shouldn't rule out dat new heatsink and fan speed tweak as well.
as i pointed out earlier, i'm sure ATI does the minor tweak for some reasons.
Well, the main argument was about how you're mistaken with the noise level, not temperature improvements(though I did mention about it).

Again, fan speed isn't the cause for the extra 20~25C cooling, so I fix that up for ya.
blindbox
post Apr 5 2009, 06:48 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 5 2009, 06:40 PM)
No, fan speed ramps up earlier. It now goes into drive at 70 degrees instead of 80 (because of users whining).
The 4890 at 70 C will be noisier than the 4870. The 4870 will get to 80 C much easier than the 4890.
Hmm good report then. What about 100% load(at max temps)? Same fan speed? xbitlabs reports same noise level.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 5 2009, 06:51 PM

0.0365sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:50 AM