CLOSED

Barricade
post Mar 4 2009, 11:59 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Mar 4 2009, 11:54 PM)
Hmm I see. I think Dell E2009W is a better choice with 16:10 ratio even though I use it to watch movies. The black bars could be used as space for subtitles. Plus, I've seen Acer X203H before, 16:9 a bit too rectangle lol.

I see that Dell website selling at really great price. Is there any catch or trap? Like no DVI cable? Need pay extra?

Is there anywhere else that sells this model at a lower price? Can't find one in LYN.
aiyo dun go and buy acer lcd lo pls, don't buy anything from acer rclxub.gif
xcen
post Mar 5 2009, 12:04 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

I've deicded to buy Dell UltraSharp™ 2009W 20" Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor

But it's kinda hard to find it, anybody knows where to find?

Is there like Dell authorised store that sells the item at around the same price as advertised in the website?

Dell's warranty service does it include coming to your doorstep and take and fix and send it back to your house?

This post has been edited by xcen: Mar 5 2009, 12:11 AM
Hwoarang45
post Mar 5 2009, 12:18 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Mar 4 2009, 11:16 PM)
Mine only comes with 1 yr waranty and but so far works fine.Viewsonic VX2235WM,proud user here. smile.gif To be fair every products wold have their own defects units,depends on luck lor.Only we may say the % of defects only,even samsung panels also got such problems.

Added on March 4, 2009, 11:18 pmYou have to bear in mind that your comparison must be equivalent,for instance,both brands are @ forumer price?Or one of them is retail and another is forumer's price?It's not accurate if you compare so,let's talk about retail price.
Meanings

RETAIL =

RETAIL PRICE =

Offical updated Dell 22 to 24 incher retail price list

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

Just sharing...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

QUOTE(xcen @ Mar 4 2009, 11:46 PM)
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn

Here got 20" 16:9 version.

AFAIK, play HD content on 16:9 will not have black bars, 16:10 will have black bars, but can be used to play subtitles no?

And I saw the Dell Monitor say has USB 2.0 ports, what is it for?
usb is for easy reach input for thumb drive,gamepad,mic, webcam, etc...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Mar 4 2009, 11:43 PM)
If compare ViewSonic & Samsung, I sure pick ViewSonic 1st choice Samsung 2nd choice. Dell??? Only the premium panels are good, of coz u pay for premium price!! Serivices i don really care bout it whistling.gif
apple and oranges, everyone have thier own fanboyism, there is always things one hates or like about every brands, but putting facts and spec on paper doesnt always makes folks/fanboys happy with thier selected choice,
My simple way to choosing any lcd panel, be it price or display quality, is test it first hand, if he or she feels the quality suits them, whatever defects other might notice ,it doesnt matter, as long as user is comfortable to them. simple. see it , test it, if its looks fine with u, and within budget, just buy it and live with it on my book,

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Mar 5 2009, 12:21 AM
chanws8
post Mar 5 2009, 03:24 AM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Mar 5 2009, 12:04 AM)
I've deicded to buy Dell UltraSharp™ 2009W 20" Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor

But it's kinda hard to find it, anybody knows where to find?

Is there like Dell authorised store that sells the item at around the same price as advertised in the website?

Dell's warranty service does it include coming to your doorstep and take and fix and send it back to your house?
U can juz order from the website...Ya, they will send to ur doorstep...But im not sure about LCD monitor, but they did this service to my housemate when he bought his dell laptop...
yanhui95
post Mar 5 2009, 08:12 AM

Already started
1,441 posts

i've seen the 24 inches dell lcd for rm600 in garage sales for a long time... it is a good buy? i'm not sure if dell's lcd are long lasting
Barricade
post Mar 5 2009, 09:07 AM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Mar 5 2009, 08:12 AM)
i've seen the 24 inches dell lcd for rm600 in garage sales for a long time... it is a good buy? i'm not sure if dell's lcd are long lasting
What tolking you?dell lcd are one of the best out there.doh.gif they are so confident about that it shown in their warranty-3yrs to 5 yrs
if u do not know anything just shhh....
KenLee
post Mar 5 2009, 10:24 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Mar 5 2009, 08:12 AM)
so, the Dell lcd 24" at 600 is a good buy ?
any recommended shop in lowyat ?
gyver
post Mar 5 2009, 10:53 AM

1,067 posts

Why don't you just go to the top floor and buy from Dell?
engseng
post Mar 5 2009, 11:07 AM

1,981 posts

Dell also has a shop at MidValley Megamall where you can see all the monitors in action before buying...
zizheng
post Mar 5 2009, 12:35 PM

87 posts

is there anywhere we can compare a Samsung T220 and a DELL S2409W 24-inch side by side? lowyat got? want to see the color difference =)
xenon_aniki
post Mar 5 2009, 12:41 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Mar 5 2009, 12:35 PM)
is there anywhere we can compare a Samsung T220 and a DELL S2409W 24-inch side by side? lowyat got? want to see the color difference =)
lowyat only got T220. never saw s2409 there. but IMO the colour pretty mush the same biggrin.gif
TSkianwee
post Mar 5 2009, 12:56 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

When both are TN panel, I don't think there will be much difference. Remember to reset the color profile to factory default before comparing. The shop might set it to dynamic contrast which is insanely bright and the color gamut is usually too high.
jimmylim85
post Mar 5 2009, 01:17 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(xenon_aniki @ Mar 5 2009, 12:41 PM)
lowyat only got T220. never saw s2409 there. but IMO the colour pretty mush the same biggrin.gif
Dell controls its distributorship, that's why is hard to find Dell product being sell in retail shop.
KTCY
post Mar 5 2009, 04:28 PM

BumbleBee™
12,504 posts

Just a noob question from newbie.

I will be buying LCD to connect to my laptop. As I know, I can spli the screen right ? Because I tested it with project so it should work the same when I connect it to LCD right ? Meaning I want it maybe 1 screen to have my office working, another for entertainment purpose.
TSkianwee
post Mar 5 2009, 04:49 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 5 2009, 04:28 PM)
Just a noob question from newbie.

I will be buying LCD to connect to my laptop. As I know, I can spli the screen right ? Because I tested it with project so it should work the same when I connect it to LCD right ? Meaning I want it maybe 1 screen to have my office working, another for entertainment purpose.
Yup you can either expand or duplicate your windows.
zsnipes
post Mar 5 2009, 05:12 PM

878 posts

I interested to buy the Dell UltraSharp 2007FP.

I would like to know is the Screen type is those reflective type or non-reflective types ?

I know reflective type can make watching movies more nice, but i mainly use for graphics.

Can confirm on these ?

vinothen
post Mar 5 2009, 08:39 PM

1 2 3 4
260 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Mar 4 2009, 11:12 PM)
No offence bro but let me share with you what I think.

DELL S2409W and Viewsonic VX2433wm will look the same because both has same spec. Both TN panel, both has a typical contrast ratio of 1000:1 (forget about dynamic contrast ratio), brightness of 300 cd/m2, viewing angle are the same & response time of Viewsonic is slightly lower. Of course Viewsonic comes with integrated speakers as well.

IMHO contrast ratio is the most important when selecting any LCD. You can forget about response time because there aren't any standard in measuring it. Manufacture can say 1ms or 0ms and there's no way we can measure it accurately. Even my old 16ms S-IPS panel 2007WFP is ghosting free, even with fast paced game.

So, the Viewsonic costs RM888 from you. Dell costs RM585 from forum sellers. A difference of RM300. Does that extra RM300 justify for the extra integrated speakers? Warranty wise, DELL offers 3 yrs 1 to 1 doorstep swap. Let's say today my Dell LCD screwed up, I gave Dell RMA hotline a call, the next working day they send me a replacement to my doorstep, 1 to 1 swap. Does Viewsonic 3 yrs warranty covers doorstep warranty as well? I don't think so. If you bring it back to RMA, I'm pretty sure you have to wait as well.

And from my personal experience, S2409W has less backlight bleed compared to VX2433wm. So when you say Viewsonic is wayyyyyyyyy better than Dell, do you mean the integrated speakers? And when you say the spec of Dell doesn't justify with the cheap price Dell offered, may I know which spec are you referring to? Dynamic contrast ratio? I think most of us know that's not something you look at when purchasing LCD, it's the typical contrast ratio that matters.

Cheers!
well said...!!! RM300 extra? i better go for dell. i mean...come on...DELL vs Viewsonic? kindargarten pupils will also choose dell... sweat.gif

Added on March 5, 2009, 8:41 pmjust for the speakers ur paying extra RM300? that seriously dont justify the price...

This post has been edited by vinothen: Mar 5 2009, 08:41 PM
Barricade
post Mar 5 2009, 08:42 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Mar 5 2009, 08:39 PM)
well said...!!! RM300 extra? i better go for dell. i mean...come on...DELL vs Viewsonic? kindargarten pupils will also choose dell... sweat.gif

Added on March 5, 2009, 8:41 pmjust for the speakers ur paying extra RM300? that seriously dont justify the price...
hahahahahaha so funny la the kingcom straightaway diam,nothing to say liao. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
vinothen
post Mar 5 2009, 08:48 PM

1 2 3 4
260 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 5 2009, 08:42 PM)
hahahahahaha so funny la the kingcom straightaway diam,nothing to say liao.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
yeah. u want to promote ur product ... promote in ur own thread. some people bought the dell for RM700 then another guy come and say the product sucks..!! i mean...its not right for the buyers.. vmad.gif
p/s: i don't own a dell lcd.

Added on March 5, 2009, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 4 2009, 11:59 PM)
aiyo dun go and buy acer lcd lo pls, don't buy anything from acer  rclxub.gif
why not acer? u have any bad exp with acer? pls share ur exp with us.

This post has been edited by vinothen: Mar 5 2009, 08:50 PM
kevinwcw
post Mar 5 2009, 08:56 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 4 2009, 11:59 PM)
aiyo dun go and buy acer lcd lo pls, don't buy anything from acer  rclxub.gif
intrested at ur experience also

124 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top