122 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

coolandy
post Sep 20 2009, 01:41 PM

314 posts

For me, a comfortable control room is a must. That is where we check our system, maybe record some CCTV and take a rest after visiting our BH.

Eventhough the BH is meant to generate and maximize income, don't forget that we also need to live a good life. We cannot bring the extra money with us to the next world.

So, a balance is needed.

Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 01:44 PM

57 posts

Hi Coolandy,

Thanks for the comments.
Have you seen the video, any comments?

coolandy
post Sep 20 2009, 03:44 PM

314 posts

Tweeter, my connection is very very very slow and could not access the video. Hope to view it soon.

Thanks anyway.
Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 05:16 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Sep 20 2009, 02:44 PM)
Tweeter, my connection is very very very slow and could not access the video. Hope to view it soon.

Thanks anyway.
You need 56K or better at 256K speed to watch them.
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Sep 20 2009, 07:21 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 20 2009, 09:51 AM)
If I can rebuild my BH again, I will build the control room and the staircase outside of BH wall as a small rectangle attachment say 6' x 10' x 3 storey high. Every floor will have individual door access and a big glass window for periodical observation and placing cctv without having to enter the BH. Sound Equipments can be placed underneath the ground floor's staircase.
Sounds interesting bro aeiou228, since the design you mentioned can be fully utilized for proper research & observation. The storage sounds perfect for storing gadgets and other research equipment since some equipment do make some sort of humming/vibrating noise or whatever. But it is also costly and would be more practical for most to increase nesting area. For now i'll stick to a larger room on the ground floor and carefully plan the layout to ensure maximum usage of space and wiring/hose inlet/outlet. I agree with coolandy as well, why not make it a comfortable room since i am planning to try observe and document properly the every aspect of the BH. only problem is to ensure the entry is airtight or almost airtight.

Tweeter, you can wait for Ir Lee to comment. Meanwhile i'll just list down what was used for each floor of my BH (30x80, not the foundation or groundwork);

Y12 x 44
Y10 x ???
BRC x 50
Dawai ikat x 3

250 x bag simen
2 lori pasir
1 lori batu konkrit
(or 4 lori cement 5msq + sewa crane, the access road was very limiting)

plywood, chapcha (biasanya 2"x4") for support, and a dozen or more smaller items like paku 1 1/2 or 2 inch.

I mentioned before, i took over from the contractor (yes... i am a newbie)... but as some might notice, it was a bit too late. If i knew how lousy a contractor they would be, i would've sub'ed to another party immediately.

Tweeter, Y10,Y12 is besi type based on size/diameter, BRC is the steel frame laid inside the slab frames before pouring in the concrete. Normally they sell in tons. If Y12 per tonne (90 batang) at the time was around RM1200. I can't recall how many Y10's were used and a few other items... since all the invoices & receipts before i took over is with the contractor. Yes, there are pillars in the middle, i'll have to measure them back (pillars & beams). The previous Indonesian workers were very helpful in filling in the gaps and showing me bits and pieces of construction. However, its better to get advice from technical people like Ir Lee (since workers rarely know about specifications and calculations). Whatever it is, make sure there is no shortage of material to work on, and plan properly the delivery of materials.

Currently, they have finished building around 1k LWB's. I need roughly around 4400-4500 LWB's, translated into around 16-20 days more of block making. I'll make a comparative report on the difference of LWB and clay bricks once the time comes. Might help the swiftlet industry in the future. Sorry blabbling. Wanted to share. Light Weight Bricks or foam bricks, by the way.

nice vids. only heard stories from friends before.

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: Sep 20 2009, 08:08 PM
xunji
post Sep 20 2009, 08:59 PM

49 posts

[quote=dunsuntutmybuntut,Sep 20 2009, 07:21 PM]

Y- stand for high tensile steel. R- round steel
and the no behind indicate the diameter of the rebar

BRC are the rebar pre-welded together at factory. these will save the labour cost for the barbender.

normally 6m or approximatelly 20 feets are taken into consideration. But for your case, the land areas should be the major consideration. Hence column in the centre is unavoiable. For cost saving, maintain multiple sets of 6m x 4.5m retangular. where at every edge, a column are required.

to maintence the control room size, just create a mezzanise floor on top of the control room. in these the room height 1.85m will do, then on top of the room can be use as nesting place. 1.5m height between the mezzanise floor and the ceiling height the bird will made nest there.

regards,
xunji
Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 09:51 PM

57 posts

Thanks to Dunsuntutmybuntut and Xunji,

These seem rather too technical to me, rclxub.gif , sweat.gif
Will have to consult further with my engineer, all comments are highly appreciated.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 20 2009, 09:52 PM
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Sep 21 2009, 02:19 AM

223 posts

[quote=xunji,Sep 20 2009, 08:59 PM]
[quote=dunsuntutmybuntut,Sep 20 2009, 07:21 PM]

Y- stand for high tensile steel. R- round steel
and the no behind indicate the diameter of the rebar

BRC are the rebar pre-welded together at factory. these will save the labour cost for the barbender.

normally 6m or approximatelly 20 feets are taken into consideration. But for your case, the land areas should be the major consideration. Hence column in the centre is unavoiable. For cost saving, maintain multiple sets of 6m x 4.5m retangular. where at every edge, a column are required.

to maintence the control room size, just create a mezzanise floor on top of the control room. in these the room height 1.85m will do, then on top of the room can be use as nesting place. 1.5m height between the mezzanise floor and the ceiling height the bird will made nest there.

regards,
xunji

[/quote]

Thanks a bunch xunji!!! I totally disregarded the control room height factor. It didn't cross my mind it could be extended in that manner.
CWG
post Sep 23 2009, 12:57 PM

71 posts

After close to a year involve in swiftlet farming, I realize that there is a little information about the reviews of good products like Tweeter, Amplifier, aroma, plank, humidifier and etc. There is also no much information about how good is the consultant.

So I decided to create another web-site to let people write or read the review or certain products or services. Hopefully, when more and more people participate, we will have enough data base to make comparison before purchase or engage certain consultant.

Please visit this web-site and email to me if you want certain product to be included for review.

http://cw_gee.webs.com/http://cw_gee.webs.com/
[COLOR=red]
You can also visit my blog below and click the link at the right sidebar.

My Webpagehttp://yenyen-swiftlet-farming.blogspot.com/[COLOR=red]
globalexm
post Sep 24 2009, 04:02 PM

33 posts

KURSUS PERUSAHAAN SARANG BURUNG WALIT/WALET SIRI 04/09.DI HOTEL PUTRA KL.14.11.2009 (SABTU) - http://kursusgem.blogspot.com

kotmj
post Sep 24 2009, 04:43 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Are we allowed to convert a residential apartment into a BH?
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Sep 24 2009, 06:07 PM

223 posts

haven't seen one before... but that sounds to me like poking a hornets nest. i mean... even shop lots are harassed with licenses/permits/undang-undang kecil kerajaan tempatan/PERHILITAN/complaints from various parties... and those are commercial/bangunan lots. A residential apartment??? Gila ah!!
(My personal point of view)

CWG, thanks for the links. i'm still eying that data logger...

This post has been edited by dunsuntutmybuntut: Sep 24 2009, 06:10 PM
kotmj
post Sep 24 2009, 07:03 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Sep 24 2009, 06:07 PM)
haven't seen one before... but that sounds to me like poking a hornets nest. i mean... even shop lots are harassed with licenses/permits/undang-undang kecil kerajaan tempatan/PERHILITAN/complaints from various parties... and those are commercial/bangunan lots. A residential apartment??? Gila ah!!
(My personal point of view)

CWG, thanks for the links. i'm still eying that data logger...
Hmmm... I ask because the occupancy rate around here is maybe 30% and there are maybe 40 swiftlets using one of the car parks as nesting ground 20 meters away from my unit.

Does anyone know for sure? I'm pretty determined to go ahead with it, legal or not, but would like to know nonetheless.
dunsuntutmybuntut
post Sep 24 2009, 07:56 PM

223 posts

Well, from the sound of it, theres no need for an answer if your still gonna do it whatever the reply. >.<

Just make sure tak 'kantoi' by the authorities or other residents, and since i am assuming theres bound to be building management and residents association... make sure the are kept in the dark as well. Actually the issue of utilizing commercial & residential lots for swiftlet activities has been discussed before in this thread/or V1.

Just a matter of discussion, are you absolutely sure the swiftlets nesting at the carpark are AF? Not insulting your knowledge, but it would be interesting discussion if you can post some pics for others to comment. Most of us are really into swiftlet behavior stuff and since these birds are sometimes unpredictable, it would be worth to babble/discuss about.
kotmj
post Sep 24 2009, 08:11 PM

3,802 posts

I'm 80% sure they are the species we desire. They look like those in the pictures here, and the nests from 3 meters away look exactly like those my uncle gave me as samples (he's really into this, my uncle). Maybe I'll snap a pic tomorrow. Not sure if they are there during the day. But they sure make one hell of a noise at night.
aeiou228
post Sep 24 2009, 08:30 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 24 2009, 04:43 PM)
Are we allowed to convert a residential apartment into a BH?
Morally, it should not be allowed. But it's your money. Blame yourself when things not gong as planed. But in Boleh land, who knows...you can.
Btw ... I heard some consultants recommend the use of ultra sound or something ( no noise bird sound )... for apartment BH. Good luck to u.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 24 2009, 08:35 PM
swift4ever
post Sep 24 2009, 11:37 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
I maybe in Specialist CentreĀ  for the last 21 days and will be there and I don't know how long but at least 30 K EBN.

The pain cause by the wound is bad but nothing compare to the news posted.
As someone mentioned here, now they banned town, the industry, later the agriculture by giving absurd reasoning......why didn't prevent swallow and pigeons and other birds from the towns.

Let put it this way, if it is oil that you find under the town, you will move the population but then, EBN is white gold and unlike oil, it never end but get better and better. Please allow the old ones to stay.

Hopefully, our beloved PM keep his words that BHs are allowed in towns.
I find that our PM is the only one who is consistent in the matter and others seem to follow the wind of the days and that's politics. I tend to respect him more and more by the PM present words follow by his actions.
Concerning the PM's words on the matter...... That's what I heard from his man @ Seremban and an Pahang Exco man.

So, Mr. PM, if your men are reading our forum, pls. save us and our precious golden birds from harm and danger. Only you alone can save this industry from dome day.....otherwise with all the rich ECO men and their connections, we stand no changes from been destroyed.
Whatever causes it, hopefully it's not by swiftlet farming. I for one was infected by diseases from the BH in the past and if any kind-hearted farmer(hard to find in those days) has disclosed the remedy earlier, I would have been healthier and stronger. Thanks a lot that we have EM come to the rescue! Do hope you have a speedy recovery.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Sep 24 2009, 11:39 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 25 2009, 10:58 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Sep 24 2009, 11:37 PM)
Whatever causes it, hopefully it's not by swiftlet farming. I for one was infected by diseases from the BH in the past and if any kind-hearted farmer(hard to find in those days) has disclosed the remedy earlier, I would have been healthier and stronger. Thanks a lot that we have EM come to the rescue! Do hope you have a speedy recovery.
Would you mind sharing what kind of diseases from the BH ? And the remedy as well ?
Bobby C
post Sep 25 2009, 01:42 PM

663 posts

Swiftlet farming in residential apartment?

Big no no unless u r up for trouble.

FYI, there was a unit near Taiping got destroyed by the authority just last yr after much complaints and highlighted in the newspaper.

Amount of investment might be small cp to shoplots but legally already wrong very clear stated in the guidelines.

But again, if insist to go ahead do us a favour. Dont call it swiftlet. Call it
other name. Dont drag down the name of this industry, already got enough bullets for the authority to kill all because of few bad hats.

coolandy
post Sep 25 2009, 02:53 PM

314 posts

Apartment? Absolutely a BIG NO.

Come on, don't let your greed affect your sense of judgment.

Sebab nila setitik, rosak susu se belanga.

122 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0327sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:43 AM