V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Tweeter
post Sep 18 2009, 01:18 PM

57 posts

Tell the goverment ppl, forest fire forced the swiftlets to migrate to Malaysia, all the current and the new rules and regulations here will force the bird to migrate again to Thailand , Cambodia and Vietnam.
Is that what they want?
Tweeter
post Sep 19 2009, 04:54 PM

57 posts

To all dear Sifus here,

Please help comment on our new BH design. It's an open roof with 4*4 m. roving area before entering into a .7*.9 m. entrance hole as in the pictures below.
We plan to build in a small town with many birds there, cannot disclose the name of the town, didn't want to attract authority's attention.

Thank you in advance and wish you all a very good health,good fortune and win all your wars.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 19 2009, 05:59 PM
Tweeter
post Sep 19 2009, 09:50 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 19 2009, 07:41 PM)
You can eliminate the pillars in the center by reducing the building width by 2', increase the thickness of support beam or add one more beam to 6 beams. Beams can be put to good used for colony divider and triple decker nesting plank.

Your LAL are rather small.

Your roving room is 4mx4m and that is the minimum comfortable flying path. The hole ( nesting room hole) situated in the center is a difficult entrance for birds based on your roving room's size. Unless your birds no need pusing pusing in roving area and fly straight into the hole from the top.

You really need such a big control room ?

Make sure lay double layer bricks at ground floor 4 walls for security reason. Now, thieve use hydraulic jack to break open BH's walls. No wall knocking sound at all.
Thanks so much for your response, aeiou228,
Ok,will consult an engineer again on how to get rid of the pillars
I will consider increase the roving area to 4*8, double it!! will it be ok?
LaL each floor at 2.5*2 m is still too small?
Points noted on control room size and double layer bricks.
Thanks again,your advise is highly appreciated.

Any more comments, please please?

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 19 2009, 09:52 PM
Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 12:18 AM

57 posts

aeiou228,
Ok,I am convinced on bigger roving area and bigger LAL.
Still cannot find a way to get rid of the pillars if I want to maintain the width, my engineer said in order to maintain the width without the pillars,the beam will be much bigger and that's expensive. He said to get rid of the pillars, the width should be reduce to 6 meter, then the beam can be just a little bit bigger. Will need to study further on how expensive and how much bigger on LAL.
This will be our first BH, need to do it right in as much as possible with our little knowledge on this area.
Thank you very much for your advise.

Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 11:29 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Sep 20 2009, 12:59 AM)
Nice. Also building my 1st one Tweeter, and try as hard as we might, theres bound to be something missing or just not right. Thats where the old buggers here help a lot. My own... each 'petak' instead of 4mx4m... mines 15ftx16ft... basically an 80ft x30ft standalone. LAL is one petak, roving area also the same. I figured that since the size was fairly big, a larger and more comfortable LAL and roving area should be more appealing to the birds. However the LAL's location is a bit different... had a quarrel with my consultant, but finally gave in... its located on contra ends of each floor, meaning to say the birds fly more to reach the next LAL. Up to date, framework done, roof done, blocks being made and will be continued after raya, planks to be ordered after raya (waiting for samples). I'm thinking of the control room... one 'petak' would be kinda large. Unless i intend to make it a living quarter as well (which is not advisable).... mulling what aeiou228 said... doesn't need to be that big, and most definitely a waste of nesting area. hmm... about the slabs... i hear the minimum is 4 inches. Reinforced with BRC + Y12 (or was it Y??). I think one of the forumers mentioned a long time ago... but just to remind, the slabs must be given attention. Also mulling about water proofing the rooftop slab with that tar like material, just in case the asbes roof leaks (it'll be a pain to repair leaks). Since i'm not from a construction background, there might be mistakes here and there.

Hi dunsuntutmybuntut,
Thanks you very much for your comments.
For your an 80ft x30ft standalone BH , do you have pillars inside the building?
Please advise what is " BRC + Y12 " or where to look up, not familiar with the name, thank you.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 20 2009, 08:51 AM)
For me, it is not necessary to maintain multiple sets of 4m x 4m square for open nesting area concept unless you want to create partitioned rooms. Therefore your BH's width can be reduced by 1m and transfer the $ saving to lengthen the building by 2m. It will cost you the same based on area per sq ft. And you have a BH with no pillars !! 7m width no need middle support pillars still can. Ask Engineer Lee about it. Some shop house BH I'd visited used only the staircase entrance as control room !! Judging from the size of your BH, I guess you can have the luxury of bigger control room for storage purposes. If I can rebuild my BH again, I will build the control room and the staircase outside of BH wall as a small rectangle attachment say 6' x 10' x 3 storey high. Every floor will have individual door access and a big glass window for periodical observation and placing cctv without having to enter the BH. Sound Equipments can be placed underneath the ground floor's staircase.

The width and length is pretty much limited by the land, so I cannot further increase the length, but appreciate your advise.
Outside control room and stair case and glass window to monitor the bird is a very interesting idea.
If I have to reduce the width I can have this option, only that I have to start it all over again on design, sigh!

Just a token of appreciation for your comments and advise, aeiou228 and dunsuntutmybuntut,
Here are the video clip of Birdnest harvesting from capes and BH ,transportation,processing and to the retail shops.
Sorry that they are not in English but a pictures,specially movie should be easily understood.
There are two episodes:
1.http://hiptv.mcot.net/player/hipPlayer.php?SelectSpeed=256k&id=23862
See how they colled bird nests from the caves. ฺBefore harvesting they have to pay hommage to their God to help protect them from accident.
To harvest these nests from around 100 caves in southern part of Thailand for 7 years, they have to pay the Thai goverment 709 Million Baht.

2.http://hiptv.mcot.net/listProgramCat.php?catId=29
See some of the BH, there are more than 100+ BH in this small town, see the bird shitted on the narrator, and see the cleaning process of bird nest.

Those who do not give me any comments or advise on my design are not allowed to see lah,...................just kidding.

Enjoy!!!

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 20 2009, 05:50 PM
Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 01:44 PM

57 posts

Hi Coolandy,

Thanks for the comments.
Have you seen the video, any comments?

Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 05:16 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Sep 20 2009, 02:44 PM)
Tweeter, my connection is very very very slow and could not access the video. Hope to view it soon.

Thanks anyway.
You need 56K or better at 256K speed to watch them.
Tweeter
post Sep 20 2009, 09:51 PM

57 posts

Thanks to Dunsuntutmybuntut and Xunji,

These seem rather too technical to me, rclxub.gif , sweat.gif
Will have to consult further with my engineer, all comments are highly appreciated.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Sep 20 2009, 09:52 PM
Tweeter
post Oct 5 2009, 10:53 AM

57 posts

Anyone know what is a life span of a swiftlet?
Some said 3 , 6 or even 15 years. So confused!

Added on October 5, 2009, 11:09 am
QUOTE(coolandy @ Oct 5 2009, 09:21 AM)
The poultry humidifier:

I have used 21 units so far, some since 2.5 yrs ago and none giving me any problems.

Don't think they give any warranty but you can try.

How do you plan to manage the humidity level?
I read that the Korean one is very good.
Check it out in http://faran.en.ec21.com/

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Oct 5 2009, 11:09 AM
Tweeter
post Nov 27 2009, 03:00 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 27 2009, 07:30 AM)
This spectacular scene was captured by me on 23.11.09. This tree is a natural attractant to Swiftlets  drool.gif  drool.gif . I will plant few of them surrounding my BH for experimental purposes.
Impressive!
Do you know the name of this tree?

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Nov 27 2009, 03:06 PM
Tweeter
post Nov 30 2009, 03:50 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 26 2009, 10:48 AM)

My BH natural humidity during the monsoon season was MAX at all time. To the extend hard paper carton box stored inside BH also feel lembik.
Really need to get the above gadget to dry out a bit. Or any sifu can share any low cost dehumidifying tips ?
What is the temperature?
If it's low(under 28), can try increasing it 2-3 degree.

Added on November 30, 2009, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(West Wing @ Nov 30 2009, 02:09 PM)
I believed that in V1, we have discussed about this sudden mass of swifltets in a certain area and it's due to the flight of insects like termites and other ants. The swiftlets just gone crazy diving in and out, down and up and such hugh numbers.

So, I believe that it is not because of the trees but because of the area and the weather. Again, That's my opinion on the matter.
Thanks dear WestWing.

If I'm gonna build a BH at 6*16 meter to avoid the column in the middle of the house, my strategy is build small but many.
Any comments?
From your experiences, what is the optimum size would you suggest?

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Nov 30 2009, 03:57 PM
Tweeter
post Dec 1 2009, 12:03 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 1 2009, 09:31 AM)
In my opinion, there isn't an optium size but just a comfortable size. Like the roving area, a big one is always better but then, it shall be a waste of valuable space and too big a BH is also silly cos I rather built another BHs in other locations to give myself the advantage of having more birds.

A BH of normal size like a shoplot will be sufficient  and in your agriculture land, allow future extension or expansion will be recommended.....so during your making of your BH, allow for future expansion. This way, it will not tie you down with debts and financial problems and maybe leaaving extra cash for another BH at another location. This way, you may be better prepared for as either one BH will be good and both would be a blessing.
Thank you so much.
For future extention, do you mean building the new one next to the old one and share same wall similar to buying another shop house adjacent to the old one?
By the way what is your normal shoplot size? Is it 4*12 meter?
Tweeter
post Dec 1 2009, 09:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 1 2009, 01:45 PM)
Leave some metal bars protruding from your BH for future extension and when necessary, add a new block next to the Bh and just break down a wall and you have a bigger BH. Even with a 20 by 70, when full, 2 storey BH will get you more than 5K nests and what more do you want??
Thank you for your kind advise.

From your experiences dealing with swiftlets, what is your guesstimate of the life span of this bird?

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Dec 1 2009, 09:29 PM
Tweeter
post Dec 3 2009, 03:07 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Dec 2 2009, 11:59 AM)
From report and information that I gather.......from 8 to 15 years. Experience don't tell me how long they can live cos' they just drop from the sky and die, somewhere in the forest and that's the reason that they can't carry any bird flu; they never get contact with the ground to get the flu viruses.......unless human being hand feed them and thus, transferring the diseases to the birds.  I always warned them that we should never hand feed the free birds until they grow too fat to fly with our designer's genetically manufactured food, antibiotic and steroid to produce nest that may weight half a kilo each,  hahahaha.
Thanks again dear West Wing.
You are so kind in helping all of us here, no wonder swiftlets love you and want to stay with you.
May God bless you with more and more nests.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Dec 3 2009, 03:51 PM
Tweeter
post Dec 30 2009, 03:05 PM

57 posts

Now that Sarawak planned to build so many dams there for clean water, for hydroelectric power,etc.
Is this good to the Bird Houses owners in other parts?
Tweeter
post Jan 2 2010, 01:19 PM

57 posts

The Thai politicians are busy fighting amongst themselves and both sides need funding from Thai businessmen.
That's why they are more pro- business.
Actually, most of their families are businessmen themselves too.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Jan 2 2010, 01:27 PM
Tweeter
post Jan 10 2010, 01:20 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 10 2010, 09:44 AM)
Not only Ben Chai but many pioneers are missing in action...possibilities are many.......some are fed up,  some given up and many other reasons and some even just ignore here as they have setup bloc or site of their own....and lastly some are getting rich and famous and need to be paid to give advice or recommendation.

Only left are a few old die hard guards like me with no way else to go but stay or just stay for the sake for the swiftlets' future plus a little of my own future in it as well. I will know when I am not needed but till then I shall stay for the sake of the newbiz and friends so that they will have a better start and shorter problematic growing stage and spead the good of providing best sanctuaries for the swiftlets for the betterment of both human and swiftlets. Remember that selfish and greed will get you no future and if it doesn't get to you, it may get to your future generations. Good comes from the good thing that we do and bad does bring harm and I believe in it, do you?

Enough of that, cos I speak like a preacher or someone may want to throw birdshit at me.

Anyway, I hope that they will pay us a visit/post  once in a while when they have time and I wish them well, success and may they have everything they hope for.
Yes, I am a believer of "Good thinking, good intention and good deed will bring good things, good luck and prosperity to the one who believes and practises ".

May what you do here in helping and guiding newbies bring more birds and more nests into your BH and also live a thousand years to enjoy good life and prosperity the birds bring to you too.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Jan 10 2010, 01:21 PM
Tweeter
post Jan 18 2010, 12:31 PM

57 posts

Hi Raymond,

Please proceed as per sifu WW advised, so we, all newbies in here, can learn from your project as it progresses too.
Tweeter
post Jan 21 2010, 05:55 PM

57 posts

Dear aeiou,
Please see whether the following article is any use for you.
Specially the explaination of "ventilation in burst" and the "moisture exchange under different condition"

http://www.rotronic-humidity.ch/_upload/ge...M_DampGuard.pdf
Tweeter
post Feb 10 2010, 11:20 AM

57 posts

Hi Cergau,

To avoid too steep staircase, you can break the staircase into two parts for more steps, see pic below.

I also have a BH design very similar to yours.
My floor to floor will be 3.5 meter only.
The size is 6 meter by 20 meter,will be built on a shallow pond.
Hopefully can start by next month.

This post has been edited by Tweeter: Feb 10 2010, 11:29 AM

0.0707sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 AM