QUOTE(booby @ Jan 27 2009, 01:30 PM)
I scare in RMIT if i photocopied a few pages from reference book will get scold also
But no one will ever notice if we photocopy more than that for personal use.
Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn
Jan 27 2009, 07:31 PM
785 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Perth |
QUOTE(booby @ Jan 27 2009, 01:30 PM) I scare in RMIT if i photocopied a few pages from reference book will get scold also But no one will ever notice if we photocopy more than that for personal use. |
Jan 27 2009, 08:39 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(oceanblue123 @ Jan 26 2009, 06:32 PM) Cool man. That's very brave of you. Assie Style: Do the crazy thing and point the middle finger at the police car passes by. It's all coming down to a conclusion, we run out of bed in Melbourne. If you own a spare one, offer it. Otherwise, just talk right? how many of your junior coming to melbourne? Added on January 27, 2009, 9:12 pm QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Jan 26 2009, 08:52 PM) to Mr oceanblue123 and his other account 1st of all, I'm a new student going to Melbourne this coming february, i found tht ur service is juz spoonfeeding new students like me. I did my visa everything myself, and i didnt even go find any education agents like IDP or ASA, I look up everything online, through lowyat forum and google of course. 2nd, its a shame to hear tht u went there alone and was a victim by spending time adapting there urself, n u actually find the route in melbourne confusing. I never went there yet, but looking at the maps i dled from major map websites, I think the route there is way much better than the routes in Penang or KL. To me, wut u actually nid are some surviving skills. Maybe u r raised as a kids tht thinks study is the major skill tht is needed to go through different parts of lifes, no it isnt. I'm no scout or ranger, but i learn those skills by mixing wif different ppl. I hav many frens studying in Melbourne, and thus i try to talk to them, getting many valuable infos from them. 3rdly, if i'm correct its hard to get into homestay for ppl above 18 years old, i got tht info from Housing brochure university of Melbourne sent me. If they r wrong, maybe u can rectify them by telling them their mistakes. But in my case, I prefer to look for everything myself, so tht i get to know more ppl. To me, experience is important. 4th, Its too easy to notice tht u r using 2 accounts to promote ur business here, nice try though. the simple thing a person need to do when in trouble is to ask; never shy. after all; we are not bringing a spoon feeding culture over. Its about stand up & be yourself & learn for yourself good.Its no harm learning; its path of living one need to go thru. QUOTE(booby @ Jan 27 2009, 02:18 PM) it is allowed; just it will cost more like in officeworks. Worth still if you get a multipurpose printer & just spend on ink.QUOTE(booby @ Jan 27 2009, 02:30 PM) I scare in RMIT if i photocopied a few pages from reference book will get scold also This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jan 27 2009, 09:22 PM |
Jan 27 2009, 09:29 PM
132 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
If you need the entire book, and the book is rather thick, I suggest buying secondhand. They aren't very expensive. Might be cheaper than photocopying.
But if you need a few pages then please photocopy. It is not illegal as long as it's not for commercial purposes or for profit. EDIT: Come to think of it, if you need only some parts of the book, then just borrow it off the library. Make use of the library. You've paid for it. This post has been edited by TY_AA: Jan 27 2009, 09:31 PM |
Jan 27 2009, 10:03 PM
2,691 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
yeah i went to deakin uni in melbourne the library will have a reserved section. and houses all the text books for the courses. no one can check a book out of that area. so as long as someone isnt using it when you go there. you can just go through take your notes. photostat. and all that.
Jan 28 2009, 12:23 AM
658 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: dowan say |
QUOTE(TY_AA @ Jan 27 2009, 09:29 PM) If you need the entire book, and the book is rather thick, I suggest buying secondhand. They aren't very expensive. Might be cheaper than photocopying. oh yea, forgot about second hand books. Hopefully there are seniors selling around some reference book But if you need a few pages then please photocopy. It is not illegal as long as it's not for commercial purposes or for profit. EDIT: Come to think of it, if you need only some parts of the book, then just borrow it off the library. Make use of the library. You've paid for it. I dun like using the library cause everytime due need to go back and return the book |
Jan 28 2009, 12:59 AM
I am sure you can borrow those books for like up to 6 weeks or something.
Jan 28 2009, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(booby @ Jan 28 2009, 12:23 AM) oh yea, forgot about second hand books. Hopefully there are seniors selling around some reference book I dun like using the library cause everytime due need to go back and return the book if possible. email your lecturers about the books. this is the best technique because in my experience sometimes they might say. "we dont actually use this book, we only need chapter 10 |
Jan 28 2009, 07:21 AM
1,799 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Even my high school also like that ... Finish choosing subjects then you gotta go get the books and uniforms . School is starting next week by the way , What about for unis and college ?
Jan 28 2009, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Jan 28 2009, 07:21 AM) Even my high school also like that ... Finish choosing subjects then you gotta go get the books and uniforms . School is starting next week by the way , What about for unis and college ? mine is ending this week, last exam tomorrow I'm sure unis are reopening in the next few weeks time. Btw, can anyone explain what's an external student? , can't seem to find any information about it. |
Jan 28 2009, 01:06 PM
external student?
hmmm strange term. my best guess would be a student that is taking the uni courses at home. and not at the physical brick and morter uni itself. kinda like online study. thats my guess at least. |
Jan 28 2009, 03:07 PM
261 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Do you mean off campus????
Jan 28 2009, 03:09 PM
hahahaha. i think thats what he means. that word escaped me just now. all that was running through my head was home-schooling hahahah. and the words open edu. ahhh. off campus. hehe. thats the word.
Jan 28 2009, 03:27 PM
2,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 28 2009, 01:06 PM) external student? As defined in the previous thread:hmmm strange term. my best guess would be a student that is taking the uni courses at home. and not at the physical brick and morter uni itself. kinda like online study. thats my guess at least. QUOTE Someone who does not study on campus. Usually distance learning students. And generally part time. A part time student can be both and external and internal student. It is rare for full time students to do externals, but some do. In a nutshell: Internal = on-campus, External = off-campus. However, be aware there are exceptions to the rule. And as far as I know, international students can't do external while IN Australia. I'm not sure why it causes so much confusion throough. Most Malaysians will never be an external student for an Australian University if they are planning on stepping on Australian soil. This post has been edited by haya: Jan 28 2009, 03:27 PM |
Jan 28 2009, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Jan 28 2009, 03:27 PM) As defined in the previous thread: i dont think student visa allows you to be a part time student. these are mainly for PR and citizens of australia. I'm not sure why it causes so much confusion throough. Most Malaysians will never be an external student for an Australian University if they are planning on stepping on Australian soil. from my experience part time students study 2 units or less. but as a student visa holder, the uni made me take 3 units minimum. except in my final term. in which i took 2 units. This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 28 2009, 03:45 PM |
Jan 28 2009, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(haya @ Jan 28 2009, 03:27 PM) As defined in the previous thread: Oh okay, thanks! guess I didn't notice that post in the previous thread.I'm not sure why it causes so much confusion throough. Most Malaysians will never be an external student for an Australian University if they are planning on stepping on Australian soil. I'm going to take up (2nd year) units as an external student at uni this semester, cause If I do fail any units this semester (at my college). Cheers! |
Jan 28 2009, 05:06 PM
132 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
I think external students also include students doing a subject or two at another university while enrolled in a university. For example, you're taking French at Monash, but you're studying in Melbourne Uni. So that subject will be an external subject. It's rare though, because it has to be approved by your main Uni for you to gain the credit.
Jan 28 2009, 06:13 PM
I went to my school earlier ... Even Year 11 need the graphic calculator ... It cost a bomb ! I was sooo down and depressed as I was saving money for a guitar ( Hehe ) ... But then ... I found out that my sis in law and my bro actually have it ... Wahahha ... Happy =D
Stuffs at Big W like exercise book is actually cheaper than the school's recommended bookshop right ? |
Jan 28 2009, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Jan 28 2009, 06:13 PM) I went to my school earlier ... Even Year 11 need the graphic calculator ... It cost a bomb ! I was sooo down and depressed as I was saving money for a guitar ( Hehe ) ... But then ... I found out that my sis in law and my bro actually have it ... Wahahha ... Happy =D yea, you're right, the calculator I brought for high school costs $180 Stuffs at Big W like exercise book is actually cheaper than the school's recommended bookshop right ? Did they recommend Wooldridges ? If so, don't buy from there, buy from Big W instead, cheaper. |
Jan 28 2009, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(s373n @ Jan 28 2009, 06:56 PM) yea, you're right, the calculator I brought for high school costs $180 Yes ... Woolbridges ... Mind telling me whats a Display Book ? Exercise Book as in blank pad or like ''Buku Kerja'' in Malaysia ? If its like a normal blank exercise book ... Go Big W ... SO much cheaper . But textbook I must get from Woolridges . I took visual art ... And they got an art pack ... Do I need to buy from Woolridges ? Because it's under the school's name .Did they recommend Wooldridges ? If so, don't buy from there, buy from Big W instead, cheaper. This post has been edited by Thalmes: Jan 28 2009, 07:01 PM |
Jan 28 2009, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(Thalmes @ Jan 28 2009, 07:00 PM) Yes ... Woolbridges ... Mind telling me whats a Display Book ? Exercise Book as in blank pad or like ''Buku Kerja'' in Malaysia ? If its like a normal blank exercise book ... Go Big W ... SO much cheaper . But textbook I must get from Woolridges . I took visual art ... And they got an art pack ... Do I need to buy from Woolridges ? Because it's under the school's name . Display Book:![]() ![]() http://www.marbig.com.au/products/Grp.aspx?G=16 Exercise Book, are those normal single lined exercise book. I'm not sure about the Art Pack, I guess you need that from Wooldridges. This post has been edited by s373n: Jan 28 2009, 07:26 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:40 PM |