129 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

The All-New Honda City 2009 Official Thread, (See page 1 for info)

SUSkevin23
post Dec 21 2008, 03:13 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(changpw @ Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM)
Just Came back from HONDA showroom and have a test drive just now.
Many ppl claim that this city is under power , but the power is quite impressive to me (for 1.5L) .

For the normal D mode , yes the power is a bit low maybe this is design for the fuel efficiency mode. This situation is obvious when u suddenly on up hill . For the S mode with paddle shift , is very impressive power show up (It is definitely not under power on this mode) . When u require more aggressive driving , sure have to go with E Spec .

I also did a hard cornering , the SA was shock at the rear, lol .
E spec come with 185/R16 is quite good on the cornering .

Another impressive is the Electric power steering and the telescopic steering adjustment .
It is underpower.I have driven the old CITY VTEC,and it is so much more powerful compared to the latest CITY.

They are now using a SOHC engine which is why it is not so powerful.

No offence but i think u have been driving a car which is below 1.5cc,then u suddenly drive a 1.5 and u feel its powerful.But for me its nothing and actually underpower.

120bhp on paper means nothing when it cant deliver the results on real road situation.Honda nowadays are going for SOHC engines.Even the latest Accord 2.4 is so underpowered.

elru
post Dec 21 2008, 03:35 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

1) W.ROOK - E Spec - Silver - July - Confirm buying
2) Sysh - S-Spec - Polish Metal Metalic / Bold Biege (Confirmed, but E-Spec if price is reasonable)
3) hush puppies - S Spec - Polish Metal Metalic - Getting car on Feb/March
4) wackyflik - E Spec - Black - Estimated around feb/mar to receive the car
5) vitocit - E spec - colour (TBC) - Estimated new car to be delivered within 1st two weeks in Jan 2009.
6) syncronyzer - E Spec - Crystal Black Pearl - first batch in jan09
7) Mr Cola - E spec - Polish Metal Metalic - Getting this beauty around March - April 2009.
8) mikelee - E spec - Polished Metal Metallic/Crystal Black Pearl - Estimated around March/April 2009
9) Chris Mom - S spec - Bold Beige - Delivery be4 CNY - Booked at Oct 08 - Loan 45K - 3.09%
10) AlwinT - S spec- Polished metal Metallic- Feb
11) geo_seven - E Spec - Black - booking from oct... Estimated around feb to receive the car due SA not dare to promise me the date.
12) Lowyat - E spec - Silver - Getting car Feb/ March
13) khairul4993 - E spec - Polished Metal Metallic - booking 16/12/08 - Estimated around feb/mar to receive the car
14) urbest1 - E spec - PPM / Silver - Booked before launching, will get the car around feb/march.
15) elru - E spec - Black - August

lol feel free to add urself in the list, dont be shy.
Travies
post Dec 21 2008, 03:37 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 21 2008, 03:13 PM)
It is underpower.I have driven the old CITY VTEC,and it is so much more powerful compared to the latest CITY.

No offence but i think u have been driving a car which is below 1.5cc,then u suddenly drive a 1.5 and u feel its powerful.But for me its nothing and actually underpower.

120bhp on paper means nothing when it cant deliver the results on real road situation.Honda nowadays are going for SOHC engines.Even the latest Accord 2.4 is so underpowered.
city is the most power in its class.
accord is the most power also in its class, even more power than camry and maza 6.
i think u usually drive lamborgini lar, so now u think all these car so 'underpowered'
city vtec only 110 bhp only ler, my house got 1 also. u cannot compare previous version with this latest version, the weight is totally different lar. now is 1160kg, previous version only 1k+ kg only. if u wan performance then get civic type-R lar pls
Lowyat
post Dec 21 2008, 03:38 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

For me...it just the same...i have drove both car...

This post has been edited by Lowyat: Dec 21 2008, 03:38 PM
Travies
post Dec 21 2008, 03:41 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Dec 21 2008, 03:42 AM)
Did you plan to get any add-on for your new city? I am getting the Lighted Side Door Step, Alloy Pedal.
I wish the alloy pedal can be applied on my City VTEC 2004 also...
bro, pls tell us how much u get for the alloy pedal and the door step. SA told me Rm 700+ for adding the trunk spoiler. still considering...

elru
post Dec 21 2008, 03:44 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Dec 21 2008, 03:41 PM)
bro, pls tell us how much u get for the alloy pedal and the door step. SA told me Rm 700+ for adding the trunk spoiler. still considering...
hmm shouldnt be RM700+, it should be RM700 nett as printed in the price list. It says "Retail price includes installation and paint charge."

oh ya, now baru i saw the door visor, it costs RM320 from the website....what? hmmm... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by elru: Dec 21 2008, 03:46 PM
Travies
post Dec 21 2008, 03:45 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ Dec 21 2008, 03:38 PM)
For me...it just the same...i have drove both car...
for me is the almost the same too. for this type of car, not much concern in power lar... it's 1.5cc only. i believe this city can easily beat the vvti dugong anytime lar.
even myvi my fren told me quite power also 1.3cc. i drive accord 2.0 also power so so only. unless u really tekan the pedal then u will feel the speed but the engine sound disturbing.

Added on December 21, 2008, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(elru @ Dec 21 2008, 03:44 PM)
hmm shouldnt be RM700+, it should be RM700 nett as printed in the price list. It says "Retail price includes installation and paint charge."
maybe plus the tax bla bla bla. btw, the retail price really Rm 700. izzit okay juz take the trunk spoiler? i would like to know about the door step and alloy pedal price also.

This post has been edited by Travies: Dec 21 2008, 03:47 PM
sysh
post Dec 21 2008, 03:49 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(changpw @ Dec 21 2008, 02:48 PM)
I also did a hard cornering , the SA was shock at the rear, lol .
E spec come with 185/R16 is quite good on the cornering .
...the poor SA. Must have had a shock of his life..heheheh! rclxms.gif
elru
post Dec 21 2008, 03:56 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

Vtec like any other engine performs normally when accelerating, but when u floor it, thats where the power kicks in, hence the engine's beautiful roar too.

btw, i cant see whats the big deal if this new iVtec is underpower, its programmed for better fuel economy. didnt see ppl complains its under power when engage to S mode (spec E). if wan power so much, do yourself a favor, go buy gen2 and praise yourself.

Added on December 21, 2008, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(Travies @ Dec 21 2008, 03:45 PM)
for me is the almost the same too. for this type of car, not much concern in power lar... it's 1.5cc only. i believe this city can easily beat the vvti dugong anytime lar.
even myvi my fren told me quite power also 1.3cc. i drive accord 2.0 also power so so only. unless u really tekan the pedal then u will feel the speed but the engine sound disturbing.

Added on December 21, 2008, 3:47 pm

maybe plus the tax bla bla bla. btw, the retail price really Rm 700. izzit okay juz take the trunk spoiler? i would like to know about the door step and alloy pedal price also.
for me when i get the car ard august, i'll leave it at stock first, until the third party ah beng shop has it, whole lot cheaper. im not in a rush anyway, still can go for HM if price no diff. except for the step door, it involves electricity...it would be better if it comes in orange light.

This post has been edited by elru: Dec 21 2008, 04:02 PM
sysh
post Dec 21 2008, 04:04 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 21 2008, 03:56 PM)
Vtec like any other engine performs normally when accelerating, but when u floor it, thats where the power kicks in, hence the engine's beautiful roar too.

btw, i cant see whats the big deal if this new ivtec is underpower, its programmed for better fuel economy. didnt see ppl complains its under power when engage to S mode (spec E). if wan power so much, do yourself a favor, go buy gen2 and praise yourself.
I still feel after you "run in" the engine, it'll feel adequate. IMHO, I think it's really hard to determine the torqueness (or power in layman's term) of a similar car (i.e. 2nd Gen City or Vios)...as much as I welcome other ppl's feedback, but when it comes to "butt-dyno", I don't really emphasise much bout me. To me, since I've driven both the current Vios and the 2nd Gen City.. I feel the power delivery to be adequate, not so smooth w/o the CVT..but for city driving and having not more than 2 - 3 people in the car, it's great
ZeroSP
post Dec 21 2008, 04:20 PM

184 posts

Hmm, because of CVT capable of providing constant torque at a certain RPM, such as at 2k RPM in CVT, you can get 65km/h... But in 5 speed auto, 2k RPM is kinda low... Auto gear box can't provide constant torque at constant RPM. And the old City doesn't have torque converter, a bit slow on stand still pickup but power loss is minimal compare to normal auto. Just wait until the engine run in, and the ivtec engine will perform normally. And don't forget Jazz is lighter than City, so don't compare the power to weight ratio.

And all the add on you can just add 1 month you City will be ready.. At the stated cost... That's what I got from Jalan 222 showroom. I spent 4 hours there yesterday/
zweimmk
post Dec 21 2008, 04:21 PM

512 posts

Hopefully, the Honda Airwave gets updated with the new City look. That has always been a nice car imo - It's too bad HM Malaysia never brought that car in, I'm sure it would do very well as it's both sporty and appeals to the young family.

sysh
post Dec 21 2008, 04:29 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Dec 21 2008, 04:20 PM)
And all the add on you can just add 1 month you City will be ready.. At the stated cost... That's what I got from Jalan 222 showroom. I spent 4 hours there yesterday/
Dont get you there, bro
changpw
post Dec 21 2008, 05:13 PM

74 posts

Currently im driving Gen2 1.6 (M) .
What i mean is when u just normal driving can just in D mode is ok already(almost many auto car same same), when u want aggressive driving go in S mode and use the paddle shift.
for the feeling of S mode power is quiet near to my Manual Gen2.

Actually from the beginning im quite concern the power of this city also , but after i tested i feel ok for it .
maybe different ppl got different definition . for me power mean when i want do aggressive driving , maybe some ppl mean when just normal driving what power can deliver .

papaya2
post Dec 21 2008, 05:14 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Dec 21 2008, 02:11 PM)
yes my dear boy,

thats as far as i know, u can always prove me wrong with a spec sheet and i will gladly admit i am wrong..
after all, i dun give a nuts crap of what vios has

if u cant come up with the sheet
prepare to go on holiday for spamming
dear boy too,

http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...l%3Den%26sa%3DN

actually 'drive by wire' tech was invented long time ago and most current ECU car equip this tech. toyota official web wun state this out even for their camry site.

u can bend down to check yr petal side see is wire or cable.
kcng
post Dec 21 2008, 05:31 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(papaya2 @ Dec 21 2008, 05:14 PM)
dear boy too,
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...l%3Den%26sa%3DN

actually 'drive by wire' tech was invented long time ago and most current ECU car equip this tech. toyota official web wun state this out even for their camry site.

u can bend down to check yr petal side see is wire or cable.
wow a dealer site and u can use that as credible source, i expected better actually

who dont know how and when drive by wire is invented?

and sorry, no car or even vehicle that i know of has petal..
so can u kindly let me know how do i check for petal ?
kweng84
post Dec 21 2008, 05:37 PM

205 posts

Kevin, are you comparing with a new City 3g/4g (older version) or City 3g/4g which has already driven more than 15k mileage?

Test drive cars usually not so powerful since the engine hasn't run-in yet. 120ps will show up definitely, just maybe later after run-in. Honda won't simply state 120ps in spec list without any proof (intense dyno test). My 2 cents biggrin.gif

Just viewed the car. Definitely will go for E-spec if for me, Paddle shifter is really exciting feature from Honda.

Cheers !
sysh
post Dec 21 2008, 05:46 PM

265 posts

I think I'd probably use the Paddle Shift 15% of the time only 'cos I'll be stuck in the jam 5 days in a week, will use for overtakin' only. I wouldn't mind forgoing it for some other accessories..hehe!
dinozilla
post Dec 21 2008, 05:48 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(kweng84 @ Dec 21 2008, 05:37 PM)
Kevin, are you comparing with a new City 3g/4g (older version) or City 3g/4g which has already driven more than 15k mileage?

Test drive cars usually not so powerful since the engine hasn't run-in yet. 120ps will show up definitely, just maybe later after run-in. Honda won't simply state 120ps in spec list without any proof (intense dyno test). My 2 cents biggrin.gif

Just viewed the car. Definitely will go for E-spec if for me, Paddle shifter is really exciting feature from Honda.

Cheers !
120ps not showing up every time, go check dyno chart if u no idea of it...

in fact go search temple of vtec asia and look at the dyno chart of new L15A
the extra 10ps comes at the end of chart, which means only at higher rpm it comes in....
below than that, no difference from City VTEC in term of HP.
igor_is300
post Dec 21 2008, 05:50 PM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

120ps on wheel or engine ?

129 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:55 AM