7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Great News Guys! Welcome to COD:CS!, Yay... pardon my sarcasm

TScrashtec
post Dec 7 2008, 01:55 AM

QUOTE(RahXeph0n @ Dec 7 2008, 01:05 AM)
Really not my business, but just thought you guys might wanna weigh it out. Sometimes, adding randomness into a game breaks it's competitiveness. I won't deny it makes things more relaxed, as the learning curve of a game with many random outcomes will plateau at an earlier point than a game with less random variables that will reward Precision.

But it doesnt always. Take for example, FPS on consoles vs FPS on PC. Console FPS usually have more random modifiers thrown in, because game developers know you will never (or almost never) have the precision of a mouse in PC FPS games, but console FPS (Halo, etc) are thriving still. WHY? Because the game designers will compensate for the lack of innacuracy by increasing (or decreasing) game pace, size of maps, and game modes, damage to hp ratio, etc.

So the real question is, is COD a Console game, ported to PC, or a PC game ported to Console? It can't be both, and be competitive on both platforms. The mod chosen for competitive play on the PC, internationally as well, should weigh this question IMO.

BTW I assumed you guys were talking about PC-gaming. heh.

And Crashtec, perhaps I should have used the term 'pseudo-random', but anyway, I'm sure you get what I mean ( =
haha, COD4 is a console to PC ported game i believe. As the console version came out first. Also certain elements were removed to add the mods segment in the game.
The problem with the modders is that they have different ideals, where PAM wants to build a competitive mod where maintaining as much "stock" of the game as possible, where as DAMN wants to strip down the game to the extent everything will be stock.

What this dies down to is now the community is split between 3 mods, PAM4, promod and the new DAMN mod.

Also another problem with these modders is that they are competiting on almost every platform/game title, for example, DAMN is on both COD4 and COD5, same goes to promod and PAM4. This problem is no longer local and with this i foresee more turbulent times ahead for the community so long as they do not agree on the elements of the game, the communities will suffer.
SnapperJR
post Dec 7 2008, 07:30 AM

wtf is ^ talking about

pam4 merely adds customability and allows modification, I can take PAM4 and make it very much like promod (i.e. no fog, no gunswap, sniperfix, bando and SP only, and remove a lot of weapons from the game) etcetc, it pisses me off when I read your players thinking pam4 mod is your malaysian ruleset. Promod evolved from the pam4 EU ruleset, and is very similar to it. Your PAM4 was customized to your current ruleset and can always be recustomized.

I still giggle when I play your ruleset and see skorpion and last stand allowed. For skorpion, you only need to do a bit of research to find out why it got removed quite fast in international rulesets and last stand, teehee 1 second godmode-transition-but-still-can-kill-people ftw.

anyway, I agree DAMN mod is more cs-like then ever, but before condemning it, I gave it a whirl with a few scrims, and meh it's okay, I don't like that weapons are somewhat inaccurate now, as well as a few bugs that needs to be fixed, but at the end of the day my preference of play is promod > DAMN mod > malaysian ruleset > pub play

anyone claiming your ruleset is competitive is a joker, your ruleset as a whole is shackling your community's skill level, we scrimmed holyboys team on malaysian ruleset SnD backlot and strike TWICE each map, and promod backlot and strike, and we only lost one side of backlot malaysian ruleset. Not to mention we went to Sunway cyber games, and played a ruleset totally alien to us and got 2nd after a close fight. What's the record of Malaysian teams coming to SG? ESP got beat 14-0 and 14-2, but RvG a promod-trained team, got 4th overall.

That being said, if the community wants to continue playing a pub-style competition, then so be it, no point forcing something then your whole community quits, but day by day your detractors grow, and people start to see the light of competitive play.

*p.s. I don't agree with a lot of things in promod and DAMN mod, but end of the day I still prefer playing them, plus as an international standard, I know where my team stands internationally, what point is there in being top of your country only? We're in a connected world, stop limiting yourselves.

This post has been edited by SnapperJR: Dec 7 2008, 07:40 AM
goliathus
post Dec 7 2008, 01:29 PM

owh,so SG come to lansi with Malaysian people la? Lost respect to JEDI edi, respect them bcoz they can get 2nd in "alien" rule sets pf malaysian, then come to our forum to talk lansi? Haiz..
DeathAdder
post Dec 7 2008, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:29 PM)
owh,so SG come to lansi with Malaysian people la? Lost respect to JEDI edi, respect them bcoz they can get 2nd in "alien" rule sets pf malaysian, then come to our forum to talk lansi? Haiz..
Brudda, it's the individuals who are talking not the clans...

EDIT: Plus it's a discussion!

This post has been edited by DeathAdder: Dec 7 2008, 01:33 PM
goliathus
post Dec 7 2008, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(DeathAdder @ Dec 7 2008, 01:32 PM)
Brudda, it's the individuals who are talking not the clans...

EDIT: Plus it's a discussion!
What's the difference? Yes it is a discussion, but do discussion need to insult a country that has own rule sets to play? Are you guys lacks of teams so want Malaysia which has much much more teams than SG to help support their so called Asian rule sets and ask us to play Promod and DAMN mod as well?
DeathAdder
post Dec 7 2008, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:37 PM)
What's the difference? Yes it is a discussion, but do discussion need to insult a country that has own rule sets to play? Are you guys lacks of teams so want Malaysia which has much much more teams than SG to help support their so called Asian rule sets and ask us to play Promod and DAMN mod as well?
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, correct? If Anwar says he thinks SG should become part of MY, does it mean the whole of Malaysia thinks the same?

I'm not trying to fight with you bro!

This post has been edited by DeathAdder: Dec 7 2008, 01:47 PM
Strayfah
post Dec 7 2008, 01:48 PM

57 posts

It's not a request. It's stating points. People like you wouldn't understand anyway. What he said was based on facts so I don't see anything wrong with it.

Let me ask you something, have you played anything else besides the Malaysian ruleset? You'll get why it improves your game so much more.

And he never said "JOIN PROMOD OR DIE". You still have a choice.

This post has been edited by Strayfah: Dec 7 2008, 01:50 PM
Belphegor
post Dec 7 2008, 01:51 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:37 PM)
Knock it off man, you're being too sensitive already. Hes trying to give some example and you just shoot him off like that. At least listen to what he is trying to purpose then only start evaluate what he said and you can do whatever you want.
goliathus
post Dec 7 2008, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Dec 7 2008, 01:51 PM)
Knock it off man, you're being too sensitive already. Hes trying to give some example and you just shoot him off like that. At least listen to what he is trying to purpose then only start evaluate what he said and you can do whatever you want.
Is that the truth? then what is http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/867785 <-- this? Is that what he trying to say.

Seriously I dont mind to play ALL the fking mods, but the way hes stating point is wrong. u know what i meant

This post has been edited by goliathus: Dec 7 2008, 01:59 PM
Luftwacko
post Dec 7 2008, 02:01 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:58 PM)
Is that the truth? then what is http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/867785 <-- this? Is that what he trying to say.

Seriously I dont mind to play ALL the fking mods, but the way hes stating point is wrong. u know what i meant
Chill man, tolerance is the key to a peaceful community.

Remember your pendidikan moral? Mesti mengamalkan nilai toleransi.
Strayfah
post Dec 7 2008, 02:07 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:58 PM)

Did you even read the link he posted? He's trying to set up an Asian community with no mods fixed yet. It can be PAM4, Promod or also DAMN:MW.

Stop being so touchy please.
themarksman
post Dec 7 2008, 02:53 PM

50 posts

We're not sure yet what tournament/ladder structure we're going to use, prize money if any sponsors etc, what mod and what rules etcetera, but we'll have a COMMUNITY meeting to discuss this when we're that far on.
yea got this from the link he posted.. read atleast..

doh.gif

This post has been edited by themarksman: Dec 7 2008, 02:54 PM
kenixkenix
post Dec 7 2008, 03:03 PM

hai kawan kawan
571 posts

back to basic~
wuts the whole purpose of mod? O__o
Belphegor
post Dec 7 2008, 03:12 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kenixkenix @ Dec 7 2008, 03:03 PM)
back to basic~
wuts the whole purpose of mod? O__o
To make the game more competitive? And remove the unwanted perks or guns, tweak, modify?
SnapperJR
post Dec 7 2008, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(goliathus @ Dec 7 2008, 01:29 PM)
I'm only stating it to make a point, the scrim and tournaments happened weeks and MONTHS back respectively but you didn't see me boasting/crowing about it, we didn't make public any news on that. The purpose was not to say malaysians are noob or whatever, my purpose in my message is my sincere belief that your ruleset is shackling your players skill, and thus not allowing them to get "better" at CoD4, and I stated facts as to why I believed as such, and so has tequila, a well-respected CSS competitive player. If tequila, a malaysian, can say that he has not seen much progress in terms of skill levels in teams, then you definitely got something to worry about.

I mean it's not like I joined your tournaments and shouted "ESP NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOBS" right? lolololol, just a side-joke at that one.

This post has been edited by SnapperJR: Dec 7 2008, 03:17 PM
dumb
post Dec 7 2008, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(SnapperJR @ Dec 7 2008, 03:13 PM)
I'm only stating it to make a point, the scrim and tournaments happened weeks and MONTHS back respectively but you didn't see me boasting/crowing about it, we didn't make public any news on that. The purpose was not to say malaysians are noob or whatever, my purpose in my message is my sincere belief that your ruleset is shackling your players skill, and thus not allowing them to get "better" at CoD4, and I stated facts as to why I believed as such, and so has tequila, a well-respected CSS competitive player. If tequila, a malaysian, can say that he has not seen much progress in terms of skill levels in teams, then you definitely got something to worry about.

I mean it's not like I joined your tournaments and shouted "ESP NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOBS" right? lolololol, just a side-joke at that one.
WOW ~ sound aiming some 1...... laugh.gif why have to talk about sg or malaysia team?? we are so near to each other!! every team is just try to make the game better, no matter you feel right or wrong just keep it for yourself as a views lar !!

What the point that you guys argue at here ???? we had a general meeting for COD4 rules at 20 DEC right ???? so why dun you guys note it what you want to say and say it out IN FRONT OF EVERY 1 ELSE .....

p.s. stop making some sensitive topic here lar ... make alot of fire icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by dumb: Dec 7 2008, 04:37 PM
t3quila
post Dec 7 2008, 05:42 PM

dumb.. If I may call you that. Who are you? Identify yourself. What clan are you from? Who do you represent?

I would really like to know. We are close to each other yes but they can't help us if we don't work out a lot of stuff here. The game is as close as dead here because there isn't enough daily competitive activity seen.

You don't form a clan and wait around for stuff to happen. Even if you train on a weekly basis is good enough and make sure its to fix something. No one should train prior to a tournament. No active clan does that.

The problem is that, I see alot of this going on here and its hard to call anyone but the usual guys for a scrim. Maybe the others are too busy with life or they just couldn't be bothered.

This means there is really lack of support for the competitive community in CoD4. Now I want everyone okay? Everyone to stand up and start thinking even before that meeting on the 20th.

What is your goal for the clan or team you are in?
How can you make yourself the best of what you can be?
Where do you need to go to start?
Who do you need to play amongst to get that exposure?

We're playing amongst ourselves having fun while missing out a lot on whats happening out there. Don't you want to make it big?

Sure our community is getting bigger and bigger but we can not relate to other communities worldwide. Hence we can't compete with them either. Its very irrational to lock ourselves up here thinking we're doing okay but in the end we're just playing amongst ourselves and it ain't going to be so fun anymore soon.

I support the game. I support the community. I however, do not support the way we are playing this game competition-wise. We should push towards playing and competing in a unified global ruleset so we do not miss out on whats to come, when it comes. Whenever we see an opportunity given take it and don't look back.

We gots to do this people. Or we're gonna be out of a game to play and its back to 1.6 for the most of you. smile.gif
TScrashtec
post Dec 7 2008, 06:43 PM

I'm only stating it to make a point, the scrim and tournaments happened weeks and MONTHS back respectively but you didn't see me boasting/crowing about it, we didn't make public any news on that. The purpose was not to say malaysians are noob or whatever.
haha, you just did.
[ESP].quack
post Dec 7 2008, 07:20 PM

Validating

LOL true...hahaha whistling.gif

PS: again i apologize....... =X
SnapperJR
post Dec 7 2008, 07:30 PM

Please, if I wanted to sit here and be like "lolol esp/malaysian noobs" I would have started posting the results etc after WCG, after Sunway, after ESP vs JEDI, all of which happened at LEAST weeks ago.

Perhaps it's a sensitive topic but my only point is still as such: I fully believe your ruleset is shackling the skill level of your players, I was talking to don and we have MULTIPLE hours of discussion, and it came down to me believing any promod team entering your ruleset would have so much of an easier time, compared to vice versa, so it came down to just testing our theories out.

Nothing against don's team, don pika and quack and the others are DAMN good players and to be honest it was a tough fight against one of the top teams in malaysia, but like I believed we would, we won due to the rigours of our old ruleset, promod, and the "reality" that comes with promod, watching how teams like fnatic and lowlandlions etc play, so that we can adapt and learn from them. What motivation is there to your malaysian players to learn and adapt from overseas TOP teams, when their ruleset is ENTIRELY different then what the top teams around the world are playing?

I couldn't give a crap about how good JEDI is or isn't, we're nothing overseas still, but I fully believe your community is not progressing and climbing the "skill ladder" because your ruleset simply "protects" them, and let them basically do pubplay with teamwork.

and bambino, I'm not making it sg vs msia, whats the point? We're next to each other, we should be cooperating with each other, but what does SG have? SG invites teams all around asia to join our tournaments, malaysia closes almost 90% of their tournaments to malaysians only. I can guarantee you nuts and jedi would have played in a LOT of your tournaments if you weren't so protective. So if anyone made it singapore vs malaysia, look at your own organizers

and you want me to go all the way down to malaysia to attend YOUR community meeting where even IF I got a say in it, if your current rules stand, I won't be able to join any of your tourneys? Yeah. Right.

p.s. it's okay, I still love you quack

Added on December 7, 2008, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(crashtec @ Dec 7 2008, 06:43 PM)
haha, you just did.
only shows more and more of your attitude *yawn*

This post has been edited by SnapperJR: Dec 7 2008, 07:37 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0218sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:47 PM