161 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

TheWandererX
post Dec 5 2008, 11:12 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(FirezZ @ Dec 5 2008, 09:55 PM)
Hi, been checking the thread on dlsr.. just wondering which one should i aim for ?  I heard body alone is not that so impt as the lenses is the thing to consider.. btw, i am new and wana play with dlsr biggrin.gif
Get to read the good comment among these modals..

A350 | EOS 50D | 1000D | 450D  but i am not sure which one to choose.. hmmm .. in case if the lenses plays big role in buying a dlsr, which do you guys recommend ?
Type of camera/lens/accesories: A350 | EOS 50D | 1000D | 450D 
Budget: around 3K
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  no idea .. canon or sony "D
Type of photography u want to do : open .. should meant for Landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  450D ?
Any specific features u want? :  no idea
For that budget:

A350 = new (twin kit RM2.8k (i think), kit RM2k)
50D = used (RM3k)
1000D = new (RM2k)
450D = used/new (not sure)

Anyway, I dunno where I saw it, but you have to consider a lot of things before you buy a DSLR.

1. Availability of 3rd party lens.
2. Availability of 3rd party used lens.
3. Price of lens.
4. Portability of lens (if you want to upgrade to a better DSLR later)

I'm not sure, it's something like that.

It's up to you to choose, but I'd recommend you to get a new set.. and you left out a few - the Nikon D60 and D80.
FirezZ
post Dec 5 2008, 11:36 PM

Naise kukUpi
1,993 posts

D60,D80 and 50D should be diff right ?
i think the latest should be D90 which it seems the budget is over for me biggrin.gif
wow.. just read one more review on comparasion between A350 vs D80, seems Sony is a bit behind...

omurice
post Dec 6 2008, 03:03 AM

13 posts

Guys I'm new here, and I'd like to request so suggestions in terms of what digital camera to get.

I currently own a Canon SD1000(7.1mp) and have been using it with very satisfactory results. I also own a Nikon DSLR D40X, which I use to practice certain shots with. My question is this. I'd like to get a slimmer point & shoot camera with good video options. Basically the SD1000 fits snugly in my pocket when I'm out around town and in clubs, but I'd like something even smaller and slimmer that has a good video function so that I can take videos as well. I suppose the length and duration of videos are dependent on slot memory so I'm not too concerned about that, but I would like 1080p functionality if possible. I'm actually willing to settle for better video quality over picture quality(as long as it's above 7mp).

What are your thoughts? is it better to just get a camcorder instead or is there a point & shoot camera that's good in terms of video recording? I'm in the States so the price range would be somewhere around:
250.00 USD=909.683 MYR. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
dugung76
post Dec 6 2008, 07:10 PM

438 posts

Hi, I'm planning to buy a compact camera budget between RM500.00 - RM600.00. Either Nikon, Sony or Canon. Can anyone recommend me a good one?

Thanks smile.gif
tiSSue_paPer
post Dec 6 2008, 10:46 PM

milo ais KAW..!
1,127 posts

hi to all..
jz wanna ask..
between D60 , 1000D and 450D any big different..?
this 3 model is my current choice..
but dunno how to make decision..
anyone from here can help me thru..?

please and thanks for the guide'ing!!
omurice
post Dec 7 2008, 01:08 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(dugung76 @ Dec 6 2008, 07:10 AM)
Hi, I'm planning to buy a compact camera budget between RM500.00 - RM600.00.  Either Nikon, Sony or Canon.  Can anyone recommend me a good one?

Thanks smile.gif
I'm somewhat of a newb when it comes to cameras but I'll try and share my $0.02 on this question. It was shortly after I asked for my own recommendations that I realized that it might be best to set some parameters when it comes to the kind of camera your looking for. Here's a few suggestions before you start your search.

1.) Type of camera, you mentioned your looking for a compact camera. Keep in mind that there are other categories when it comes to a camera. For example, There's standard compact, meaning it's slight bigger than a "Sleek & Slim" aka "Ultra compact", and it has slightly less features than an "Advanced Compact". The image below illustrates my point.

2.) The price range as you mentioned is somewhere around RM500~RM600, this gives you quite a lot of options. But it's great that you narrowed down the brands your looking for: Nikon, Sony or Canon(all pretty reliable brands). Keep in mind that Sony has their own proprietary memory cards, as opposed to Nikon & Canon. I personally hate the idea of carrying different memory cards for different cameras. That's why I chose to cross Sony off my options of cameras, although they do make very nice digital cameras.

3.) Megapixels(mp), this is yet another parameter that you might want to keep in mind. Obviously, most people try to be futureproof by purchasing the highest mp they can get. But also keep in mind that most professionals will agree that unless your doing real printwork, anything above a 7mp is quite comparable to the 35mm film cameras that are being phased out.

Hopefully by setting parameters to your search it'll help you narrow down your options and pick the right camera for you.

With that said, I'm from the States so with about RM550 ~ 150USD, you might be able to get a Nikon 8.0 MP or a Sony Cybershot 7.2 with that price range but I'm sure there are probably better deals in Asia.

QUOTE(tiSSue_paPer @ Dec 6 2008, 10:46 AM)
hi to all..
jz wanna ask..
between D60 , 1000D and 450D any big different..?
this 3 model is my current choice..
but dunno how to make decision..
anyone from here can help me thru..?

please and thanks for the guide'ing!!
As for this question, one of the biggest differences you might consider is price. Here's a few resources regarding the differences amongst these cameras.

Nikon D60(10.0 MP)
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012910nikond60.asp#specs

Canon EOS 1000D(10.1 MP)
http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon_1000d/
Canon has now responded to this mounting pressure by launching a new model one tier below the 450D in its current lineup - the EOS 1000D. It shares bits and pieces with Rebels gone by and, depending from which angle you look at it, the new model is either a stripped down 450D or a 'reheated' 400D. It's a lower specification camera than the 450D, by every measure you might see listed on the shop shelf, but is not the huge step down that its market positioning might lead you to expect.

Canon EOS 450D(12.2)
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012403...s450d.asp#specs
The EOS 450D features:

* 12.2 Megapixel CMOS sensor
* Canon’s EOS Integrated Cleaning System
* 3.5 frames per second
* 3.0” LCD with Live View shooting
* 9-point wide-area AF system with f/2.8 cross-type centre point
* Picture Style image processing parameters
* DIGIC III image processor
* Digital Photo Professional RAW processing software1
* Compact and Lightweight body
* Fully compatible with all Canon EF and EF-S lenses and EX-series Speedlites

Hope this helps!
Freenitor
post Dec 8 2008, 12:40 AM

Validating

How much is Canon Powershot A590IS and Nikon Coolpix S550?
ad3rb33n
post Dec 8 2008, 02:26 PM

117 posts

Hi LYN sifus,

I just started to venture in photography.Totaly 0% exp. Need advice from LYN sifus to get 1 to start off.
Hope to choose the right camera n able to learn fully utilize it.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS/Prosumer/DLSR(Not sure which to get,newbie)
Budget:1000-2000(R tis too much or not enuf?)
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon,Nikon, Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, macro(planning to use it take photo from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)
Any specific models in mind? : E-420,D 40
Any specific features u want? : More features the better(i think so..)

BTW, if i get a 2nd hand camera are dey worthy? Any recommendation? or offre maybe? brows.gif

Any kits,accessories that i shud get also?

Hope to get reply soon. planning to get gud bargain from tis cuming PC fair...

Thx to any1 who reply. notworthy.gif your reply is much appreciated. notworthy.gif

sandra08
post Dec 8 2008, 02:48 PM

i'm new to dslr and wanted to get 1..
hard to decide between this 2:
canon eos 450D? Sony alpha 300?
any opinion?
canon seems to be a reputable brand
but the twin lens kit offered by Sony seems to be a pretty good deal..
pukarix
post Dec 8 2008, 04:28 PM

1,053 posts

hi guys..just a quick one here...

i m a complete beginner to DSLR fotography..

i received this offer

D40 Body KIT.NEW
Nikon 18/105mm VR.NEW (i think its from a D90 kit)
it has all d warranty from NIKON.n its completely NEW.

both for rm1750..

i know d d40 has no internal motor or something.some lenses might NOT AF but it will work with MF .n prime lenses with AF would be more expensive.i m interested in getting d nikkon 50mm/1.8 later.i know it would be hard to focus.but hopefully d green light in d viewfinder helps alot.they say practice makes perfect.

i actually wanted a d80 due to d internal motor thingy.d90 is abit too expensive.but isnt this offer to good to resist?i think d lens alone cost more.

so what do you guys think?

p/s i m completely NEW into photography.but i m willing to learn smile.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 8 2008, 05:44 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Dec 8 2008, 02:26 PM)
Hi LYN sifus,

I just started to venture in photography.Totaly 0% exp. Need advice from LYN sifus to get 1 to start off.
Hope to choose the right camera n able to learn fully utilize it.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  PnS/Prosumer/DLSR(Not sure which to get,newbie)
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Canon,Nikon, Olympus
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape, macro(planning to use it take photo from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)
Any specific models in mind? :  E-420,D 40
Any specific features u want? : More features the better(i think so..)
BTW, if i get a 2nd hand camera are dey worthy? Any recommendation? or offre maybe? brows.gif

Any kits,accessories that i shud get also?

Hope to get reply soon. planning to get gud bargain from tis cuming PC fair...

Thx to any1 who reply.  notworthy.gif  your reply is much appreciated.  notworthy.gif
If you've just started to venture into photography, then it's highly advised you start off with a compact. If you want to jump.. you can get a prosumer, but you should not get a DSLR as a start to photography.

For compact cameras, you can choose any. Just cut your budget by a lot. whistling.gif

For prosumer, it's highly advised to get a Panasonic Lumix LX3. King of all the digital cameras.

But, if you still want a DSLR, then get the Nikon D60/D80 or the EOS-1000D. These are the best of the pick - since your budget allows the purchase of the above.

QUOTE(sandra08 @ Dec 8 2008, 02:48 PM)
i'm new to dslr and wanted to get 1..
hard to decide between this 2:
canon eos 450D? Sony alpha 300?
any opinion?
canon seems to be a reputable brand
but the twin lens kit offered by Sony seems to be a pretty good deal..
1. Canon EF lenses are easier to find, and thus has a larger range.

2. Sony is a newbie to the DSLR market, so they do not have a big market of lenses available yet, and thus it'll be hard to find lenses. Also, later on when you want to upgrade, the a900 is the highest you can go. And the a900 can NOT be compared to the Canon EOS-1D Mark III or the Canon EOS-5D Mark I/II. These two are the leaders of the DSLRs.

I advice you to go with the 450D.

QUOTE(pukarix @ Dec 8 2008, 04:28 PM)
hi guys..just a quick one here...

i m a complete beginner to DSLR fotography..

i received this offer

D40 Body KIT.NEW
Nikon 18/105mm VR.NEW (i think its from a D90 kit)
it has all d warranty from NIKON.n its completely NEW.

both for rm1750..

i know d d40 has no internal motor or something.some lenses might NOT AF but it will work with MF .n prime lenses with AF would be more expensive.i m interested in getting d nikkon 50mm/1.8 later.i know it would be hard to focus.but hopefully d green light in d viewfinder helps alot.they say practice makes perfect.

i actually wanted a d80 due to d internal motor thingy.d90 is abit too expensive.but isnt this offer to good to resist?i think d lens alone cost more.

so what do you guys think?

p/s i m completely NEW into photography.but i m willing to learn smile.gif
I think you should get a D80 body and ask that guy who offered you that price to give you the 18/105 cheaper. Best choice.
pukarix
post Dec 8 2008, 06:30 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 8 2008, 05:44 PM)

I think you should get a D80 body and ask that guy who offered you that price to give you the 18/105 cheaper. Best choice.
oh well..d lens is only available with dat body..i m not sure y.but he says dat he wants to sell off his d40 stock.but nway thanks for d reply..i hav to make my decision b4 tonight.coz he has other interested customers..

thanks anyway
TheWandererX
post Dec 8 2008, 06:57 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Dec 8 2008, 06:30 PM)
oh well..d lens is only available with dat body..i m not sure y.but he says dat he wants to sell off his d40 stock.but nway thanks for d reply..i hav to make my decision b4 tonight.coz he has other interested customers..

thanks anyway
Oh...

Well, the D40 ain't the best entry-level DSLR, and why opt for it when you can get a better one?

Anyway, good luck finding your deal then.
ad3rb33n
post Dec 8 2008, 07:33 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 8 2008, 05:44 PM)
If you've just started to venture into photography, then it's highly advised you start off with a compact. If you want to jump.. you can get a prosumer, but you should not get a DSLR as a start to photography.

For compact cameras, you can choose any. Just cut your budget by a lot. whistling.gif

For prosumer, it's highly advised to get a Panasonic Lumix LX3. King of all the digital cameras.

But, if you still want a DSLR, then get the Nikon D60/D80 or the EOS-1000D. These are the best of the pick - since your budget allows the purchase of the above.

notworthy.gif Thx to TheWanderX for da reply notworthy.gif

but i think i might to nid rephrase my question coz i think i asked the wrong question.

The situation is:
I thinkin of goin into DSLR from compact PnS camera.what i mean is I'm new to DSLR camera; nvr really use 1. So, i thinkin of get my hand on 1 of it n learn to use it.

I tried google for Panasonic Lumix LX3 n found tat the price is few hundred diff with EOS-1000D. yet with all da features of DSLR does it more worthy to just go n get da EOS-1000D?( feel free to correct me if i'm wrong)

And for nikon D60/80 it is a bit pricey?

BTW, if i get a 2nd hand DSLR camera wit kits are dey worthy n can i reli save more buck(maybe 1000-1500)? Any recommendation?

N following are edited to be more specific:

Type of photography u want to do : Landscape,macro
Any specific models in mind? : Prefer model between budget
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact(since i planning to use it to snap photos from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)

N does DSLR can operate under humid area like the peak of Mount Kinabalu? Shud I worry thing like vapor build up in da lens?

thx...

Added on December 8, 2008, 8:03 pmI got additional question:

Does the difference between Olympus Four Thirds system n APS-C sensor really big? How big da difference?

N wat is lens focus by wire?

This post has been edited by ad3rb33n: Dec 8 2008, 08:03 PM
joyyy
post Dec 8 2008, 10:20 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Dec 8 2008, 07:33 PM)
notworthy.gif Thx to TheWanderX for da reply notworthy.gif

but i think i might to nid rephrase my question coz i think i asked the wrong question.

The situation is:
I thinkin of goin into DSLR from compact PnS camera.what i mean is I'm new to DSLR camera; nvr really use 1. So, i thinkin of get my hand on 1 of it n learn to use it.

I tried google for Panasonic Lumix LX3 n found tat the price is few hundred diff with EOS-1000D. yet with all da features of DSLR does it more worthy to just go n get da EOS-1000D?( feel free to correct me if i'm wrong)

And for nikon D60/80 it is a bit pricey?

BTW, if i get a 2nd hand DSLR camera wit kits are dey worthy n can i reli save more buck(maybe 1000-1500)? Any recommendation?

N following are edited to be more specific:

Your Location:  KL
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape,macro
Any specific models in mind? : Prefer model between budget
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact(since i planning to use it to snap photos from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)

N does DSLR can operate under humid area like the peak of Mount Kinabalu? Shud I worry thing like vapor build up in da lens?
thx...

Added on December 8, 2008, 8:03 pmI got additional question:

Does the difference between Olympus Four Thirds system n APS-C sensor really big? How big da difference?

N wat is lens focus by wire?
I think TheWandererX threw too much advice to you and it became saturated. sad.gif
Lemme try and make it simple.
If you're looking to save 1000-1500 from buying a 2nd hand DSLR, you might just as well forget about it. DSLRs dont depreciate so fast smile.gif
DSLRs are quite versatile. They have a very decent operating temperature range, yes, even the entry level models. I've read reviews of DSLRs tested in -20 Celsius and it worked fine. So Mount Kinabalu is really nothing, the only thing you have to worry about is battery life. As the temperature decreases, so does the battery life. And another thing, Mount Kinabalu ain't humid, it's just colder. smile.gif

Olympus Four Thirds System eh. The name really explains it all. The size of the image sensor has a 4:3 ratio and Olympus cameras have a 2.0x crop factor. Just for comparison, Canon's has 1.6x while Nikon has 1.5x crop factor. Now there's no good or bad with crop factors.

Lens focus by wire. This is more commonly known as cable release. Note that to obtain very sharp pictures, the camera has to remain totally still while the picture is taken. And, when one presses the shutter button on the camera, there will be a slight shake. This is where cable release comes in. Basically, a cable release trigger is connected to the camera. To trigger the shutter, you just press a button on the trigger. This way your hands are not physically on the camera, eliminating motion caused by handshake.

ad3rb33n
post Dec 9 2008, 09:52 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 8 2008, 10:20 PM)
I think TheWandererX threw too much advice to you and it became saturated. sad.gif
Lemme try and make it simple.
If you're looking to save 1000-1500 from buying a 2nd hand DSLR, you might just as well forget about it. DSLRs dont depreciate so fast smile.gif
DSLRs are quite versatile. They have a very decent operating temperature range, yes, even the entry level models. I've read reviews of DSLRs tested in -20 Celsius and it worked fine. So Mount Kinabalu is really nothing, the only thing you have to worry about is battery life. As the temperature decreases, so does the battery life. And another thing, Mount Kinabalu ain't humid, it's just colder. smile.gif

Olympus Four Thirds System eh. The name really explains it all. The size of the image sensor has a 4:3 ratio and Olympus cameras have a 2.0x crop factor. Just for comparison, Canon's has 1.6x while Nikon has 1.5x crop factor. Now there's no good or bad with crop factors.

Lens focus by wire. This is more commonly known as cable release. Note that to obtain very sharp pictures, the camera has to remain totally still while the picture is taken. And, when one presses the shutter button on the camera, there will be a slight shake. This is where cable release comes in. Basically, a cable release trigger is connected to the camera. To trigger the shutter, you just press a button on the trigger. This way your hands are not physically on the camera, eliminating motion caused by handshake.
Thx joyy for the reply notworthy.gif

Then wat DSLR u think i shud get for entry level? Prefer model between budget, comes with kit.

Any specific models in mind? : E-420(coz da price with kits quite reasonable n it is has small form factor; beside taking account of it features)
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact,IS

Fell free to suggest any model too.But form i google ard is Olmypus usually cheaper.(correct me if i'm worng) And does low yatt or PC fair can get da better bargain?
TheWandererX
post Dec 9 2008, 12:56 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Dec 9 2008, 09:52 AM)
Thx joyy for the reply notworthy.gif

Then wat DSLR u think i shud get for entry level? Prefer model between budget, comes with kit.

Your Location:  KL
Any specific models in mind? : E-420(coz da price with kits quite reasonable n it is has small form factor; beside taking account of it features) 
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact,IS

Fell free to suggest any model too.But form i google ard is Olmypus usually cheaper.(correct me if i'm worng) And does low yatt or PC fair can get da better bargain?
RM1000-2000 is quite enough for an entry-level set.

E-420 is RM2k for kit, if I'm not wrong, the E-520 is much more expensive. I'd recommend you to go with the D60 or the 1000D as these are the best of their range. Also, it'll help you later when you want to change camera bodies and have the lenses. All EF lenses are compatible with any model, and EF-S lenses can be used on APS-C size sensors. Nikon has a similar set up. Olympus and Sony are kinda newbies to the DSLR market so it isn't recommended to get them just yet.

x_far_x
post Dec 9 2008, 04:01 PM

370 posts

Between the Canon G10 and SX10, which one do you think has more bang for the buck? Or should I take none and go for a better camera at its price range? If so, could you recommend me some?

-FaR
sQew
post Dec 9 2008, 04:02 PM

x_far_x, i prefer for SX10
ad3rb33n
post Dec 9 2008, 04:42 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 9 2008, 12:56 PM)
RM1000-2000 is quite enough for an entry-level set.

E-420 is RM2k for kit, if I'm not wrong, the E-520 is much more expensive. I'd recommend you to go with the D60 or the 1000D as these are the best of their range. Also, it'll help you later when you want to change camera bodies and have the lenses. All EF lenses are compatible with any model, and EF-S lenses can be used on APS-C size sensors. Nikon has a similar set up. Olympus and Sony are kinda newbies to the DSLR market so it isn't recommended to get them just yet.
Thx WanderX,

I have taken a look n google ard for bth D60 n canon 1000D..Both quite decent entry DSLR; Yet I still a bit curious on Olympus E-420 which i stumble at lelong.the following r da link----->

BTW, another offer at 1000D form lelong-->

The price quite tempting, yet i dun fin any IS feature on E-420(or i maybe just miss it)... So, does Olympus offer lens like Nikon where its lens got bulit in motor thingy?

N Omlypus use Zuiko lens with a think might quite a little limited choice compared to Nikon n Canon.(correct me if i wrong). Zuiko lens quite alien to me; so is it reliable?

Soli, i might seem a bit too persistent toward Olympus, but feel free to recommend any other brands.

161 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:00 AM