161 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

TheWandererX
post Dec 1 2008, 06:50 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(blackankh @ Dec 1 2008, 01:57 PM)

Olympus FE series. wub.gif

http://www.olympusimage.com.my/products/compact/fe_series/

Cheap and suits your need - dual IS. =)

P.S.: I guess Olympus FE is really a good camera, you can't deny it...
However based on this review it is one of the worst..

the site is here...
* We like: Build and styling, decent feature set for the price, flash performance
* We don't like: Slow operation, poor low light performance, auto white balance and metering a bit flakey, proprietary xD card format

It's mostly subjective. People have different preferences. If person A doesn't like this camera, obviously there's another person out there who would like it.

It's all up to personal preference. If you choose the Olympus, then that's your choice - if you choose the Canon, it's your choice also.

What we do here is to show you the available choices you have, not the camera you should buy. We aren't salesmen here - we don't bias on a specific brand.

Base your accusations on a firmer ground next time.

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 1 2008, 04:50 PM)
Hi. newbie in photography..need some recommendation

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  entry level , anything that's relatively good (2nd hand only)
Budget: mm how much for a used entry level camera? (err around rm600 )?
Your Location:   Subang Jaya/ PJ
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do :  General, mostly on scenery
Any specific models in mind? :  newbie here, D40 recommended?
Any specific features u want? : -
Entry level? Do you want a PnS or a DSLR?

If DSLR, it's kinda impossible to get a D40 at that price (I think)...

For entry-level DSLRs, based on a RM2k budget, you can get:

Sony a200 (1.4k for kit, 2k for twin kit)
Canon EOS-1000D (2k for kit)
Nikon D40 (1.xk for kit, most probably used)
Nikon D60 (2k for kit)
Nikon D80 (2k+- for kit, used)
Olympus E-520 (2k+ for kit, used/new, not sure)

If you're looking for the most value for money one, get the a200... and if you can fork out 2k, ... read reviews of the above mentioned.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 1 2008, 06:53 PM
SanosukeSagara
post Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR/PnS
Budget: ~1.6k
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : canon, nikon, panny
Type of photography u want to do : hdr
Any specific models in mind? : lumix LX3
Any specific features u want? : AEB
joyyy
post Dec 1 2008, 11:50 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM)
Note that HDR can only be achieved via software generation.
And if you're not planning on taking 3 or more exposures of the same picture, it's wise to get a camera that supports RAW.
That way you get to 'cheat' and are able to generate a HDR image with the single RAW file.
SUSabang
post Dec 2 2008, 03:12 AM

Abang Familia
2,078 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS
Budget: 1-1.1k
Preferable brand : any
Type of photography u want to do : general use
Any specific models in mind? : nikon s710, olympus 1060
Any specific features u want? :

what do you guys think? need respond asap. thx!
mctnesh
post Dec 2 2008, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 1 2008, 10:52 AM)
Shashinki.com sells it... but it's kinda overpriced... so I'd recommend you to scout around your neighbourhood's photo shops and let them quote a price for you. If you can, bargain in a few freebies to help yourself =)
Oh, thanks for the info - I'm not sure about the Olympus' prices.

Anyway, the 100-200 can usually be bargained off the seller one.  brows.gif
Thanks for your reply smile.gif
Its rather unfortunate that i am at UK and the camera is a gift for my girlfriend who lives in Malaysia.
lobo
post Dec 2 2008, 10:28 AM

[quote=blackankh,Dec 1 2008, 01:57 PM]
Olympus FE series. wub.gif

http://www.olympusimage.com.my/products/compact/fe_series/

Cheap and suits your need - dual IS. =)

P.S.: I guess Olympus FE is really a good camera, you can't deny it...

[/quote]

However based on this review it is one of the worst..

the site is here...

[/quote]

Can't agree more.
I have used an Olympus FE series before.
Undeniably, the performance sucks. A lot.
tnhafiz
post Dec 2 2008, 12:53 PM

276 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories :prosumer
Budget:rm1000
Your Location:kl
Preferable brand :kodak or pentax or lumix
Type of photography u want to do :landscape,potrait,sport
Any specific models in mind? :kodak z1285,lumix tz15
Any specific features u want? :i dont know.more features is better

This post has been edited by tnhafiz: Dec 2 2008, 07:43 PM
bargo
post Dec 2 2008, 06:26 PM

Type of camera/lens/accesories:Prosumer
Budget: Roughly RM1.2k
Your Location: Klang Valley
Preferable brand: Lumix or Canon
Type of photography u want to do: All Rounder
Any specific models in mind?: Canon Powershot S5 & Lumix FZ28
Any specific features u want?: Not really, maybe a good burst mode?

I'm still new into photography and I still don't want to step into the DSLR world.. YET. tongue.gif
But I guess I just want something solid enough as a start but without the high price tag.
I've already had a little bad experiences with Sony so I guess that's out of the picture.
Please do suggest any other models that fits into my list and I'll take them into consideration as well.
Thanks all! blush.gif
joe444
post Dec 3 2008, 07:57 AM

14 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories: Compact
Budget: about RM1000.00
Preferable brand : Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do :
Any specific models in mind? : Lumix FS5

TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 10:19 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Dec 1 2008, 11:45 PM)
If you're already well off in PnS and you want to move on, get a DSLR.. but if you're still not ready to venture into DSLR then get the LX3. AEB is a feature available in every prosumer/DSLR camera.

QUOTE(mctnesh @ Dec 2 2008, 07:22 AM)
Thanks for your reply smile.gif
Its rather unfortunate that i am at UK and the camera is a gift for my girlfriend who lives in Malaysia.
Oh.. you could ask your friend to get it for you then.

QUOTE(lobo @ Dec 2 2008, 10:28 AM)
Can't agree more.
I have used an Olympus FE series before.
Undeniably, the performance sucks. A lot.
Ok, if you think it sucks, then it's your opinion.

QUOTE(tnhafiz @ Dec 2 2008, 12:53 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :prosumer 
Budget:rm1000
Your Location:kl  
Preferable brand :kodak or pentax or lumix 
Type of photography u want to do :landscape,potrait,sport 
Any specific models in mind? :kodak z1285,lumix tz15 
Any specific features u want? :i dont know.more features is better
Increase your budget a little more and get the LX3. The best prosumer around and trust me, you'll be happy about it.

Anyway, if you really can't, have a look at the PowerShot S5 or the FZ28. These should be around your price range.

QUOTE(bargo @ Dec 2 2008, 06:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories:Prosumer
Budget: Roughly RM1.2k
Your Location: Klang Valley
Preferable brand: Lumix or Canon
Type of photography u want to do: All Rounder
Any specific models in mind?: Canon Powershot S5 & Lumix FZ28
Any specific features u want?: Not really, maybe a good burst mode?

I'm still new into photography and I still don't want to step into the DSLR world.. YET.  tongue.gif
But I guess I just want something solid enough as a start but without the high price tag.
I've already had a little bad experiences with Sony so I guess that's out of the picture.
Please do suggest any other models that fits into my list and I'll take them into consideration as well.
Thanks all!  blush.gif
If you can increase your budget, get an LX3 because there's not much choice in the prosumer range. Anyway, you could stick to your choices - but you should play with each one first. I've never used both so I can't comment.

sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget: about RM1500 - RM2000
Preferable brand : CANON or NIKON
Any specific models in mind? : NIKON D60 OR EOS1000D

My Questions:
1)What is the price for above two models?
2) To which place i must go for a good price.
3) Usually with a purchase what other accessory will i get? (memory card, tripod, beg) <--will i get those?
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 10:41 AM

Panasonic Lumix LS80 + 2G SD card + camera case + Vanson charger & batteries + screen protecter + Nikon tripod = RM 520

Good bargain or overpriced? hmm.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 11:50 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sQew @ Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget: about RM1500 - RM2000

My Questions:
1)What is the price for above two models?
3) Usually with a purchase what other accessory will i get? (memory card, tripod, beg) <--will i get those?
D60 is around RM2k for new kit. 1000D also.

If you want, might help to consider a200.. RM1.4k for kit, and RM2k for twin kit set.

a350 is RM2k+ for a kit set.

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 10:41 AM)
Panasonic Lumix LS80 + 2G SD card + camera case + Vanson charger & batteries + screen protecter + Nikon tripod = RM 520

Good bargain or overpriced?  hmm.gif
The price is ok, you probably earn a few extra dollars from that. If you cant find a better deal, get it.
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 3 2008, 11:50 AM)
The price is ok, you probably earn a few extra dollars from that. If you cant find a better deal, get it.
Thanx, dude! nod.gif
Quite dizzy rclxub.gif choosing the right DC which bangs for my bucks.
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 12:47 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 12:37 PM)
Thanx, dude! nod.gif 
Quite dizzy  rclxub.gif  choosing the right DC which bangs for my bucks.
Anyway, the extra money is topup to get those items, but if china brand chiplak stuff, then don't get it. You're topping up quite a bit there.
sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 01:35 PM

Which place is the best for me to get good bargains at good price also reliable?
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 03:10 PM

1,862 posts

@sQew:

It depends on what you're looking for.

What are you looking for?
sQew
post Dec 3 2008, 03:15 PM

Quoting from my earlier post:

My Questions:
pogo
post Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 3 2008, 12:47 PM)
Anyway, the extra money is topup to get those items, but if china brand chiplak stuff, then don't get it. You're topping up quite a bit there.
Really?? shocking.gif
Meaning that without the freebies, I'd be able to purchase it with lower price? ohmy.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 3 2008, 05:17 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sQew @ Dec 3 2008, 03:15 PM)
Quoting from my earlier post:

My Questions:
That, I can't tell you - I ain't a price surveyor of camera shops, but there's one thing you can do - invade every camera shop you see. Ask them to quote you a price. After doing so, bargain kao kao... Ask them to give you this and that, and if the deal still doesn't please you, walk out. It's your right as a buyer.

Just as a side note: I got mine for RM2000. Inclusive of free Class 2 Sandisk SDHC, cleaning kit (cloth, liquid, blower etc), extra battery, and extra sling bag. Oh, and extra UV filter.

QUOTE(pogo @ Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM)
Really?? shocking.gif
Meaning that without the freebies, I'd be able to purchase it with lower price?  ohmy.gif
Lower yes, but not sure how much the shop owner will give you loh.

161 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:09 AM