Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

ad3rb33n
post Dec 8 2008, 02:26 PM

117 posts

Hi LYN sifus,

I just started to venture in photography.Totaly 0% exp. Need advice from LYN sifus to get 1 to start off.
Hope to choose the right camera n able to learn fully utilize it.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS/Prosumer/DLSR(Not sure which to get,newbie)
Budget:1000-2000(R tis too much or not enuf?)
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon,Nikon, Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, macro(planning to use it take photo from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)
Any specific models in mind? : E-420,D 40
Any specific features u want? : More features the better(i think so..)

BTW, if i get a 2nd hand camera are dey worthy? Any recommendation? or offre maybe? brows.gif

Any kits,accessories that i shud get also?

Hope to get reply soon. planning to get gud bargain from tis cuming PC fair...

Thx to any1 who reply. notworthy.gif your reply is much appreciated. notworthy.gif

ad3rb33n
post Dec 8 2008, 07:33 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 8 2008, 05:44 PM)
If you've just started to venture into photography, then it's highly advised you start off with a compact. If you want to jump.. you can get a prosumer, but you should not get a DSLR as a start to photography.

For compact cameras, you can choose any. Just cut your budget by a lot. whistling.gif

For prosumer, it's highly advised to get a Panasonic Lumix LX3. King of all the digital cameras.

But, if you still want a DSLR, then get the Nikon D60/D80 or the EOS-1000D. These are the best of the pick - since your budget allows the purchase of the above.

notworthy.gif Thx to TheWanderX for da reply notworthy.gif

but i think i might to nid rephrase my question coz i think i asked the wrong question.

The situation is:
I thinkin of goin into DSLR from compact PnS camera.what i mean is I'm new to DSLR camera; nvr really use 1. So, i thinkin of get my hand on 1 of it n learn to use it.

I tried google for Panasonic Lumix LX3 n found tat the price is few hundred diff with EOS-1000D. yet with all da features of DSLR does it more worthy to just go n get da EOS-1000D?( feel free to correct me if i'm wrong)

And for nikon D60/80 it is a bit pricey?

BTW, if i get a 2nd hand DSLR camera wit kits are dey worthy n can i reli save more buck(maybe 1000-1500)? Any recommendation?

N following are edited to be more specific:

Type of photography u want to do : Landscape,macro
Any specific models in mind? : Prefer model between budget
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact(since i planning to use it to snap photos from the peak of Mount Kinabalu)

N does DSLR can operate under humid area like the peak of Mount Kinabalu? Shud I worry thing like vapor build up in da lens?

thx...

Added on December 8, 2008, 8:03 pmI got additional question:

Does the difference between Olympus Four Thirds system n APS-C sensor really big? How big da difference?

N wat is lens focus by wire?

This post has been edited by ad3rb33n: Dec 8 2008, 08:03 PM
ad3rb33n
post Dec 9 2008, 09:52 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 8 2008, 10:20 PM)
I think TheWandererX threw too much advice to you and it became saturated. sad.gif
Lemme try and make it simple.
If you're looking to save 1000-1500 from buying a 2nd hand DSLR, you might just as well forget about it. DSLRs dont depreciate so fast smile.gif
DSLRs are quite versatile. They have a very decent operating temperature range, yes, even the entry level models. I've read reviews of DSLRs tested in -20 Celsius and it worked fine. So Mount Kinabalu is really nothing, the only thing you have to worry about is battery life. As the temperature decreases, so does the battery life. And another thing, Mount Kinabalu ain't humid, it's just colder. smile.gif

Olympus Four Thirds System eh. The name really explains it all. The size of the image sensor has a 4:3 ratio and Olympus cameras have a 2.0x crop factor. Just for comparison, Canon's has 1.6x while Nikon has 1.5x crop factor. Now there's no good or bad with crop factors.

Lens focus by wire. This is more commonly known as cable release. Note that to obtain very sharp pictures, the camera has to remain totally still while the picture is taken. And, when one presses the shutter button on the camera, there will be a slight shake. This is where cable release comes in. Basically, a cable release trigger is connected to the camera. To trigger the shutter, you just press a button on the trigger. This way your hands are not physically on the camera, eliminating motion caused by handshake.
Thx joyy for the reply notworthy.gif

Then wat DSLR u think i shud get for entry level? Prefer model between budget, comes with kit.

Type of photography u want to do : Landscape,macro
Any specific models in mind? : E-420(coz da price with kits quite reasonable n it is has small form factor; beside taking account of it features)
Any specific features u want? : built-in focus drive motor, compact,IS

Fell free to suggest any model too.But form i google ard is Olmypus usually cheaper.(correct me if i'm worng) And does low yatt or PC fair can get da better bargain?
ad3rb33n
post Dec 9 2008, 04:42 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 9 2008, 12:56 PM)
RM1000-2000 is quite enough for an entry-level set.

E-420 is RM2k for kit, if I'm not wrong, the E-520 is much more expensive. I'd recommend you to go with the D60 or the 1000D as these are the best of their range. Also, it'll help you later when you want to change camera bodies and have the lenses. All EF lenses are compatible with any model, and EF-S lenses can be used on APS-C size sensors. Nikon has a similar set up. Olympus and Sony are kinda newbies to the DSLR market so it isn't recommended to get them just yet.
Thx WanderX,

I have taken a look n google ard for bth D60 n canon 1000D..Both quite decent entry DSLR; Yet I still a bit curious on Olympus E-420 which i stumble at lelong.the following r da link----->

BTW, another offer at 1000D form lelong-->

The price quite tempting, yet i dun fin any IS feature on E-420(or i maybe just miss it)... So, does Olympus offer lens like Nikon where its lens got bulit in motor thingy?

N Omlypus use Zuiko lens with a think might quite a little limited choice compared to Nikon n Canon.(correct me if i wrong). Zuiko lens quite alien to me; so is it reliable?

Soli, i might seem a bit too persistent toward Olympus, but feel free to recommend any other brands.

ad3rb33n
post Dec 9 2008, 06:14 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 9 2008, 05:13 PM)
IS is in lens for the lenses I think.

Anyway, Zuiko lens is EXTREMELY unpopular. Even Olympus DSLR users opt for other 3rd party lenses like Sigma or Tamron because of the unavailability of lenses, and they aren't as good compared to the Canon or Nikon lenses, that's why we recommend you to get a D60 or a 1000D.

Olympus is an ok-ok brand for digital cameras, but a no-no for DSLRs.
notworthy.gif Thx for all da advices, notworthy.gif I far more clear now.

I think i can start survey for good bargain for D60 or 1000D. but now i get another dilemma rclxub.gif ; I can't reli make up my minds. i read few side by side comparisons for both DSLR. Both hav almost da same features. Pricing also no big gap. I scare i finally end up compare both pricing only n regret l8r on. doh.gif

i plan to stick/tag along one brand to save da hassle of switch which is also would be costly l8r on.

BTW, i also read be4 sumwhere in LYN tat dere r warranty 4 stolen or dropped DSLR? is ta true? N between Canon n Nikon, which offer better aftersale service?
ad3rb33n
post Dec 15 2008, 10:15 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 15 2008, 10:05 PM)
The same answer applies to this question. Why are Nike or Adidas products more expensive than other brands? It's not because their products are better, it might or might not be better than other brands. It's because Nikon is already an established brand in the market. Therefore their brand alone commands a higher price. You're actually paying for the brand when you purchase a Nikon or Canon camera.

There is no "best" brand in the market. Each brand has its own pros and cons. Canon and Nikon for example, have excellent reputation in their image quality, while Sony, Pentax and Olympus have in-body stabilization. Not that I'm not implying that Sony or Pentax or Olympus' image quality is bad.

For your budget, there are a few DSLRs in the current market, I'll mention a few that I know the price.
Canon 1000D - RM1.9k
Nikon D60 - RM1.8k
Sony A200 - RM1.5k
Sony A350 - RM1.9k
The above mentioned prices are with kits? Where can get these price; Low Yatt? Thx in advance.........
ad3rb33n
post Dec 16 2008, 09:36 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 16 2008, 12:22 AM)
Sony also has their own lens lineup. Contrary to what you think that Sony is a newbie to the DSLR market, Sony has actually bought over Konica Minolta, and Sony DSLRs can be fitted with Konica Minolta lenses. This being said, it's good to note that Konica Minolta was already in the SLR market since 1985. And that's also 2 years before Canon introduced its EF mount system.
Along with Canon's EF-S lenses, Sony has it's DT lenses too for digital SLRs. .......

I agree with joyy the facet that cause Sony actually bought over Konica Minolta cause i read it before some where. I think it just matter of time that Sony can catch up with the big name. Yet, in my opinion as Sony DSLR product line started to get to gain popularity same level with the big name, the price usually MIGHT tend to go up. For e.g. its laptop, it always expensive than equivalent brand such as Toshiba; BTW, this always happen due to branding which equal to today Canon and Nikon.

Anyway, what happen to Olympus? Why no1 talking abt it? it also in that imaging industry quite long time; establish since October 12, 1919(from Wikipedia). But it seem that Olympus is also new in DSLR?

I also thinking of getting a entry-level DSLR so I want to know all my available choice before I make my decision.

notworthy.gif Fell free to correct me if i wrong notworthy.gif
ad3rb33n
post Dec 23 2008, 04:34 PM

117 posts

Thinking to get D40 over D60; coz no much big diff(but D40 much morecheaper hehe).. any advice? BTW, how abt Canon EOS 1000D over D40?
ad3rb33n
post Dec 23 2008, 08:19 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 23 2008, 06:45 PM)
Although still a decent camera, I personally think that the D40 is definitely outdated.
The D60 kit is about a few hundred bucks more than the D40 kit. For that few hundred bucks, you get 4 million more pixels, Image stabilization and a slightly faster burst rate.
If you're comparing the D40 and the 1000D, I'd say that the Canon wins in technical terms.
But if you're budget is limiting you to the price range of the D40, why not consider the Sony A200? Its price is around that of the D40 and the A200 is a very very good DSLR with In-body Image stabilization and 10MP.
Thx for da advice..

My budget is within RM2k+-(but the less da better rite?) BTW, i still dunno which to get, D60 OR 1000D... Since i still new to DSLR n still a student, i would like to think n research deeply be4 go out n make my purchase.. Planning to get it by da end of tis month/early next month, but still can't make up my mind unsure.gif..

BTW, again, wat shud i look/check for when i making a purchase?

N, wat da current street price of D80?Just curious..

This post has been edited by ad3rb33n: Dec 23 2008, 08:27 PM
ad3rb33n
post Dec 23 2008, 09:22 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 23 2008, 08:47 PM)

...... For the Canon....best of luck to you smile.gif
What do you mean? rclxub.gif
ad3rb33n
post Dec 24 2008, 12:13 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 23 2008, 09:50 PM)
Canon camera doesnt have any shutter count checking feature within the camera while Nikon does.
I've heard of a 3rd party software that you could use to check the shutter count, but then again you'd need a laptop with you when you purchase the camera, and that's er, inconvenient?
OIC... soli i dunno tat canon cannot check withn da body interface itself... doh.gif

This post has been edited by ad3rb33n: Dec 24 2008, 12:14 AM
ad3rb33n
post Jan 15 2009, 01:43 PM

117 posts

Type of accesories : DSLR camera bag
Budget:< RM 100
Preferable brand : as long reliable
Type of photography u want to do : outdoor, humid
Any specific models in mind? : as long reliable
Any specific features u want? : waterproof,compact
ad3rb33n
post Jan 19 2009, 10:48 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(gyzhelee @ Jan 18 2009, 11:09 PM)
450d's price inflated? Hmm..seems like 1000d is more worthy.
TheWandererX, I see that you are using a 1000d, how is it? You don't plan to upgrade the body anymore?
Because I saw you bought a few lenses already. Oh ya, by the way, you are using Nissin speedlite, is it cheaper?
Those lenses can be use by other Canon body also... that is one of the beauty of DSLR...

0.0237sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:22 PM