161 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

phylem_hao
post Jan 7 2009, 11:48 AM

185 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : RM2500 include kitlens
Your Location : PJ Damansara
Preferable brand : Only Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Basically shooting everything around me but more to portraits.
Any specific models in mind? : D60
Any specific features u want? : Quick auto focus?

Additional : Any recommended tripod priced around RM100?
teddbundy
post Jan 7 2009, 12:45 PM

158 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget : RM700-RM1200
Your Location : Kuantan
Preferable brand : sony, nikon
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : cybershot ?
Any specific features u want? : image stabilization ?

changed my mind since DSLR quite costy for me i think sad.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Jan 7 2009, 12:49 PM
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 01:57 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 11:48 AM)
Type of photography u want to do : Basically shooting everything around me but more to portraits.

Those camera shops do often throw in a cheapo tripod together with the DSLR as a "package". These tripods, although cheap and light, I personally feel that it's enough for basic tripod shooting.
pinki
post Jan 7 2009, 02:18 PM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Prosumer cameras
Budget : not more tat RM2000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Anything ..
Any specific models in mind? : D40,D60
Any specific features u want? : dun knw at all .. the common thing tat need is :
1. MASP
2. Vibration Resistance
TheWandererX
post Jan 7 2009, 04:19 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 11:48 AM)

D80 body + seperate lens or the 450D kit.

Tripods are usually given out as a free gift OR sold at a cheap price. I think if you buy a seperate tripod along with your set, the seller SHOULD give you a discount.

QUOTE(pinki @ Jan 7 2009, 02:18 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Prosumer cameras
Budget : not more tat RM2000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Anything ..
Any specific models in mind? : D40,D60
Any specific features u want? : dun knw at all .. the common thing tat need is :
1. MASP
2. Vibration Resistance
1000D or the D60.

Most cameras have Vibration Resistance - they just name it differently. For Nikon it's VR (as you've mentioned), Canon for IS (Image Stabilizer) and Sony has their own in-body image stabilization, not sure about Pentax and Olympus.
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 04:33 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 7 2009, 04:19 PM)
D80 body + seperate lens or the 450D kit.

Tripods are usually given out as a free gift OR sold at a cheap price. I think if you buy a seperate tripod along with your set, the seller SHOULD give you a discount.
1000D or the D60.

Most cameras have Vibration Resistance - they just name it differently. For Nikon it's VR (as you've mentioned), Canon for IS (Image Stabilizer) and Sony has their own in-body image stabilization, not sure about Pentax and Olympus.
Nikon = Vibration Reduction smile.gif
Pentax and Olympus both use the same in-body stabilization as Sony's SSS.
phylem_hao
post Jan 7 2009, 06:16 PM

185 posts

@joyyy, thanks.

@TheWandererX, I have shortlisted my list to D60 and D80 now. Might come back with more questions about these 2 models. Btw, where can I post those questions like "what's the biggest different between these two models from a beginner's point".
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 07:23 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 06:16 PM)
@joyyy, thanks.

@TheWandererX, I have shortlisted my list to D60 and D80 now. Might come back with more questions about these 2 models. Btw, where can I post those questions like "what's the biggest different between these two models from a beginner's point".
You asked at the right place =D
I guess by now you would've more or less know each of their technical specs. So I'm once again gonna give a personal opinion on this question of yours. smile.gif
From a total beginner's point-of-view, the 2 cameras are more or less identical.
It's only when you start to venture into various lenses that you realise that the D60 is quite short-ended. Since the D60 doesn't have an AF motor in its body, you would have to get lenses with AF motors in them, and that will be a little more expensive.
The D80 on the other hand, does come with an internal motor.
All that being said, I don't think I'll advise you on which model to get, you can do it better yourself smile.gif
phylem_hao
post Jan 7 2009, 07:37 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Jan 7 2009, 07:23 PM)
You asked at the right place =D
I guess by now you would've more or less know each of their technical specs. So I'm once again gonna give a personal opinion on this question of yours. smile.gif
From a total beginner's point-of-view, the 2 cameras are more or less identical.
It's only when you start to venture into various lenses that you realise that the D60 is quite short-ended. Since the D60 doesn't have an AF motor in its body, you would have to get lenses with AF motors in them, and that will be a little more expensive.
The D80 on the other hand, does come with an internal motor.
All that being said, I don't think I'll advise you on which model to get, you can do it better yourself smile.gif
Thanks for the prompt reply.

So I believe that's the biggest difference between these two. I would need AF, build-in or with lens (actually difference between these two type of AF is...? speed wise, operation wise etc?) Ok let me think about it and I might post what I have eventually decided to buy.

Thank you once again.
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 08:08 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 07:37 PM)
Thanks for the prompt reply.

So I believe that's the biggest difference between these two. I would need AF, build-in or with lens (actually difference between these two type of AF is...? speed wise, operation wise etc?) Ok let me think about it and I might post what I have eventually decided to buy.

Thank you once again.
I believe they are the same or have little difference between them. Operation-wise, they both do exactly the same thing, which is obviously autofocusing.
The only thing Nikon entry-level fanboys might say is that since the D80's AF motor is located within the body, if it spoils, you cant use AF anymore. But that argument is far-fetched at most. ohmy.gif
samanthachong85
post Jan 7 2009, 08:57 PM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : prosumer
Budget : RM1200
Your Location : PJ ss17
Preferable brand : lumix, canon,nikon...
Type of photography u want to do : travel and portraits
Any specific models in mind? : fz28, canon s5,
Any specific features u want? : sharp and good quality picture. if can a semi pro one, because i am a newbie for photographing

TheWandererX
post Jan 7 2009, 10:18 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Jan 7 2009, 04:33 PM)
Nikon = Vibration Reduction smile.gif
Pentax and Olympus both use the same in-body stabilization as Sony's SSS.
Oh. Thanks for correcting me - haven't been paying much attention to what's been happening around so I guess I missed that mistake.

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 06:16 PM)
@joyyy, thanks.

Joyyy has replied quite straightforwardly to your question smile.gif

QUOTE(samanthachong85 @ Jan 7 2009, 08:57 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : prosumer
Budget : RM1200
Your Location : PJ ss17
Preferable brand : lumix, canon,nikon...
Type of photography u want to do : travel and portraits
Any specific models in mind? : fz28, canon s5,
Any specific features u want? : sharp and good quality picture. if can a semi pro one, because i am a newbie for photographing

Get the FZ28. Good PQ and long zoom should appeal to you.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jan 7 2009, 10:20 PM
phylem_hao
post Jan 7 2009, 11:56 PM

185 posts

@joyyy and TheWandererX

I just came back from 1utama, there's a shop selling the D60 with kitlens + nikon bag + 4gb card + cheap tripod at RM2288. Is it a good buy? Understand that you guys might not know the pricing for a certain model, just asking.
joyyy
post Jan 8 2009, 12:42 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 11:56 PM)
@joyyy and TheWandererX

I just came back from 1utama, there's a shop selling the D60 with kitlens + nikon bag + 4gb card + cheap tripod at RM2288. Is it a good buy? Understand that you guys might not know the pricing for a certain model, just asking.
I might not be up-to-date with the pricing of the D60, but I still think that the price quoted to you is too expensive.
Here check this thread out. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...ts&highlite=D60
Most of them got their package for around RM1900, which makes yours really expensive.
I'd suggest going to Lowyat or Sungei Wang to scout for your camera, since there are more shops and it will be easier to compare prices there. smile.gif
phylem_hao
post Jan 8 2009, 06:04 AM

185 posts

@joyyy

Thanks for the advice and reminder. I nearly forgot to check out Garage Sales.

TQ.
young
post Jan 8 2009, 02:19 PM

70 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital Camera

Budget : RM 1k region

Preferable brand : Canon or Sony

Type of photography u want to do : normal and scene

Any specific models in mind? : Sony T700, Canon 870 Is , Canon Powershot SX10Is

Any specific features u want? : I take photos a lot. So looking for quality, consistency and durability smile.gif

This post has been edited by young: Jan 8 2009, 02:22 PM
Crossbone
post Jan 8 2009, 02:42 PM

275 posts

i'm planning to get my 1st DSLR camera

i'm thinking either Canon EOS 1000D or Nikkon D60 or Canon EOS 450D

which one would you guys recommend?

mind giving me the market price for those models?

phylem_hao
post Jan 8 2009, 03:08 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Jan 8 2009, 02:42 PM)
i'm planning to get my 1st DSLR camera

i'm thinking either Canon EOS 1000D or Nikkon D60 or Canon EOS 450D

which one would you guys recommend?

mind giving me the market price for those models?
I cant help with the recommendation but the pricing yes. I have been looking at the EOS 1000D, D60 and D80.

Price quoted from
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=675880

Nikon D60 Kit(AF-S DX VR 18-55mm F3.5-5.6G IF-ED) = RM 2080 Cash / RM 2125 Credit Card

Canon EOS 1000D Kit = RM1920(cash) - Free 4GB SD, Canon DSLR Bag, LCD Screen Protector.

Canon EOS 450D Kit (18-55mm IS) = RM2790(cash) - Free 2GB SD Card, Canon DSLR Bag, LCD Screen Protector, UV Filter.

shepiroth
post Jan 9 2009, 12:02 AM

55 posts

Budget: CAN be adjust (aiming at 2k)
Your Location: kl
Preferable brand : nikon
Type of photography u want to do : night view, scene like sunrise or set, and macro.
Any specific models in mind? : d60, d80 or 2nd d70? (how much a 2nd d70 cost now)
Any specific features u want? : more than 6 focus point, high shuttle speed.
joyyy
post Jan 9 2009, 12:30 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(shepiroth @ Jan 9 2009, 12:02 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: CAN be adjust (aiming at 2k)
Your Location:   kl
Preferable brand :  nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  night view, scene like sunrise or set, and macro.
Any specific models in mind? :  d60, d80 or 2nd d70? (how much a 2nd d70 cost now)
Any specific features u want? :  more than 6 focus point, high shuttle speed.
For best shuttle quality, I would suggest getting a Yonex Aerosensa 2 Tournament Grade. smile.gif

Ok srsly,
I dont think you should get a second hand d70. Either get a new D80 or the D60. The D70 kinda outdated sad.gif

161 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:13 AM