how's PowerShot A1100 IS
is it any good ?
i need good zoom in cause i'm always going to concert .
Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere
Apr 10 2009, 09:39 PM
221 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Penang/Kuala Lumpur |
i was considering lx 3 but i heard it's zooming isn't that good
how's PowerShot A1100 IS is it any good ? i need good zoom in cause i'm always going to concert . |
Apr 10 2009, 09:51 PM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 10 2009, 09:39 PM) i was considering lx 3 but i heard it's zooming isn't that good powershot A1000IS and A1100IS is a gd camera within RM700how's PowerShot A1100 IS is it any good ? i need good zoom in cause i'm always going to concert . sorry to let u know tat , if u need to take photo in concert , most of less than 1k P&S camera is not tat good...advice u to take SX110IS .. Rm1099 |
Apr 10 2009, 09:57 PM
how bout LX 3 ?
if it meets my requirements , i might raise my budget for it |
Apr 10 2009, 10:00 PM
1,862 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 10 2009, 09:51 PM) powershot A1000IS and A1100IS is a gd camera within RM700 sorry to let u know tat , if u need to take photo in concert , most of less than 1k P&S camera is not tat good...advice u to take SX110IS .. Rm1099 QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 10 2009, 09:57 PM) LX3 has a measly 2x zoom so if you want then go for it lah but you'll struggle if you REALLY need that zoom.If you want get the Panasonic Lumix FZ28, it's one of the best zoom prosumers out there. It overpowers the Canon Powershot in some ways, but not to say the Canon recommended by steventan85 is bad either. Both are really good cameras, though the FZ28 does outdo other superzooms in this category quite a bit. Do play with both before making your choice - our recommendations are just guidelines, you don't need to listen to us, we're just giving you a rough idea. How much is your budget though, I'm wondering? |
Apr 10 2009, 10:09 PM
1k . but i'm interested with lx3 . just that the zoom in is kinda dissapointing.
it's okay , i'll go try it out before i make my decision . thanks |
Apr 10 2009, 10:53 PM
897 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories: Compact Digicam
Budget: RM1500 max (maybe could stretch up to RM2000) Preferable brand : ANY Type of photography u want to do : Anything Any specific models in mind? : Leica C-Lux 2 Any specific features u want? : Can be use underwater, and good for night photo. |
Apr 10 2009, 11:26 PM
673 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 10 2009, 10:09 PM) 1k . but i'm interested with lx3 . just that the zoom in is kinda dissapointing. if within rm1000,then nikon l100 should under your considerationit's okay , i'll go try it out before i make my decision . thanks http://www.nikon.com.my/productitem.php?pid=1307-c67ff5832f panasonic fz-28 will be around rm1300++ |
Apr 11 2009, 12:59 AM
27 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Apr 11 2009, 01:04 AM
219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MMU, Cyber+Malacca |
Just maybe we can have each thread categorize in diff price range, like RM0-500, 500-1000, 1000-1700, and 1700 > above. I see quite "ZAP" (mess) in here...
Apr 11 2009, 01:51 AM
63 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 1.5k~2k . Your Location: taiping Preferable brand : sony or nikon Type of photography u want to do : landscape,micro Any specific models in mind? : D40, a200 (twin lens) or D60 Any specific features u want?: budget for lens nuub here |
Apr 11 2009, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Apr 10 2009, 11:26 PM) if within rm1000,then nikon l100 should under your consideration i'm interested with the nikon . but how much is it currently .http://www.nikon.com.my/productitem.php?pid=1307-c67ff5832f panasonic fz-28 will be around rm1300++ cant find anyone selling in the garage sale . |
Apr 11 2009, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(ciahcra @ Apr 10 2009, 10:53 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories: Compact Digicam Olympus? That's the only brand which has underwater capability, IINM.Budget: RM1500 max (maybe could stretch up to RM2000) Preferable brand : ANY Type of photography u want to do : Anything Any specific models in mind? : Leica C-Lux 2 Any specific features u want? : Can be use underwater, and good for night photo. QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Apr 10 2009, 11:26 PM) if within rm1000,then nikon l100 should under your consideration FZ28 is RM1200< in GS, retail is RM1300+..http://www.nikon.com.my/productitem.php?pid=1307-c67ff5832f panasonic fz-28 will be around rm1300++ QUOTE(sunnyzai @ Apr 11 2009, 12:59 AM) I'd go with a new 80 IS - you never know where the used 850 IS has been to before... If you can go higher a bit opt for the 85 IS, it's good for its price. QUOTE(willer @ Apr 11 2009, 01:04 AM) Just maybe we can have each thread categorize in diff price range, like RM0-500, 500-1000, 1000-1700, and 1700 > above. I see quite "ZAP" (mess) in here... It's perfectly fine being this way - I don't see anyone complaining that it's messy, nor is it hard to read. QUOTE(aras121 @ Apr 11 2009, 01:51 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR If you're restricted to below RM1.5k, the D40 would be a real good choice, or maybe a used D60? If you are aiming for RM2k though, do consider a new D60/Canon 1000D. I don't think you should opt for the a200 though, unless you're really adventurous. We don't know the quality of their after-sales service, nor do they have a wide range of lenses, which will really set you back when you wanna upgrade in the future.Budget: 1.5k~2k . Your Location: taiping Preferable brand : sony or nikon Type of photography u want to do : landscape,micro Any specific models in mind? : D40, a200 (twin lens) or D60 Any specific features u want?: budget for lens nuub here |
Apr 11 2009, 01:47 PM
3,000 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: PeeJay |
QUOTE(sunnyzai @ Apr 11 2009, 12:59 AM) I would suggest getting the 850 ISit's known that IXUS xxx series are better than xx series the difference in MP is not noticeable 7.1 vs 8 You will have less dense sensor the other major advantage i would say is the wide angle lens on the 850 IS it is 28 mm vs 38 mm which is way long if you are in a small room The other advantage is 1.7 fps continous drive vs 1.3 the rest is almost the same I would suggest pressing your fren's price down a bit say you need to upgrade to a 4gb card |
Apr 11 2009, 06:23 PM
27 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Apr 11 2009, 02:47 PM) I would suggest getting the 850 IS ok, thanks for ur very helpful comment...it's known that IXUS xxx series are better than xx series the difference in MP is not noticeable 7.1 vs 8 You will have less dense sensor the other major advantage i would say is the wide angle lens on the 850 IS it is 28 mm vs 38 mm which is way long if you are in a small room The other advantage is 1.7 fps continous drive vs 1.3 the rest is almost the same I would suggest pressing your fren's price down a bit say you need to upgrade to a 4gb card |
Apr 11 2009, 06:45 PM
104 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Having problem to choose between FX36, ixus 80, sony w150 & Olympus μ1060.....
Any comment from urs ? Thanks~ |
Apr 11 2009, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(snicker @ Apr 11 2009, 06:45 PM) Having problem to choose between FX36, ixus 80, sony w150 & Olympus μ1060..... IF you ask me I'd choose the FX36/Ixus 80 IS over the Sony/Olympus. Unless you need the Olympus for underwater shooting or Sony for style, then go for the both you mentioned.Any comment from urs ? Thanks~ Do refer to our recommendations as a guideline - not an instruction, so I'd suggest you to go play with both as they are almost identical in terms of specs. See which one's functions you like more and wallah. There you go. |
Apr 12 2009, 02:09 AM
272 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 5.5K Your Location: KL Preferable brand : sony or nikon Type of photography u want to do : landscape,macro, night scene Any specific models in mind? : D90 (16-85mm), a700 (16-80CZ) Any specific features u want?: sometimes do need portrait too |
Apr 12 2009, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(hungryJack @ Apr 12 2009, 02:09 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR If you're really into landscape I don't think a measly 16mm would do - but if you are happy with it then you might wanna consider the Canon EOS 40D too - should be around RM3k for body and if you want a 17-85 it's around RM1.2k+. Which amounts to RM4.2k. Cheap compared to the other two. Forget Sony if you're gonna get serious about photography and the D90 is only your choice if you really want the video, because its specs are almost identical to the 40D without the video.Budget: 5.5K Your Location: KL Preferable brand : sony or nikon Type of photography u want to do : landscape,macro, night scene Any specific models in mind? : D90 (16-85mm), a700 (16-80CZ) Any specific features u want?: sometimes do need portrait too My two cents - you don't necessarily have to listen to what I say. |
Apr 12 2009, 03:37 PM
272 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Apr 12 2009, 01:14 PM) If you're really into landscape I don't think a measly 16mm would do - but if you are happy with it then you might wanna consider the Canon EOS 40D too - should be around RM3k for body and if you want a 17-85 it's around RM1.2k+. Which amounts to RM4.2k. Cheap compared to the other two. Forget Sony if you're gonna get serious about photography and the D90 is only your choice if you really want the video, because its specs are almost identical to the 40D without the video. Thanks for ur opinion, will re-consider again ... My two cents - you don't necessarily have to listen to what I say. |
Apr 12 2009, 08:11 PM
263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Apr 12 2009, 01:14 PM) If you're really into landscape I don't think a measly 16mm would do - but if you are happy with it then you might wanna consider the Canon EOS 40D too - should be around RM3k for body and if you want a 17-85 it's around RM1.2k+. Which amounts to RM4.2k. Cheap compared to the other two. Forget Sony if you're gonna get serious about photography and the D90 is only your choice if you really want the video, because its specs are almost identical to the 40D without the video. What you mean ah? mind to explain?My two cents - you don't necessarily have to listen to what I say. |
| Change to: | 0.0528sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:22 AM |