yes i confirmed this. i just tried. DTS no sound. AC3 ok to stereo
my hookup is using HDMI

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Jan 16 2009, 11:55 AM
thteong82
post Jan 16 2009, 12:58 PM

Poor Guy
1,528 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Jan 16 2009, 12:41 PM)
i don't know whether mod will allow this .. but here goes..

The.Bourne.Identity.2002.1080p.HDDVD.x264-BLiND  AUDiO..............: English, AC3 5.1, will play stereo on rca jack

Goodfellas.1990.BluRay.1080p.AC3.x264.dxva-EuReKA  Audio Codec.........: AC3 will play stereo on rca jack

The.Hunt.For.Red.October.1990.1080p.HDDVD.DTS.x264-CtrlHD  Audio: English DTS 5.1 - 1536 KB/s  No sound

The.Dark.Knight.2008.BluRay.1080p.DTS.dxva-EuReKA  Audio Codec.........: DTS  no sound

Queen.Rock.Montreal.1080p.BluRay.x264-TRiM
AUDiO..........: English 2.0, FLAC from 24 bits 48khz PCM      No sound (not even sure whether optical will play this)
                        English 5.1, 1536 kbit/s DTS core from 24 bits 96khz DTS HD    No sound
                        English 2.0, 128 kbit/s AC3 commentary with Brian May and Roger Taylor  Will play stereo on rca jack

for queen u can actually click on the audio to choose which audio u want...

so when u go downloading u see dts as codec .. u know cannot play unless u have optical out with dts amp.. others should be able (this same goes for the hdx1000 and popcorn)

but again dvico 6500a . semua boleh step down to stereo...normal rca jack... drool.gif
That why, in avsforum there is a thread where they request WD to include function step down to stereo in next firmware update.
beebee
post Jan 16 2009, 01:56 PM

3,091 posts

what does the step down mean? output DTS to stereo internally? headache now, dont know wanna get a HTIB or HT system to be able to play the DTS files, dont feel like using so much money to be able to play the DTS files, maybe just get a Dvico or HDX instead tongue.gif
andyz
post Jan 16 2009, 02:03 PM

503 posts

yes step down means output dts to stereo internally

bro did u read what i wrote ... hdx1000 cannot do it too... only dvico 4100 and 6500a...

hdx1000 will be able to do it when they update the firmware with the function, which they have promise since september (at least they have letter from dts for prove) but till now zippo naada nothing....

QUOTE(beebee @ Jan 16 2009, 01:56 PM)
what does the step down mean? output DTS to stereo internally? headache now, dont know wanna get a HTIB or HT system to be able to play the DTS files, dont feel like using so much money to be able to play the DTS files, maybe just get a Dvico or HDX instead tongue.gif
This post has been edited by andyz: Jan 16 2009, 02:06 PM
baretta
post Jan 16 2009, 02:08 PM

1,853 posts

Wahh got time ka to convert all those movie? Or there a place can get those movie that already ripped
beebee
post Jan 16 2009, 02:43 PM

3,091 posts

haha, i got it andyz, i know they still not yet update the firmware, but maybe one day they will update it while for WDTV, not sure since all is about the licensing issue (We already got the player so cheap o.o), while for the momment i am still comtemplating whether to invest into HT/HTIB, so the files will have to be converted to include AC3 sound output.

The mkvdtstoac3 is a pain to be used as need to download the various tools, and i was wondering worth all the effort to convert or just go out and get an AVR will be easier?
DigitalTech
post Jan 16 2009, 03:29 PM

974 posts

just convert using popcorn audio converter. less than 20 mins per file. Problem solved. I have already converted all my dts files and playing flawless with my wdtv now.

1 time pain.
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 04:01 PM

9,206 posts

dunno about you guys, but I prefer to keep the higher quality DTS for my collection, intact as original file.. rather than convert to lower DD track..
but for those with time and also HDD space, I guess can keep 2 files, one original content and the other playable for WD.
bata
post Jan 16 2009, 04:25 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Jan 16 2009, 02:03 PM)
yes step down means output dts to stereo internally

bro did u read what i wrote ... hdx1000 cannot do it too... only dvico 4100 and 6500a...

hdx1000 will be able to do it when they update the firmware with the function, which they have promise since september (at least they have letter from dts for prove) but till now zippo naada nothing....
QUOTE(beebee @ Jan 16 2009, 02:43 PM)
haha, i got it andyz, i know they still not yet update the firmware, but maybe one day they will update it while for WDTV, not sure since all is about the licensing issue (We already got the player so cheap o.o), while for the momment i am still comtemplating whether to invest into  HT/HTIB, so the files will have to be converted to include AC3 sound output.

The mkvdtstoac3 is a pain to be used as need to download the various tools, and i was wondering worth all the effort to convert or just go out and get an AVR will be easier?
they just showed the confirmation letter from DTS yesterday, but cant show it to public, i bet its around the corner wink.gif
i wish i saved the letter laugh.gif

quote from alex brokenarrow

Dear HDXers,

Due to internal miscommunication, we accidentally released the DTS memo which is only meant for our internal use. Hence that memo has been removed from our site to avoid any complication.

Thank you

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: Jan 16 2009, 04:27 PM
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 04:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Jan 16 2009, 11:11 AM)
RCA is not the correct term to use. RCA is a plug. Both digital and analog also got RCA hence the confusion.

How do I find out which MKV in my library has only DD/DTS?
There is no digital rca out on the wd. so no confusion here. Hehe.
ctphua
post Jan 16 2009, 06:50 PM

89 posts

i forgot to ask.. i know the subtitle can show chinese character..

but what if the file is in chinese character.. does it appear in the menu for chinese character?
anyone tried
junwei
post Jan 16 2009, 09:02 PM

252 posts

where to get MKV or HD movie files?
Anyone selling ?
azbro
post Jan 16 2009, 09:35 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(junwei @ Jan 16 2009, 09:02 PM)
where to get MKV or HD movie files?
Anyone selling ?
Internet of course....for those you need very fast line...Streamyx 1mb is minimum and a Rapidshare account...of course there are other servers like Megaupload, Netload, etc..

These stuff are are not usually discussed in public forum....if wanna know more PM me..or try googling it example: rapidshare.com 1080p
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 09:48 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 16 2009, 09:35 PM)
Internet of course....for those you need very fast line...Streamyx 1mb is minimum and a Rapidshare account...of course there are other servers like Megaupload, Netload, etc..

These stuff are are not usually discussed in public forum....if wanna know more PM me..or try googling it example: rapidshare.com 1080p
wah azbro is 1080p taiko.. rclxms.gif
azbro
post Jan 16 2009, 10:16 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 16 2009, 09:48 PM)
wah azbro is 1080p taiko..  rclxms.gif
oii... vmad.gif

doh.gif
aironiq
post Jan 16 2009, 10:16 PM

297 posts

Just came back from Lowyat and get my self the WDTV at CYCOM. They have many NEW stock selling at RM 390. Other's selling at RM420-499.

htkaki
post Jan 16 2009, 10:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I see that WD TVHD MP owners are increasing by the day
robinlim
post Jan 16 2009, 10:51 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Jan 16 2009, 11:02 AM)
Even if the WDTV has internal decoding which I really dont think so, you wont get 5.1 channels from the your termed RCA. Those are for two channels, how to carry 5.1 channels? Only way to get 5.1 channels is thru toslink and HDMI.
I got mentioned stereo sound lar, bro
of coz RCA carries only 2 channel sound cool.gif

Added on January 16, 2009, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 16 2009, 04:34 PM)
There is no digital rca out on the wd. so no confusion here. Hehe.
digital rca = coaxial, right? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Jan 16 2009, 10:52 PM
ar188
post Jan 16 2009, 10:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 16 2009, 10:16 PM)
oii...  vmad.gif

doh.gif
releks la. how many MKv you got now? tongue.gif
prasys
post Jan 16 2009, 11:25 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Jan 16 2009, 10:51 PM)
I got mentioned stereo sound lar, bro
of coz RCA carries only 2 channel sound  cool.gif

Added on January 16, 2009, 10:52 pm

digital rca = coaxial, right? biggrin.gif
Well if its encoded in Pro logic II , its able to carry additional 'hidden' data , whereby the Pro Logic II decoder sees it and then phase shifts and outputs to surround sound. It doesn't carry dedicated channel for each of the speakers though

125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:35 AM