94 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

cipan82
post Dec 26 2016, 01:12 PM

191 posts

I wanna buy cooking hood from China (taobao online).
Shipping using sea freight.
Anyone know how much i will be taxed?

Thanx
CapnCrunch
post Dec 26 2016, 01:29 PM

Hello.
I'm thinking of importing a PS2 Network adapter, Memory card and a HDD from Ebay or Amazon.

How much will i get taxed ?
rabbit.dynamite
post Dec 28 2016, 10:52 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Dec 22 2016, 03:42 PM)
Welcome at anytime bro...that's what i do in this 7 years. With correct knowledge about this import & export regulations, you can easily beat some crap & lazy Customs officers...hahaha.  thumbup.gif
Thanks kherel77 and mastering for your replies. Very informative. biggrin.gif

I actually bought two graphic novels from Barnes & Noble and they were sent out in separate parcels. The taxed parcel we're talking about was the first one to arrive. The second one arrived two days later also via UPS. Although the item and shipping cost are the same, no K1 freight charges were added to this parcel and therefore no tax was charged.

kherel77, if you're correct in saying that my first parcel should definitely have K1 freight charges applied to it, does this mean that customs was being lenient and closed one eye when they did not apply the K1 freight charges for the second parcel? I'd also like to add that I received a DHL parcel worth CIF USD95 (~RM400) a few months back and despite customs opening my box for inspection, they did not apply any K1 freight charges or tax as well. Were they being lenient as well?

I've attached below both customs slips. Sorry for the poor quality but the print was already pretty faded when I received it. I did notice that they used different tariff codes for both (4205.00.900 and 4901.99.000) but that should be irrelevant as it has no impact on the K1 freight charges.

Oh, and just to confirm. Does this Kos Tambang Dagangan apply to EMS/Poslaju as well?

kherel77
post Dec 29 2016, 09:27 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Dec 28 2016, 10:52 PM)
Thanks kherel77 and mastering for your replies. Very informative.  biggrin.gif

I actually bought two graphic novels from Barnes & Noble and they were sent out in separate parcels. The taxed parcel we're talking about was the first one to arrive. The second one arrived two days later also via UPS. Although the item and shipping cost are the same, no K1 freight charges were added to this parcel and therefore no tax was charged.

kherel77, if you're correct in saying that my first parcel should definitely have K1 freight charges applied to it, does this mean that customs was being lenient and closed one eye when they did not apply the K1 freight charges for the second parcel? I'd also like to add that I received a DHL parcel worth CIF USD95 (~RM400) a few months back and despite customs opening my box for inspection, they did not apply any K1 freight charges or tax as well. Were they being lenient as well?

I've attached below both customs slips. Sorry for the poor quality but the print was already pretty faded when I received it. I did notice that they used different tariff codes for both (4205.00.900 and 4901.99.000) but that should be irrelevant as it has no impact on the K1 freight charges.

Oh, and just to confirm. Does this Kos Tambang Dagangan apply to EMS/Poslaju as well?

First, for printed books/brochures/leaflets or similar, Tariff Codes should be from 4901.xx xxx which carry 0% import duties & 6% GST. If both of your shipment have same value & weight, from my calculation...both should be 6% taxed.

From the K1 attached, i should say it's Customs mistake about the second shipment's calculation & you should be grateful as Customs also human, sometimes newbies/rookies, and made mistake. I'd face this many times before but as working for strictly-audit-able company...I have to rectify what they missed out or mistake...and pay as it should.

For the DHL case you'd mention, maybe the items is fall under non-taxable items or it go through some smuggling checking inspection...something like that.
And yes, Kos Tambang Dagangan is applied to every shipment inbound...air/land/sea, although the rate is different between this three.
rabbit.dynamite
post Dec 30 2016, 01:21 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Dec 29 2016, 09:27 AM)
First, for printed books/brochures/leaflets or similar, Tariff Codes should be from 4901.xx xxx which carry 0% import duties & 6% GST. If both of your shipment have same value & weight, from my calculation...both should be 6% taxed.

From the K1 attached, i should say it's Customs mistake about the second shipment's calculation & you should be grateful as Customs also human, sometimes newbies/rookies, and made mistake. I'd face this many times before but as working for strictly-audit-able company...I have to rectify what they missed out or mistake...and pay as it should.

For the DHL case you'd mention, maybe the items is fall under non-taxable items or it go through some smuggling checking inspection...something like that.
And yes, Kos Tambang Dagangan is applied to every shipment inbound...air/land/sea, although the rate is different between this three.
Thank you very much for the info! thumbup.gif I've always been a bit unsure as to how Kos Tambang Dagangan works and what little info on the Net about it wasn't very definitive, so this helps to clear things up.

I guess I won't be pursuing clarification from UPS now then, as my first parcel seems to be correctly taxed and I'm lucky that my second parcel wasn't. rclxms.gif

Every shipment coming in? I was led to believe that Kos Tambang Dagangan only applies to express couriers like Fedex/UPS/DHL/Poslaju, and normal mail services from Pos Malaysia are not subjected to it. If really for all shipment, I'm guessing Customs is not that strict with Pos Malaysia and Poslaju, as I've received multiple shipments from them without any tax.

This post has been edited by rabbit.dynamite: Dec 30 2016, 01:28 AM
janson_kaniaz
post Dec 30 2016, 12:00 PM

6,955 posts

What if the merchant is declaring more than what I paid? Apparently just clarified with my merchant that he has declared on the declaration form outside the parcel based on RRP and not the discounted price...
kherel77
post Dec 30 2016, 04:30 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Dec 30 2016, 01:21 AM)
Thank you very much for the info!  thumbup.gif  I've always been a bit unsure as to how Kos Tambang Dagangan works and what little info on the Net about it wasn't very definitive, so this helps to clear things up.

I guess I won't be pursuing clarification from UPS now then, as my first parcel seems to be correctly taxed and I'm lucky that my second parcel wasn't.  rclxms.gif

Every shipment coming in? I was led to believe that Kos Tambang Dagangan only applies to express couriers like Fedex/UPS/DHL/Poslaju, and normal mail services from Pos Malaysia are not subjected to it. If really for all shipment, I'm guessing Customs is not that strict with Pos Malaysia and Poslaju, as I've received multiple shipments from them without any tax.
Yes, you're right about Pos Malaysia & Pos Laju. My assuming is both is gorv. body so they just close one eyes to the others. But not all, as few shipment thru POS Malaysia/Laju also got taxed.

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Dec 30 2016, 12:00 PM)
What if the merchant is declaring more than what I paid? Apparently just clarified with my merchant that he has declared on the declaration form outside the parcel based on RRP and not the discounted price...
Declaration value take from what stated in shipping invoice or Air Way Bill / Consignment Note. I think your seller put the pre-discount price.
gail_arth
post Jan 1 2017, 03:39 PM

I want to buy a backpack, field pockets, zip oil and zipper pull replacement system(paracord and heat shrink tubing) from GORUCK. Any import duties or tax?[QUOTE] It cost USD $577. About RM 2500.

This post has been edited by gail_arth: Jan 1 2017, 03:42 PM
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 3 2017, 08:12 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Dec 30 2016, 04:30 PM)
Yes, you're right about Pos Malaysia & Pos Laju. My assuming is both is gorv. body so they just close one eyes to the others. But not all, as few shipment thru POS Malaysia/Laju also got taxed.
Declaration value take from what stated in shipping invoice or Air Way Bill / Consignment Note. I think your seller put the pre-discount price.
Also, since typically things below RM500 will not be taxed, is this based on custom own exchange rate or based on what is being reflected on our credit card statement?
kherel77
post Jan 4 2017, 12:09 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 3 2017, 08:12 PM)
Also, since typically things below RM500 will not be taxed, is this based on custom own exchange rate or based on what is being reflected on our credit card statement?
K1 Form declaration's date exch. rate...if not mistaken given by BNM/MOF.
mastering
post Jan 5 2017, 02:13 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 3 2017, 08:12 PM)
Customs maintain their own exchange rates which is updated weekly (although I somewhat remember it was fortnightly many years back, but I guess due to current erratic movement of MYR they have updated it more frequently). You can check it at the link below:
http://customsgc.gov.my/cgi-bin/exchange.cgi

Exchange rate to be used is based on K1 date as mentioned by bro @kherel77
lucius9989
post Jan 6 2017, 07:54 PM

Today I got notified that I kena customs charge for my parcel.
The total value for the items + shipping is below RM500

This is the third time I ordered stuff from taobao. Previous 2 parcels no issue

I have some questions (refer to the attached pics).

1) What is EDI charges and why is it so expensive ?

2) Does this mean that every time my package get held by customs, I confirm must pay these extra charges ?

kherel77
post Jan 6 2017, 11:10 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(lucius9989 @ Jan 6 2017, 07:54 PM)
Today I got notified that I kena customs charge for my parcel.
The total value for the items + shipping is below RM500

This is the third time I ordered stuff from taobao. Previous 2 parcels no issue

I have some questions (refer to the attached pics).

1) What is EDI charges and why is it so expensive ?

2) Does this mean that every time my package get held by customs, I confirm must pay these extra charges ?

Seems your CIF value only RM298.31 which can be exempted from duty/tax (less than RM500 CIF value).

"Customs Duties Exemption Order 1988 Item#172: Any goods below RM500 CIF value using air courier services thru KLIA, Subang, Bayan Lepas, Senai, KK & Kuching airport will be duties/taxes exempted except cigarettes, liquors & tobaccos."

EDI & handling charges is charged by your courier/forwarder company as they do the declaration for you on-behalf.
lucius9989
post Jan 7 2017, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Jan 6 2017, 11:10 PM)
Seems your CIF value only RM298.31 which can be exempted from duty/tax (less than RM500 CIF value).

"Customs Duties Exemption Order 1988 Item#172: Any goods below RM500 CIF value using air courier services thru KLIA, Subang, Bayan Lepas, Senai, KK & Kuching airport will be duties/taxes exempted except cigarettes, liquors & tobaccos."

EDI & handling charges is charged by your courier/forwarder company as they do the declaration for you on-behalf.
Hi kherel77, thanks for your reply.

I guess its time to switch forwarders. totally not worth it anymore to buy stuff from taobao with all these extra charges.
LalaluSan
post Jan 10 2017, 09:56 PM

692 posts

May i know how much % of import tax for books if the total CIF value above RM500? Izit only subject to 6% gst from total CIF value?
Did a little googling on this, and it shows that it vary from country to country, starting from 0 - 55% .

This post has been edited by LalaluSan: Jan 10 2017, 10:18 PM
kick ass
post Jan 13 2017, 02:07 PM

23 posts

Bought used projector in Singapore. Still kena tax if used item? I bought only Sgd 50 at carousel..
lisachi85
post Jan 18 2017, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(kick ass @ Jan 13 2017, 02:07 PM)
Bought used projector in Singapore. Still kena tax if used item? I bought only Sgd 50 at carousel..
Should be not.
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 20 2017, 04:44 PM

6,955 posts

I just paid RM110 to DHL Express with GST being half of it.

My total purchase item is less than RM500. If 6% GST is charged on my items, my total purchase must be >RM900 but that's not the case.

Am I missing something here?

kherel77
post Jan 20 2017, 10:58 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 20 2017, 04:44 PM)
I just paid RM110 to DHL Express with GST being half of it.

My total purchase item is less than RM500. If 6% GST is charged on my items, my total purchase must be >RM900 but that's not the case.

Am I missing something here?

Got K1 Form copy? The calculation is there...
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 20 2017, 11:08 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Jan 20 2017, 10:58 PM)
Got K1 Form copy? The calculation is there...
Nope. Wanted to look at it also. It wasn't provided with the box. Do you think I should call and ask DHL?

94 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0417sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:32 AM