Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

lucius9989
post Jan 6 2017, 07:54 PM

Today I got notified that I kena customs charge for my parcel.
The total value for the items + shipping is below RM500

This is the third time I ordered stuff from taobao. Previous 2 parcels no issue

I have some questions (refer to the attached pics).

1) What is EDI charges and why is it so expensive ?

2) Does this mean that every time my package get held by customs, I confirm must pay these extra charges ?

lucius9989
post Jan 7 2017, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Jan 6 2017, 11:10 PM)
Seems your CIF value only RM298.31 which can be exempted from duty/tax (less than RM500 CIF value).

"Customs Duties Exemption Order 1988 Item#172: Any goods below RM500 CIF value using air courier services thru KLIA, Subang, Bayan Lepas, Senai, KK & Kuching airport will be duties/taxes exempted except cigarettes, liquors & tobaccos."

EDI & handling charges is charged by your courier/forwarder company as they do the declaration for you on-behalf.
Hi kherel77, thanks for your reply.

I guess its time to switch forwarders. totally not worth it anymore to buy stuff from taobao with all these extra charges.

0.0475sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:26 AM