> Malaysia Import Duties

kherel77
post Feb 22 2017, 11:36 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(edinbird @ Feb 6 2017, 11:36 AM)
Hi...

I wish to purchase few items from US.. will be shipped using Fedex/DHL.. the HS codes are as follows:

(a) 8532.22.0020
(b) 8532.24.0020

What are the duty/tax that I need to pay?

By the way, is there any online calculator to calculate the import duty/tax?

Both only have 6% GST.
edinbird
post Feb 22 2017, 02:52 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Feb 22 2017, 11:36 AM)
Both only have 6% GST.
Thank you very much

Crovoseas
post Feb 24 2017, 12:44 AM

298 posts

I use 4px to ship my taobao items. Now it got detained at Kastam. The agent asked me to pay to get my stuffs. Possible I go get myself to save some $$ (EDI charges & handling fee)?

What I bought total amount: RM160++

bobds78
post Feb 25 2017, 10:39 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(adamchen @ Feb 21 2017, 01:13 PM)
Hi, I'm going to Japan this May and planning to get Nintendo Switch from there. May i know izzit able to bring back? Izzit possible to skip tax?  blink.gif
As far as I know if you bring it in as your personal item meaning, you are carrying it in your pocket or in your hands like a used item, why should it be charged? It's just like your eyeglasses or handphone or watches. To make it convincing, I would suggest you don't bring back the original box but if you need to, maybe you flatten them and put it in the bottom of your luggage and keep the receipt in your wallet.

bobds78
post Feb 25 2017, 10:42 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Feb 24 2017, 12:44 AM)
I use 4px to ship my taobao items. Now it got detained at Kastam. The agent asked me to pay to get my stuffs. Possible I go get myself to save some $$ (EDI charges & handling fee)?

I had my 32" pc monitor detained too but that's expected. However it has arrived KLIA since 22/2 and the Clearance process is way too slow. vmad.gif
kherel77
post Feb 25 2017, 11:07 AM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Crovoseas @ Feb 24 2017, 12:44 AM)

Read to them this Act if your CIF value less than RM500:

"Customs Duties Exemption Order 1988 Item#172: Any goods below RM500 CIF value using air courier services thru KLIA, Subang, Bayan Lepas, Senai, KK & Kuching airport will be duties/taxes exempted except cigarettes, liquors & tobaccos."
ro12345
post Feb 27 2017, 08:25 PM

Help needed.

I am going to buy lot of PVC anime figures from Japan and bring back to Malaysia for my own collection and the total value will be exceed RM 500. If I declared to the custom I should only pay 6% GST tax since it falls under the toys category right? Correct me if I am wrong and thank you.
Crovoseas
post Mar 3 2017, 08:31 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Feb 25 2017, 11:07 AM)

"Customs Duties Exemption Order 1988 Item#172: Any goods below RM500 CIF value using air courier services thru KLIA, Subang, Bayan Lepas, Senai, KK & Kuching airport will be duties/taxes exempted except cigarettes, liquors & tobaccos."
Nope, I have asked kastam officer face to face. His answer is, "tak tentu la". What I bought are below RM250 (added shipping fee). Has to pay tax too.
Crovoseas
post Mar 3 2017, 08:33 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(ro12345 @ Feb 27 2017, 08:25 PM)
Help needed.

I am going to buy lot of PVC anime figures from Japan and bring back to Malaysia for my own collection and the total value will be exceed RM 500. If I declared to the custom I should only pay 6% GST tax since it falls under the toys category right? Correct me if I am wrong and thank you.
Just sharing, what I kena is 20%(depends on category) and 6% gst.
zulashraf
post Mar 4 2017, 07:33 AM

32 posts

Hi guys, I've shipped a Nintendo Switch from the UK via Tracked Royal Mail. How much will I be charged once it lands in Malaysia? :-)
louis
post Mar 4 2017, 08:41 AM

95 posts

Hi guys, would like to know if there is any way of getting import duties waiver or avoid being tax when purchasing an item from U.K.?
The item is camera lighting and the cost is about GBP 306. Thank you in advanced...
Ramzie
post Mar 11 2017, 07:14 AM

Can i bring my PS3 to Malaysia as hand carry? Will the contents of the PS3 searched? Will I be taxed?
dadda
post Mar 12 2017, 08:54 AM

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Feb 25 2017, 11:07 AM)

Same thing happend to me...
My parcel from china cost rmb 500 ( roughly rm260)
N juz some cloths, sock n sticker for kids...
Omg i really no ideal how much they will charge!

So end up have u pay all the charges ?
How long u get the parcel?

As i know if less than rm500 they will not b any tax or gst!
Can i know what is the reason being hold by them ar?
My parcel is juz a a4 size box n <2.5kgs

benji
post Mar 20 2017, 08:49 PM

761 posts

Hi.. Need to ask.. If warranty item.. Need to pay tax summore? I claim my vivosmart Warranty.. First need sirim permit.. And just now dhl call and say need to pay custom tax..
silver311
post Mar 25 2017, 01:15 AM

190 posts

Hi Guys,

Am planning to buy an AKG K7XX Headphone from Massdrop. $224 USD. Will I be charged any taxes?
Dirty_Dan
post Mar 29 2017, 12:44 PM

kherel77 I'm looking to import an electric skateboard (similar to a motorised hoverboard, only it's a skateboard and much faster) from the US, and the price of the item is USD599. May I know what sort of tax I will be expected to pay, besides 6% GST? Also, any tax/duty paid will be based on $599 + [insurance] + [IATA freight charge], right? Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by Dirty_Dan: Mar 29 2017, 12:46 PM
kherel77
post Mar 29 2017, 03:49 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(Dirty_Dan @ Mar 29 2017, 12:44 PM)
kherel77 I'm looking to import an electric skateboard (similar to a motorised hoverboard, only it's a skateboard and much faster) from the US, and the price of the item is USD599. May I know what sort of tax I will be expected to pay, besides 6% GST? Also, any tax/duty paid will be based on $599 + [insurance] + [IATA freight charge], right? Thanks in advance!
If not mistaken, normal skateboard is under Tariff Code #9506.99 000 which carry only 6% GST. But i'm not sure if "electric skateboard". Some country use same TC while some use #8711.90 920 which have 30% duties + 6% GST. Better ask your shipper which Tariff Code/HS Code they using during export.

Yes, your duties/taxes calculation is correct.

Hopes that help.
kherel77
post Mar 29 2017, 03:53 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(silver311 @ Mar 25 2017, 01:15 AM)
Hi Guys,

Am planning to buy an AKG K7XX Headphone from Massdrop. $224 USD. Will I be charged any taxes?
Tariff code #8518.30 100 ; 0% duties + 6% GST
Tinkai
post Mar 29 2017, 08:25 PM

\(o_O)/
586 posts

hi kherel77,

I bought the same item as this forumer here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...3585&hl=m340clz

It's a PC monitor. Looking at his thread he seems to be charged 25% + 6%, reading through the topic, it should only be 6% right?

I looked here: http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ but I can't really find what I need to know.

Please help, will be going to customs office in 2 days.

Regards,
Tinkai
PzGman
post Mar 29 2017, 08:43 PM

Private Pilot
800 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 29 2017, 03:53 PM)
Tariff code #8518.30 100 ; 0% duties + 6% GST
By right, it should just be 6 percent (GST).

94 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0156sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:04 AM