Hi,I'm buying amiibos from Australia.Total around AUD435 plus shipping already.Will I get taxed?
Malaysia Import Duties
| Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Malaysia Import Duties
Nov 14 2016, 02:42 PM
0 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
Hi,I'm buying amiibos from Australia.Total around AUD435 plus shipping already.Will I get taxed?
Nov 21 2016, 04:39 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
After i read this thread , is that meaning Custom charge is base on luck? is they charge you sesuka hati?
I bought a USD 35 item from blizzard USA, shipping is USD 18. At malaysia, they charge my item USD 35 + RM 480 freight fees....mean my item total suddenly boost to RM 630 ok fine, the most sucking part is, they charge me 30% fee + 6% GST, and i dunno WTF is the 30% fees for!? My item is 2.2KG |
Nov 23 2016, 05:14 PM
383 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Penang |
any bro have any experience of importing motorcycle exhaust?
i am planning to buy this from US, USD300+65. wonder how will i be taxed? http://www.ebay.com/itm/311716718636?_trks...K%3AMEBIDX%3AIT |
Nov 23 2016, 05:17 PM
487 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Likesh @ Nov 21 2016, 04:39 PM) After i read this thread , is that meaning Custom charge is base on luck? is they charge you sesuka hati? Import tax 30%I bought a USD 35 item from blizzard USA, shipping is USD 18. At malaysia, they charge my item USD 35 + RM 480 freight fees....mean my item total suddenly boost to RM 630 ok fine, the most sucking part is, they charge me 30% fee + 6% GST, and i dunno WTF is the 30% fees for!? My item is 2.2KG |
Nov 26 2016, 12:36 AM
37 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
ordered few Tshirt from ebay UK cost me 7xx. Any idea whats the tax rate?
Nov 27 2016, 01:12 AM
285 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
if i buy sport shoes from amazon with price lower than rm500, should be no GST will be imposed right? |
Nov 30 2016, 04:48 PM
352 posts Joined: Jan 2016 |
Ordered a Roku media player from US for $74.99 plus $34.81 shipping via Fedex, with total come to $109.80.
That's just below RM500 with exchange rate but got fedex email import tax today that they are asking for RM 53.79. I don't know how fedex calculate the freight fees added for custom but it's ridiculous! On the charge Customs Duties 0* Import GST 48.79 Customs Compound 0 Free commercial zone 5 Amt payable 53.79 On the detail charge product RM 329.56 Freight RM480.25 Insurance RM3.30 Total 813.21 import GST = 813.21*0.6% = 48.79 |
Dec 6 2016, 07:53 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
bought clothes and bags(non leather) from asos, total around rm700+ will kena tax? If kena how much?
Dec 7 2016, 08:09 AM
436 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
My experience in the past one year is that if delivered by big name couriers like FedEx, most likely will get taxed. How they calculate the tax amount is shrouded in mystery. If the package is delivered by Pos Malaysia, no tax even if the price is more than USD 400. Not even GST!
This post has been edited by hellfried: Dec 7 2016, 08:09 AM |
Dec 7 2016, 09:38 PM
Same thing happens in US where USPS usually get a pass while UPS or Fedex will get import tax going in US.
The problem is buying from US, some time the shipping fees is more expensive using USPS, up to $30-$50 USD more. My guess is USPS works conjunction with POS Malaysia while others not. If you want to get POS Malaysia delivery domestically, you have to pick partnered carrier on foreign soil. So there's uncertainly if you take the chances of POS Malaysia, possibility avoiding tax but having to pay higher shipping cost. in my case, fedex is better deal since i already save about $30 USD in shipping, only to pay $60 RM in Tax. QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 7 2016, 08:09 AM) |
Dec 7 2016, 09:56 PM
On a separate incident....
When i moved back from US. I shipped a Pelican case cost me $1000 USD in shipping alone. I have called many carriers for advices. Fedex told me i would likely to get GST tax from Malaysia Custom, despite living there for more than XXX years and supposedly i should get a pass from all taxes. They said the Malaysia Custom GST everything coming in. If that shall occur, fedex will help me in appeal. Then a UPS lady told me to include copy of my passport and what no, and a letter to explain what's in the package and list of all items and thank goodness i did. No delay, no tax, not even GST! It would be hairy if i were to appeal the case, there's big pelican case of camera equipment and dozen fishing rod, just GST alone would be devastating! |
Dec 7 2016, 09:58 PM
436 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(zeroendless @ Dec 7 2016, 09:38 PM) Same thing happens in US where USPS usually get a pass while UPS or Fedex will get import tax going in US. I bought an audio component for my hifi system from the US for USD 129 plus another USD 37 for shipping. Total USD 166 and chose FedeX. Arrived in a week and had to pay another USD 55 tax plus GST. Not pleased at all. The problem is buying from US, some time the shipping fees is more expensive using USPS, up to $30-$50 USD more. My guess is USPS works conjunction with POS Malaysia while others not. If you want to get POS Malaysia delivery domestically, you have to pick partnered carrier on foreign soil. So there's uncertainly if you take the chances of POS Malaysia, possibility avoiding tax but having to pay higher shipping cost. in my case, fedex is better deal since i already save about $30 USD in shipping, only to pay $60 RM in Tax. In comparison I bought a watch online for USD 459 (free shipping) also from the States. The watch arrived in about 10 days and the postman from Pos Malaysia just handed me the parcel and went off without asking me for a single cent. This post has been edited by hellfried: Dec 7 2016, 10:03 PM |
Dec 11 2016, 09:42 AM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Any sifus here available to help in my situation?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4143585&hl= Thanks! |
Dec 21 2016, 01:58 AM
29 posts Joined: May 2013 From: Cave of Caerbannog |
Hello, just to check with you guys about Kos Tambang Dagangan. As I understand it, if our items are delivered by private couriers such as UPS, Fedex, DHL, and the shipping/freight fee is not separated out and stated in the invoice, Customs will calculate our shipping fee based on the Jadual Kos Tambang Dagangan, which is about RM380 - RM 400++ for items coming from the USA. Is this correct?
I ordered a graphic novel from Barnes & Noble in the US, delivery via UPS. Item cost RM193, shipping RM80. However, it seems Customs used the Jadual to calculate my shipping fee and set it as RM480, despite the invoice clearly stating my shipping as RM80. The funny thing is, as you can see below, someone used a pencil/pen to cancel out the shipping fee of RM80 and replaced it with RM480. Same with the total CIF (RM274 to RM675) and the GST (RM16.50 to RM40.50). Is Customs correct to add on the RM400 to my shipping fee? Or are they being sneaky and trying to charge me higher/unnecessarily? Seems funny to me that the system printed out the correct amount as per the invoice, and someone manually changed it by hand. I was issued an official Customs receipt for the RM40.50 GST, and I was also charged RM25 by UPS for brokerage fee. Another thing is that my original CIF was RM274, below the RM500 taxable threshold. This exempts me from import duty, as stated in the document. Does this exempt me from GST as well? This seems to be the case as the final line at the bottom shows everything as 0.00, before someone manually changed it to the jacked up RM40.50 GST. Or do items below RM500 also get charged GST? I'm thinking of going to UPS first to inquire about this, and maybe Customs too if necessary. But what I'd like to know before going is should the Jadual Kos Tambang Dagangan be used even when the shipping fee is declared properly? I'm afraid UPS/Customs will try to pull a fast one on me and insist that that is the case, when it should not be. Sorry for the long post, and thanks for reading. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 22 2016, 01:54 PM
42 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Not sure of the practice now but I strongly feel they are not doing this correctly. Based on my experience, if the freight costs are stated on the invoice, then that is the value to be declared. If it is not stated, then they will use some formula. Example: insurance value is taken as 1% of the cost if it is not stated on your invoice. I believe only if there is no shipping cost, they will use the jadual (I am just guessing here). But based on personal experience of importing items from overseas via courier, I have never encountered this before even though it is free delivery. About the import duty/GST relief, you will enjoy it if your CIF value is below RM500. I suggest you call the courier/Customs to clarify. |
Dec 22 2016, 02:28 PM
1,435 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Blank Space |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Shipping fee - it's only between buyer & seller. Kos Tambang Dagangan - it's use in Customs duties/taxes/GST calculation in every inbound shipment. RM480.25 is minimum freight charge from US using air freight. So, actual CIF is RM675.18 is correct. I think i'd share the freight charge schedule in my post before. |
Dec 22 2016, 02:51 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yup, saw that schedule attachment. But from my experience and in my humble opinion, I do not see a reason for Customs to amend the freight cost especially since the cost of freight is already stated on the invoice. By default, the valuation method should be based on Customs Valuation Method 1, which is "Transaction value" i.e. price paid or payable by the buyer up until point of importation. In this case the price has been paid by the buyer which was stated in the invoice. If there is no cost of freight stated on the sales document, then Customs may use their judgment to apply a fair value on it. In that case, the jadual/schedule will be relied on by the Customs officer. |
Dec 22 2016, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(mastering @ Dec 22 2016, 02:51 PM) Yup, saw that schedule attachment. But from my experience and in my humble opinion, I do not see a reason for Customs to amend the freight cost especially since the cost of freight is already stated on the invoice. By default, the valuation method should be based on Customs Valuation Method 1, which is "Transaction value" i.e. price paid or payable by the buyer up until point of importation. In this case the price has been paid by the buyer which was stated in the invoice. If there is no cost of freight stated on the sales document, then Customs may use their judgment to apply a fair value on it. In that case, the jadual/schedule will be relied on by the Customs officer. In bold - that applicable for items/goods FOB value, not the K1 freight charge. Freight charge that using in duties/Taxes calculation (K1 Form) is standard rate worldwide provided by IATA, not from Customs themselves. Lets say if 2 person bought same item from same seller with same invoice price but using different courier/forwarder, the shipping fees will be different. Then the duties/taxes amount will be different too, rite? That's not fair, is it? That's why shipping fees is only between buyer & seller, but freight charge using in duties/taxes calculation (K1 Form) is standard rate worldwide. |
Dec 22 2016, 03:37 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks bro @kherel77. I have learnt something new today. I guess the laws may have changed and also it has been long since I last dealt with Customs. At that time, there is no such jadual. Nevertheless, if the importer disagrees with the valuation, they can always pay the duty under protest and follow up with an appeal. At least that's what I will do. My takeaway point here is this: I have dealt with Customs numerous times in the past and I have seen many examples of their usual tactics in getting importers to pay unnecessary tax. This includes classifying to higher tax HS or adjusting the value based on their internal documents. Ignorant importers usually will just accept it especially if the amount of tax is insignificant in order for them to quickly get on with their business. Unfortunately, this has made Customs to be bolder in their attempts to secure more tax revenue for the country. This post has been edited by mastering: Dec 22 2016, 03:38 PM |
Dec 22 2016, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(mastering @ Dec 22 2016, 03:37 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thanks bro @kherel77. I have learnt something new today. I guess the laws may have changed and also it has been long since I last dealt with Customs. At that time, there is no such jadual. Nevertheless, if the importer disagrees with the valuation, they can always pay the duty under protest and follow up with an appeal. At least that's what I will do. My takeaway point here is this: I have dealt with Customs numerous times in the past and I have seen many examples of their usual tactics in getting importers to pay unnecessary tax. This includes classifying to higher tax HS or adjusting the value based on their internal documents. Ignorant importers usually will just accept it especially if the amount of tax is insignificant in order for them to quickly get on with their business. Unfortunately, this has made Customs to be bolder in their attempts to secure more tax revenue for the country. |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:29 AM |