GUINEA PIGS CORNER V4, Kawaii...... wheek, wheek.....
Feb 8 2009, 11:29 PM
38 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
well now given away all the little baby GPs XD ( not baby ) hop they r ok with the new owner
Feb 8 2009, 11:36 PM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ok thxs thxs sugarcoatedcandy now i know who is chin liao XD
Feb 8 2009, 11:51 PM
196 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
I bath my Cody today...
right after bath~ ![]() ![]() After blow dry~~ ![]() Added on February 8, 2009, 11:54 pmI noticed Cody's white fur having some black black dot thingy...what is that? ticks? but his brown fur i couldn't find any black black dot thingy... This post has been edited by n3sbaby: Feb 8 2009, 11:54 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 12:06 AM
5,967 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Malaysia... Duh! |
I always bought my hay from babydugong. The hay is very fresh and sweet smelling. The best part is they are having an offer now. You can check his thread here
My GPs love it. |
Feb 9 2009, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 8 2009, 11:51 PM) I bath my Cody today... can i ask u use wat to bathe them?right after bath~ ![]() ![]() After blow dry~~ ![]() Added on February 8, 2009, 11:54 pmI noticed Cody's white fur having some black black dot thingy...what is that? ticks? but his brown fur i couldn't find any black black dot thingy... This post has been edited by colincsf: Feb 9 2009, 12:17 AM |
Feb 9 2009, 12:58 AM
1,434 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Havoc! |
QUOTE(emino @ Feb 9 2009, 12:06 AM) I always bought my hay from babydugong. The hay is very fresh and sweet smelling. The best part is they are having an offer now. You can check his thread here Wow.. just saw this My GPs love it. |
Feb 9 2009, 04:21 AM
109 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Klang |
hi sorry for the late reply...i currently have 7GPs including the 2 i adopt from you...
but sadly i have to inform you this, 1 of the GP i adopt from you (Nettie the female) is having some kind of skin disease. i noticed it just now as i groom her for the first time, i saw white flakes on the skin area, at her back. there is also 1 part thay lost some fur and the skin shows bare with thw white flakes surrounding the area....it looks like dandruff flakes, and its alot too...i never saw this in any of my other GP. but her case looks severe so i have to isolate her for the time being.... can anyone tell me what this disease is and how to cure it? from what i read form this site : http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=18+1800&aid=2998 "T. caviae causes severe scratching and self-trauma. There may also be hair loss, thickening of the skin, redness, and papules. This mite usually affects the head, shoulders, back, and flanks of the guinea pig, but may spread to the entire animal. Secondary bacterial infections can occur. The itching is so severe that some animals may appear to have seizures or other abnormal behavior. Severely infected pregnant guinea pigs may abort. Some guinea pigs may carry the mite, but show no signs. Then, if they are stressed by poor nutrition, cold temperatures, or other illnesses, they may develop disease. The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people. An infestation with T. caviae can be diagnosed by a veterinarian performing a skin scraping. The mites can be difficult to find, and the veterinarian may prescribe treatment solely based on the clinical signs of disease. The most common treatment is ivermectin injections every 10 days for three treatments. Animals in contact with the infested animal should be treated, as well. The mites can survive in the environment, so it is recommended that the housing be cleaned and then soaked in a lime sulfur solution at a dilution of 1:40 (one part lime sulfur to 40 parts water). Dry everything thoroughly before placing the guinea pig back into his housing." i suspect poor Nettie has Trixacarus caviae. my lil sister developed an allergic reaction towards her, as after my sis hold nettie some reddish "benjol" like mosquito bites will appear on her hands and where nettie touched her...and maybe thats is what the article meant by "The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people." can this be self treated by pet owner? can applying ivermectin direct on the infected area can help or i really need to jab her? and where can i find lime sulfur? hope anyone can help, i'm worried about Nettie, she's just a little gurl...plus the other GP can get infected too... |
Feb 9 2009, 09:26 AM
maybe bring her go see a vet?
Feb 9 2009, 10:34 AM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Pee Jay |
Last night trying to clear the poos and let my GPs on the floor for exercise...after I clean the cage and clear the poos...I picked up Bugsy and want to put her into the cage and she open her mouth so wide than i can see her teeth...and gnaw on my finger....luckily I "shim" fast enough or else will going to see doc then...no sound from her she just bite me.this is second time lo...
Added on February 9, 2009, 1:59 pmn3sbaby, is ur GPs ok and bond with u yet?mine one is moody one they can popcorning at one time and then later they bite me....pmp pula~~ Added on February 9, 2009, 1:59 pmIt is PMS..hahah not PMP.. This post has been edited by Chubbyagel: Feb 9 2009, 01:59 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 02:59 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 9 2009, 04:21 AM) hi sorry for the late reply...i currently have 7GPs including the 2 i adopt from you... Last month I adopted a gp from somebody, it's condition was like what you had mentioned above. Now it has been fully recovered, new fur growing out. I used the same shampoo bath on it twice a week for continuous 2 weeks routine. Picture below is to show you the before and after picture. but sadly i have to inform you this, 1 of the GP i adopt from you (Nettie the female) is having some kind of skin disease. i noticed it just now as i groom her for the first time, i saw white flakes on the skin area, at her back. there is also 1 part thay lost some fur and the skin shows bare with thw white flakes surrounding the area....it looks like dandruff flakes, and its alot too...i never saw this in any of my other GP. but her case looks severe so i have to isolate her for the time being.... can anyone tell me what this disease is and how to cure it? from what i read form this site : http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=18+1800&aid=2998 "T. caviae causes severe scratching and self-trauma. There may also be hair loss, thickening of the skin, redness, and papules. This mite usually affects the head, shoulders, back, and flanks of the guinea pig, but may spread to the entire animal. Secondary bacterial infections can occur. The itching is so severe that some animals may appear to have seizures or other abnormal behavior. Severely infected pregnant guinea pigs may abort. Some guinea pigs may carry the mite, but show no signs. Then, if they are stressed by poor nutrition, cold temperatures, or other illnesses, they may develop disease. The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people. An infestation with T. caviae can be diagnosed by a veterinarian performing a skin scraping. The mites can be difficult to find, and the veterinarian may prescribe treatment solely based on the clinical signs of disease. The most common treatment is ivermectin injections every 10 days for three treatments. Animals in contact with the infested animal should be treated, as well. The mites can survive in the environment, so it is recommended that the housing be cleaned and then soaked in a lime sulfur solution at a dilution of 1:40 (one part lime sulfur to 40 parts water). Dry everything thoroughly before placing the guinea pig back into his housing." i suspect poor Nettie has Trixacarus caviae. my lil sister developed an allergic reaction towards her, as after my sis hold nettie some reddish "benjol" like mosquito bites will appear on her hands and where nettie touched her...and maybe thats is what the article meant by "The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people." can this be self treated by pet owner? can applying ivermectin direct on the infected area can help or i really need to jab her? and where can i find lime sulfur? hope anyone can help, i'm worried about Nettie, she's just a little gurl...plus the other GP can get infected too... Luckily it did not infest my other GPs, as I bath all the same shampoo to prevent. You could also wash your cage with vinegar, after that put under hot sun to dry. This post has been edited by Juztiny: Feb 9 2009, 05:58 PM Attached thumbnail(s) Attached image(s) |
Feb 9 2009, 04:25 PM
I see some ppl put a pot of plant in the cage dor the GPs to eat so anyone have any idea which plant is suitable for them?
Feb 9 2009, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 9 2009, 04:21 AM) hi sorry for the late reply...i currently have 7GPs including the 2 i adopt from you... when i had her she seemed fine to me and when i groom her nothing wrong i didnt see any flakes or anything...sorry... but sadly i have to inform you this, 1 of the GP i adopt from you (Nettie the female) is having some kind of skin disease. i noticed it just now as i groom her for the first time, i saw white flakes on the skin area, at her back. there is also 1 part thay lost some fur and the skin shows bare with thw white flakes surrounding the area....it looks like dandruff flakes, and its alot too...i never saw this in any of my other GP. but her case looks severe so i have to isolate her for the time being.... can anyone tell me what this disease is and how to cure it? from what i read form this site : http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=18+1800&aid=2998 "T. caviae causes severe scratching and self-trauma. There may also be hair loss, thickening of the skin, redness, and papules. This mite usually affects the head, shoulders, back, and flanks of the guinea pig, but may spread to the entire animal. Secondary bacterial infections can occur. The itching is so severe that some animals may appear to have seizures or other abnormal behavior. Severely infected pregnant guinea pigs may abort. Some guinea pigs may carry the mite, but show no signs. Then, if they are stressed by poor nutrition, cold temperatures, or other illnesses, they may develop disease. The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people. An infestation with T. caviae can be diagnosed by a veterinarian performing a skin scraping. The mites can be difficult to find, and the veterinarian may prescribe treatment solely based on the clinical signs of disease. The most common treatment is ivermectin injections every 10 days for three treatments. Animals in contact with the infested animal should be treated, as well. The mites can survive in the environment, so it is recommended that the housing be cleaned and then soaked in a lime sulfur solution at a dilution of 1:40 (one part lime sulfur to 40 parts water). Dry everything thoroughly before placing the guinea pig back into his housing." i suspect poor Nettie has Trixacarus caviae. my lil sister developed an allergic reaction towards her, as after my sis hold nettie some reddish "benjol" like mosquito bites will appear on her hands and where nettie touched her...and maybe thats is what the article meant by "The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people." can this be self treated by pet owner? can applying ivermectin direct on the infected area can help or i really need to jab her? and where can i find lime sulfur? hope anyone can help, i'm worried about Nettie, she's just a little gurl...plus the other GP can get infected too... |
Feb 9 2009, 05:50 PM
196 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 9 2009, 12:17 AM) i use johnson baby shampoo dilute in the water... Added on February 9, 2009, 5:54 pm QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 9 2009, 10:34 AM) Last night trying to clear the poos and let my GPs on the floor for exercise...after I clean the cage and clear the poos...I picked up Bugsy and want to put her into the cage and she open her mouth so wide than i can see her teeth...and gnaw on my finger....luckily I "shim" fast enough or else will going to see doc then...no sound from her she just bite me.this is second time lo... i guess not yet... Added on February 9, 2009, 1:59 pmn3sbaby, is ur GPs ok and bond with u yet?mine one is moody one they can popcorning at one time and then later they bite me....pmp pula~~ Added on February 9, 2009, 1:59 pmIt is PMS..hahah not PMP.. Added on February 9, 2009, 5:57 pmnobody answer my question yet.... I noticed Cody's white fur having some black black dot thingy...what is that? ticks? but his brown fur i couldn't find any black black dot thingy... This post has been edited by n3sbaby: Feb 9 2009, 05:57 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 06:00 PM
Feb 9 2009, 07:06 PM
My Bugsy not scare of me that much just she dun like being pick up...Then Bubble always hide in the box....only food make it come out...tis Fri might bring them to vet to check the sex and check the health condition...
I wanna ask any GPs owner from Wangsa Maju here? |
Feb 9 2009, 07:15 PM
1,434 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Havoc! |
QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 9 2009, 07:06 PM) My Bugsy not scare of me that much just she dun like being pick up...Then Bubble always hide in the box....only food make it come out...tis Fri might bring them to vet to check the sex and check the health condition... If you can pick them up slowly.. can tell the sex~ i think dont need go to vet XD I wanna ask any GPs owner from Wangsa Maju here? Refer here - http://www.cavyspirit.com/sexing.htm Dont tekan kuat2 arr |
Feb 9 2009, 07:18 PM
Hahaha...i tried once and one is Y shape on Bugsy and round round on Bubble so I assume they are couple la...hahaha I will need to try again la but they squeak when I turn them over....and they will start to complain like aunty at me....
Feb 9 2009, 07:24 PM
Feb 9 2009, 11:14 PM
i got a dilemma here my gf told me the food that she bought at pet family for GP are not so suitable for them as they contains seeds and bean that they are not suppose to eat( they kinda look like those hamster mix variety of food that contains alot of seed,kua che type like that but we bought is for the GP)so was thinking of changing their food to Hagen Guinea Pig Pellets which is just rm4 more expensive then Pet family own packed food. better to be safe then to sorry cuz rm 4 is not really alot so i was thinking why take the risk?so guys and girl can i have ur opinion on this?and would like to know what dry food do u guys feed ur GP other then hays??
this is the picture of the food we bought from pet family ![]() this is the food i would want to change to ![]() Added on February 9, 2009, 11:31 pm QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 9 2009, 05:50 PM) i use johnson baby shampoo dilute in the water... if they feel something different from the skin of the GP can assume they are some sort of dirt or insect cuz my dog always got insect biting on his head and usually u can feel it some kind of thing when u touch it.if ur gp trust u enough u can try to squeeze it gentlely see if there are any movement if so then it definitely an insectAdded on February 9, 2009, 5:54 pm i guess not yet... Added on February 9, 2009, 5:57 pmnobody answer my question yet.... I noticed Cody's white fur having some black black dot thingy...what is that? ticks? but his brown fur i couldn't find any black black dot thingy... This post has been edited by colincsf: Feb 9 2009, 11:31 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 9 2009, 11:14 PM) ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0337sec