126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V4, Kawaii...... wheek, wheek.....

kaoru himura
post Feb 10 2009, 12:08 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 9 2009, 02:59 PM)
Last month I adopted a gp from somebody, it's condition was like what you had mentioned above.  Now it has been fully recovered, new fur growing out.  I used the same shampoo bath on it twice a week for continuous 2 weeks routine.  Picture below is to show you the before and after picture. 

Luckily it did not infest my other GPs, as I bath all the same shampoo to prevent.  You could also wash your cage with vinegar, after that put under hot sun to dry.
thanks for the info...may i know where to get tht shampoo? izzit the shampoo you mentioned before, and the production is discontinued?can you sell a little of the shampoo to me?

dark_twilight>>> its ok, i'll try to cure her asap...she's a little darling and i really hope she'll get better soon

ifeel100
post Feb 10 2009, 01:18 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 9 2009, 07:06 PM)
My Bugsy not scare of me that much just she dun like being pick up...Then Bubble always hide in the box....only food make it come out...tis Fri might bring them to vet to check the sex and check the health condition...smile.gifI realise that both of my GPs getting chubby now...hahahaa at least i know I feed the right food...
I wanna ask any GPs owner from Wangsa Maju here?
Im fr WM cool2.gif
Currently got 2 gp w/ me now rclxm9.gif
Wat they do daily was 3M --> Makan, Minum & Main sweat.gif
limie
post Feb 10 2009, 08:26 AM

538 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 9 2009, 11:55 PM)
I fully supported this brand!!!  thumbup.gif
mind to tell me? what's the benefits to our GP for the brand that u fully support? flex.gif
n3sbaby
post Feb 10 2009, 09:41 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 9 2009, 11:14 PM)
i got a dilemma here my gf told me the food that she bought at pet family for GP are not so suitable for them as they contains seeds and bean that they are not suppose to eat( they kinda look like those hamster mix variety of food that contains alot of seed,kua che type like that but we bought is for the GP)so was thinking of changing their food to Hagen Guinea Pig Pellets which is just rm4 more expensive then Pet family own packed food. better to be safe then to sorry cuz rm 4 is not really alot so i was thinking why take the risk?so guys and girl can i have ur opinion on this?and would like to know what dry food do u guys feed ur GP other then hays??
this is the picture of the food we bought from pet family
this is the food i would want to change to

Added on February 9, 2009, 11:31 pm

if they feel something different from the skin of the GP can assume they are some sort of dirt or insect cuz my dog always got insect biting on his head and usually u can feel it some kind of thing when u touch it.if ur gp trust u enough u can try to squeeze it gentlely see if there are any movement if so then it definitely an insect
I got to check it one more time....if it's flea, it should be moving? hmm.gif

Juztiny, the anivision can cure flea or not? really can't wait to get the shampoo from u!!! as I am worried if it's really flea, it might move to my dog's body as well.... rclxub.gif

SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 10 2009, 10:19 AM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

I support hagen too! And also Sluis brand for GP's drool.gif
katannaz
post Feb 10 2009, 10:40 AM

99 posts

hi everyone...
i want to setup my new cage but need some advice from all of you icon_question.gif
what the best material to put for the base?before i use the wood base bedding.
can i use towel or anything else??

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 9 2009, 06:00 PM)
Pandan leaf.
Pandan leaf?you mean we can plant this pandan tree in the cage or just the leaf??
rclxms.gif i'm still new in handling GP, hope you all can help rclxms.gif

maybe i can plant the pandan for my new cage thumbup.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 10 2009, 10:49 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ Feb 10 2009, 10:40 AM)
hi everyone...
i want to setup my new cage but need some advice from all of you icon_question.gif
what the best material to put for the base?before i use the wood base bedding.
can i use towel or anything else??
Pandan leaf?you mean we can plant this pandan tree in the cage or just the leaf??

Why kind of wood base bedding are you using? Woody? I personally put half folded newspaper on the cage floor and then i put in Breeder Celect as the bedding. Aother way i use is newspaper then fleece on top of it. Don't use towel, they have the threads on it.. particularly if your GP's nails are long, it could get stuck to the towel. laugh.gif
katannaz
post Feb 10 2009, 11:01 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 10 2009, 10:49 AM)
Why kind of wood base bedding are you using? Woody? I personally put half folded newspaper on the cage floor and then i put in Breeder Celect as the bedding. Aother way i use is newspaper then fleece on top of it. Don't use towel, they have the threads on it.. particularly if your GP's nails are long, it could get stuck to the towel. laugh.gif
Thanks SugarCoatedCandy for your advice thumbup.gif
maybe i can try the way you set up your cage.. biggrin.gif
got any picture of your cage? brows.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 10 2009, 11:20 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ Feb 10 2009, 11:01 AM)
Thanks SugarCoatedCandy for your advice thumbup.gif
maybe i can try the way you set up your cage.. biggrin.gif
got any picture of your cage? brows.gif
Well mine isnt a C&C cage smile.gif its just a 4 feet cage i bought from a petstore. Nothing special of it XD Not hard setting up smile.gif make sure got hay rack, water bottle and etc enuff edi~
katannaz
post Feb 10 2009, 11:40 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 10 2009, 11:20 AM)
Well mine isnt a C&C cage smile.gif its just a 4 feet cage i bought from a petstore. Nothing special of it XD Not hard setting up smile.gif make sure got hay rack, water bottle and etc enuff edi~
ok...thanks a lot thumbup.gif
CKW008
post Feb 10 2009, 11:58 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 9 2009, 04:21 AM)
hi sorry for the late reply...i currently have 7GPs including the 2 i adopt from you...happy.gif they are now mixed well with my other GP, no more shy2...

but sadly i have to inform you this, 1 of the GP i adopt from you (Nettie the female) is having some kind of skin disease. i noticed it just now as i groom her for the first time, i saw white flakes on the skin area, at her back. there is also 1 part thay lost some fur and the skin shows bare with thw white flakes surrounding the area....it looks like dandruff flakes, and its alot too...i never saw this in any of my other GP. but her case looks severe so i have to isolate her for the time being....

can anyone tell me what this disease is and how to cure it? from what i read form this site : http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=18+1800&aid=2998

"T. caviae causes severe scratching and self-trauma. There may also be hair loss, thickening of the skin, redness, and papules. This mite usually affects the head, shoulders, back, and flanks of the guinea pig, but may spread to the entire animal. Secondary bacterial infections can occur. The itching is so severe that some animals may appear to have seizures or other abnormal behavior. Severely infected pregnant guinea pigs may abort. Some guinea pigs may carry the mite, but show no signs. Then, if they are stressed by poor nutrition, cold temperatures, or other illnesses, they may develop disease. The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people.

An infestation with T. caviae can be diagnosed by a veterinarian performing a skin scraping. The mites can be difficult to find, and the veterinarian may prescribe treatment solely based on the clinical signs of disease.

The most common treatment is ivermectin injections every 10 days for three treatments. Animals in contact with the infested animal should be treated, as well. The mites can survive in the environment, so it is recommended that the housing be cleaned and then soaked in a lime sulfur solution at a dilution of 1:40 (one part lime sulfur to 40 parts water). Dry everything thoroughly before placing the guinea pig back into his housing."

i suspect poor Nettie has Trixacarus caviae. my lil sister developed an allergic reaction towards her, as after my sis hold nettie some reddish "benjol" like mosquito bites will appear on her hands and where nettie touched her...and maybe thats is what the article meant by "The mite is transmitted by direct contact, and can temporarily infest people."

can this be self treated by pet owner? can applying ivermectin direct on the infected area can help or i really need to jab her? and where can i find lime sulfur? hope anyone can help, i'm worried about Nettie, she's just a little gurl...plus the other GP  can get infected too... icon_question.gif
after reading ur post.. i found my gp has similar symptoms.. it is the same mite tat u r mentioning.. any1 can clarify for me and treat it for me?(juztiny??)...

the prb is it is located at the upper eye area.. the eyelid there.. fur loss and with white flakes as well as skin hardening..

here's the pic.. pls.. nid help.. how did kimura plan to treat ur gp..?

This post has been edited by CKW008: Feb 10 2009, 12:23 PM
colincsf
post Feb 10 2009, 12:28 PM

74 posts

hehe okies thxs btw if im not mistaken we cant just straight away change their food rite? we need to slowly mix it with the old food till they are used to it then only fully change it to the new 1 rite?

Added on February 10, 2009, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 10 2009, 10:19 AM)
I support hagen too! And also Sluis brand for GP's drool.gif
sluis brand? how much are they ?and how to get it?

Added on February 10, 2009, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 10 2009, 09:41 AM)
I got to check it one more time....if it's flea, it should be moving?  hmm.gif

Juztiny, the anivision can cure flea or not? really can't wait to get the shampoo from u!!! as I am worried if it's really flea, it might move to my dog's body as well.... rclxub.gif
yea if u squeeze hard enough it might move and u can know for sure its a flea,1 of the other way is to put some kind of mint ointment on them like example mentholethem that wat my dad do for my dog and the flea just move away and he catch it off. but if ur scared then u have to use ur hand to feel it,if it some kind of bulking thing on them most probably they are fleas unless they are the nipples of the GP lol cuz last time we mistaken my dog's nipple for fleas LOL as that time i have not much experience with dogs

Added on February 10, 2009, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(limie @ Feb 10 2009, 08:26 AM)
mind to tell me? what's the benefits to our GP for the brand that u fully support? flex.gif
better quality food,better health?

This post has been edited by colincsf: Feb 10 2009, 12:37 PM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 10 2009, 12:38 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 10 2009, 12:28 PM)
hehe okies thxs btw if im not mistaken we cant just straight away change their food rite? we need to slowly mix it with the old food till they are used to it then only fully change it to the new 1 rite?

Sluis was about RM26+ or so (cant remember) >_< .. its in a black box. I havent given this to my GP's yet.. just bought it.. but i heard many good things about this diet. That's why i decided to give it a try. I bought it from Pet safari smile.gif i think there is a few pet shops that carry this brand.
colincsf
post Feb 10 2009, 12:40 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 10 2009, 12:38 PM)
Sluis was about RM26+ or so (cant remember) >_< .. its in a black box. I havent given this to my GP's yet.. just bought it.. but i heard many good things about this diet. That's why i decided to give it a try. I bought it from Pet safari smile.gif i think there is a few pet shops that carry this brand.
the only pet safari i know is in ikano well might have a check on it in the future then.thxs biggrin.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 10 2009, 12:48 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 10 2009, 12:40 PM)
the only pet safari i know is in ikano well might have a check on it in the future then.thxs  biggrin.gif
Sorry colin, my mistake.. it wasnt pet safari >_< im getting a lot of pet shops mixed up lately! laugh.gif I bought it at pet lovers in sunway pyramid sweat.gif and this is how it looks like -
kaoru himura
post Feb 10 2009, 01:06 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 10 2009, 12:28 PM)

Added on February 10, 2009, 12:35 pm

yea if u squeeze hard enough it might move and u can know for sure its a flea,1 of the other way is to put some kind of mint ointment on them like example mentholethem that wat my dad do for my dog and the flea just move away and he catch it off. but if ur scared then u have to use ur hand to feel it,if it some kind of bulking thing on them most probably they are fleas unless they are the nipples of the GP lol cuz last time we mistaken my dog's nipple for fleas LOL as that time i have not much experience with dogs

Added on February 10, 2009, 12:37 pm

better quality food,better health?
colincsf>> i suggest to quickly change the food, as the content of the previous food you gave them are not good for GPs. nuts and grains especially. i did bought and gave my gp the exact brand you gave to them long ago, and my gp have bad experienced with kuaci...when she try to eat it the kuaci stuck between her teeth and upper lip...she struggle like crazy until i oso became mega-panic.... rclxub.gif they oso did not gain weight as much as a growning GP should, i guess its because lack of nutrition. other from Hagen pallets and timothy/alfalfa hay, you should gave them some fresh fruits too, for vit C happy.gif you dont have to gradually change the food, just completely remove the old food and replace the pellets, they will learn to eat by themselves. Hagen pellets are good as they the pellets have fresh sweet smell that might lure ur gp to eat it.

Hagen pellet is i think 1 of the best for gp.
1) coz its easier to get the Sluis/Kaytee/Prestige/other brands plus its reasonable price too
2) cos of the size>>big and crunchy pellets GP love to chew on, can help trim their teeth oso happy.gif
3) the smell of fresh ingredient>> the pellets are in secure-sealed bag, easy to store, and you can smell the sweet freshness on the pellet, they smell like green, fresh hay. even if i open the pellet bag far from my GP they oso can smell and wheek2...begging for it haha rclxm9.gif
Juztiny
post Feb 10 2009, 01:10 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 10 2009, 12:08 AM)
thanks for the info...may i know where to get tht shampoo? izzit the shampoo you mentioned before, and the production is discontinued?can you sell a little of the shampoo to me?

dark_twilight>>> its ok, i'll try to cure her asap...she's a little darling and i really hope she'll get better soon
This coming Sunday, I'm going to Ara Damansara NZX around 5.30 to 6.30pm, meet me there if you want.

Added on February 10, 2009, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 10 2009, 09:41 AM)
I got to check it one more time....if it's flea, it should be moving?  hmm.gif

Yes, that AniVision shampoo is suitable for cats, dogs, kittens, puppies and small animal. It was made from natural herbal ingredients, which contains Neem Oil, Guar and many more natural herbal oil....

Neem Oil

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Feb 10 2009, 01:21 PM
Xiawa
post Feb 10 2009, 01:31 PM

is anybody feed this to gp ???
i bought this from pets safari, and i wonder which 1 will be better for gp if compare with hagen pellets
shocking.gif
Juztiny
post Feb 10 2009, 01:35 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 10 2009, 11:58 AM)
after reading ur post.. i found my gp has similar symptoms.. it is the same mite tat u r mentioning.. any1 can clarify for me and treat it for me?(juztiny??)...

the prb is it is located at the upper eye area.. the eyelid there.. fur loss and with white flakes as well as skin hardening..

here's the pic.. pls.. nid help.. how did kimura plan to treat ur gp..?
I could help you...you stay in Cheras too, right? Then would be much more easier to come to my house then.

Added on February 10, 2009, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(katannaz @ Feb 10 2009, 10:40 AM)

You can feed Pandan Leaf.

I put my GPs inside my garden for a short while, they chewed up all my Pandan Leaf until botak. Definitely you can't grow inside the cage, it will never get any opportunity to grow at all. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Feb 10 2009, 01:42 PM
toda6866
post Feb 10 2009, 01:48 PM

303 posts

i have read the 1st page quite a bit but not seemed to pick up much differences in terms of caring a rabbit vs a guinea pig......... for example, both physically look diff of coz, but other than dat, nails gotta b clipped, gotta groom them, feed them pellets n hay, herbivous n give them vit c....

can any experienced owner here shed some light?

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:29 PM