GUINEA PIGS CORNER V4, Kawaii...... wheek, wheek.....
Feb 7 2009, 02:20 PM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Pee Jay |
Sugar, thanks for sharing. Well, my gps are a little "sai tam" sikit sikit scare one...maybe I will buy a 3 tier cupboard to put the cage and the foods below the cupboard.
Feb 7 2009, 05:41 PM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yeahlor today went to visit them,when see me all go inside the box and hide liao =(
Feb 7 2009, 06:21 PM
1,380 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 7 2009, 05:41 PM) Is very normal, they are rodent. Added on February 7, 2009, 6:24 pm QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 6 2009, 08:38 PM) QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 6 2009, 08:43 PM) This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Feb 7 2009, 10:59 PM |
Feb 7 2009, 10:24 PM
38 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
finally my mom got hay for my GPs XP
Feb 8 2009, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Feb 7 2009, 06:21 PM) Is very normal, they are rodent. already got hay for them to eat.wanted to get a wood base bedding for them but the store was out of stock so we get those recycle paper instead for the moment but she already bought those wood base bedding for them already will use them on their next change Added on February 7, 2009, 6:24 pm Haha, young GP you got there. Maybe you can suggest your GF to use wood base bedding instead of recycle paper. i used to have a hamster for 2 years but GP are so much different as in behaviour as their are too shy or scared of anything lol btw how long should i feed the GP with alfalfa hay?and when to change to timothy hay?cuz my gf now got both of those hay now?mixed them?they are still young around 2month old only This post has been edited by colincsf: Feb 8 2009, 12:15 AM |
Feb 8 2009, 01:13 AM
788 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 8 2009, 12:07 AM) already got hay for them to eat.wanted to get a wood base bedding for them but the store was out of stock so we get those recycle paper instead for the moment but she already bought those wood base bedding for them already will use them on their next change You can start switching to Timothy between 5 to 6 months but do the change graduallyi used to have a hamster for 2 years but GP are so much different as in behaviour as their are too shy or scared of anything lol btw how long should i feed the GP with alfalfa hay?and when to change to timothy hay?cuz my gf now got both of those hay now?mixed them?they are still young around 2month old only |
Feb 8 2009, 03:24 AM
it is ok to mix them with timothy abit since she already bought it? cuz dun 1 to waste it as the nutrient will degrade in time when they are not eaten
Feb 8 2009, 03:50 AM
1,434 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Havoc! |
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 8 2009, 03:24 AM) it is ok to mix them with timothy abit since she already bought it? cuz dun 1 to waste it as the nutrient will degrade in time when they are not eaten This info chins give me A GP is under 6 months you feed = 80%Alfalfa + 20% timothy. Above 6 months = Slowly change to 50% Alf + 50% Tim After 12 months = 100% Timothy + occasional alfalfa Adult GP (12 months) seen no appetite = 20% alfalfa + combination of any grass hay. keep your hay high and not on the floor. Poke holes in the bag <--- this also chin teach me |
Feb 8 2009, 04:37 AM
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 8 2009, 03:50 AM) This info chins give me ok thxs for the info will do that then =)A GP is under 6 months you feed = 80%Alfalfa + 20% timothy. Above 6 months = Slowly change to 50% Alf + 50% Tim After 12 months = 100% Timothy + occasional alfalfa Adult GP (12 months) seen no appetite = 20% alfalfa + combination of any grass hay. keep your hay high and not on the floor. Poke holes in the bag <--- this also chin teach me i got a hay tray that come with the cage so no need to poke holes on bag |
Feb 8 2009, 05:35 AM
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 8 2009, 04:37 AM) ok thxs for the info will do that then =) Erm colin what i meant poke holes in the bag is when you storing the hay XD (when its not being served in the cage) i got a hay tray that come with the cage so no need to poke holes on bag |
Feb 8 2009, 10:44 AM
538 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Damansara |
oh no... forgotten to buy Alfafa hay for my GP...
haiz~~~ |
Feb 8 2009, 10:45 AM
Thanks Sugar for the information. Well, finally my GPs are not so shy towards me...Bugsy is more brave now...able to eat when i look at it and talk to them...Bubble is more shy always hide in a box when see me around...Oh yeah I saw bugsy do popcorning this morning so cute...hahah swing the bottom and jump up....hahahai cant laughs too loud cos housemate still sleeping...but i am glad finally they are comfortable with their cage...and even bubble getting fatter now...:)Bugsy pula...more fatter than before...
Feb 8 2009, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 8 2009, 04:37 AM) ok thxs for the info will do that then =) Yes, you will enjoy seeing your pet eating, especially hay. i got a hay tray that come with the cage so no need to poke holes on bag Added on February 8, 2009, 11:03 am QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 8 2009, 10:45 AM) Thanks Sugar for the information. Well, finally my GPs are not so shy towards me...Bugsy is more brave now...able to eat when i look at it and talk to them...Bubble is more shy always hide in a box when see me around...Oh yeah I saw bugsy do popcorning this morning so cute...hahah swing the bottom and jump up....hahahai cant laughs too loud cos housemate still sleeping...but i am glad finally they are comfortable with their cage...and even bubble getting fatter now...:)Bugsy pula...more fatter than before... Glad to hear your GP is getting confortable with his enviroment. time to grow big. I also saw lots of ppl having their GPs staying together with rabbits, kind of weird to me even tho their not fighting. This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Feb 8 2009, 11:03 AM |
Feb 8 2009, 11:17 AM
Yeah but I read some books saying do not put them together or else they will fight. It will depend on their behaviour.
I put the hay in the cage which there is a rack where we put the hay in there.The will just stand on their hind legs and try to reach the hay...yes...they can grow very fast. I saw in you tube all their piggies are like little puppy...scary..I wonder will my gps will grow till that size?Usually take how long to look like a cuddle puppy size?Hahaha.... |
Feb 8 2009, 11:23 AM
Yes, GP can grow very fast and very large sometime, that's why they are part of the main dish in some of the country. (I mean fried/BBQ gps as their food)
If for me, I won't choose to put rabbit and GP together. |
Feb 8 2009, 11:33 AM
Yeah I saw you tube many ppl cook them as main dishes...pity...usually I dun watched these it will make my heart real pain...I have these 2 gps already good enough...so i guess wont get another new pet at the moment...due to my shift job better stay with wat I got now...Happy with it..
Feb 8 2009, 11:38 AM
Great! That is the right attitude to have pet. Spend a bit more time dig in on caring for GP, they will company you for many many years to come. You will truly enjoy them.
Feb 8 2009, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 8 2009, 05:35 AM) Erm colin what i meant poke holes in the bag is when you storing the hay XD (when its not being served in the cage) poke hole in the bag will make it last longer is it?Added on February 8, 2009, 12:27 pm QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Feb 8 2009, 11:01 AM) Yes, you will enjoy seeing your pet eating, especially hay. the hay rack is outside the cage like the water bottle thing so the gp will have stand up and reach for the hay Added on February 8, 2009, 11:03 am Glad to hear your GP is getting confortable with his enviroment. time to grow big. I also saw lots of ppl having their GPs staying together with rabbits, kind of weird to me even tho their not fighting. This post has been edited by colincsf: Feb 8 2009, 12:27 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(colincsf @ Feb 8 2009, 12:23 PM) poke hole in the bag will make it last longer is it? Yes this is what chin told us. He is hay expert This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 8 2009, 02:34 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 02:40 PM
Thanks sugarcoatedcandy. We all learn from each others.
| Change to: | 0.0396sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:05 PM |