post Oct 27 2008, 04:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 25 2008, 02:36 PM)
but it not 4 gaming
QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 26 2008, 04:49 AM)
now that notebook dont hav any of those in gaming purpose
QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 26 2008, 05:26 PM)
well  sad.gif if it for spreadsheet, powerpoint, casual games, basic multimedia,..... i will buy it.. but if u guys planing all day to play crysis.. than u guys should get better gaming notebook....    wink.gif
QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 27 2008, 04:39 PM)
god u made me lough  biggrin.gif , and so not true..im not saying that.. i just give u an example for working stuff...atleast that was my first thought went i see picture and how it made and the concept...but after i read all the spec and i think..mostly u can do everything in this notebook.............but i still think that sager can do better than this.
Hence you're contradicting yourself.

So you're all for the looks, I see? Hmm.. Sounds so much like ricers laugh.gif
heroiuu
post Oct 27 2008, 05:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 27 2008, 04:49 PM)
Hence you're contradicting yourself.

So you're all for the looks, I see? Hmm.. Sounds so much like ricers laugh.gif
ahh u miss this 1..

so the question is y it hav great spec but it not 4 gaming or multimedia purpose?? is like insert an ferrari engine 2 a minicooper car

u hav any awnser 4 that?? genius dude??

This post has been edited by heroiuu: Oct 27 2008, 05:03 PM
mitodna
post Oct 27 2008, 05:10 PM

14,039 posts

some people buying Ferrari because they can, some people like to pimp up Subaru, because they can, and they want to

no matter how they use it, they may not being used what they built for, it is like using Precision without any using any CAD on this

and this laptop is well priced
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 27 2008, 05:36 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 27 2008, 05:02 PM)
ahh u miss this 1..

u hav any awnser 4 that?? genius dude??
Your analogy is flawed, terribly. If a Ferrari engine works in a Mini, it would bring up the performance to Ferrari standard, no? (forget about other things such as how the design of Ferrari reduces friction and all since it's not applicable to notebooks). If you can only afford to get the engine, and not the whole package of a Ferrari, would you rather do that, or go for, a more average of performance and bling car, and stand a higher chance to lose out in a race (performance)? Not to mention in notebooks, there's other factors such as portability too. You keep mentioning XPS 1730, you do know that a 17" and a 15.4" have quite a difference in portability, right? Oh no wait, you just want the blings and other factors are out of your mind.

A gamer requires a rig that runs his/her games smoothly (performance). The blings comes after the performance is satisfied. If Alienware has a typical performance, let's say, 2.0ghz and a 8600M GT, you think Stringfellow would have gone for it? Now you are judging how good a gaming notebook is based on the blings, that's terrible. The Sager with those specs are great as a gaming notebook, regardless of what you said. You first said it would only suit to be used for the basic usage (word processing and bla), but now you're saying it can be used for almost anything. Big contradiction there.

And I would like to ask you,
so the question is y it hav great spec but it not 4 gaming or multimedia purpose??

How in the effin' world is it not suitable for gaming purposes? Oh no wait...
mostly u can do everything in this notebook

Now it can.. mellow.gif

A gaming notebook is first judged on how good it can perform, not how many LEDs and curves it have. Although a combination of both is definitely ideal, you don't get the best of both world every time as the price factor always comes in unless you're some rich brat who gets 10k for his birthday without needing to work anything for it.

fcuk90
post Oct 27 2008, 06:53 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Oct 27 2008, 03:09 PM)
congrats, u clearly proven to us whats the IQ level of 2nd year MMU student thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
only he maybe? doh.gif
heroiuu
post Oct 27 2008, 07:40 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 27 2008, 05:36 PM)
Your analogy is flawed, terribly. If a Ferrari engine works in a Mini, it would bring up the performance to Ferrari standard, no? (forget about other things such as how the design of Ferrari reduces friction and all since it's not applicable to notebooks). If you can only afford to get the engine, and not the whole package of a Ferrari, would you rather do that, or go for, a more average of performance and bling car, and stand a higher chance to lose out in a race (performance)? Not to mention in notebooks, there's other factors such as portability too. You keep mentioning XPS 1730, you do know that a 17" and a 15.4" have quite a difference in portability, right? Oh no wait, you just want the blings and other factors are out of your mind.

A gamer requires a rig that runs his/her games smoothly (performance). The blings comes after the performance is satisfied. If Alienware has a typical performance, let's say, 2.0ghz and a 8600M GT, you think Stringfellow would have gone for it? Now you are judging how good a gaming notebook is based on the blings, that's terrible. The Sager with those specs are great as a gaming notebook, regardless of what you said. You first said it would only suit to be used for the basic usage (word processing and bla), but now you're saying it can be used for almost anything. Big contradiction there.

And I would like to ask you,

How in the effin' world is it not suitable for gaming purposes? Oh no wait...

Now it can.. mellow.gif

A gaming notebook is first judged on how good it can perform, not how many LEDs and curves it have. Although a combination of both is definitely ideal, you don't get the best of both world every time as the price factor always comes in unless you're some rich brat who gets 10k for his birthday without needing to work anything for it.

ok all the stuff u just said..it doest tell me y i should choose Sager NP8660....and
You first said it would only suit to be used for the basic usage (word processing and bla), but now you're saying it can be used for almost anything. Big contradiction there.

it not contradiction...im saying that from the start loud and clear "the spec are AWESOME" but if u using that as a full time gaming Platform, it feel somink missing....it dont hav gaming passion and soul.

ok now let me ask u ......2 notebook in front ur face..sager np8660 and alienwere which u rather choose???
simple question....if u cant answer this.....all the thing u just said it made u look more dum dum instant of genius..
and if u can choose 1 of that..than u know wat make NP8660 are different than gaming notebook

and 1 more thing u hav 2 learn dude.....in a big world out, not all pll know bout hardware...spec...so u hav 2 look at the bling factor 2 sell ur product....and if sager failed 2 do that, that y sager doesnt sell realy good,click here and tell me if u see any of sager brand?? and dear genius dude that is call marketing and u should learn that too...no offence.... and that make alienware and xps are top gaming notebook..

Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 27 2008, 08:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 27 2008, 07:40 PM)
ok all the stuff u just said..it doest tell me y i should choose Sager NP8660....and
it not contradiction...im saying that from the start loud and clear "the spec are AWESOME" but if u using that as a full time gaming Platform, it feel somink missing....it dont hav gaming passion and soul.

ok now let me ask u ......2 notebook in front ur face..sager np8660 and alienwere which u rather choose???
simple question....if u cant answer this.....all the thing u just said it made u look more dum dum instant of genius..
and if u can choose 1 of that..than u know wat make NP8660 are different than gaming notebook

and 1 more thing u hav 2 learn dude.....in a big world out, not all pll know bout hardware...spec...so  u hav 2 look at the bling factor 2 sell ur product....and if sager failed 2 do that, that y sager doesnt sell realy good,click here and tell me if u see any of sager brand?? and dear genius dude that is call marketing and u should learn that too...no offence.... and that make alienware and xps are top gaming notebook..
Missing something? Gaming passion and soul? What? Backlit keyboards, curves and LED? All I can do is lol laugh.gif

Free of charge? And the specs of Stringfellow's or even better? No doubt I'd go for the Alienware, I thought I've made that clear already? huh.gif You do know Stringfellow's m15x specs are better than corad's NP8660, right? If it was a 8600M GT with a 2.0GHz processor, I'd no doubt go for the Sager. Then again, if I were to buy one, compared to me current notebook that is way out of these two leagues, which cost me 4k, I'd go for the Sager for 6.1k. 15k? Way out of my reach, and I have other priorities even if I have that amount of cash right now. But if I have specifically saved up 15k for it, well, duh smile.gif

Dude, Sager does not officially sell at Malaysia. Why would I see a widespread of Sager brand here? doh.gif I'm sure you, as a 2nd year ultimately knowledgeable student of the utmost respectable MMU, knows marketing better than me, I'll rest my case there. But again, for those who spend this amount of money to buy notebooks, they're bound to at least know the basics of the hardware, then again, unless of course you're a spoilt rich brat smile.gif

Go to laptopvideo2go, you'll see a lot of Dell Inspiron and Vostro users gaming with their notebooks. Bling factor? 0.

Oh and, you noticed Lenovo's Thinkpads? They're ugly as hell (IMO), but they sell well. Why? I'm sure you have your uber marketing knowledge on this wink.gif

Oh and btw, I've never EVER said you should choose the NP8660. Just that your view enlightens me to a whole new perception of human being smile.gif
stringfellow
post Oct 27 2008, 08:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This is considerably OT, but if you compare the specs on the processor/graphic cards between my Alienware and corad's Sager, based on benchmarks on notebookcheck.net, it is head-to-head. His Sager has the 9800M GT, compared to my 8800M GTX, and even though I did mention that the 9800M GT is a rebadged 8800M GTX, on benchmarks, his 9800M GT still has an advantage over my 8800M GTX, even if the amount is very very slight. Processor-wise, my X9000 would probably tops his T9400, but he may have set up his system with power-saving in mind. All-in-all, it's actually head-to-head. It's the other extras that balloons the differences between our systems.

I've read and considered a few options before taking this plunge, and I still am perfectly happy with my choice to go Alienware. I like the uniqueness of the chassis, not so much of the AlienFX lighting system. No matter how you weigh your options, I'm sure nobody can completely disregard the aspect of looks when it comes to their laptop purchases. Some may be able to stomach a plain chassis relatively easy, while others may want a particular look.
WNF
post Oct 27 2008, 09:14 PM

225 posts

doh.gif This thread has turned into online paralympic...
post Oct 27 2008, 09:37 PM

761 posts

so u saying that u rather choose this NP8660 than Alienware?? that wat u saying??
and pls read my first comment and pls do understand them....
Yes I will, because I'm the price-for-performance kinda guy.

1) I need a smooth gaming experience, the 9800m GT gives me that
2) I need not all the blinks to own in a game
3) I don't have that much cash to afford an Alienware
4) I don't need multimedia keys to play a game
5) I like it when people underestimate something because of its look
6) Passion and soul is all about PLAYING THE GAME, not looking or worrying about the look of your laptop.

I don't care which University you're from, because obviously, your remarks speak much louder than everything else taken into account. Don't bother replying, I've pretty much given up talking some sense into you.
vincentlaw
post Oct 27 2008, 11:06 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 27 2008, 06:53 PM)
only he maybe? doh.gif
ops, oh u are from MMU too.... opologize for that notworthy.gif .... haha yes ofcoz he thumbup.gif .... lol

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Oct 27 2008, 11:10 PM
TScorad
post Oct 28 2008, 12:03 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 27 2008, 11:37 AM)
Thermal paste? That was the comeback?  doh.gif A simple call or email to Roswell, would even allow that, at probably no extra charge.The option of not buying an O/S is hardly an advantage. I see Alienware as the the equivalent of Apple in the PC side of things, they marry their components inside nicely and to make sure they work well with each other, that requires an OS to test them out. Installing FreeDOS on a performance notebook and letting the enduser be the guinea pig as to whether those components works well with each other, for something of this caliber, is a form of being irresponsible in my books. I dont want to be troubleshooting FOR them, after the amount of money I have splurged for this.

Again I reiterate, Alienware is not about the bling. Having the bling and turning it off is an OPTION, so that if you're in that LAN Party with the right crowd you can turn it on, and if you're in a more formal setting, you have the OPTION of turning it off. IF your setting is more formal than that of the previous LAN Party setting I've mentioned, then why are you even considering a premium gaming laptop then? Shouldnt it be better to get a business-oriented laptops like the Sony Z. Oh, you wanted the OPTION of gaming on your laptop as well, you say? Well, that concept of having an OPTION I've pointed out comes out nice and clear now, doesnt it? wink.gif Zing!
Wow, you have security issues there, man. If given an opportunity to own a Ferrari, would you still rather drive a Wira, even if it's Wira engine is shanked off and replaced with a souped up Evo engine? And why the heavy consideration on "what other people think"? You have "what other people think" as one of the consideration on buying your stuff? rolleyes.gif

Classifying "extravagance" and "premium" is subjective , depending on the level of one's financial security. I find buying a Ferrari as an extravagance, but not to let say, Person A, who loves performance cars, and have either saved and skimp on his savings just enough to buy one. He does not have to be super rich, only do well enough to save up for a Ferrari. Another person,  Person B would say, that getting a Ferrari is out of his consideration because it is not within his affordability range, so that other person picks another car that almost mirrors that Ferrari in performance, but may have certain concessions and sacrifices on looks. It looks scoffingly plain to the untrained eye, but once Person B stepped on that gas pedal, it is a different story. But, it does not stop the general public's already established impression that the Ferrari = fast. No matter how much that Person B wants to preach the virtues of his car, the general public would probably have dubious looks on their face at first before it is "test-driven" to prove his point. It doesnt help that his chosen car have the boxy dimensions of a Kenari. laugh.gif

In 2 years, when all is said and done, which brand would people feel more inclined to purchase, should I choose to resell it then? Alienware or Sager? Point is moot if you choose not to sell it, but having that sense of brand recognition and is like a warm blanket on a rainy day to me.

I'm all for reviews and introducing new brands and their OPTIONS to others, but choosing to harp on those new brand by downtrodding and mocking another brand, you'd most definitely be inviting a counter-reponse from those brand(s) you have retorted against now, wouldnt it? Newton's Third Law, my friend.......your actions most definitely will invite its appropriate REACTIONS. wink.gif

P/S: This may be a Wilayah Sager, but the Mothership patrols the skies. wink.gif
Doubt so, Alienware is a big company and it takes time for small decisions like thermal paste to get approval. If you do decide not to buy an O/S on the Sager they pre-install Ubuntu on it, not freeDos. Talking about "marrying components" nicely, why does the Alienware sport DDR 667 instead of the faster 1066MHz RAM's which give a better FSB:RAM ratio ?

Is it only me who's worried about what other people think ? someone here seems pretty intent on justifying his purchase too tongue.gif

Please do note that the only remark I made towards Alienware was that "it raises expectations too much" in the context of a class presentation. It was meant in good faith, and certainly if anyone in my lectuer brought an Alienware onto the stage, I would be expecting something good thumbup.gif

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 27 2008, 02:06 PM)
The arguments would not have come if the TS didnt portray the Alienware as "just bling only" and polish his Sager choice to kingdom come. I said it before and I will say it here again, if the decision against the Alienware was purely on the basis of paying premium price over the Sager offering, then we are on the same page here, and I totally agree, the Alienware is more pricetag-prohibitive. But lambasting the Alienware because it has the OPTION of bling, just simply invites a counter-reaction.
I totally agree, and if the criteria at which the choice came from is because "we might not have the budget" and it stops there, I'm with you, brother. But dont make it look as if the Alienware is all bling and no brains inside. That was what I was responding to, as well as TS's insecurities of having a nicer looking laptop(which is again, subjective). The bling (Light Pipe, AlienFX linings, and illuminated keyboard) is OPTIONAL, they can be turned off. Best of both worlds, the world of business-like simplicity, or decked-out decadence.

And heroiuu, you're getting out of context here , dude. The Sager matches, if not overtakes the Alienware specs when it comes portable power. Your arguments are tepid and fickle at best. The looks on the Alienware is not the all-consuming, the-one-and-only reason one should get it. It should only be part of the consideration. shakehead.gif
Please show me how I "lambasted" Alienware. Also you do realise you're in a Sager thread? Certainly you don't expect us to just sit there and listen to the preachings of Alienware doh.gif

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 27 2008, 08:56 PM)
This is considerably OT, but if you compare the specs on the processor/graphic cards between my Alienware and corad's Sager, based on benchmarks on notebookcheck.net, it is head-to-head. His Sager has the 9800M GT, compared to my 8800M GTX, and even though I did mention that the 9800M GT is a rebadged 8800M GTX, on benchmarks, his 9800M GT still has an advantage over my 8800M GTX, even if the amount is very very slight. Processor-wise, my X9000 would probably tops his T9400, but he may have set up his system with power-saving in mind. All-in-all, it's actually head-to-head. It's the other extras that balloons the differences between our systems.

I've read and considered a few options before taking this plunge, and I still am perfectly happy with my choice to go Alienware. I like the uniqueness of the chassis, not so much of the AlienFX lighting system. No matter how you weigh your options, I'm sure nobody can completely disregard the aspect of looks when it comes to their laptop purchases. Some may be able to stomach a plain chassis relatively easy, while others may want a particular look.
P9400 icon_rolleyes.gif

I've nothing against Alienware and I even congratulated you in your thread. My Sager does not overtake your m15x in terms of specs, but it does draw close. Remember to post some benchmarks for us when you get your laptop laugh.gif *and preferbaly in your thread?* blush.gif

P/S: This may be a Wilayah Sager, but the Mothership patrols the skies. wink.gif

stay on the look out for our SAM's then whistling.gif tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Oct 28 2008, 12:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 28 2008, 12:03 AM)
Doubt so, Alienware is a big company and it takes time for small decisions like thermal paste to get approval. If you do decide not to buy an O/S on the Sager they pre-install Ubuntu on it, not freeDos. Talking about "marrying components" nicely, why does the Alienware sport DDR 667 instead of the faster 1066MHz RAM's which give a better FSB:RAM ratio ?

Looking at the configurator on the XoticPC, they dont offer anything but Arctic Silver 5. Having A choice? More like having the ILLUSION of choice, but the reality is, there is not choice. Might as well don't bother posting that, when that radio button only ticks off ONE choice. rolleyes.gif

Pre-installing Ubuntu on a machine that is meant to game, is an exercise in futility IMO. Unless there are games meant to stress the performance of the laptop under Ubuntu that I may have missed. doh.gif  whistling.gif

As for for your DDR 667 vs 1066, I'm not overclocking this thing. Faster timing when you're not overclocking is a waste. Sure, there are performance benefits, but they are slight. If may be even restricted to the other components used, like the motherboard itself.

From Tom's Hardware review of the m15x at this link http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/dell-a...ook,1982-3.html:-

A solid graphics solution should be complemented by a good central processor, so our Area-51 m15x sample included Intel’s most powerful notebook component: the 2.8 GHz Core 2 Extreme X9000. As a result of power concerns, Intel-based notebooks generally sacrifice front side bus speed compared to the company’s desktop models. Case in point, the highest model X9000 processor runs on an 800 MHz front side bus, whereas the fastest workstation-oriented Core 2 Extremes run at 1600 MHz. It’s no surprise, then, that even a top-end notebook uses only DDR2-667, but at least Alienware upgraded ours to the maximum of 4GB.

Is it only me who's worried about what other people think ? someone here seems pretty intent on justifying his purchase too  tongue.gif 

You see justifying, I see HAVING AN OPTION. Your weak excuse for excluding Alienware because of its "bling", can be easily countered by turning it off. Read the response again, and get the context right.  whistling.gif

Please do note that the only remark I made towards Alienware was that "it raises expectations too much" in the context of a class presentation. It was meant in good faith, and certainly if anyone in my lectuer brought an Alienware onto the stage, I would be expecting something good  thumbup.gif 
Please show me how I "lambasted" Alienware. Also you do realise you're in a Sager thread? Certainly you don't expect us to just sit there and listen to the preachings of Alienware  doh.gif 

So are you saying your presentations are substandard, or implying that those Alienwares gives the perception that the presentation HAVE to be good? Isn't that a good thing? It automatically makes you raise your level of expectation of how you should perform in class, and in presentation, and not to disappoint that perception, and most importantly, YOURSELF. Don't you want that, or are you inherently comfortable with just  "getting by" and passing at minimal grade?

The initial post I posted was a response to the "expectation" statement you posted, and meant without any nasty barbs and snides as of where we stand now. *I think* The responses were not meant to preach but to present a different view of your "expectation" statement. It has long deviated away from that, to nasty murkier waters.

P9400  icon_rolleyes.gif

Touché, I stand corrected. Of a single alphabet. And oh, icon_rolleyes.gif too, just in case I get misunderstood.

I've nothing against Alienware and I even congratulated you in your thread. My Sager does not overtake your m15x in terms of specs, but it does draw close. Remember to post some benchmarks for us when you get your laptop   laugh.gif     *and preferbaly in your thread?* blush.gif

"preferably". Sure will, and do drop by. I'll try to be the bigger person to have people dropping by their own consent without having to instigate and poke them with snide statements to actually drop by the thread. wink.gif

stay on the look out for our SAM's then  whistling.gif  tongue.gif

Mothership.....as in alien spacecraft, as in space? SAM wont cut it, probably reflecting the thing you're trying to do here. You'd be needing the Surface-to-Space ICBMs to even make that far. Your "Effort" would just sputter out. Peace! icon_rolleyes.gif wink.gif whistling.gif
Initially, wanted to put the responses in RED, but I'm keeping it BLUE instead. Don't want to put too much EXPECTATIONS on my responses, I may not do so well in the presentation of these responses. But I try to make it stand out a bit so that it wont get lost in the sea of plain-jane black on the text in here. Probably like the Sager itself too. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 28 2008, 01:13 AM
cannavaro
post Oct 28 2008, 01:52 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

meh, tempest in a teapot.
TScorad
post Oct 28 2008, 02:52 AM

2,401 posts

You see justifying, I see HAVING AN OPTION. Your weak excuse for excluding Alienware because of its "bling", can be easily countered by turning it off. Read the response again, and get the context right.  whistling.gif

I did not exclude Alienware for it's LED's shakehead.gif . I suggest you heed your own advice to reread the posts.

So are you saying your presentations are substandard, or implying that those Alienwares gives the perception that the presentation HAVE to be good? Isn't that a good thing? It automatically makes you raise your level of expectation of how you should perform in class, and in presentation, and not to disappoint that perception, and most importantly, YOURSELF. Don't you want that, or are you inherently comfortable with just  "getting by" and passing at minimal grade?

ahhh .. people who just need to show everything off at one go laugh.gif And you're going round in circles with your constant metaphorisms.

The initial post I posted was a response to the "expectation" statement you posted, and meant without any nasty barbs and snides
as of where we stand now. *I think* The responses were not meant to preach but to present a different view of your "expectation" statement. It has long deviated away from that, to nasty murkier waters.

To each his own. Want to be dull and regular like others? Be my guest, but fitting in an out-of-this-world specced components into a dull case, is like fitting in an Evo engine into a nondescript Wira. We all know what we call that around here. rolleyes.gif Personally, I see it as a damn shame to have no one know that your notebook innards is filled with premium specs when you wrap it with a cookie-cutter case. You wouldnt want a crumbling facade of a house but filled it with leather Italian furnishing and tiled walls and floorings, would you?

No snides eh?

Touché, I stand corrected. Of a single alphabet. And oh, icon_rolleyes.gif too, just in case I get misunderstood.

"preferably". Sure will, and do drop by. I'll try to be the bigger person to have people dropping by their own consent without having to instigate and poke them with snide statements to actually drop by the thread. wink.gif

wub.gif wub.gif

Mothership.....as in alien spacecraft, as in space? SAM wont cut it, probably reflecting the thing you're trying to do here. You'd be needing the Surface-to-Space ICBMs to even make that far. Your "Effort" would just sputter out. Peace! icon_rolleyes.gif wink.gif whistling.gif

P/S: This may be a Wilayah Sager, but the Mothership patrols the skies
You said sky , but I guess what Encik stringfellow says and means can be different things whistling.gif

Initially, wanted to put the responses in RED, but I'm keeping it BLUE instead. Don't want to put too much EXPECTATIONS on my responses, I may not do so well in the presentation of these responses. But I try to make it stand out a bit so that it wont get lost in the sea of plain-jane black on the text in here. Probably like the Sager itself too. icon_rolleyes.gif
I take it bright and shiny things mean more than Substance.

This thread has been reduced to a mud sling for the past 2 pages, but if you would like to continue circling points for the almighty Alienware vs the peasant Sager, I would highly appreciate it if you did so in kopitiam and leave Mobile Computing to its real purpose. wink.gif

If I had the intention of lambasting the alienware m15x(which your play of long sentences insinuated), I would have pointed out all the chasis issues and overheating problems. But do comment after you've actually recieved it.

This post has been edited by corad: Oct 28 2008, 03:06 AM
heroiuu
post Oct 28 2008, 03:20 AM

35 posts

well fine som of you said that bling factor is not important....
fine.. simple question than...

Is sager NP8660 is an gaming notebook???

yes or not?? simple as that?? and i said noo....it not....great spec but not a gamming notebook whistling.gif

TScorad
post Oct 28 2008, 07:35 AM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 28 2008, 03:20 AM)

yes or not?? simple as that?? and i said noo....it not....great spec but not a gamming notebook whistling.gif
I think we're entertaining him doh.gif as the TS I suggest we steer this thread back on course smile.gif

And heroiuu, this should fit your needs really really well. it was specially made to include gamming passion and soul all stuffed into that uber sexy pro gaming laptop brows.gif :

You're so gonna get that rite?

SFX
post Oct 28 2008, 08:09 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(heroiuu @ Oct 28 2008, 03:20 AM)

Well heroiuu, if you try to define gaming laptop in terms of components specification AND bling, you should buy this:

It is a Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S. Available in UK.

The specifications are:
Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 (2.4GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066MHz FSB)
NVIDIA GeForce 9700M GTS (GDDR3, 512MB dedicated memory)
4096MB DDR3 1066MHz of RAM
built-in Harman Kardon® stereo speaker system with 2 x bass reflex speakers, 2 x tweeter speakers and 1 x subwoofer technology
more.....

The laptop specification is a bit less powerful than threadstarter's Sager NP8660. So if you were given a choice only to choose between these two laptop, which one would you take? The Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S with fiery red bling bling at the cost of RM7k+ (£1199.99 incl. VAT) OR Sager NP8660 with a more powerful specification and at a lower price of RM6.1k but without a bling bling?

If you choose the Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S which cares only about the outer appearance of the laptop, then you are a fool because you are wasting your money. I know probably you ask why I bought this laptop instead of Sager? The answer is because I prefer a 17" laptop with a dedicated numpad as I frequently use it (I can add a normal keyboard but for me, its a bit redundant.) and I didn't really know about Sager until I came across this post.

Oh and if you are so rich and are willing to spend up to RM10k on a gaming laptop with blings (as in this topic), I can't understand why you cannot afford to study abroad like threadstarter and I did. In UK, you can get a better gaming laptop than in Malaysia.

Don't think that you being a MMU student doing whatever course (I presume that it will be a course related to computing since MMU is famous for that) is that great thinking that whatever gaming pheripal must have the bling factor so that you can show around how cool your laptop are with all the blings to others in your campus colleague. Maybe your mind is a bit redundant causing you to enter MMU whistling.gif (I apologise to MMU students and ex who might get offended but I merely comment towards heroiuu icon_rolleyes.gif ).

Off-topic:
corad, I believe that you study in University of Cambridge since your sig shows that the ISP belongs to the University of Cambridge. If yes, what course are you studying?

Also, for those who are curious what is the 3dMark06 score for Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S, the score is 8303 (on Windows XP Professional SP3) but this is due to the fact that I cannot get a WHQL certified driver for my graphic card for Windows XP. It seems that as of the time of writing, NVIDIA haven't release GeForce 9M series driver for both XP (if they still support which I hope they will) and Vista. Toshiba website only listed WHQL certified Vista driver but none for XP.

This post has been edited by SFX: Oct 28 2008, 08:22 AM
TScorad
post Oct 28 2008, 08:31 AM

2,401 posts

i'm the penyapu lantai tongue.gif haha , i'll PM you for personal questions smile.gif

nice laptop you got there too!

oh man, i'm OT-ing in my own topic again doh.gif
heroiuu
post Oct 28 2008, 11:16 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(SFX @ Oct 28 2008, 08:09 AM)
Well heroiuu, if you try to define gaming laptop in terms of components specification AND bling, you should buy this:

It is a Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S. Available in UK.

The specifications are:
Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 (2.4GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066MHz FSB)
NVIDIA GeForce 9700M GTS (GDDR3, 512MB dedicated memory)
4096MB DDR3 1066MHz of RAM
built-in Harman Kardon® stereo speaker system with 2 x bass reflex speakers, 2 x tweeter speakers and 1 x subwoofer technology
more.....

The laptop specification is a bit less powerful than threadstarter's Sager NP8660. So if you were given a choice only to choose between these two laptop, which one would you take? The Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S with fiery red bling bling at the cost of RM7k+ (£1199.99 incl. VAT) OR Sager NP8660 with a more powerful specification and at a lower price of RM6.1k but without a bling bling?

If you choose the Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S which cares only about the outer appearance of the laptop, then you are a fool because you are wasting your money. I know probably you ask why I bought this laptop instead of Sager? The answer is because I prefer a 17" laptop with a dedicated numpad as I frequently use it (I can add a normal keyboard but for me, its a bit redundant.) and I didn't really know about Sager until I came across this post.

Oh and if you are so rich and are willing to spend up to RM10k on a gaming laptop with blings (as in this topic), I can't understand why you cannot afford to study abroad like threadstarter and I did. In UK, you can get a better gaming laptop than in Malaysia.

Don't think that you being a MMU student doing whatever course (I presume that it will be a course related to computing since MMU is famous for that) is that great thinking that whatever gaming pheripal must have the bling factor so that you can show around how cool your laptop are with all the blings to others in your campus colleague. Maybe your mind is a bit redundant causing you to enter MMU  whistling.gif (I apologise to MMU students and ex who might get offended but I merely comment towards heroiuu  icon_rolleyes.gif ).

Off-topic:
corad, I believe that you study in University of Cambridge since your sig shows that the ISP belongs to the University of Cambridge. If yes, what course are you studying?

Also, for those who are curious what is the 3dMark06 score for Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S, the score is 8303 (on Windows XP Professional SP3) but this is due to the fact that I cannot get a WHQL certified driver for my graphic card for Windows XP. It seems that as of the time of writing, NVIDIA haven't release GeForce 9M series driver for both XP (if they still support which I hope they will) and Vista. Toshiba website only listed WHQL certified Vista driver but none for XP.
toshiba i choose that..and went u said
If you choose the Toshiba Qosmio X300-11S which cares only about the outer appearance of the laptop, then you are a fool because you are wasting your money

yea it bit fool but atleast im not a fool that regret it later....

and 1 question 4 yu.....if u play games wit thosiba..how u feal bout it??...and than imagine u play games wit those sager... which do u like....and last question do u hav any regret for not choosing Sager NP8660 instant of this toshiba...
and last think the MMU part it realy out re topic..and seem like u guys take it too personal and acting like a children ....
i already said it dont take it personally ..i just say was i hav 2 say..

and i realy hope u answer all those question...
and awesome notebook btw...and...how long does the baterry life??

This post has been edited by heroiuu: Oct 28 2008, 11:18 AM

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:57 AM