130 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

SUSkalambong
post Nov 22 2008, 03:21 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Nov 21 2008, 02:05 PM)
wat strange problem u mean? may i noe? i have been using for months and no problems up...perhaps only ur hdd kena...how do u noe its bad sector?
when reading, the thing keeps spinning and spinning and spinning ... slow response ... and at last, I ran a chkdsk on it to diagnose.

found --- bad sectors

no wonder the thing keeps spinning and spinning --- things stored on bad sectors how to read?

Also, it gets very VERY HOT !

The Seagate 1TB drive that I'm using on another PC don't even get so hot. This 640GB disk, sigh ....

super macgyver
post Nov 22 2008, 06:17 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(kalambong @ Nov 21 2008, 07:51 PM)
about the wd 640GB HD --- this is my suggestion ....

DON'T BUY IT !!!

I bought one when it baru came out, within weeks, HD starts to behave strangely.

Upon checking -- BAD SECTORS !!

C'mon la ! Bad sectors??

This is supposed to be a "perpendicular recording" drive, and still bad sectors?
Urs is wd raid edition? shocking.gif
ericpires
post Nov 22 2008, 06:38 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Nov 22 2008, 06:17 PM)
Urs is wd raid edition?  shocking.gif
The problem is that maybe thats why WD is the only one with 640g edition? How come other hdd makers like Seagate or etc dun have 640g? hmm.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 23 2008, 03:57 AM

10,530 posts

DON'T BUY IT !!!

I bought one when it baru came out, within weeks, HD starts to behave strangely.

C'mon la ! Bad sectors??

This is supposed to be a "perpendicular recording" drive, and still bad sectors?
ive been using mine for months without a single hitch man.... and im sure theres alot of other people who are VERY happy with their drives....

guess ur just one of the unlucky ones...

oh....and send for RMA la...

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Nov 23 2008, 03:58 AM
cstkl1
post Nov 23 2008, 04:01 AM

6,799 posts

eh bought 6 of wd 640 aaks for our office a few months back
and have been running 24/7 since then

and our technician check for errors on hdd every 6 months..
no prob so far...
but this was in a office that runs 24/7 in aircon..

super macgyver
post Nov 23 2008, 09:49 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Nov 22 2008, 06:38 PM)
The problem is that maybe thats why WD is the only one with 640g edition? How come other hdd makers like Seagate or etc dun have 640g?  hmm.gif
Will it be the pc shop staff fall down ur WD RE on the floor before? hmm.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 23 2008, 03:57 AM)
ive been using mine for months without a single hitch man.... and im sure theres alot of other people who are VERY happy with their drives....

guess ur just one of the unlucky ones...

oh....and send for RMA la...
Did u scan for bad sector monthly? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 23 2008, 04:01 AM)
eh bought 6 of wd 640 aaks for our office a few months back
and have been running 24/7 since then

and our technician check for errors on hdd every 6 months..
no prob so far...
but this was in a office that runs 24/7 in aircon..
Ur technician got scan for bad sector using through mode? or fast scan? hmm.gif
rsangel
post Nov 23 2008, 12:31 PM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

Well, i'm using WD Element 1TB series , which using the green hdd, so far so good as a storage device smile.gif

I store and play MKV files from the hdd, no problem so far smile.gif

due to the USB2.0, the transfer rate is =_=" haha and i notice green hdd will auto turn to sleep mode if you don't use it, i guess that is the part it save the power
glock88
post Nov 23 2008, 04:56 PM

317 posts

hei guys.... wanna ask something ah... just sent my WD again for rma... lol... this is the 2nd time sending it already... yea i know.. its kinda sad... the thing is.. there's a LOT of bad ass sectors... so its ok... send for warranty lor... when i see my reciept ah.. its says bad sector and a burnt port... how can u burn a port on the hdd?? haih... no wonder i saw that person smelling my hdd.. lol...
Radeon
post Nov 23 2008, 05:29 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

anyone got any updates for the seagate 1.5tb freeze issues?

it seems that the new firmware has fix the bug?
KHOdin
post Nov 23 2008, 06:02 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

erm if i get a My Book Essential Edition i plug it into my computer and i never unplug it and let it stick there will there be any problem with my HDD or cpu?
is this the meaning of Auto on/off with your computer ?will it over heat?or wad?
seanlimys
post Nov 24 2008, 01:25 AM

2,751 posts

no idea..shudnt be a prob...juz the lifespan will be lessen due to overusage?
fujkenasai
post Nov 25 2008, 03:15 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Radeon @ Nov 23 2008, 05:29 PM)
anyone got any updates for the seagate 1.5tb freeze issues?

it seems that the new firmware has fix the bug?
Apparently its been solved
http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/messag...cending&page=13

HAve anyone gotten a 1.5 TB seagate hard disk from Low Yat? I was there yesterday and it seems that the 1.5 TB is all sold out.

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Nov 25 2008, 04:21 PM
ericpires
post Nov 25 2008, 05:47 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 25 2008, 03:15 PM)

HAve anyone gotten a 1.5 TB seagate hard disk from Low Yat? I was there yesterday and it seems that the 1.5 TB is all sold out.
Sure or not? didn't 1.5 TB just came out? Why so fast sold out? And someone said that 2TB is coming out end of Dec. Anyone can confirm this?
kepco
post Nov 25 2008, 10:16 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Nov 22 2008, 06:38 PM)
The problem is that maybe thats why WD is the only one with 640g edition? How come other hdd makers like Seagate or etc dun have 640g?  hmm.gif
the main reason WD have 640G HDD is due to business strategy, imagine, you're paying 500G price but getting 640G capacity. Since I'm staying in Pg, if using PC Depot pricing, you find out the lowest cost per GB, 640GB drive is the most value for money.

It same as Seagate have 750GB drive where as WD don't have it.
Radeon
post Nov 25 2008, 11:11 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 25 2008, 03:15 PM)

it seems that those that apply the firmware solved the issue
but there are still so many people that still could not get their hands of the firmware
fujkenasai
post Nov 26 2008, 10:37 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Radeon @ Nov 25 2008, 11:11 PM)
but there are still so many people that still could not get their hands of the firmware
Don't they have it on their server for everyone to download?
picado
post Nov 26 2008, 10:59 AM

80 posts

Hi all, im not sure if this is appropriate thread for me to ask this noob question..

Is there a difference in game performance if i install the game on SATA or IDE hardisk. I know SATA is faster then IDE but does it affect game performance?

i have SATA as primary and IDE as slave.

Thank you very much..
celciuz
post Nov 26 2008, 11:42 AM

14,033 posts

DON'T BUY IT !!!

C'mon la ! Bad sectors??

Hmm, using it since August 2008. So far so good smile.gif Very satisfied with it.
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Nov 26 2008, 02:51 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Radeon @ Nov 25 2008, 11:11 PM)
The reason is because not all drives are compatible with the firmware update. There are currently 2 types of firmware found (SD1A and CC1H) and they are given by Seagate after you contact their technical support (giving serial/part number) and it's for your own use only. There are cases where some drives were bricked when they perform the update with firmwares provided by other users who obtained them from Seagate for their own drives.
SUSsoundsyst64
post Nov 26 2008, 02:53 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

DON'T BUY IT !!!

C'mon la ! Bad sectors??

WD640GB user here. Buy in September 08 So far, yes, working very well even though doing lots of formatting and partitioning. smile.gif

130 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:52 AM