1tb now about 3XX....wd caviar black or seagate 7200.11 32mb will do..
All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk
Dec 1 2008, 09:24 AM
2,751 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taiping |
1tb now about 3XX....wd caviar black or seagate 7200.11 32mb will do..
Dec 1 2008, 02:21 PM
2,257 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 27 2008, 01:23 PM) only some of the batch are affected they are worried that you flash the wrong firmware and killed your driveupdates: ST31500341A drives with part numbers of 9JU138-301 should be updated to CC1H. Drives with part numbers of 9JU138 -300 and -336 should be updated to SD1A. |
Dec 1 2008, 10:53 PM
1,037 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
WD 1TB Caviar Black is about 5XX.
Dec 1 2008, 11:19 PM
2,892 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang |
Dec 2 2008, 09:51 AM
look it up at pc fair..i bet they sure will hav lots of units
Dec 2 2008, 09:54 AM
2,892 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang |
Dec 2 2008, 11:48 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
WD 1TB Caviar Black selling more expensive then Seagate 1TB now?
This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 2 2008, 11:48 AM |
Dec 2 2008, 12:40 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
what do you guys think bout the reliability of the Seagate Baracuda and Western Digital HDD?
previously when i was hunting for a reliable HDD, the IT guy in my company told me that most of the consumer hdd is not really reliable for 24/7 usage....when i asked further, he recommended my to go for the Seagate SV.35 series which is for Surveillance Video.....due to the fact that my company is a distributor for CCTV, they have tested quite a no of HDD in the market for reliability and after all these years, the most reliable hdd they have tested is the SV.35 series....i have also seen quite a no of Western D and Baracuda series coming in for RMA after 1-2 years of usage... this really makes me wonder if the normal consumer hdd is reliable enough to last for bout 3-4 years operation because i have quite a no of movies n songs saved in it.....what do you guys think? |
Dec 2 2008, 01:55 PM
Then you cant just rely on hdd, because mechanical stuffs are prone to break down after long usage so you need to do some backup as well. Seagate and WD are equally reliable. |
Dec 2 2008, 02:53 PM
146 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 30 2008, 11:21 PM) How much 1TB now? Isn't it is 400 myr? I only knows that 500gb is 190myr only. By the way, where to buy Samsung F1? Thanks. Try find allngap,selling at RM280 for 1tb,but is the OEM version...2 month warrantyThis post has been edited by bekham6669: Dec 2 2008, 02:54 PM |
Dec 2 2008, 04:22 PM
19,324 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Fusion @ Dec 2 2008, 12:40 PM) what do you guys think bout the reliability of the Seagate Baracuda and Western Digital HDD? sv35 for ide or sata? as my lowyat fren advise me not to go for sv35 as it got a high percentage of failure rate compare wit other model of seagate. previously when i was hunting for a reliable HDD, the IT guy in my company told me that most of the consumer hdd is not really reliable for 24/7 usage....when i asked further, he recommended my to go for the Seagate SV.35 series which is for Surveillance Video.....due to the fact that my company is a distributor for CCTV, they have tested quite a no of HDD in the market for reliability and after all these years, the most reliable hdd they have tested is the SV.35 series....i have also seen quite a no of Western D and Baracuda series coming in for RMA after 1-2 years of usage... this really makes me wonder if the normal consumer hdd is reliable enough to last for bout 3-4 years operation because i have quite a no of movies n songs saved in it.....what do you guys think? |
Dec 2 2008, 05:40 PM
1TB consume a lot more power? How is the temperature?
Dec 2 2008, 06:06 PM
2,403 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Fusion @ Dec 2 2008, 12:40 PM) what do you guys think bout the reliability of the Seagate Baracuda and Western Digital HDD? i'd say it's bout luck afterall,previously when i was hunting for a reliable HDD, the IT guy in my company told me that most of the consumer hdd is not really reliable for 24/7 usage....when i asked further, he recommended my to go for the Seagate SV.35 series which is for Surveillance Video.....due to the fact that my company is a distributor for CCTV, they have tested quite a no of HDD in the market for reliability and after all these years, the most reliable hdd they have tested is the SV.35 series....i have also seen quite a no of Western D and Baracuda series coming in for RMA after 1-2 years of usage... this really makes me wonder if the normal consumer hdd is reliable enough to last for bout 3-4 years operation because i have quite a no of movies n songs saved in it.....what do you guys think? my old WD 40gb hdd still working good till now. been transfered from 3 systems changes and now still using as primary drive at amdx2 rig. that's more than 5yo' on 24/7 usage. as for my current maxtor 200gb, already 24/7 for 3yo'+ lucky me, never encounter any hdd dead on my hand. QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 2 2008, 05:40 PM) WD got 1tb version under green power series which suppose to save power while compromising bit performance. |
Dec 2 2008, 06:57 PM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
nope abit its a lot....
but wd green power slow as hell man but its run cool and low power la |
Dec 2 2008, 10:33 PM
928 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Just bought 2 1tb HDD NS version... 2 months warranty... Hope it wont die on me la...
Dec 2 2008, 11:46 PM
wah...where to get..i oso wan le..
Dec 3 2008, 09:31 AM
2,257 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 3 2008, 11:13 AM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 2 2008, 04:22 PM) sv35 for ide or sata? as my lowyat fren advise me not to go for sv35 as it got a high percentage of failure rate compare wit other model of seagate. well...my company is one of seagate partner and even they told us that the SV.35 is much more reliable than their consumer range....i doubt the SV35 would give you much problem cos this is suppose to be a surveillance grade hdd ....unlike computer system, surveillance system stresses the hdd 24/7 everyday without stop....so far the SV35 series seldom breaks down unlike other models that we have tried....if the hdd is not reliable, i doubt seagate would dare to place a higher MTBF compares to their other range.....for me, i find that the raptor is the most reliable hdd that i have ever used....i have used the 36gb raptor close to 4 years with my computer being on 24/7 everyday....no problem for me but in this 4 years, 2 units of western digital and seagate has failed on me....now i have all my important files backed up into another hdd just in case....its just too unpredictable.... |
Dec 3 2008, 11:18 AM
2,657 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Highbury House, 75 Drayton Park, London |
Dec 3 2008, 01:11 PM
5,697 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: A Place Where God And Master Of TroubleMaker Exist |
QUOTE(Fusion @ Dec 2 2008, 12:40 PM) what do you guys think bout the reliability of the Seagate Baracuda and Western Digital HDD? previously when i was hunting for a reliable HDD, the IT guy in my company told me that most of the consumer hdd is not really reliable for 24/7 usage....when i asked further, he recommended my to go for the Seagate SV.35 series which is for Surveillance Video.....due to the fact that my company is a distributor for CCTV, they have tested quite a no of HDD in the market for reliability and after all these years, the most reliable hdd they have tested is the SV.35 series....i have also seen quite a no of Western D and Baracuda series coming in for RMA after 1-2 years of usage... this really makes me wonder if the normal consumer hdd is reliable enough to last for bout 3-4 years operation because i have quite a no of movies n songs saved in it.....what do you guys think? QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 2 2008, 06:57 PM) yes....wd new plan |
| Change to: | 0.0365sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:13 AM |