130 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

limhongwoon
post Nov 26 2008, 03:55 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

buy before september 2008 , then the hdd sure hav problem ??
Radeon
post Nov 26 2008, 04:10 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 26 2008, 10:37 AM)
Don't they have it on their server for everyone to download?
nope,
they will only email you the firmware

QUOTE(SySTeM_eRRoR @ Nov 26 2008, 02:51 PM)
The reason is because not all drives are compatible with the firmware update. There are currently 2 types of firmware found (SD1A and CC1H) and they are given by Seagate after you contact their technical support (giving serial/part number) and it's for your own use only. There are cases where some drives were bricked when they perform the update with firmwares provided by other users who obtained them from Seagate for their own drives.
yea the owners claim that some of the tech support did not know such issue existed and was playing "creative" style,
thus many users that got frustrated as they did not get a fix

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Nov 26 2008, 03:55 PM)
buy before september 2008 , then the hdd sure hav problem ??
Affected part number: 9JU138-300, 336 with firmware revisions SD15, SD17, or SD18. So i'm not sure what batch is it currently

louis6
post Nov 26 2008, 07:21 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

wanna buy external HDD in this PC fair... abt 160GB to store dramas. some1 recommend me SATA,but i oso wan noe which brand is better? any brand to recommend ???

My previous external HDD had some prob,all PC cant read tat HDD coz cant detect the USB. my dad said is sth to do vif de cable... he said tat HDD is not SATA. What shud i do so tat PC can read tat HDD again?

limhongwoon
post Nov 26 2008, 07:27 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Nov 26 2008, 08:21 PM)
wanna buy external HDD in this PC fair... abt 160GB to store dramas. some1 recommend me SATA,but i oso wan noe which brand is better? any brand to recommend ???

My previous external HDD had some prob,all PC cant read tat HDD coz cant detect the USB. my dad said is sth to do vif de cable... he said tat HDD is not SATA. What shud i do so tat PC can read tat HDD again?
i think is seagate coz it hav 5 years warranty , i think ur buy another external hdd case to test it
kepco
post Nov 26 2008, 08:44 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Nov 26 2008, 07:21 PM)

you might want to post your problem in Technical support Section
KHOdin
post Nov 26 2008, 10:57 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Nov 26 2008, 07:21 PM)

my freiend have the same problem with ur HDD try buy the case and use maybe can fix the problem my friend done it tat way and it works rclxms.gif my 40GB HDD spoiled too because i accidental pressed the circle place sum thing turning inside tat dont know wad lol

my feel is western digital better i tot u guys say tat seagate easy broke? rclxub.gif
fujkenasai
post Nov 27 2008, 01:23 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Radeon @ Nov 26 2008, 04:10 PM)
nope,
they will only email you the firmware
yea the owners claim that some of the tech support did not know such issue existed and was playing "creative" style,
thus many users that got frustrated as they did not get a fix
Affected part number: 9JU138-300, 336 with firmware revisions SD15, SD17, or SD18. So i'm not sure what batch is it currently
How come they do not upload it on their support site so everyone can fix it??

I guess I shall go lowyat or PC fair to check, are you planning to get 1 1.5TB? Have you looked at the prices of the 1.5TB in different shops? I think viewnet is the cheapest.
limhongwoon
post Nov 27 2008, 04:46 PM

2,892 posts

why so many ppl buy the WD VelociRaptorâ„¢ 150GB rather than the 300gb 1 ??
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Nov 27 2008, 05:08 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Nov 27 2008, 01:23 PM)
How come they do not upload it on their support site so everyone can fix it??

I guess I shall go lowyat or PC fair to check, are you planning to get 1 1.5TB? Have you looked at the prices of the 1.5TB in different shops? I think viewnet is the cheapest.
Read my post as to why they do not upload it on their site
jasonkwk
post Nov 29 2008, 05:39 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

anyone can recommend any program to monitor both WD and SG hard disk health in realtime?
Orain
post Nov 30 2008, 05:50 AM

82 posts

can someone help me???im planning to put my 320gb hd to my pc and buy a new 1tb hd and put it in my coolermaster xcraft 350 sata 3.5..i wonder if this case can support 1tb storage since the box said it can support up to 500 gb only. hmm.gif
limhongwoon
post Nov 30 2008, 02:27 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(Orain @ Nov 30 2008, 06:50 AM)
can someone help me???im planning to put my 320gb hd to my pc and buy a new 1tb hd and put it in my coolermaster xcraft 350 sata 3.5..i wonder if this case can support 1tb storage since the box said it can support up to 500 gb only. hmm.gif
but xcraft also can support up to 1TB ( http://www.coolermaster.com/products/produ...cate=32&id=5342 )
Got 1 Cooler Master hdd case can support up o 1TB is X Craft 360 acording to this website : http://www.coolermaster.com/products/produ...cate=32&id=2520
bernardryan
post Nov 30 2008, 05:32 PM

bench warmer
662 posts

Anyone tried the New Velociraptor 150gb? How does it perform? Is it advisable to get it? That would be just for my OS.. and games and programs..
limhongwoon
post Nov 30 2008, 05:34 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(bernardryan @ Nov 30 2008, 06:32 PM)
Anyone tried the New Velociraptor 150gb? How does it perform? Is it advisable to get it? That would be just for my OS.. and games and programs..
i saw got ppl say it perform very good in raid 0
super macgyver
post Nov 30 2008, 05:38 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Nov 29 2008, 05:39 PM)
anyone can recommend any program to monitor both WD and SG hard disk health in realtime?
Have u tried hdtune yet?
zeist
post Nov 30 2008, 10:10 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

1TB current price is RM300+. Wait till it drops until RM300, I will then sapu 2pcs. brows.gif
limhongwoon
post Nov 30 2008, 10:13 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Nov 30 2008, 11:10 PM)
1TB current price is RM300+. Wait till it drops until RM300, I will then sapu 2pcs. brows.gif
but the WD black caviar is rm 500++
quiksilve
post Nov 30 2008, 11:06 PM

297 posts

Anyone knows the price for samsung's spindisk F1, read many reviews on it rated higher in performance than WD raptor. And cheaper in price, so quite value for money. In terms of performance and value.

This post has been edited by quiksilve: Nov 30 2008, 11:10 PM
mitodna
post Nov 30 2008, 11:21 PM

14,039 posts

How much 1TB now? Isn't it is 400 myr? I only knows that 500gb is 190myr only. By the way, where to buy Samsung F1? Thanks.
limhongwoon
post Nov 30 2008, 11:25 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 1 2008, 12:21 AM)
How much 1TB now? Isn't it is 400 myr? I only knows that 500gb is 190myr only. By the way, where to buy Samsung F1? Thanks.
why dun buy the WD caviar Black ? ?

130 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:42 AM