2,751 posts

lol...like u say...they worry deir file juz gone like dat
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 08:53 AM

1,704 posts

Bah. I did a CHKDSK and...

4 KB in bad sectors.

Gotta ask for another replacement doh.gif and I've just spent hours setting up and updating this doh.gif
tech_frix
post Oct 15 2008, 09:50 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(ndgoh @ Oct 15 2008, 12:28 AM)
When you want sell me HDD full of prawns?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Raid0 won't result in a HDD failure... It'll just function like a HDD and it stripe your DATA into 2 HDD for faster access... If one fails, ALL data gone lor...

Everybody is soooo concerned with access time... seek time and whatever speed bump but I hardly see people go RAID0... Why ahh?
my library is virtual infinite boss...u know what i mean... brows.gif

dats is my concern r...failure HDD is a big deal for me...
my work and manytng is inside....i google and found out most of ppls running RAID0 suffer the effect later...

can sumone defy this to encourage me to go for raid0... laugh.gif icon_question.gif blush.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 15 2008, 12:40 PM

1,533 posts

lol to be honest i dono what mode im running now.. i forgot what i set for my sata HDD last time and if not mistaken is raid becoz i follow the mobo guide... =.= scare of any data lost
abcstop
post Oct 15 2008, 02:18 PM

216 posts

just bought a new external hard disk from lowyat yesterday, my book home 1T, but when i access to it, the exact amount of space is onli 930 gb, where the rest go to?
viperiii
post Oct 15 2008, 03:05 PM

498 posts

western digital green power drive purchase is not bad.. high performance + low power consumption.

tech_frix
post Oct 15 2008, 04:04 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

r u sure high performance??
5400rpm aite??
akachester
post Oct 15 2008, 05:05 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(abcstop @ Oct 15 2008, 02:18 PM)
just bought a new external hard disk from lowyat yesterday, my book home 1T, but when i access to it, the exact amount of space is onli 930 gb, where the rest go to?
If you check out the HDD, it is in FAT32 format instead of the normal NTFS. I got mine at 930GB as well instead of 1TB. I suggest if you do not need the software in the HDD, format it cause FAT32 does tend to feel slower than NTFS for me. However, do remember you will never get full 1TB. Something to do with relevant 1024bytes calculation which i never tend to remember tongue.gif

This post has been edited by akachester: Oct 15 2008, 05:06 PM
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 15 2008, 06:50 PM

1,704 posts

I'm getting myself a WD MyBook 1TB too. Online reviews show that the software included = crap and that the first thing you should do is format it to NTFS laugh.gif But if it shows 930GB that's quite a big loss. It should show 976GB unsure.gif
viperiii
post Oct 15 2008, 06:53 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 15 2008, 04:04 PM)
r u sure high performance??
5400rpm aite??
7200rpm.. check from the reviews from websites.. google search.

Aquariusdenz
post Oct 15 2008, 07:33 PM

1,533 posts

not totally high perf as it sacrifice the perf to save power...
abcstop
post Oct 15 2008, 08:25 PM

216 posts

i transfer everything to my external dy. And.... i start downloading lot of movie already, so if i wanna to transfer all my stuff from my external back to my computer again, there will be not enough space.... troublesome.... lol
TSvearn27
post Oct 15 2008, 11:30 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(abcstop @ Oct 15 2008, 02:18 PM)
QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 15 2008, 06:50 PM)
I'm getting myself a WD MyBook 1TB too. Online reviews show that the software included = crap and that the first thing you should do is format it to NTFS laugh.gif But if it shows 930GB that's quite a big loss. It should show 976GB unsure.gif
Dudes... google up... put some effort in finding information...

For operating systems, it recognize 1 Kilobytes = 1,024 bytes; 1 Megabyte = 1,024 Kilobytes; 1 Gigabytes = 1,024 Megabytes.

For manufacturer, it recognize 1 Kilobytes = 1,000 bytes; 1 Megabyte = 1,000 Kilobytes; 1 Gigabytes = 1,000 Megabytes.

Thus manufacturer's 1 Terabytes = 1,000,000,000,000 bytes

while

in operating system become: 1,000,000,000,000 / (1,024 x 3) = 931GB

Make sense now? It has been explained over and over in this forum sweat.gif

P/S: Next don't ask why the manufacturer consume the 24 thingy, email their customer care if you curious enough.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 16 2008, 12:18 AM

1,704 posts

Ah! I've always thought that although manufacturer's 1GB = 1000MB, the MB is of 1024*KB. Didn't know it's 1000 way down to B laugh.gif
tachlio
post Oct 16 2008, 10:06 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

Need some suggestion~

I look for HDD for performance ~ Gaming + DL movie

should i choose Seagate 7200.11 500GB which 225 or

add another 15 to get WD 640 Caviar SE16 which just 240??
_707027_
post Oct 16 2008, 10:17 AM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 16 2008, 10:06 AM)
Need some suggestion~

for me, i will go with Seagate 7200.11 500GB smile.gif
see the previous page, u will know why.
got some hard disk comparisons as reference.
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 16 2008, 10:18 AM

1,533 posts

i personally prefer seagate.. but if you want more space then go for WD... as for performance im not really sure about it.. smile.gif
tachlio
post Oct 16 2008, 11:05 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

i google some review about WD640AAKS

http://techreport.com/articles.x/14380/1

seen like WD done pretty well
aura82
post Oct 16 2008, 11:36 AM

guys i'm looking for external hardisk to backup my photos...any suggestion..if possible got ext hdd below RM150?afraid to lost my precious moment fo the second time..thanks in advance.If possible can direct me the places that sell gd quality hdd.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 16 2008, 11:41 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 16 2008, 10:06 AM)
Need some suggestion~

Seagate's 7200.11 should be better in performance.

130 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:35 AM