130 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

tech_frix
post Oct 16 2008, 11:54 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 16 2008, 11:41 AM)
Seagate's 7200.11 should be better in performance.
even WD 640GB cant beat dat seagate ka?? blink.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 16 2008, 01:54 PM

1,704 posts

640GB is just the capacity, not the performance :-\
aura82
post Oct 16 2008, 03:19 PM

guys i'm looking for external hardisk to backup my photos...any suggestion..if possible got ext hdd below RM150?afraid to lost my precious moment fo the second time..thanks in advance.If possible can direct me the places that sell gd quality hdd.

bump
tech_frix
post Oct 16 2008, 04:37 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 16 2008, 01:54 PM)
640GB is just the capacity, not the performance :-\
i means performance la abang...
u said seagate wan is faster...
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 16 2008, 10:54 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 16 2008, 04:37 PM)
i means performance la abang...
u said seagate wan is faster...
Yeah, it is. Doesn't that answer your question? mellow.gif
limhongwoon
post Oct 16 2008, 10:59 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

Any ppl know where to but the samsung F1 hdd ??
tech_frix
post Oct 17 2008, 11:03 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 16 2008, 10:54 PM)
Yeah, it is. Doesn't that answer your question? mellow.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
i need u elaborate... doh.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 17 2008, 11:22 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 17 2008, 11:03 AM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
i need u elaborate... doh.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=20579670
jasonkwk
post Oct 17 2008, 11:41 AM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

In reality , you hardly felt the increase the performance.unless you transfer ahem stuff 24/7.
mADmAN
post Oct 17 2008, 11:53 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 17 2008, 11:22 AM)
dude...that one is comparing all the 500GB drives la.....

people are comparing the 500GB 7200.11 vs the WD 640GB...

anyway...to compare... quoted from V1

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 29 2008, 02:22 PM)
Lol. Just OT for a little so can bring in some fun! Relax.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyways guys, here is my new Seagate 7200.11 500GB SATA2 bench!

user posted imageuser posted image
and my own WD640GB (HD Tach Long test)

and HD Tach Short Test

as u see...not much difference...

and when i bought the WD640GB it was actually RM2 CHEAPER than the Seagate 500GB 7200.11
tech_frix
post Oct 17 2008, 03:38 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

thanks Madman...
seem i need to use bigger font next time for all forumers to see clearly...
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Oct 17 2008, 05:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 17 2008, 11:53 AM)
dude...that one is comparing all the 500GB drives la.....

people are comparing the 500GB 7200.11 vs the WD 640GB...
anyway...to compare... quoted from V1
and my own WD640GB (HD Tach Long test)
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/7444/640gblongxx2.jpg
and HD Tach Short Test
http://img379.imageshack.us/img379/4082/640gbquickti8.jpg
as u see...not much difference...

and when i bought the WD640GB it was actually RM2 CHEAPER than the Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Aside from the capacity, the specs are the same and thus it can be a guideline.

He asked for performance, I gave an answer based on what I know. I never said it was a definite answer, hence the word should.

Agreed that the difference is not much; but if you transfer huge amount of data, it should be noticeable.

This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Oct 17 2008, 06:45 PM
cannavaro
post Oct 18 2008, 03:49 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(aura82 @ Oct 16 2008, 03:19 PM)
guys i'm looking for external hardisk to backup my photos...any suggestion..if possible got ext hdd below RM150?afraid to lost my precious moment fo the second time..thanks in advance.If possible can direct me the places that sell gd quality hdd.

bump
You're looking for 2"5 or 3"5?
Take your pick, these are non-cap ayam hdd + enclosure.
user posted imageuser posted image
Pricelist from Viewnet. (They almost always have the lowest prices)

Your budget is too low. (unless you don't mind buying a pre-owned hdd.)

Added on October 18, 2008, 3:58 am
QUOTE(ndgoh @ Oct 15 2008, 12:28 AM)
When you want sell me HDD full of prawns?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Raid0 won't result in a HDD failure... It'll just function like a HDD and it stripe your DATA into 2 HDD for faster access... If one fails, ALL data gone lor...

Everybody is soooo concerned with access time... seek time and whatever speed bump but I hardly see people go RAID0... Why ahh?
A good PSU can greatly reduce the chances of a RAID0 system from failing.

I'm using RAID0 on 2 systems, and one of it is a dedicated video editing machine. It's been 2 years plus, so far so good. Backups are done manually once in a while. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Oct 18 2008, 03:58 AM
post Oct 18 2008, 04:00 AM

919 posts

is wd 640gb still good to grab?
tech_frix
post Oct 18 2008, 06:45 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:00 AM)
is wd 640gb still good to grab?
look at madman post...
sure can give somtng...
seanlimys
post Oct 18 2008, 08:19 AM

2,751 posts

wd 640aaks is a two platter hdd, which means 320+320gb and its a perpendicular drive...compared to seagate, its only single platter hdd with larger cache...larger cache only comes in play when u copy a really large file for a long time...or geting higher burst speed...i wudnt say review right or wrong at all time, but judging my experience, after tested 2 units, i can feel a slightly beter performance for the wd when installing games...
viperiii
post Oct 18 2008, 08:28 AM

498 posts

..so western digital 1.0Tb is double platter drive?
seanlimys
post Oct 18 2008, 08:32 AM

2,751 posts

i duno,..i juz read up this for my personal drive..well..u can alwiz sak pak google..there are certain drives by samsung i gues, ad 3 platters
cannavaro
post Oct 18 2008, 10:04 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Heads up... grab your WD640GB HDD from ALL IT now for a batshit crazy price of RM230! I've never seen it drop this low before.

Their MyBook series are also rather cheap compared to other stores, especially the 500GB Home Edition (USB2.0) - RM299.

Didn't expect them to beat Viewnet's pricelist.

(for today at least)
tech_frix
post Oct 19 2008, 08:57 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

dats a good price for a huge HDD...
want to buy one oso...

130 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0150sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled