121 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

Pwnagetool/Quickpwn & "yellowsn0w" 3G Unlock, »2G/3G Fw 2.2.1 Unlocking&Jailbreaking«

=Hanxz=
post Apr 14 2009, 10:51 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

isnt it i.yellowsn0w.com

correct me if i'm wrong
PeeEl
post Apr 15 2009, 12:11 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Yuiko001 @ Apr 14 2009, 08:21 PM)
Bought from maxis we need to jailbreak it? if not,any funtion we cant use?
I will attempt to answer your question. There are functions you cannot access to if you do not jailbreak your iPhone, whether it is Maxis' or not. Certain softwares are not downloadable to your iPhone if it is not jailbroken, the most crucial to a wide spectrum of people, being the SB Setting.

But to jailbreak or not your iPhone is your call.
TSdavidgary73
post Apr 17 2009, 11:49 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial

For those who have accidentally upgraded your firmware 2.2.1(Locked iPhones), here's a tutorial on how to downgrade your baseband from 02.30.03 to 2.28.00 which allows you to unlock using yellowsn0w.

There are now three bootloader versions for the iPhone 3G depending on when it was manufactured. 5.08, 5.09 and 6.02. If your iPhone was manufactured before September 2008, you are 5.8. If your device is 2.2.1 OOB (Out Of Box), you can’t downgrade the Baseband because you have bootloader 5.9. Recent news that Apple has updated it basband again to 6.02 back 2 weeks ago.

IMPORTANT: This downgrade process ONLY works for people who have the 5.08 bootloader.

You can find instructions on how to check your bootloader version here.

Windows: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Windows)
Mac: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Mac)

To downgrade, follow the guide below:

a) Ensure you are on the 2.30 baseband by following this tutorial.
b) You will also need MobileTerminal installed to completed this tutorial.

Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial/Guide

Use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.

Use at our own risk.

(by iClarified)
TakanoKyohei
post Apr 17 2009, 03:39 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Apr 17 2009, 11:49 AM)
Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial

For those who have accidentally upgraded your firmware 2.2.1(Locked iPhones), here's a tutorial on how to downgrade your baseband from 02.30.03 to 2.28.00 which allows you to unlock using yellowsn0w.

There are now three bootloader versions for the iPhone 3G depending on when it was manufactured. 5.08, 5.09 and 6.02. If your iPhone was manufactured before September 2008, you are 5.8. If your device is 2.2.1 OOB (Out Of Box), you can’t downgrade the Baseband because you have bootloader 5.9. Recent news that Apple has updated it basband again to 6.02 back 2 weeks ago.

IMPORTANT: This downgrade process ONLY works for people who have the 5.08 bootloader.

You can find instructions on how to check your bootloader version here.

Windows: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Windows)
Mac: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Mac)

To downgrade, follow the guide below:

a) Ensure you are on the 2.30 baseband by following this tutorial.
b) You will also need MobileTerminal installed to completed this tutorial.

Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial/Guide

Use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.

Use at our own risk.

(by iClarified)

erk..., my brother friend iphone 3G from UK set manufactured on feb 2009, conform its on 5.09 bootloader haha. hopefully there will be exploit where we can downgrade the iphone 3g with boot loader 5.09 or 6.02 next time,

anyway bro david, thanks for the info and update everything in here,..
i salute you.smile.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by TakanoKyohei: Apr 17 2009, 03:40 PM
Masamune
post Apr 18 2009, 03:46 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey..i can't seem to run quickpwn for windows..
Keep saying quickpwn has stopped working..
I've installed ms.net and everything as stated in the 1st page..
I try many ways online and i still cant run quickpwn..
using vista 32 bit..
SurFerZ
post Apr 18 2009, 05:35 PM

438 posts

Guys any1 of u has JB ur iphone?had some issues while JB-ing with the malaysian set...as for my singtel set i had 0 issues with it..
prasys
post Apr 18 2009, 05:37 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Apr 18 2009, 05:35 PM)
Guys any1 of u has JB ur iphone?had some issues while JB-ing with the malaysian set...as for my singtel set i had 0 issues with it..
I have done. I used QuickPwn on OSX

worked flawlessly !
cscheat
post Apr 19 2009, 05:37 PM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

guys, anyone downgraded their accidentally upgraded iphone 3G (baseband 2.30) back to 2.28 yet ??
wkarya87
post Apr 20 2009, 01:07 AM

14 posts

ive just upgraded my iphone firmware to 2.1... everything went smoothly except that now my itunes cant detect my iphone... this msg pop out every time i reconnect my iphone...
"iTunes was unable to load provider data from Sync Service, reconnect or try again later"....
u guys have any idea how to solve this?...
supermassive
post Apr 20 2009, 09:16 AM

46 posts

I tried used Pwnage tool, followed all the steps until where i finished DFN, Itunes error msg pops out stating that it detects an error, ask me to restore

i use teh alt / cmd + restore n click on the file tat i created from Pwnage. It doesnt work anyhow, i still get my usual screen n settings.
Ech
post Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM

77 posts

Hi guys,
I'm using a maxis iphone and plan to JB my phone tonight. If everything goes well, i will JB my gfs phone too as she's on a Celcom line but having problems with the prefix (maxis set also)

Instead of restoring in QuickPwn using the recommended ipsw (iPhone1,2_2.2.1_5H11_Restore.ipsw), is it possible for me create my own ipsw by backing up my personal settings? Following which using that as the file for restoration in replacement of the suggested file?

If yes, how do i make this backup? Thanks for reading!
TSdavidgary73
post Apr 20 2009, 01:41 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(Ech @ Apr 20 2009, 01:11 PM)
Hi guys,
I'm using a maxis iphone and plan to JB my phone tonight. If everything goes well, i will JB my gfs phone too as she's on a Celcom line but having problems with the prefix (maxis set also)

Instead of restoring in QuickPwn using the recommended ipsw (iPhone1,2_2.2.1_5H11_Restore.ipsw), is it possible for me create my own ipsw by backing up my personal settings? Following which using that as the file for restoration in replacement of the suggested file?

If yes, how do i make this backup? Thanks for reading!
For the prefix, you can read the link here:

Section 'B' : General Tweaks & Localising Your iPhone

5. Caller ID Fix [Getting numbers instead of names when you receive a call or SMS?]

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

For Mac Pwnagetool, mac users can customise the root partition size, the boot logo and add Cydia sources/apps to the ipsw. These are the only things that can be customized via Pwnagetool.

For Quickpwn Mac/Windows, you can only change the boot logo and you can't customise or create your own ipsw with your own personal settings. It has to be as per the ipsw. Your main customization is in iTunes.

QUOTE(supermassive @ Apr 20 2009, 09:16 AM)
I tried used Pwnage tool, followed all the steps until where i finished DFN, Itunes error msg pops out stating that it detects an error, ask me to restore

i use teh alt / cmd + restore n click on the file tat i created from Pwnage. It doesnt work anyhow, i still get my usual screen n settings.
Redo everything again and follow the guide provided on the first post.

Also, these are not the right keys (alt / cmd + restore). The correct keys are Option+Restore.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Apr 20 2009, 01:48 PM
serioustee
post Apr 20 2009, 01:50 PM

32 posts

hey guys, so unlocking iPhone 2g firmware 2.2.1 doesn't require yellowsn0w just QuickPwn 2.2.5, bootloaders and firmware 2.2.1 downloaded rite?

This post has been edited by serioustee: Apr 20 2009, 01:53 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Apr 20 2009, 02:04 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(serioustee @ Apr 20 2009, 01:50 PM)
hey guys, so unlocking iPhone 2g firmware 2.2.1 doesn't require yellowsn0w just QuickPwn 2.2.5, bootloaders and firmware 2.2.1 downloaded rite?
Yellowsn0w is only for 3G locked iPhone mate. Just download QuickPwn 2.2.5, bootloaders and firmware 2.2.1. You're set to go. Do follow the guide provided on the first post.

Cheers
ernie76
post Apr 20 2009, 06:41 PM

Can anyone help please...

Uploaded 2.2.1 and now phone does not work.. What can I do? Apparently someone tells me that the only option I have is the turbo sim.. is there another option?

Please help...

TeK_KeN
post Apr 20 2009, 06:44 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

no soft unlock for 2.2.1 i3G.
TSdavidgary73
post Apr 20 2009, 06:46 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(ernie76 @ Apr 20 2009, 06:41 PM)
Can anyone help please...

Uploaded 2.2.1 and now phone does not work.. What can I do? Apparently someone tells me that the only option I have is the turbo sim.. is there another option?

Please help...

Thread Merged

Please search before opening a new thread.

For more info, please read the first post of this thread on iPhone 3G UnLock if your iPhone is not officially unlock.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Apr 20 2009, 06:47 PM
tornad0
post Apr 21 2009, 11:27 AM

112 posts

Hello master david and sifu frozzy

Im one of the accident update my 3g iphone from 2.2 to 2.2.1 (02.30.03) because my seller told me its a SG set and I trusted him. So now Im F***ed up. Im using the phone with hardware unlock Rebel Sim and I subscribe the unlimited data kinda waste my money because I cant on 3g (the phone will not receive call when u on 3g using rebelsim) .. thinking to sell until I saw the update that said can downgrade the baseband back:) rclxms.gif

I think my 3g Iphone quite old....I WILL confirm if the BL is 5.08 1st before doing anything stupid again.

just want to clarify something 1st

Now my firmware is 2.2.1 and if my BL is 5.08 rite? I can downgrade back to 02.28 rite?

so what is the step? I read the iClarified already but not really understand.

Do I need to get back to firmware 2.2(restore) or just stay 2.2.1 and no need to restore if I successful downgrade the baseband before i can proceed with yellowsnow unlock?

will try it later.. anyone in the forum success?

This post has been edited by tornad0: Apr 21 2009, 11:39 AM
TSdavidgary73
post Apr 21 2009, 12:03 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(tornad0 @ Apr 21 2009, 11:27 AM)
Hello master david and sifu frozzy

Im one of the accident update my 3g iphone from 2.2 to 2.2.1 (02.30.03) because my seller told me its a SG set and I trusted him. So now Im F***ed up. Im using the phone with hardware unlock Rebel Sim and I subscribe the unlimited data kinda waste my money because I cant on 3g (the phone will not receive call when u on 3g using rebelsim) .. thinking to sell until I saw the update that said can downgrade the baseband back:)  rclxms.gif

I think my 3g Iphone quite old....I WILL confirm if the BL is 5.08 1st before doing anything stupid again.

just want to clarify something 1st

Now my firmware is 2.2.1 and if my BL is 5.08 rite? I can downgrade back to 02.28 rite?

so what is the step? I read the iClarified already but not really understand.

Do I need to get back to firmware 2.2(restore) or just stay 2.2.1 and no need to restore if I successful downgrade the baseband before i can proceed with yellowsnow unlock?

will try it later.. anyone in the forum success?
Hey mate, sorry to hear that you got stung by those sellers. Way too many cases buyers got tricked.

Anyway, most important thing is to make sure your current iPhone BL is at 5.08 (2.2.1) if you're gonna proceed downgrading your BL to 2.28.

Then follow the iClarified guide as it is the easiest compare to the once i checked out.

You need to revert back to 2.2 and use yellowsn0w to unlock.

Another option if you're not comfortable downgrading with those coding methods, you can try Gevey Sim to unlock your iPhone with current firmware.

Cheers
tornad0
post Apr 21 2009, 12:08 PM

112 posts

thanks for replying...

I will confirm if I on a 5.08BL or not...

But if I successful downgrade to 02.28 rite...that mean my phone is 2.2.1 (02.28) ..I cannot straight use yellowsn0w?

if cannot....mean I need to download 2.2fw from front page and restore everything?

121 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:59 PM