121 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Pwnagetool/Quickpwn & "yellowsn0w" 3G Unlock, »2G/3G Fw 2.2.1 Unlocking&Jailbreaking«

TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:21 PM, updated 17y ago

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Firmware 2.2.1 PwnageTool 2.2.5, Quickpwn and 3G Unlock Thread

"PwnageTool and Quickpwn Jailbreaks your iPhone or iPod Touch. It also installs two app servers. One is call Cydia 2 and the other Installer 4. As of now, Cydia is the most popular server with firmware 2.0.x-2.2.1 compare to Installer 4. These two servers are like the AppStore but for free/trial and it provides apps that's not on Apples AppStore. The servers also offer packages which can totally customize your iPhone/iPod Touch (Winterboard), turning it into your own unique looking device".

Before you proceed to JailBreak, unhide all apps from Categories and please do a full backup with iTunes or manually backup your files with iPhone File Manager. (Only for Jailbroken iPhones) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

Can an unlock 3G iPhone from...

Can i upgrade the iPhone firmware when there's a new firmware?

Is there a software to Unlock 3G Locked iPhones(US, UK etc)?

What happen to my apps from iTunes Appstore and Cydia after a restore or a firmware upgrade?

How to backup 3rd party apps from Cydia?

Do i need to repurchase my apps from iTunes Appstore after an OS installation?

iPhone baseband downgrade-able?

Does Quickpwn erase my application are Jailbreak?

What is the difference between Pwnagetool and Quickpwn?

Can i use 2G iPhone without unlocking? Able to upgrade from Fw 1.1.4?

Updates: For all Maxis users.

No Carrier signal after Jailbreak: Please download Maxis_my.ipcc file: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226

Connect the USB cable to your iPhone and launch iTunes. Click on your iPhone and hold down SHIFT + click Update button. Select the Maxis_my.ipcc file from your desktop.

iPhone Software 3.0 - Do not upgrade as it's still in beta stage and it's only for iPhone developers, not for the mass users.

For more info, please refer to ths thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406
Firmware 2.2.1 Unlocking and Jailbreaking Tutorial/Guide Thread starts: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913/+1480#entry23345060

*Please make sure your connected to the net before you proceed.

Mac OSX

user posted image PwnageTool 2.2.5 - Dev Team
Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Pwnagetool Tutorial/Guide
PLEASE NOTE: Place all essential files - PwnageTool app, Bootloader Images(For 2G iPhone), Firmware to a folder in your Mac before you proceed. Running directly from the disk image will cause erroneuos behavior such as missing bootloader files and other oddities. *Recommended Root partition at 550MB
2G iPhone Unlocking/Jailbreaking Tutorial
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial*Deselect Activate if you have an iPhone legitimately activated on an official carrier.

user posted image Quickpwn 2.2.5 - Dev Team

Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Quickpwn Tutorial/Guide *Requires internet connection when you start the application(both Mac and Windows).
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows

(Quickpwn launch error: "This program failed to initialize properly(0xc0000135)")
Please download/install MS.net http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...&displaylang=en (dotNetFx35setup.exe). Relaunch Quickpwn again.

user posted image Window QuickPwn 2.2.5-2 - Dev Team
Download Link
Link 1
Link 2

Quickpwn Tutorial/Guide
2G iPhone Unlocking/Jailbreaking Tutorial
3G iPhone Jailbreak Tutorial

Firmware 2.2.1 Downloads
*do not unzip the firmware. Remove the .zip extension. Your firmware should ends with .ipsw extension

2G iPhone Firmware Firmware 2.2.1

3G iPhone Firmware Firmware 2.2.1

Bootloader Images 3.9BL, 4.6BL (For 2G iPhone Only)

Make sure you get the activation message on iTunes and your iPhone and you can use your phone after.

Firmware 2.2 Unlocking and Jailbreaking Tutorial/Guide Thread starts http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913/+500#entry21599917

RELEASE INFO

Cydia source: http://apt9.yellowsn0w.com/
Installer repo: http://i.yellowsn0w.com/

http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

What is yellowsn0w? Yellowsnow is a 3G software/patch unlock application. An application to unlock LOCK 3G iPhones only.

yellowsnow is only applicable for 3G Lock iPhones, not 2G.

Updates:

Q: Can i update to the latest firmware with software unlock aka ''yellowsn0w''? Read the spoiler.

Take Note for Lock 3G iPhone: Once you're on firmware 2.2.1, there's no turning back as your baseband is permanently upgraded even you downgrade your firmware as the baseband is not downgradable. No pwnagetool/quickpwn or buying a new Mac will help you in any way. Puchasing a unlocker sim is the only option. Read "Lock 3G iPhones with Fimware 2.2.1'' below.

How to jailbreak and install yellowsnow? [For NOOBS]

*** Refer to Hanxz for iPhone unlocking service: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl

----
Lock 3G iPhones with Fimware 2.2.1

Example of forumers "accidentally" upgraded to Fw 2.2.1:

Common problems face by users using Sim Unlocker Rebel Sim:

Solution A - Hardware Sim Unlocker: Purchase a Gevey Sim v2 (supports Fw 2.2.1) to unlock your iPhone.

Solution B - Hardware Chip Modification: Refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1002759

Downgrade baseband 2.30 to 2.28 Tutorial

For those who have accidentally upgraded your firmware 2.2.1(Locked iPhones), here's a tutorial on how to downgrade your baseband from 02.30.03 to 2.28.00 which allows you to unlock using yellowsn0w.

There are now three bootloader versions for the iPhone 3G depending on when it was manufactured. 5.08, 5.09 and 6.02. If your iPhone was manufactured before September 2008, you are 5.8. If your device is 2.2.1 OOB (Out Of Box), you can’t downgrade the Baseband because you have bootloader 5.9. Recent news that Apple has updated it basband again to 6.02 back 2 weeks ago.

IMPORTANT: This downgrade process ONLY works for people who have the 5.08 bootloader.

You can find instructions on how to check your bootloader version here.

Windows: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Windows)
Mac: How to Check Your iPhone Bootloader Version (Mac)

To downgrade, follow the guide below:

Option 1
Ensure you are on the 2.30 baseband by following this tutorial.
Install 3G Baseband Downgrader via Cydia. Launch 3GBDD and select 'Go' and it will proceed to downgrade your baseband.
Final step, use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.

Option 2
3G Fuzzyband Downgrader
- It verifies your bootloader version and displays it before attempting to downgrade (won't attempt if bootloader isn't 5.08) so it is much safer than other methods.
- It detects current baseband version, and the patches accordingly.
Fuzzyband Downgrader Guide

Final step, use yellowsn0w via Cydia to unlock your iPhone.
(by iClarified)

Use at our own risk.
Warranty

Claim warranty from the country that you bought the 3G iPhone from if there's defect or hardware related issues.

Online Service Assistance Warranty Check: https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do

*For those who have jailbreak your iPhone, warranty will be void. Restore to default settings before sending back for warranty.

---

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 20 2009, 11:44 PM
frozzbyte
post Sep 13 2008, 11:26 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

U always amaze me with all this effort david. Keep up the good work.
samlee860407
post Sep 13 2008, 11:27 PM

4,631 posts

racun to pawn...lol

see how long i can keep my iphone virgin now...

currently the only apps i missing from Cydia is only snapture and cycoder...
but to use iphone browser...hmm.....
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:28 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thank you frozzbyte. Just helping out with what i can. Do add anything you see missing. Thanks
nokia2003
post Sep 13 2008, 11:28 PM

5,786 posts

thanks davidgary73!
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:30 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

No prob..community service..lol..as long no telephone service cukup.
ASAP
post Sep 13 2008, 11:31 PM

1,645 posts

Hi

I have the unlock iphone from Singapore and want to jailbreak using the 2.1 Pawnage. Should I tick the activate on Pawnage or not? Let say I pawn this iPhone unlock version, can I upgrade to future firmware directly from iTunes without pawn? Please advise. Thanks.
yujin86
post Sep 13 2008, 11:33 PM

1,736 posts

wow
good job david!
frozzbyte
post Sep 13 2008, 11:40 PM

3,657 posts

@ASAP
Since your phone is legally unlocked, u don't have to tick activate but i suggest you to use quickpwn since u don't have to restore the phone.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:42 pmAll you need is just jailbreak and quickpwn is the tool for u.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Sep 13 2008, 11:42 PM
alexng2208
post Sep 13 2008, 11:43 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

i already quickpwn using Windows Vista on my 1st Gen Ipod TOuch 16g.

it was quick and easy but itunes refused to detect it at first. then i tried downloading a free game from app store then sync again, then walla, no problem already!
friends
post Sep 13 2008, 11:49 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

that is great work David.... keep it up. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Added to [ Please README BEFORE POST ]
ASAP
post Sep 13 2008, 11:53 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 13 2008, 11:40 PM)
@ASAP
Since your phone is legally unlocked, u don't have to tick activate but i suggest you to use quickpwn since u don't have to restore the phone.

Added on September 13, 2008, 11:42 pmAll you need is just jailbreak and quickpwn is the tool for u.
Thanks. But my unlock iPhone is new. So I can use pawnage now and use quickpawn when I have installed data?
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Sep 13 2008, 11:49 PM)
that is great work David.... keep it up.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Added to [ Please README BEFORE POST ]
Thanks bro..thank you.

mcvalue
post Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM

38 posts

arlow sifus, i just upgrade to 2.1, how come become emergency call? i tot its juz non-jailbreak? sad.gif
Dante18
post Sep 14 2008, 12:00 AM

372 posts

thanks davidgary73, looks like i will need to restore my iphone again.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 14 2008, 12:01 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Sep 13 2008, 11:53 PM)
Thanks. But my unlock iPhone is new. So I can use pawnage now and use quickpawn when I have installed data?
I will be using pwnage to JB my 2G iphone and you're fine using Pwnage to start off. Later you can use quickpwn to JB your 3G iPhone.

I'll be uploading Quickpwn Mac after i download the file.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 14 2008, 12:33 AM
frozzbyte
post Sep 14 2008, 12:03 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(mcvalue @ Sep 13 2008, 11:59 PM)
arlow sifus, i just upgrade to 2.1, how come become emergency call? i tot its juz non-jailbreak? sad.gif
U upgrade thru itunes upgrade button? If its non-jailbreak then how to activate it. To activate we need to jailbreak (copy the lockdown file).
ASAP
post Sep 14 2008, 12:04 AM

1,645 posts

I want to ask, the purpose of quickpawn is to jailbreak and upgrade the firmware of the phone without affected the data?
hendra86
post Sep 14 2008, 12:05 AM

295 posts

i sollute you davidgary73
alexng2208
post Sep 14 2008, 12:06 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

jailbreak only enable us to install apps. using installer and/or cydia

121 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top