32 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ Series Club v1, Also d/l your drivers+softwares here

TScloud9_lee
post Oct 31 2008, 02:56 AM

369 posts

The DOS-like splash screen when u start laptop.

flash for 1 second (the auto-loading OS menu) then 5 seconds (the codes running), then continue loading with Windows d.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Oct 31 2008, 02:57 AM
riena2001
post Oct 31 2008, 10:02 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Oct 31 2008, 02:56 AM)
The DOS-like splash screen when u start laptop.

flash for 1 second (the auto-loading OS menu) then 5 seconds (the codes running), then continue loading with Windows d.
My CQ45 has been installed w/ Vista Ultimate. After a while there is an error message that stop me from booting the system. The error is something like "Missing BOOTMGR. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart". I was freak out. Luckily, I just back up all my data using external HDD. Then re-install the OS, driver and all other software. It went well and I have my splash screen again. However, last nite it happened again. The same error msg and fail to start the Vista. This time I chose repair the Windows installed instead of clean installation. Voila! The splash screen is disappear!!! biggrin.gif Hopefully, the error msg wun appear again la.
kllam
post Oct 31 2008, 01:14 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(riena2001 @ Oct 31 2008, 10:02 AM)
My CQ45 has been installed w/ Vista Ultimate.  After a while there is an error message that stop me from booting the system.  The error is something like "Missing BOOTMGR.  Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart".  I was freak out.  Luckily, I just back up all my data using external HDD.  Then re-install the OS, driver and all other software.  It went well and I have my splash screen again.  However, last nite it happened again.  The same error msg and fail to start the Vista.  This time I chose repair the Windows installed instead of clean installation.  Voila!  The splash screen is disappear!!!  biggrin.gif Hopefully, the error msg wun appear again la.
i had my CQ20 install with vista ultimate but don't face this problem.
trustgtr
post Nov 1 2008, 03:18 AM

87 posts

sometimes this things happen la..my cq20 had some issues with the bluetooth after tried to pair it with my phone and keep asking for a driver even though it was working..it comes on and on with the request so finally decided to reinstall vista using repair mode..so far no more problems..
kllam
post Nov 1 2008, 09:55 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(trustgtr @ Nov 1 2008, 03:18 AM)
sometimes this things happen la..my cq20 had some issues with the bluetooth after tried to pair it with my phone and keep asking for a driver even though it was working..it comes on and on with the request so finally decided to reinstall vista using repair mode..so far no more problems..
what phone u're using?

i'm using a SE, no problem with the bluetooth.... only problem was when i plug in my phone data cable..... it seems to can't recognise the memory stick
outspoken
post Nov 1 2008, 10:32 PM

Hi All, After much considerations, I made up my mind to buy a Compaq. However, not too much sure what model.. I'm really thinking of CQ45 series, but i'm spoil for choices 129, 127 etc.. I prefer the Intel processor,and Nvidia graphic card.

anyway, just some quick questions (easy language please, I'm not too technically sound of computer terms ..heheh):
1. I just heard today that Sony is recalling some laptop batteries which they supply to the likes of HP, Toshiba. Does this recall include the Compaq CQ series? so far i heard only the old HP dv1000-4000 are affected.
2. I do have an ori windows XP, but heard lot of negative comments about the compatibility with the CQ model. Can somebody clear up this issue?
3. I want to install CAD software. anyone thinksof any probs in the horizon?

trustgtr
post Nov 2 2008, 07:34 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Nov 1 2008, 09:55 PM)
what phone u're using?

i'm using a SE, no problem with the bluetooth.... only problem was when i plug in my phone data cable..... it seems to can't recognise the memory stick
I just did a clean install of my vista as I just found out that the tech guy at the IT shop i purchased installed wrong drivers, he gave me a copy of the drivers but I found that HP actually built in a file 'swsetup' folder in the c: with all the drivers necessary for my 125TU as mine came with free dos..the machine works perfectly now.. biggrin.gif
riena2001
post Nov 3 2008, 12:44 AM

17 posts

Help needed!!
Everytime I start my window, the following error msg box will pop up:
"Macrovision Software Manager Agent has stopped working
Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.
Option to choose:
Check online for a solution and close the program
or
Close the program"

Help me to eliminate the error as it has become very irritating now. Anyone please... sweat.gif

trustgtr
post Nov 3 2008, 04:55 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(riena2001 @ Nov 3 2008, 12:44 AM)
Help needed!! 
Everytime I start my window, the following error msg box will pop up:
"Macrovision Software Manager Agent has stopped working
Windows can check online for a solution to the problem.
Option to choose:
Check online for a solution and close the program
or
Close the program"

Help me to eliminate the error as it has become very irritating now. Anyone please... sweat.gif
go to manage startup and disable it...or try reinstalling vista, If i'm not mistaken microvision comes with yahoo messenger..remove and install again

This post has been edited by trustgtr: Nov 3 2008, 04:55 PM
simon7788
post Nov 3 2008, 07:31 PM

171 posts

I am CQ45-129TX user, as far as i know this model support dual channel, it is dual channel means is better than i use 2G RAM instead of 3G RAM?
kllam
post Nov 3 2008, 09:38 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(trustgtr @ Nov 2 2008, 07:34 PM)
I just did a clean install of my vista as I just found out that the tech guy at the IT shop i purchased installed wrong drivers, he gave me a copy of the drivers but I found that HP actually built in a file 'swsetup' folder in the c: with all the drivers necessary for my 125TU as mine came with free dos..the machine works  perfectly now.. biggrin.gif
i reinstall my phone driver now it's ok....

btw... your CQ20 is using Intel PRO wireless or Broadcom?

mine is using Broadcom and it is not Intel Pro wireless as stated in the HP website
simon7788
post Nov 3 2008, 09:55 PM

171 posts

I had a problem, i set a wireless ad hoc network computer to computer network using my CQ45-129TX, to play Dota with my frens, i tot centrino 2 wirless is 5x than last time, but all of them connected to my network getting lag and later disconnected, if other computer become host, they dun have problems., anyone experience that?
trustgtr
post Nov 4 2008, 12:07 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Nov 3 2008, 09:38 PM)
i reinstall my phone driver now it's ok....

btw... your CQ20 is using Intel PRO wireless or Broadcom?

mine is using Broadcom and it is not Intel Pro wireless as stated in the HP website
mine also broadcom..funny HP's website states differently..i think they want to keep price down, with intel the price will surely go above 3k..anyways by the time we can fully utilize wifi n..our laptop would be obsolete oredy..
Zibel
post Nov 4 2008, 01:15 AM

59 posts

CQ45-107TX is Intel Pro

Don't think I'll be upgrading to 8GB just yet though. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Zibel: Nov 4 2008, 01:18 AM
dotcom
post Nov 4 2008, 10:21 PM

662 posts

guys can check wit u all on my cq20.
i do a health check on my battery, and the battery was not showing fully green. and the condition say good. is this normal same wit all cq20? just brought it few days ago
trustgtr
post Nov 5 2008, 12:30 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(dotcom @ Nov 4 2008, 10:21 PM)
guys can check wit u all on my cq20.
i do a health check on my battery, and the battery was not showing fully green. and the condition say good. is this normal same wit all cq20? just brought it few days ago
the cq 20 light will show : amber - charging , white - almost full charge 90% and light will off once it is fully charged

its weird that compaq does not provide a user manual for this device..you can download a manual at HP website
TScloud9_lee
post Nov 6 2008, 01:25 PM

369 posts

Anyone using driver backup software like www.driveragent.com or www.drivershq.com b4?

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Nov 6 2008, 01:27 PM
ClessRV
post Nov 7 2008, 01:41 PM

702 posts

Found this -> Link

Look at Post #30 by Prabhu S

I'd tried it on a CQ40-129TU, seems to be working. smile.gif
CheaTeRz
post Nov 8 2008, 07:41 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

guyz need help!

i got some problem where sometimes my lappy got no sound when switch on~

sometimes i have to restart about 2-3 times.

and i found that it got unusually hot at the keyboard around "ctrl and alt button" is it normal?

im using cq40-115au
tonynk9
post Nov 9 2008, 02:51 AM

114 posts

the only problem i encounter with mycq40-115au is that sometimes the sound disappear on Vista Os.... i have to restart to have the sound back.. but i have no problem with the sound on XP

im using both xp and vista ultimate

Added on November 9, 2008, 2:52 am
QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Nov 8 2008, 07:41 PM)
guyz need help!

i got some problem where sometimes my lappy got no sound when switch on~

sometimes i have to restart about 2-3 times.

and i found that it got unusually hot at the keyboard around "ctrl and alt button" is it normal?

im using cq40-115au
the heat is normal because of the hdd located there

Added on November 9, 2008, 2:59 amthose who dont like vista should try it... i installed both vista and xp on my cq40 ...

i play around with vista and learnt that vista is easier to use than xp...

my advice to vista user is to turn off the user account control...

This post has been edited by tonynk9: Nov 9 2008, 02:59 AM

32 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:49 PM