Compaq Presario CQ Series Club v1, Also d/l your drivers+softwares here

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 13 2008, 02:31 PM, updated 17y ago

369 posts

SPECIAL ADVICE:
============
Should you have any unsolved problem (drivers, software or hardware) on your laptop, you may contact HP Technical Support @ 1800 888 588

Okie I am an owner and going to start a new topic on Compaq Presario CQ series laptop discussion here.

For lowest price HP & Compaq laptop, visit this seller thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...T&f=98&t=752698

Picture Preview:
============

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Once I've sorted out everything, I'll provide some useful Windows Vista 32 bit driver/software download links particularly for those CQ45 series c/w FreeDos version.

Windows Vista 32 bit
==============

INTEL USER
Official Download link: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwar...product=3767663

Note: HP Pavillion and Compaq Presario use lots of common part. Don't believe? See yourself.
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwar...3768672〈=en

Unnecessary drivers/softwares from Official Download Link (Don't waste your laptop resources):
=================================================================

1) HP Integrated Hybrid TV Tuner Driver
2) HP Connection Manager
3) HP WWAN Connection Manager
4) HP WWAN Broadband Wireless Client Manager - Verizon
5) HP Active Support Library
6) HP Help and Support for Microsoft Windows Vista
7) Recovery Disc Creator Patch for DVD Option (only if you have the HP Recovery Disk)
8) Recovery Disc Creator Patch for User Created Recovery Disc (only if you have the HP Recovery Disk)

Unsure whether it's needed:
===================

1) WinFlash for HP Notebook System BIOS - Microsoft Windows Vista-Based

Hidden Gems:
==========

AMD USER
Search your drivers here: http://welcome.hp.com/country/my/en/suppor...Display=drivers

Windows XP (AMD Drivers included)
========================

thumbup.gif Special thanks to forumer iRonTech thumbup.gif

Until then. Feel free to start your discussion now! thumbup.gif

SPECIAL ADVICE:
============
Should you have any unsolved problem (software or hardware) on your laptop, you may contact HP Technical Support @ 1800 888 588

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Mar 13 2009, 09:24 AM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 13 2008, 02:34 PM

369 posts

- RESERVED -
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 13 2008, 02:47 PM

369 posts

Taken from the seller thread.. Indirectly, i am promoting for him. lolz.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752698/+80

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Sep 7 2008, 11:56 AM)
hi guys,

yea received my lappy CQ45-129TX yesterday and busy installing softwares and drivers since then. hehehe.

At time when ordered the graphic spec was supposed Intel X4500 but it came with Nvidia 9200M GS, which is a SURPRISE BONUS! hehehe.

The only matter must wait, wait and wait.... I have waited 11 working days for delivery. HP delivery is slower than Dell. But given this is cheapest price i ever surveyed, even lower than Lowyat Plaza, so I dont mind.

Overall my experience with the seller is very satisfactory. His follow-up service is veri great indeed. Top notch. ^^b

To all Compaq CQ series buyers:
=====================
1) the front panel is glossy plastic and very very very very very very prone to scratch. Even a slightest scratch is VISIBLE on the front panel and difficult to wipe off. Apply with laptop skin ASAP once u get the lappy. I am searching for transparent skin now. Anyone has it? PM me ya. hehehe.

2) The HDD still lay beneath at left palm rest area like V3800 series. So you will feel the warm. To dissipate the heat, always take out the Express Slot plastic cover. It helps a little. tongue.gif
Here i attach some pictures taken this morning. See to appreciate.  icon_rolleyes.gif
This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 13 2008, 02:48 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 13 2008, 02:56 PM

369 posts

Mine is auto-loaded with Dos Menu with Vista/XP/Command Line. The splash screen just appears 1 second then continue with Vista loading.

Oh you mean at the BIOS menu, the Factory Installed OS: Not Vista?

Nothing special about that. Just only becoz we purchased the Freedos version. I think that's for HP service centre to identify when we send for repair.
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 13 2008, 05:28 PM

369 posts

Yes i did. but dunno what it's used for. lolz

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 14 2008, 06:43 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Sep 14 2008, 06:26 PM)
the lengzai seller reporting in ~~ brows.gif  brows.gif
bro, new model are up for purchase now XD
HD HD HD HD rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
want poison you for second time in 1 month  brows.gif  brows.gif
maybe myself will get the CQ-60 for own use sweat.gif  sweat.gif

i am calling my buyer come here and give their very best review too icon_idea.gif
Real HD is the HP Pavilion HDX18-1008TX Entertainment Notebook PC – RM 6,249.00 in your list. The resolution is 1920 x 1080p.

Wah mouth drooling on that model. Give me 1 unit FOC can ar? haha.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 14 2008, 06:44 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 15 2008, 01:03 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Sep 14 2008, 09:40 PM)
This thread only for CQ45 owners ?  blush.gif Soon to be owner of a CQ20 here  tongue.gif
All CQ series onwers are welcome la. CQ20, 30, 40, 50, 60 all welcome. hahaha
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 15 2008, 06:41 PM

369 posts

yea thinking too. Although 2gb is sufficient to use for daily works.

If i were to upgrade i will get 2 x 2gb DDR2 800mhz.

Which seller can give the best price? hehe.
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 16 2008, 11:04 AM

369 posts

2gb DDR2 800 at RM125/pc. i bought 2pcs liao from LYN seller THT United Gadgets. Pending for delivery. hahaha

Now selling off the 2 x 1gb DDR2 800. Any buyer? biggrin.gif

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 16 2008, 08:50 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Sep 16 2008, 11:41 AM)
bro i heard vista 32bit capped at 3gb ? shocking.gif  doh.gif
After I installed at my lappy I will let u know. haha.

Anyway, My Core2 Duo PC with Vista 32bit shows it's 4gb. tongue.gif

Added on September 16, 2008, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(simon7788 @ Sep 16 2008, 06:34 PM)
How can we get upgrade with remote control for CQ45 model if buying at any store at lowyat plaze?
I dont think the remote control is available for CQ45 models this moment. Also I dont find it useful. If watch movie, why need remote control amid the laptop screen is so small? smile.gif

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 16 2008, 08:53 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 16 2008, 09:41 PM

369 posts

ooooooooooooo....... if i knew it earlier. Still waiting for memory arrival. :S

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 17 2008, 04:12 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Sep 17 2008, 02:11 AM)
Whee, got myself a CQ40-125AX a few days ago. Came with FreeDOS so I formatted it and put XP on it. It's OK overall but I have some problems/questions/complaints:

1. One and a half hour battery life by web surfing only? Must be the ATI HD3450 sucking all the power. Any battery upgrades I can consider?
2. Bad driver support, HP website only has some of the drivers (e.g. no wifi and card reader drivers, graphics driver cannot detect hardware  doh.gif ). Took me literally days of googling to get all the hardware working.
3. My fingerprints on the lid!!! ARGH!!!  vmad.gif Interested in some kind of stick-on protection layer (if such a thing exists)

On an unrelated note, why the heck do HDMI cables cost RM70??? I wanna plug this baby into my parents' HDTV!  drool.gif
Try Vista bro. I always advocate for Windows Vista Ultimate, u will like it especially the Dreamscene display feature, Laptop Power Management feature, Windows Defender feature, Add/remove start-up programs feature (via Windows Defender), Automatic windows update, etc etc.. AWESOME le... biggrin.gif 2GB RAM is enough to run Vista effectively.

1) AMD laptop proc always consume 30% more power (my own assumption) than Intel laptop proc. Battery upgrade is an expensive option, save the money for other purposes e.g. Memory upgrade la. Use AC power whenever possible.

2) I believe Compaq Presario regardless AMD and Intel proc, they are using same common parts except display driver only. Refer to my 1st post and find the suitable drivers la. Good luck bro! biggrin.gif

3) I've done a brilliant idea on my laptop lid (front cover). I bought a 19" LCD screen protector film and applied on it. Cut the edge accordingly. Frankly the screen protector isnt for this purpose but it works. icon_rolleyes.gif

4) HDMI cable - Until you've seen this RM270++ HDMI cable (Click Here). You wouldn't complain RM70 is ExPeNSiVe. haha.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 17 2008, 04:23 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 17 2008, 05:49 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Sep 17 2008, 05:40 PM)
Woot an official member of the Compaq Presario CQ Series Club now  blush.gif Just bought a CQ20-125TU upgraded to 2GB of RAM and installed a genuine Vista Home Premium on it. Only 1 complaint which is the same as yu_wang:

The cover is too glossy for its own good. So many fingerprint marks on it already  sweat.gif

As for the drivers I too had problems downloading at first but apparently I think its more due to browser problem. Couldn't download with firefox but IE no problem.
Yes browser problem. Download using Firefox points to nowhere at HP ftp server, but IE works fine. Dont blame Firefox, blame HP. tongue.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(iRonTech @ Sep 17 2008, 05:05 PM)
here http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums...hreadId=1263528

after all done, please update here smile.gif
If it works out fine, will copy your URL and put at 1st post. Easier for all. Big credit to you.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 17 2008, 05:54 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 17 2008, 07:32 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Sep 17 2008, 07:19 PM)
I'm going to do battery life benchmarks for all of the OSes. Determine once and for all which OS gives best battery life.
Battery life varies on your usage pattern. Dimmer screen, lower proc speed, disable bluetooth, disable WIFI, unplug some USB devices, all these will squeeze a little extra stamina for battery life. hehe.

The longest i ever tried with XP was 3 hours 50 mins. That was my old Acer lappy. But that's too slow and lack of brightness to do work. lolz.

Wish to see your benchmark reports soon bro.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 17 2008, 07:38 PM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 18 2008, 01:26 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(johnjenin @ Sep 18 2008, 12:23 AM)
anyone can help to provide sata driver for cq45 model?  i plan to install xp on the lappie...

thanks in advance
Here you go:

Intel ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller Driver
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/generic...us&lc=en&dlc=en
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 18 2008, 10:29 AM

369 posts

Intel SATA Driver (older version which supports XP, v7.6.0.1011)

Anyway, if for CQ45 series I think they use the newer version (v8.0.0.1039 A)

I would suggest go for v8.0.0.1039A. Vista driver also works in XP most of time. Anyway... no warranty here. tongue.gif

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 18 2008, 10:36 AM

369 posts

Nvidia 9200M GS on GPU-Z Screenshots

I guess nothing much to shout about. sweat.gif

Oh yea... And also i can't overclock it using RivaTuner v2.11. No option to adjust the Core & Memory speed. This GPU is locked somehow. sad.gif "

Are all laptop GPUs also being locked like this? Any advice?

Added on September 18, 2008, 10:51 am
QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Sep 18 2008, 08:53 AM)
hi cloud9_lee...can u share ur wallpaper with me..they look nice
Did i post any wallpaper here b4? I don't have nice wallpaper neh. lolz.

Try Vista Ultimate. The Dreamscene (short movie clip running on desktop page background) really awesome. Well but, Dreamscene feature only available in Ultimate version.

However like bro yu_wang said, Vista may not be user-friendly in gaming, but the visual effect is great.

This post has been edited by cloud9_lee: Sep 18 2008, 10:52 AM
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 18 2008, 12:39 PM

369 posts

Here you go:

http://flickr.com/photos/personalagain/2562912613/

Browse through and u will see more pictures within.

TScloud9_lee
post Sep 18 2008, 11:14 PM

369 posts

To iRonTech:

Good effort, I will put up these at 1st post shortly and credit on u biggrin.gif
TScloud9_lee
post Sep 19 2008, 10:00 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Sep 19 2008, 01:58 AM)
hey guys...does anyone know what the + and - buttons beside the mute button are for ?
Yes for volume control. Once you have installed HP QuickTouch software it should work accordingly.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:05 AM