Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

hihihehe
post Oct 15 2008, 10:28 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 15 2008, 08:53 PM)
owhh congratS!!  rclxms.gif  mayb we'll go to the same uni!

owhh its just an english test..no worries!
It's a good thing for sure isnt?
fees will b cheaper in RM
wat uni u go?
tht RMIT counselor like talk big..i go to RMIT thr then sudd old man duno from when pop up and ask me.show the spm then he said my eng cannot bla bla bla..well i hope he mistake on this..lol
onelove89
post Oct 15 2008, 11:19 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

haha yeah, attacked by flies dy. + the climate changed like super fast. 2 days ago was cool, then suddenly, the attack of flies + heat waves. >.<

anyway, that reminds me, I havent send in my applications to anywhere yet. haha, Gonna send to UWA, curtin and MelbUni, soon, right after i fill in the forms... xD
limeuu
post Oct 15 2008, 11:25 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Oct 15 2008, 10:21 PM)
how much is it cost for tuition fees for 1 sem (engineering course) in australia? I went to UNSW website for the tuition fees but i don't know how to calculate it.

https://my.unsw.edu.au/student/fees/Engineering2.html

http://www.handbook.unsw.edu.au/undergradu.../2008/3710.html

It was stated there the typical unit per session is 24.

so it's it 24X535 per semester? or per year? If per semester, omg it will cost hell alot of money. How many sem a year?

I want to go to aus, but scared my family couldn't afford it as my brother is also going into uni next year.

cry.gif
it's per sem, 2 sem a year (not counting summer semester)........engineering fees per year in most oz unis should be about $18-26K or rm45-65K at current xrates.........
QuackSilver
post Oct 16 2008, 12:28 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:31 PM)
i'm up doing my taxes. Damn i hate this shit. It's not even PAYG, it's only GST and damn i'm getting headaches.
get an accountant or one of them income tax professional's help? heh

Kwang Hui
post Oct 16 2008, 03:40 AM

66 posts

I am currently studying south australian matriculation at INTI. May i know is it easy to get TER 80 in the last public exam in November? Considering for the past 3 sems, i gott a consistent average of 75%...

Added on October 16, 2008, 3:42 amI am taking English, Maths, Chemistry, Economics, and Accounting for the SAM program

unsure.gif wink.gif flex.gif

This post has been edited by Kwang Hui: Oct 16 2008, 03:50 AM
empire23
post Oct 16 2008, 07:06 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Oct 16 2008, 12:28 AM)
get an accountant or one of them income tax professional's help? heh
GST is generally the government's money. I collect GST on the government's behalf, so there's no worming my way out of it or reducing it, hiring an accountant is just gonna add to dollars that fly away tongue.gif. As a wise once man said, the tax office is bad enough when you don't pay them your money, imagine what happens when you don't pay them their money.

PAYG on the other hand for me is an estimated ass raping 15 percent. Haih, can i argue that my uni education will help my advancement as a taxi driver? Atleast that's deductible. Food costs cannot claim, they figure you'll have to eat anyways laugh.gif

Chinese retaurant sounds good right now. I just gave the ATO 220 bux which could have been used for many KFCs.

PSSTT : Anyone know how to cheat on tax here?
RBR
post Oct 16 2008, 07:34 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

empire23: Correct me if I'm wrong but you are only required to register for GST if your turnover is above 75k. I'm sure your turnover isn't anywhere near that so are cab drivers an exception to that?

There's no real way to 'cheat' tax (legally), but there are ways to minimise tax.
empire23
post Oct 16 2008, 08:23 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Oct 16 2008, 07:34 AM)
empire23:  Correct me if I'm wrong but you are only required to register for GST if your turnover is above 75k.  I'm sure your turnover isn't anywhere near that so are cab drivers an exception to that? 

There's no real way to 'cheat' tax (legally), but there are ways to minimise tax.
I'm technically a sole trader and yeah, cab drivers are an exception because our fare is GST inclusive.

Minimizing is really hard, because there are little in terms of cost here. I could have done fuel cost deduction and maybe upped the cost a little tongue.gif, but my bailor takes care of my fuel costs.

Anyways, anyone have a first home saver account? Seems like a good way to rip off taxpayer money by getting 17 percent govt contribution and get it tax free at that, although the catch is that you can only take it out in 4 years and that there's a limit to how much Canberra will pay sad.gif. Seems like a good idea if you're going to get a PR Visa.
s373n
post Oct 16 2008, 01:55 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:19 PM)
haha yeah, attacked by flies dy. + the climate changed like super fast. 2 days ago was cool, then suddenly, the attack of flies + heat waves. >.<

anyway, that reminds me, I havent send in my applications to anywhere yet. haha, Gonna send to UWA, curtin and MelbUni, soon, right after i fill in the forms... xD
flies are very annoying ... shakehead.gif
alwayshappy
post Oct 16 2008, 02:25 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Oct 16 2008, 03:40 AM)
I am currently studying south australian matriculation at INTI. May i know is it  easy to get TER 80 in the last public exam in November? Considering for the past 3 sems, i gott a consistent average of 75%...

Added on October 16, 2008, 3:42 amI am taking English, Maths, Chemistry, Economics, and Accounting for the SAM program
unsure.gif  wink.gif  flex.gif
If u score an average of around 75% as well in the final exam, you will most probably obtain TER 90 and above. Marks around 75% should give the grade of 16B.
bhypp
post Oct 16 2008, 02:54 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Oct 15 2008, 04:02 PM)
u know why? this will feeed more fat cats on road..so unsustainable..
nt just tat...also ..Kevin Rudd is the Green guys..Less car on road  tongue.gif
dude..Aus vs USD drop..u expect the price to drop coz global price..
fuel price is traded in USD tho  rolleyes.gif
oh yea true true....damn my economics noobness...anyway i dun think rudd is taht green leh....the green's just slammed the labor govt according to today's mX....but i dun like those greenies.....damn they still think that global warming will stop if we all do nth the whole day but just sit around campfire, smoke weed n play guitar.... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

anyway talking bout flies....this year got locust plague leh.....how ah will it attack the cities??!?!?!? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Kwang Hui
post Oct 16 2008, 03:07 PM

66 posts

I am planning to take up Construction Management ( or so called Quantity Surveying) in Australia.

And i already applied for 7 universities:

UNSW
University of melbourne
Curtin university
RMIT
Queensland uni of technology
Deakin university
University of south australia

Which uni above-mentioned are famous in offering the course?
Bepeon
post Oct 16 2008, 03:21 PM

Tennis Lover
3,768 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Oct 16 2008, 02:25 PM)
If u score an average of around 75% as well in the final exam, you will most probably obtain TER 90 and above. Marks around 75% should give the grade of 16B.
If all B16, then Around TER88-90.
Kwang Hui
post Oct 16 2008, 03:48 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 16 2008, 04:21 PM)
If all B16, then Around TER88-90.
B 16, is around 70 to 75, or 75 t0 80? blink.gif
Bepeon
post Oct 16 2008, 06:38 PM

Tennis Lover
3,768 posts

B16 = 76 to 80.

To get TER90++, you need two A17, 3B16. Around that.
Kwang Hui
post Oct 16 2008, 07:03 PM

66 posts

I am planning to take up Construction Management ( or so called Quantity Surveying) in Australia.

UNSW
University of melbourne
Curtin university
RMIT
Deakin university

Please help me to make decision.
Currently, mine is 1) Unimelb
2) UNSw

This post has been edited by Kwang Hui: Oct 16 2008, 07:05 PM
alwayshappy
post Oct 16 2008, 08:00 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 16 2008, 06:38 PM)
B16 = 76 to 80.

To get TER90++, you need two A17, 3B16. Around that.
Officially, 161 out of 200 (which is 80.5%) and above is only considered as 17A.
However, according to past year results, the cut-off scores for 17A are usually around 155 only.
As the performance of the candidates each year varies, TER can't be very accurately predicted based on yr scores.
Just a reference, in past few years' time:

17A, 17A, 16B, 16B, 16B= TER 92.30
18A, 17A, 16B, 15B, 15B= TER 90.75
18A, 17A, 15B, 15B, 14B= TER 89.05
kamagotchi
post Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Oct 16 2008, 10:03 PM)

UNSW
University of melbourne
Curtin university
RMIT
Deakin university

Please help me to make decision.
Currently, mine is 1) Unimelb
                          2) UNSw
famous, not so sure but unimelb has better ranking and unsw is pretty popular too but more pricey, take ur pick.
Kwang Hui
post Oct 16 2008, 09:38 PM

66 posts

Which area is more lively and interesting, university of melbourne or UNSW?
kamagotchi
post Oct 17 2008, 06:49 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Oct 17 2008, 12:38 AM)
Which area is more lively and interesting, university of melbourne or UNSW?
It depends... Im currently studying in UNSW and Im getting bored of it, Sydney isnt that much fun either anymore. I am going to visit Melbourne in the next few weeks to check out the city, interested in one of the unis there.

This post has been edited by kamagotchi: Oct 17 2008, 12:13 PM

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:02 AM